We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Bewl Water Bewlbridge Lane, Lamberhurst, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN3 8JH, England
Phone Number: +44 1892 890000
Website
Today
08:00 - 21:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 08:00 - 21:00
Description:

Bewl Water is the largest stretch of open water in the South East. The 800...

Bewl Water is the largest stretch of open water in the South East. The 800 acre site is set in an area of outstanding natural beauty, in the heart of the High Weald. Open all year, a visit to this stunning lake is fantastic family fun and great value.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 251 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 113
    Excellent
  • 80
    Very good
  • 33
    Average
  • 15
    Poor
  • 7
    Terrible
Walk or ride its still about 13-14 miles if I remember

Have not been since the recent owners took over but it was always a good few hours of peaceful entertainment if you walked or rode around the reservoir. In the summer it is very... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 weeks ago
philg964
,
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

251 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 248: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was disappointed at the time of our visit (a Sunday lunch time) to ask the gentleman at the parking kiosk whether the cafe was open for business and paying the obligatory £2.00 parking charge, that the care was only serving hot drinks and prepacked sandwiches. the chap behind the counter was also busy on his mobile phone and did not... More 

Helpful?
Thank tms12594
BewlWater, Public Relations at Bewl Water at Bewl Water, responded to this review

Dear tms12594, Thank you for visiting Bewl Water and for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that you like Bewl Water and that you enjoyed the setting. However, we do apologise that you were disappointed with the café. We thank you for your feedback and your comments will be discussed with our management team. We appreciate... More 

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Have not been since the recent owners took over but it was always a good few hours of peaceful entertainment if you walked or rode around the reservoir. In the summer it is very good for the families and I don't know if the boat is still in use but that kept the kids amused. Generally just a nice day... More 

Helpful?
Thank philg964
BewlWater, Public Relations at Bewl Water at Bewl Water, responded to this review

Dear Phil, Thank you for your review of Bewl Water. We are so pleased to hear that you have enjoyed visiting us. We have introduced a new boat to the water- The Bewl Belle runs over the summer months and water taxis are also available for trips to different parts of the reservoir. We hope to have the pleasure of... More 

Petersfield, England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We came to Bewl Water many years ago while camping near Lamberhurst when our children were little. Now, our eldest lives nearby and we had the opportunity to enjoy the scenery and surroundings while visiting him. The car parking and visitor centre has changed somewhat, but despite gentle rain, we enjoyed a walk along the dam and beyond, watching herons... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rattypaul
BewlWater, Pubic Relations at Bewl Water at Bewl Water, responded to this review

Dear Rattypaul, Thank you for your comments on Bewl Water. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your walk with us, despite the weather! We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Bewl in the future. Kind Regards, Bewl Water More 

Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This must be one of the best walking locations in the South of England. My Springer Spaniel just loves the round Bewl walk and the parking is now a very reasonable £2. My brisk walk takes approx 3 hours 20 mins but it's also lovely to take a slower stroll with lunch stop. Cafe/Bistro has enormous potential just need to... More 

Helpful?
Thank david c
BewlWater, Public Relations at Bewl Water at Bewl Water, responded to this review

Dear David, Thank you for visiting Bewl Water and for taking the time to leave a review. We are so pleased that you enjoy visiting us with your Springer Spaniel! Thank you for your feedback regarding the service in our café and restaurant, we really appreciate all comments from all of our visitors. We look forward to having the pleasure... More 

Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I visited with friends, their little ones and a very energetic springer spaniel. Perfect for everyone to blow off a bit of steam, get some fresh air and get back to nature. Its a fabulous location with good facilities. You can park for £2, take a picnic and just chill. We all had a terrific day, including the dog who... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alison_Daykin
BewlWater, Public Relations at Bewl Water at Bewl Water, responded to this review

Dear Alison, Thank you for visiting Bewl Water and for taking the time to leave a review. We are so pleased to hear that you all enjoyed your day at Bewl and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future! Kind Regards, Bewl Water More 

exuma
Level Contributor
115 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Bistro lunch on a Friday for us was made especially enjoyable by the excellent food,good service with views across the Bewl Water. Food was imaginative and medium prices-we all had a share of each others( it was a family occasion ! ) so cannot recommend a particular choice.

Helpful?
Thank bahamasbliss
BewlWater, Public Relations at Bewl Water at Bewl Water, responded to this review

Dear bahamasbliss, Thank you for visiting The Boat House Bistro. We are delighted that you enjoyed your lunch with us and are particularly pleased that you found the food and the service to be of high standards. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Boat House Bistro when we re-open in Spring 2017. Kind Regards,... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great place to go out with the kids! Lots to do, cheap activiites. really fun day out! cant wait for christmas events!

Helpful?
Thank Terry m
BewlWater, Public Relations at Bewl Water at Bewl Water, responded to this review

Dear Terry, Thank you for visiting Bewl Water. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoy visiting us with your children and we look forward to welcoming you to our Christmas Experience this year! Kind Regards, Bewl Water More 

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Dined there last night with friends, first time we had been, food was excellent, service was good, surroundings fine. Having just discovered this bistro we were disappointed to hear that it is closing until March. We will certainly dine there again in March. Sorry we can't visit again before then.

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
BewlWater, Public Relations at Bewl Water at Bewl Water, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer, Thank you for visiting The Boat House Bistro and for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us and that you found the food and the service to be of a high standard. We look forward to welcoming you back when we re-open in Spring 2017!... More 

Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Had a lovely walk here today. The £2 charge per car was reasonable I thought, and the walk at sunset was amazing. The dog enjoyed it too.

Helpful?
Thank Yongnuo
BewlWater, Public Relations at Bewl Water at Bewl Water, responded to this review

Dear Yonguo, Thank you for visiting Bewl Water. We are so pleased to hear that you and your dog enjoyed your walk at Bewl! We look forward to seeing you again soon! Kind Regards, Bewl Water More 

2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

We are in training to climb Kilimanjaro next year and wanted a 5-6 hour trek which was local to us. Bewl Water was the perfect location for this as it's a 13 mile walk around the edge of the reservoir and the views and scenery are beautiful. It combined sturdy and safe trails combined with some tarmac and some hill... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Victoria N
BewlWater, Public Relations at Bewl Water at Bewl Water, responded to this review

Dear Victoria, Thank you for visiting Bewl Water and for writing a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your walk around Bewl and that you enjoyed the beautiful scenery. However, we are disappointed to hear that your experience in the café did not meet your expectations and that you were particularly disappointed with the service. We take all... More 

Travellers who viewed Bewl Water also viewed

 
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 

Been to Bewl Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Bewl Water and other visitors
6 questions
Ask a question
Lancing, United Kingdom
West Sussex, United Kingdom
20 days ago
Arrington, United Kingdom
over a year ago
3 months ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Bewl Water staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?