We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

DFDS

Eastern Docks, North Shields CT16 1JA, England
2000
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Weekend mini cruise

I've been to Amsterdam five times and for times of I've used the ferry. Now in all fairness I know... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
seekeroffortune2013
,
Durham, United Kingdom
via mobile
36 hours on a boat for 3.5 hours in Amsterdam

Boat was delayed , queue management was terrible while waiting on buses/passport control/boat... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Deborah E
via mobile
Read all 1,357 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
DFDS is the World's Leading Ferry Operator ​- Offering frequent ferry crossings​ to Europe, a wide range of onboard facilities and low fares. With ferries to France and Holland​ and mini cruises to Amsterdam, b​ook now and start your holiday with DFDS.​
  • Excellent24%
  • Very good32%
  • Average19%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible15%
Travellers talk about
“mini cruise” (171 reviews)
“sea view” (89 reviews)
“bunk beds” (58 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 09:00 - 17:30
LOCATION
Eastern Docks, North Shields CT16 1JA, England
CONTACT
Website
2000

Similar Things to Do in North Shields

Write a Review
Reviews (1,357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,161 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

I've been to Amsterdam five times and for times of I've used the ferry. Now in all fairness I know that you don't get much time in Amsterdam and that the journey is the holiday/break but the time in Amsterdam seems to have been cut...More

Thank seekeroffortune2013
DFDSUK, Manager at DFDS, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding our services, this is greatly appreciated. We'll make sure your feedback is passed onto the relevant departments and we hope to welcome you back on-board in the future. Kind Regards Amy C DFDS Customer...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Boat was delayed , queue management was terrible while waiting on buses/passport control/boat resulting in only having 3.5 hours to spend in Amsterdam. As the weather was bad the boat was very rocky and we barely slept. Cabin was hotter than hell. No warnings that...More

Thank Deborah E
DFDSUK, Manager at DFDS, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Deborah, we do apologise you are unhappy with the service received, in order for us to investigate this for you please could you email full details to uk.customercare@dfds.com. Unfortunately in regards to your mobile charges we must advise you to take this up with...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Can't fault the staff ..they go out there way to help you and very friendly, last Friday night was like a 18/30's holiday i think every on goes crazy lol ...seen many arrested and woman screaming in her room until 4am...only downside was we arrived...More

Thank Jay W
DFDSUK, Manager at DFDS, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Jay, we're very sorry for any disruption to our services and time lost on your trip. We'd like to investigate this matter further for you, please could you email full details to our Customer Care team using uk.customercare@dfds.com. We look forward to seeing you...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Mini Cruise from Newcastle to Amsterdam and vice versa. I went to Amsterdam with a friend and we tried to experience the mini-cruise DFDS offered. The cruise is an overnight travel from NCL, we boarded at 5pm, BST from North Shields dock. The check-in was...More

1  Thank OverseasNurse
DFDSUK, Manager at DFDS, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're pleased to hear you both enjoyed your experience with us. Sorry to hear though that crossing was not a smooth one, unfortunately on the north sea things can become choppy when heading into...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Sailed to Amsterdam on 17 th October great atmosphere on boat and entertainment great staff cabin was two single bunks with sea view .we stayed at the il fiore for the night fabulous city non stop called in the bulldog what had brilliant djs we...More

Thank sara g
DFDSUK, Manager at DFDS, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Sara thank you for your comments we are so pleased you had a great trip and we hope to see you again on future sailings. Kind Regards Nancy C DFDS Customer care

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Been on this trip 3 times and each time was excellent. Cabins good value excellent food. Entertainment very good. All round enjoyable trips.

Thank JaneNorthShields
DFDSUK, Manager at DFDS, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Jane thank you for your great review, we are so pleased you had an enjoyable trip and we hope to be able to welcome you on-board again soon. Kind Regards Nancy DFDS Customer care

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

First off the drink on this boat is NOT overly expensive, €4.50 a pint is more than acceptable. It's the food that is horrifically over priced, would never pay £14 for an all you can eat breakfast buffet to which the quality of the food...More

Thank Big-Dave-RST
DFDSUK, Manager at DFDS, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi thank you for taking the time to write your review, i'm sorry to hear you were sick on your outward journey but i'm pleased the sickness tablets worked for you on your return. Meal prices are changing for 2018 and you will notice a...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked an autumn special which was very inexpensive and we had a great time, however the reason for 4 stars was the buffet pre-booked @£26 per head. Didn't realise that the time on board was 1 hour ahead of GMT (my mistake as it...More

Thank T B
DFDSUK, Manager at DFDS, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for the review! Changes are currently under way for our meal choices/prices on-board, new meal options for customers will be in place around March 2018 along with a decrease in the cost meaning customers can make a greater saving when pre-booking. We're also happy...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Returned last Wednesday the 25/10/17 from a great break away, didn’t know what to expect as we haven’t been on the crossing before or Amsterdam. Crossing was great, infact very calm which I was quite surprised. Ferry was great, cabins were clean. Entertainment was good....More

Thank Liamnmichael
DFDSUK, Manager at DFDS, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Liam, for more time in Amsterdam why not try one of our Hotel Breaks or Cruise and Stay packages this allows up to 3 nights in the city so you can take in all that Amsterdam has to offer. Our passenger's health and safety...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Everything excellent, lovely ship with friendly crew- smooth crossing there and slightly rocky on return. Cabin compact but very clean. Nice that you can prebook meal as you check in on each journey and still get the saving. Liked that you could get takeaway tea...More

Thank marsa5
DFDSUK, Manager at DFDS, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi, lovely to read such a wonderful review of your trip! We're also very pleased to advise you that meal prices have been reviewed for 2018 and there are now even greater savings to be made when pre-booking. Looking forward to welcoming you on-board and...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Longsands Fish Kitchen
689 reviews
.11 miles away
Riley's Fish Shack
712 reviews
.04 miles away
ORA Tynemouth
1,087 reviews
.09 miles away
Gulshan
490 reviews
.12 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Long Sands Beach
545 reviews
.27 miles away
Tynemouth Priory & Castle
444 reviews
.17 miles away
Tynemouth Markets
370 reviews
.30 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
rabgracie
13 November 2017|
Answer
Response from OverseasNurse | Reviewed this property |
you have to book a hotel. the ship that will sail on the 30th will go back to ncl on the 31st 5pm. you will bw in board in a diff ship if youre giing back on the 1st. its either Princess Seaways or King Seaways.
0
Votes
Peanut165
12 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from ClaireMarie87 | Reviewed this property |
I think the technical answer is no but we put it in our case and no one said anything
1
Vote