Pegasus Riding Centre
Pegasus Riding Centre
5
Equestrian TrailsHorseback Riding Tours
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Sunday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
About
"Horse Riding in the heart of the Alpujarras" Pegasus Riding Centre is located just a short walk from Orgiva town centre. We offer horse riding lessons & treks for all ages and abilities. Special ride packages include rides to a traditional Alpujarran restaurant for drinks & tapas or a cooked meal.Qualified & experienced instructors are able to instruct in English and Spanish language.
Meets animal welfare guidelines
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

See what travellers are saying
  • Tim F
    Hayes, United Kingdom1 contribution
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Wonderful family horse trek
    We had a great time doing the 'Novice Trek' around Orgiva. The best part was the 'briefing' session in the Paddock before we left which really helped and gave us the confidence for the trek. We've done lots of family treks before but they normally just get you on the horse with minimal instructions and you have to figure things out. Becky was a great teacher and after learning the basics we got to try it out immediately by taking the horse around the arena. Then we went off on a wonderful trek around the village and down to the river. The horses were gentle and mostly obedient and all the locals we encountered were friendly and the drivers were happy to wait (we didn't see that much traffic). I'd definitely recommend this as a great place and hope we can return some day to do a longer trek! Becky was very helpful in organising what we needed and very flexible when it came to finding the right course for us. Thanks Becky and team!
    Visited July 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 24 July 2023
  • Katrien D
    Oudenaarde, Belgium3 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    A recommendation
    My daughter and I did the half day trek. It was the excellent way to discover the environment. The scenery was stoning. Becky, who contact us in advance to find the right horse for us is the perfect guide. The horses and saddles are in good condition. I will come back.
    Visited July 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 30 July 2023
  • Thomas G
    5 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Beautiful Lake ride near Granada
    If you're thinking of taking a riding excursion in Granada, then please don't hesitate to book it with Becky. It's about an hours drive but we'll worth it. Becky did everything possible to make our trip as comfortable as possible, despite the 36 degree temperatures. We did half days trip but struggled in the heat a bit so had to cut it short which becky was more than happy to do, which then took us across a beautiful river so was definitely the right desicion. If you can handle the heat then June is a lovely ride down to the river or the lake ride would be good as well. Becky even took pictures for us and sent them to us later. Thanks again will definitely come back, maybe September next time 😀
    Visited June 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 6 August 2023
  • loftypops
    16 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Great for all ages and abilities.
    Booking was very easy. We opted for a group lesson as we had a couple of riders who had never ridden before in our group of six. Becky was patient with our younger riders, giving us more time to master the basics with an extended lesson in the arena before we set out on our trek. The location is beautiful - views of the Sierra Nevada mountains, fig trees on the trek, goats, ancient olive groves. Everyone came away hot, tired, a bit sore but very happy.
    Visited August 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 26 August 2023
  • Gillicus
    3 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Great work, great riding, great host!
    I enjoyed five days working with, and 10 hours riding on the most chilled and wonderful horses. The trekking was stunning and the lessons I had with Becky were so incredibly valuable! She is a patient and highly talented teacher, immediately spotting and then helping to address issues with my riding ability. The horses don’t bat an eyelid to barking dogs or tricky terrain, they just carry you through sublime countryside. I opted to stay at the Hotel Mirasol, less than a 10 minute walk away and it was perfect. The work is hard but thoroughly enjoyable because the horses are so lovely, living naturally in a fabulous setting and again, Becky is a patient coach, helping you learn the daily routine. I will definitely return!
    Visited October 2023
    Travelled solo
    Written 31 October 2023
  • Cara G
    1 contribution
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    The Best Week Ever!
    Having just returned from a week's working holiday at the centre, I would not hesitate to recommend Becky and her horses (dogs and cats!). I had the most amazing week looking after the horses and trekking the mountains. The area is so peaceful and beautiful. Becky is knowledgeable and very friendly, the horses are all very calm but responsive and there was no feeling like cantering up the side of a mountain!
    Visited November 2023
    Travelled solo
    Written 14 November 2023
  • Emma F
    Granada, Spain26 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Fantastic tapas ride in a stunning location!
    We recently did the tapas ride with Becky and absolutely loved it! It was pitched at exactly the right level, even though one of us was novice and the other more experienced. The horses are great, you can tell they are well looked after and happy. The scenery is incredible, photos don't do it justice. This is definitely an experience we will repeat, everything was perfect and we throughly enjoyed the day. Thank you Becky!
    Visited November 2023
    Travelled with friends
    Written 22 November 2023
  • leena_k_kiviluoto
    5 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Adventurous riding!
    Adventurous riding in Las Alpujarras with wonderful nature views. I visited the centre several times with a different tour every time. Especially the whole day tour to Soportujar was unforgettable.
    Visited October 2023
    Travelled solo
    Written 24 December 2023
  • Lucy G
    United Kingdom1 contribution
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Amazing 3-night riding holiday
    We had a really amazing experience on a 3-night riding holiday here! Our itinerary was planned with Becky over the phone during booking and was tailored to suit our different abilities and goals. I had an incredibly helpful lesson in the arena which Becky planned for me based on my initial assessment lesson. Becky is an excellent teacher, the exercises and guidance she gave me were really rewarding and I felt like I learnt so much in just one lesson. My boyfriend and I went on a lovely and relaxing trek together - he is a beginner and he really enjoyed it, he also had his own lesson in the arena before we went out to teach him the basic skills for the trek, he felt very comfortable on the ride. For the second trek it was just myself and Becky and so we were able to have some really fun long canters. My main goal for the week was to improve my confidence and I felt this was definitely achieved here! I rode 3 different horses and they were all so lovely, they were responsive and calm and I felt very safe. We stayed in the local hotel in town, it was a great location, just a 10 minute walk from the riding centre, we had some lovely meals in Orgiva too. The scenery on the treks was beautiful. Thank you so much to Becky and all the lovely animals for giving us such a special week!!
    Visited December 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 2 January 2024
  • karolinawjd9
    10 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Lovely 3h trek
    I had a lovely 3-hour trek on Bonita. Becky was a great tour guide sharing interesting information about the area. It was a great experience, even though it was a bit rainy, yet we got to see a few rainbows and picturesque views!
    Visited March 2024
    Travelled solo
    Written 28 March 2024
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles109 reviews
Excellent
101
Very good
7
Average
0
Poor
1
Terrible
0

Chris P
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2024 • Family
Dear Becky, thank you so much for the nice trip i had with my 13 year old daughter! You arranged a nice hotel for us on a walking distance and made a nice riding schedule! We had a lovely tapas tour, a great 4 hour trail through the mountains and a nice 2 hour trail up hill! To comfort us we had some really professional lessons to improve our skills! Hope to come back soon! Thanks again for this infortgettable stay! Regards Chris & Lau
Written 15 May 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

GrandTour05442553868
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2024 • Solo
We went on a fun loop around the town and on trails. The horses were well behaved and solid. Antonio was funny and charming and kept everyone safe. I'd ride with them again!
Written 10 May 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Kirsty N
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2024 • Family
My daughter, 11yrs, and I went for a ride whilst staying in Orgiva and can say that this should not be missed if you want to explore the area and take in some of the amazing views over valleys and snow-covered mountains.
Becky is a relaxed host who took us on a route that provided some river crossings, hilly tracks which led to a beautiful viewing point.
I'm not brilliant with heights (understatement!), however the horses are utterly sure-footed and gave us both a truely enjoyable experience.
Thank you Becky, Amber and Harley!
Written 14 April 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

karolinawjd9
10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2024 • Solo
I had a lovely 3-hour trek on Bonita. Becky was a great tour guide sharing interesting information about the area. It was a great experience, even though it was a bit rainy, yet we got to see a few rainbows and picturesque views!
Written 28 March 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Lucy G
United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2023 • Couples
We had a really amazing experience on a 3-night riding holiday here! Our itinerary was planned with Becky over the phone during booking and was tailored to suit our different abilities and goals.

I had an incredibly helpful lesson in the arena which Becky planned for me based on my initial assessment lesson. Becky is an excellent teacher, the exercises and guidance she gave me were really rewarding and I felt like I learnt so much in just one lesson.

My boyfriend and I went on a lovely and relaxing trek together - he is a beginner and he really enjoyed it, he also had his own lesson in the arena before we went out to teach him the basic skills for the trek, he felt very comfortable on the ride.
For the second trek it was just myself and Becky and so we were able to have some really fun long canters. My main goal for the week was to improve my confidence and I felt this was definitely achieved here! I rode 3 different horses and they were all so lovely, they were responsive and calm and I felt very safe.

We stayed in the local hotel in town, it was a great location, just a 10 minute walk from the riding centre, we had some lovely meals in Orgiva too. The scenery on the treks was beautiful.

Thank you so much to Becky and all the lovely animals for giving us such a special week!!
Written 2 January 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

leena_k_kiviluoto
Oslo, Norja5 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2023 • Solo
Adventurous riding in Las Alpujarras with wonderful nature views. I visited the centre several times with a different tour every time. Especially the whole day tour to Soportujar was unforgettable.
Written 24 December 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Helena N
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2023 • Solo
I was at there as a volunteer for a month and truly enjoyed my stay. The primary task was feeding the horses in the morning and in the evening. Additionally there were 4-6 tasks depending on the size of chore. In the two days off each week I went to see other big cities in the region which were Granada, Sevilla and Malaga. The weather was perfect apart from heavy wind the first month. Becky was very nice. I loved spending time with the horses, being outside in perfect weather and her daughter is the sweetest. As a volunteer experience I would say that it is most suitable for people who are either traveling together or who don't mind spending a lot of time on their own, people who are independent and flexible time wise, and people who are open-minded so that they don't go in expecting something to be a certain way, to get disappointed, because it wasn't how they imagined it to be. Would definitely recommend, especially for a cheaper way of seeing Southern Spain or for people who love horses.
Written 29 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Emma F
Granada, Spain26 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2023 • Friends
We recently did the tapas ride with Becky and absolutely loved it! It was pitched at exactly the right level, even though one of us was novice and the other more experienced. The horses are great, you can tell they are well looked after and happy. The scenery is incredible, photos don't do it justice. This is definitely an experience we will repeat, everything was perfect and we throughly enjoyed the day. Thank you Becky!
Written 22 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Cara G
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2023 • Solo
Having just returned from a week's working holiday at the centre, I would not hesitate to recommend Becky and her horses (dogs and cats!). I had the most amazing week looking after the horses and trekking the mountains. The area is so peaceful and beautiful. Becky is knowledgeable and very friendly, the horses are all very calm but responsive and there was no feeling like cantering up the side of a mountain!
Written 14 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Grace L
2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2023 • Solo
I have some very mixed feelings about my working holiday at Pegasus Riding Centre, and this review will be completely honest about the good and the bad, so please read to the end if you are seriously considering a working holiday here.
First and foremost, Becky is lovely and very approachable. She was friendly, showed genuine interest in my own horses at home and was very helpful when asked, giving me info on the local area, what to do on a day off, taxi/bus details, etc. She made sure I had lots of breaks during the day. She also took me into town with her wonderful young daughter to see a local circus one evening and cooked me a meal to share with them when she didn’t have to, once I had decided to leave early. The area is stunning and the town is within walking distance in daylight with large supermarkets and other shops, although I would not want to walk this route in the dark. There is a strong Wi-Fi signal in the land rover and my lunches provided every day were nutritious.
However, for me the stay was very lonely as there are no other instructors or employees, there were no other volunteers staying while I was there. There were only two lessons taken in the 5 days I was there. Becky did go out for the day a number of times to run errands or spend quality time with her daughter, so it was long hours alone for me which didn’t suit me. She did tell me about some cafes where travellers tend to go to help me meet more people, but working hours are still lonely. The bar and social area next door mentioned on the website has been closed for months. If spending lots of time either without company or with only the company of a small number of people isn’t something you enjoy, I would recommend not doing a working holiday, or at least come with a friend/ask Becky when others are staying so you can book for then. Becky was due to have a dentist appointment in Granada and was planning to stay away overnight as ‘it’s a lovely place to be’ during my stay as well, so a lot of responsibility was placed on me as a working holiday volunteer. While I don’t think she would do this with someone who is not experienced with horses, it is worth knowing that I was left to feed the 8 horses and work with them completely independently a lot, which is a lot of responsibility with horses you don’t know. Becky knew in theory that I was experienced with horses, but she was happy to leave me in sole charge of her horses despite knowing me for a very short time and with little evidence of how I actually am around horses in practise. The horses themselves were absolutely lovely, although I have real concerns about their condition – most are clearly underweight and have rubs/sores which go untreated day to day.
The accommodation (converted land rover) was basic as described. Be aware that as it is off grid, the only light comes from a solar powered bulb which runs out after around 1 hour, and a string of fairy lights. As I stayed in mid-October, it went dark quite early, meaning a lot of time spent in the dark. It was also quite difficult to cook in the dark, not least because the portable gas hob/oven/grill was quite unreliable as the flame would frequently go out. On my first morning I ate dry cornflakes out of a mug with my fingers as there was no cutlery or bowls in the van and the cornflakes were the only food left for me. The mugs I had were filthy – one had a layer of old milk gunge in the bottom as clearly they hadn’t washed up. I was told to check the caravan for more cutlery and found some left outside on a chair. It isn’t clear whether she feels that it is her responsibility to check that basics like cutlery are in place and clean ready for the next arrival. The land rover and shared bathroom also weren’t very clean, although the bed was very comfortable and extra blankets were provided for me.
I arrived via transfer from the airport with a fantastic driver, although as Becky had booked it on my behalf neither myself or the driver had any details of the other, so finding my driver at the airport arrivals was difficult. I got to the centre at around 6:30pm which I later found out was counted as one of my 4 days off.
I had booked 2 weeks at the centre and ended up leaving after 5 nights. During the time I was there, I received two 30-minute rides on the arena, one of which Becky left during the middle of to collect her daughter, having booked the 10-hour riding package. While I’m certain I would have received the remaining 9 hours had I stayed, I did not receive any refund of the €300 fee for those hours as all holidays are non-refundable regardless of the circumstances and whether or not the advertised experience has been delivered.
I think overall the working holiday was more for Becky’s convenience than for the client’s, and although I am an independent 19-year-old, I felt left to fend for myself in most aspects. I think the website and the name ‘working holiday’ give the impression that the stay will be more centred around the client than it actually is. The website is well-designed so to me gave the impression that the centre was full of people and that the stay is much more client-focused than it is.
I had high hopes for this trip and thought it would be amazing, but sadly it didn’t work out as I’d hoped it would. I don’t think it will come as any surprise that I won’t be returning.
Written 31 October 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Firstly let me say I'm happy you enjoyed our hospitality. It was nice that you were able to join us for the evening at the circus & we are glad that you enjoyed the meals provided. The area is indeed stunning, it is also very safe, as a female I have never felt l unsafe walking home alone although I would recommend taking a torch as we are located partly in a rural area without street lighting. We are sorry you were lonely- bad timing. Currently we are at full capacity & have 3 volunteers staying & helping here. Had we known prior to your visit that you preferred to not work solo we could have co ordinated your stay with other volunteer requests but without that information upfront you leave it to chance. The land rover is not off grid although it did up until recently have a solar light. You asked where the plug was on your day of arrival & used it throughout your stay to charge your phone!. The land rover camper now has an electric spot light inside which makes sense given that there has been an electric socket in there for 3 years but thanks for the "slightly late" prompt. On arrival, because it was late, you were offered pasta and tomato sauce but refused saying that you had been to the garage & you were sorted with what you needed. As it was very late & we had only just learnt what you actually liked for breakfast I was only able to give you what I had, which was a half full box of cornflakes. Had this not been satisfactory you should have communicated with me about it so I could have done something about it. My 7 year old has no problem telling me if something is wrong. Grace, you are a very sweet girl but your communication skills are terrible, at least in person. I am very kind & open. You could have approached me at any time about any of the issues that you feel more comfortable expressing once you have left! Perhaps more solo travel is what is needed to bring you out of your shell & help develop better communication skills & a more independent approach to working & making new friends. The accommodation is always the last task for volunteers to clean up after themselves. You clean & leave the space as you would like to find it with all the correct cooking utensils/equipment as was there when you arrived. We expect all volunteers to leave the space tidy & do their washing up, although we are finding this to not always be the case & will check prior to departure in the future that it has been completed to a good standard! We will put up signs in the accommodation for clarity. We provide clean bedding & a towel. I have had guests in there since you who have praised the cooker & how easy it is to use so the stove doesn't seem to be a problem. You booked a two week working holiday of which 5 days of each week are working days. In order to for that to work in practice one of your days off would have to be your day of arrival. Everybody's day of arrival is a "day off". Indeed any day where you are sleeping at the riding centre & using the facilities but are not doing any work that day would count as a non work day(because you haven't worked). You were here for 4 full days & 5 nights, 2 0f those days you took as days off so you had 3 working days at the centre. On two of those days you took lessons. An assessment lesson in which I had to leave 10 mins early because of an unexpected call to collect my daughter from a class that had been cancelled(im a mum too with a responsibility to my child) but within those 20 mins of the 30 min class I had made a full assessment of your riding already so staying wasn't necessary. It was an assessment lesson, I had assessed you, job done. You told me in the assessment that you wanted to split the 10 hours riding over your 2 week stay so I planned a less intensive program on your advice. If you leave early you obviously forfeit the rides outlined in your program. Nobody who has completed their holiday with us has ever not received their riding package. To be absolutely clear, apart from the riding element the holiday is centered around the horses & their care NOT the client. Our horses are well cared for & fed. You were given the task of treating them with medical shampoo & creams. Infact, you had marked the horses treatments off as done on the list but after asking you the next day it came to light that infact 2 of the horses had not been bathed in the medication given to us by our vet so luckily we were able to make sure they actually did receive the treatment. Our horses are very happy, They live out 24/7. They are also largely uncomplicated & tranquil in their nature, as long as they have access to forage and water and get there two hard feeds daily they are content. If I go away the riding centre closes so there is almost nothing happening at the riding centre when I'm not there. It concerns me that as a horse owner yourself, that you felt uncomfortable with the proposal of been left to feed them for a night. Its a very simple task, especially for someone with their own horses at home. One would hope you are able to spot any problems and handle a small herd of horses without any health conditions or behavioral problems. Luckily, your lack of self confidence prompted me to ask more mature and experienced friends who live locally to cover. We do not offer refunds on our holidays, it is clearly written on our website. We recommend reading the information before booking. We fully support your decision to not return.
Written 16 November 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 98
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Pegasus Riding Centre (2024) All You MUST Know Before You Go (with Photos)

All things to do in Orgiva
RestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire