We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Bewl Water Bewlbridge Lane, Lamberhurst, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN3 8JH, England
Phone Number:
+44 1892 890000
Website
Today
08:00 - 21:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 08:00 - 21:00
Description:

Bewl Water is the largest stretch of open water in the South East. The 800...

Bewl Water is the largest stretch of open water in the South East. The 800 acre site is set in an area of outstanding natural beauty, in the heart of the High Weald. Open all year, a visit to this stunning lake is fantastic family fun and great value.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 256 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 116
    Excellent
  • 80
    Very good
  • 33
    Average
  • 15
    Poor
  • 9
    Terrible
Walk or ride its still about 13-14 miles if I remember

Have not been since the recent owners took over but it was always a good few hours of peaceful entertainment if you walked or rode around the reservoir. In the summer it is very... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 November 2016
philg964
,
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

256 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 253: English reviews
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

went to bewl water early in 2016 was good now its gone down hill no cafes open looks drity needs shorting out i tought the old oweners had brought it back not good

Helpful?
2 Thank Bill H
BewlWater, Public Relations at Bewl Water at Bewl Water, responded to this review

Dear Bill, Thank you for taking the time to review Bewl Water. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed by your visit to Bewl and we thank you for your feedback. We do operate reduced opening hours of our restaurant and facilities in the off-peak months and will be extending our opening hours again over the Summer period.... More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First ever visit and unsure what to expect. Phoned from car for directions and to enquire about bike hire with a buggy. Julie was extremely helpful, gave us detailed directions and said she would arrange for bikes and a buggy to be ready for us on arrival. When we arrived, later than planned, Julie met us at the agreed place... More 

Helpful?
Thank CarlySELondon
BewlWater, Public Relations at Bewl Water at Bewl Water, responded to this review

Dear CarlySELondon, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Bewl Water. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your day out with us and that you will be returning in the summer! Your comments have been passed on to our management team here at Bewl Water. We look forward to having the pleasure... More 

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good parking, reasonable price. Beautiful walk. We went in Dec but it looks like a great family day out in better weather with plenty to do. We had tea and cake at the tearoom, best fruit cake ever and the two chaps in there were really polite and friendly.

Helpful?
Thank clare m
BewlWater, Public Relations at Bewl Water at Bewl Water, responded to this review

Dear Clare, Thank you for taking the time to review Bewl Water. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit and we are particularly to hear that you enjoyed our fruit cake so much! We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon! Kind regards, Bewl Water More 

Hawkhurst,Kent
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a joke ! Totally disappointed! Expensive to see Santa . Was looking forward to some sort of trail to see Santa . Just a few footsteps to where he was . Came out into a dining hall . Could of been so much better . The kids liked seeing Santa and his elf . £8 per child and £3... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank shar50hawkhurst
BewlWater, Public Relations at Bewl Water at Bewl Water, responded to this review

Dear shar50hawkhurst, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very sorry to hear that your experience at Bewl Water did not meet your expectations. We thank you for your feedback which has been passed on to our management team here at Bewl. However, we are pleased to hear that your children enjoyed meeting Father Christmas... More 

Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2016

Visited Bewl Water for the Christmas experience today, it was lovely, the children absolutely loved it. The grotto was excellent, Father Christmas and the elves gave the children a truly magical experience, with brilliant and authentic performances. The train and boat ride (including the singing and terrible Christmas jokes) were the icing on the cake. Beautiful surroundings, great play parks,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mair R
BewlWater, Public Relations at Bewl Water at Bewl Water, responded to this review

Dear Mair, Thank you for taking the time to review The Christmas Experience at Bewl Water. We are thrilled to hear that you and the children enjoyed your day with us! Thank you for your positive feedback- your comments will be passed on to the rest of the team here at Bewl. We look forward to welcoming you back next... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2016

Was disappointed at the time of our visit (a Sunday lunch time) to ask the gentleman at the parking kiosk whether the cafe was open for business and paying the obligatory £2.00 parking charge, that the care was only serving hot drinks and prepacked sandwiches. the chap behind the counter was also busy on his mobile phone and did not... More 

Helpful?
Thank tms12594
BewlWater, Public Relations at Bewl Water at Bewl Water, responded to this review

Dear tms12594, Thank you for visiting Bewl Water and for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that you like Bewl Water and that you enjoyed the setting. However, we do apologise that you were disappointed with the café. We thank you for your feedback and your comments will be discussed with our management team. We appreciate... More 

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2016

Have not been since the recent owners took over but it was always a good few hours of peaceful entertainment if you walked or rode around the reservoir. In the summer it is very good for the families and I don't know if the boat is still in use but that kept the kids amused. Generally just a nice day... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank philg964
BewlWater, Public Relations at Bewl Water at Bewl Water, responded to this review

Dear Phil, Thank you for your review of Bewl Water. We are so pleased to hear that you have enjoyed visiting us. We have introduced a new boat to the water- The Bewl Belle runs over the summer months and water taxis are also available for trips to different parts of the reservoir. We hope to have the pleasure of... More 

Petersfield, England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2016

We came to Bewl Water many years ago while camping near Lamberhurst when our children were little. Now, our eldest lives nearby and we had the opportunity to enjoy the scenery and surroundings while visiting him. The car parking and visitor centre has changed somewhat, but despite gentle rain, we enjoyed a walk along the dam and beyond, watching herons... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rattypaul
BewlWater, Pubic Relations at Bewl Water at Bewl Water, responded to this review

Dear Rattypaul, Thank you for your comments on Bewl Water. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your walk with us, despite the weather! We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Bewl in the future. Kind Regards, Bewl Water More 

Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2016

This must be one of the best walking locations in the South of England. My Springer Spaniel just loves the round Bewl walk and the parking is now a very reasonable £2. My brisk walk takes approx 3 hours 20 mins but it's also lovely to take a slower stroll with lunch stop. Cafe/Bistro has enormous potential just need to... More 

Helpful?
Thank david c
BewlWater, Public Relations at Bewl Water at Bewl Water, responded to this review

Dear David, Thank you for visiting Bewl Water and for taking the time to leave a review. We are so pleased that you enjoy visiting us with your Springer Spaniel! Thank you for your feedback regarding the service in our café and restaurant, we really appreciate all comments from all of our visitors. We look forward to having the pleasure... More 

Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2016

I visited with friends, their little ones and a very energetic springer spaniel. Perfect for everyone to blow off a bit of steam, get some fresh air and get back to nature. Its a fabulous location with good facilities. You can park for £2, take a picnic and just chill. We all had a terrific day, including the dog who... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alison_Daykin
BewlWater, Public Relations at Bewl Water at Bewl Water, responded to this review

Dear Alison, Thank you for visiting Bewl Water and for taking the time to leave a review. We are so pleased to hear that you all enjoyed your day at Bewl and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future! Kind Regards, Bewl Water More 

Travellers who viewed Bewl Water also viewed

Lamberhurst, Royal Tunbridge Wells
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 

Been to Bewl Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Bewl Water and other visitors
7 questions
Ask a question
Lancing, United Kingdom
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Arrington, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Bewl Water staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?