We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

DFDS

Eastern Docks, North Shields CT16 1JA, England
2000
Website
Save
Review Highlights
What has happened?!

I went on the mini cruise with a group of girlfriends on the King Seaways ferry in Feb 2017 for a... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Lucy F
via mobile
Exorbitant!

The biggest rip off ever. Over £4 for a cup of tea served in a cardboard cup. No where to eat your... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Siddaz
,
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Read all 1,296 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
DFDS is the World's Leading Ferry Operator ​- Offering frequent ferry crossings​ to Europe, a wide range of onboard facilities and low fares. With ferries to France and Holland​ and mini cruises to Amsterdam, b​ook now and start your holiday with DFDS.​
  • Excellent23%
  • Very good33%
  • Average18%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible16%
Travellers talk about
“mini cruise” (162 reviews)
“sea view” (84 reviews)
“bunk beds” (57 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 09:00 - 17:30
LOCATION
Eastern Docks, North Shields CT16 1JA, England
CONTACT
Website
2000

Similar Things to Do in North Shields

Write a Review
Reviews (1,296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,113 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

I went on the mini cruise with a group of girlfriends on the King Seaways ferry in Feb 2017 for a hen party and had an amazing time so, when it came around to my other girlfriends special day I suggested we take this trip...More

Thank Lucy F
Reviewed 2 days ago

The biggest rip off ever. Over £4 for a cup of tea served in a cardboard cup. No where to eat your own food other than the cramped cabin and ridiculously priced food and drink. I would rather drive to Hull and get the ferry...More

Thank Siddaz
DFDSUK, Manager at DFDS, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi we are very sorry to hear you were unhappy with the prices on-board. Our pricing policy is something we review often so we'll ensure your comments are passed to the relevant departments for future consideration. Kind Regards Amy C DFDS Customer Care

Reviewed 4 days ago

We always use the steak restaurant on board - have to be the best steaks ever... Love the Compass bar too for cocktails.More

1  Thank JennieNorthumberland
DFDSUK, Manager at DFDS, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Jennie, we're so pleased to hear you enjoyed the catering offered on-board. The Steakhouse is one of our most popular restaurants and we must agree the steaks and cocktails on the ships are some of the best ever! Thank you for your comments and...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

We paid extra for priority boarding and premium lounge. In both cases we thought that the extra cost was with it With the Priority boarding we arrived at Dover 10 minutes before an earlier DFDS ferry was due to leave. At the registration desk we...More

Thank yachtjudge
DFDSUK, Manager at DFDS, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi, we're pleased to offer our Premium lounge at such an affordable price as we want as many customers as possible to experience the benefits of the surroundings. But we would also like to thank you for the review of your food as this will...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Smooth transition through border control and room allocation. Room as expected - small, but with everything that was needed. Pre booked 7 Seas meal deal for outward/inward journeys - average food selection, but on balance not worth the cost. Stung for drinks bill on outward...More

Thank Jackie H
DFDSUK, Manager at DFDS, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Jackie, thank you for the review. Glad to hear you took advantage of the meal deals on offer by pre-booking. We are sorry if it was not clear that this did not include your drinks, the ship are happy to serve tap water when...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Very impressed with the ferry. Very clean and basic cabin small but very comfortable. Although noisy on decks 4 and 5 we expected this of a ferry. Bar service very good. Food prices very expensive. Glad we didn't pre book any meals as I suffered...More

1  Thank joannemidgley4
DFDSUK, Manager at DFDS, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Joanne, we are very happy to read you enjoyed your crossing with us! I am pleased to advise our website has been updated with the new pick up points in Amsterdam for our customers as this has been newly introduced, we do apologise this...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our Commodore cabin was well laid out and provided  everything we needed. The double bed was very comfortable. Although we were near to the central staircase it was quiet and we had an uninterrupted nights sleep. Breakfast in the Popup restaurant was plentiful with a...More

Thank Lavarcham
DFDSUK, Manager at DFDS, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, thank you for the good review and the time taken to leave it. Our new double beds are extremely comfortable and we're glad you slept well. The pop up resturant is a new concept we have introduced and is proving to be really popular....More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Rooms were so basic, air con was not working so the heat was uncomfortable. Wet room stays wet all day and night so if you need the bathroom in the night you need to go in with shoes on. Staff on board were quite rude...More

Thank carl1503
DFDSUK, Manager at DFDS, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Carl, we highly recommend to all customers to pre-book their meal on-board as there are some great discounts to be had. We understand that the cabaret is not for everyone but there is a variety of entertainment to enjoy in the others bars along...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This mini cruise to Amsterdam is great value for money, cabins are comfortable and ship is clean and tidy ( we travelled on Princess seaways). My son went to see a movie whilst on board and got a pass for 13.50 Euro which got him...More

Thank Clare M
DFDSUK, Manager at DFDS, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Clare, we are very pleased to read the above and want to thank you for taking the time to review us, this is much appreciated. We hope to welcome you back on-board for the third time in the future! Kind Regards Amy C DFDS...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just returned from our visit to Amsterdam, staff are lovely, couldn't be more helpful. Waitress service with a smile in the Columbus bar, didn't even have to move of your seat to get a drink. Perfect! Cabins were clean and tidy too. Beds nice and...More

Thank Newcastleano123
DFDSUK, Manager at DFDS, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, we really appreciate you taking the time to review us. We're delighted to read you enjoyed your trip with us and the facities offered on-board. Your comments regarding prices and disembarkment on-board have been noted and will be given to the appropriate departments for...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Longsands Fish Kitchen
633 reviews
.11 miles away
Riley's Fish Shack
648 reviews
.04 miles away
ORA Tynemouth
1,052 reviews
.09 miles away
Gulshan
461 reviews
.12 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Long Sands Beach
523 reviews
.27 miles away
Shields Ferry
77 reviews
.53 miles away
Tynemouth Priory & Castle
425 reviews
.18 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Kirsty R
23 August 2017|
Answer
Response from V609HWsue | Reviewed this property |
We were allocated our room on check in
0
Votes
tasha12buzzin
10 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Clare M | Reviewed this property |
As far as I know they sail every day. There are two ferry's so while one goes to Amsterdam the other heads back to North Shields.
0
Votes
Amy D
8 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from catherine m | Reviewed this property |
We were on the princess and saw loads of people takeing on there own food soft drinks and alcohol so not a problem xx
1
Vote