Canonteign Falls
Canonteign Falls
4.5
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
About
Canonteign Falls is an award winning attraction in the heart of Devon. Visit us for peaceful walks among the waterfalls and lakes and family fun in the gardens and playgrounds. Escape the crowds and experience the highest waterfall in Dartmoor National Park for a perfect day out in Devon for the whole family. Book tickets online before visiting. Canonteign Kitchen serves delicious homemade food with a seasonal lunch menu, cakes, Devon Cream teas, Barista coffee, and special children’s menu. There is a pretty indoor cafe with table seating and a sofa area around a roaring fire in winter, as well as plenty of outside space. Choose from our sun terrace, courtyard or pick a picnic spot from around the grounds. Our Snack Bar opens at weekends and school holidays, making light snacks, hot drinks and ice creams available outside too. Free entry to Shop and Canoteign Kitchen. Dog Friendly!
Suggested duration
2-3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

The area
See what travellers are saying
  • Alex T
    1 contribution
    Great falls, nice cafe, slow service
    Local to us, but never been before. Looking for a nice dog walk, and exercise for us, with a snack and coffee at the end. The grounds with lakes, children's play areas, labyrinth, and of course the falls are nice. The walk to the top of the falls is obviously up hill, over fairly rough steps, and good exercise. Definitely not for elderly or infirm, or pushchairs/wheelchairs. A climb to the top is worth it though as great views. The ferns near the top were nice too.You can see the falls, from the bottom, which is more accessable, although still up hill through the woods, but easier going! We had an enjoyable visit on Mothers day, although at the end when we went to the cafe to have our well earnt coffee, the day was let down by having to wait over half an hour after paying for our coffee to be made. They could of done with another staff member making drinks, at this busy period, too quicken things up! Many people were waiting for drinks. Apart from that we had an enjoyable afternoon. Would of been 5 stars if cafe experience was better. Entry fee was reasonable.
    Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We are so pleased you enjoyed the walk. We had our busiest day of the season (probably the year!) as we had a special mother's day event and the weather was amazing. We did forewarn our visitors as they arrived that they may be subject to queues in the cafe as we were, as you mentioned, short-staffed due to staff illness. We hope you will pop back again to see that it's unusual to have queues outside event time. I do appreciate this can be frustrating at the time, thanks again for taking the time to review us. We hope to see you again soon.
    Written 20 March 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited March 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 19 March 2023
  • Mark E
    9 contributions
    A great way to spend half a day
    A beautiful way to spend a few hours. The walk up the waterfall has a number of lovely views and although it is quite strenuous anyone with reasonable mobility can mange it. There are a number of places to sit along the way. We had lunch in the cafe which was reasonably priced. The deli menu was not available and the milk delivery hadn't arrived but the upside was discovering Oatmilk Latte. Needs decent weather I think as it has few places to shelter and the valley can get some quite dramatic weather. We had quite a magical few hours as the weather just added to our experience.
    Thanks so much for your lovely review. We are so sorry you happened to be its the cafe the day the milk and not arrived, we were let down by our delivery driver so this is definitely a one off and our Deli items are back in stock after a very busy Easter holiday weekend. Thank so much for taking the time to review us.
    Written 18 April 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited April 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 13 April 2023
  • Tara O
    27 contributions
    Beautiful view worth the climb
    Really enjoyable day even without the sunshine joining us. The walk was harder than expected but we all managed it (aged 11 - 72) as there are plenty of rest stops benches to use as needed. Stunning views from the top. Just a shame that the duck food was unable to be used as they were miles away and really not interested in food at all. Cafe stop was well needed after and the cake selection was lovely. The items we chose were tasty and reasonably priced. Would defo recommend but go light on clothes as it will get your heart pumping climbing to the top.
    Thanks so much for your lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your day. We are sorry the ducks were seemingly full on the day, it differs so much from day to day, sometimes they are on the banks and very hungry, other days out in the middle of the Lily Lake, as they are wild ducks free to fly at any time we never know where they might be over our 7 lakes. We are so pleased you enjoyed the cake selection! This is greta feedback thank you.
    Written 6 August 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited August 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 3 August 2023
  • Jilly312018
    United Kingdom20 contributions
    A magical experience
    This is a magical place, the falls are beautifully looked after although a steep climb that needs a degree of fitness. I would have given it 5 stars if the cafe had been better. This really is stuck in the 70’s with poor quality decor and uninspiring food. What an opportunity that’s been missed. Why not have it the other side of the entrance fee and encourage more people, increase turnover and provide good quality food. A simple menu with good ingredients. Otherwise a great place with an excellent children’s playground , no plastic in sight and not plastered in signs just excellent info and treating everyone as an adult.
    Hi Jilly, thanks so much for your review and feedback on our waterfall, we are sorry you were not so keen on our cafe, we really have excellent reviews for it and do have free entry so there is no need to visit the attraction to use it. We have a simple seasonal menu served with home-cooked food, as you have described, and are very much hoping to develop the decor as part of our 5 year plan, but as everyone knows budgets are very tight and we are an independent family business not supported by bigger commercial chains. Currently, it feels homely with flowers on our tables and a sofa seating area which, as the weather gets cooler in autumn, will be around a roaring log burner. We pride ourselves in serving great coffee and cake alongside our signature cream teas. We do however really appreciate your feedback and are so pleased you found your visit to be magical.
    Written 8 September 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited September 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 6 September 2023
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.5
824 reviews
Excellent
535
Very good
192
Average
51
Poor
27
Terrible
19

LindaSb164
Exeter, UK3 contributions
Oct 2023 • Family
Canonteign Falls is our grandchildren’s favourite place to visit - truly magical and the view from the top of the falls is spectacular and worth the climb
Written 22 October 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
What a lovely review, we are so pleased you find it as magical as we do! Thank you so much for taking the time to review us.
Written 23 October 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Beth B
1 contribution
Oct 2023 • Family
Absolutely breathtaking place, I would highly recommend.
It’s a lovely walk with stunning views everywhere and all the staff are so lovely and friendly
Written 17 October 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ahh thank you so much, I have shared this with the staff team as they will love to read your feedback, thanks so much for taking the time to comment it means a lot to us.
Written 23 October 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jamie B
6 contributions
Oct 2023 • Family
Lovely place to visit, admission was quite cheap didn't expect the falls to be so nice. Not suitable for people with mobility problems or without a head for heights. Lots of walking we hired a baby carrier from gift shop, time we got round the waterfall we couldn't wait to get a coffee. Cafe was a little expensive £25 for afternoon tea for 2, food quality was great just not alot of it for the price. Decent boots or trainers with alot of grip recommended.
Written 8 October 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks Jamie for your 5 star review and feedback, we are pleased you thought the entry price was reasonable and will take onboard your feedback re the price of the afternoon tea as we head into next year. We really appreciate your thoughts on this. Thanks so much.
Written 16 October 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Simon R
2 contributions
Sep 2023 • Couples
We visited on a difficult day as far as the weather was concerned, dry on arrival but then a huge downpour which delayed the start of the guided tour. Nevertheless Janet, our guide, took our group under cover for about 30 minutes and provided much very informative history and general background about the site. The rain eased a bit and we got as far as the base of the Falls but the rain started again and it was decided to curtail the tour at that point which was understandable. We intend to return at some future time if we visit that part of Devon and the weather is better so that we we can appreciate the everything that is available to experience. Janet was a delightful guide.
Written 1 October 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you so much for this lovely review, I remember the day and it was a challenge, we are so glad you came and woful love to welcome you back in fine weather. Thank you for taking the time to feedback.
Written 6 October 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Vicki
Westbury, UK1 contribution
Sep 2023 • Couples
Such a beautiful and tranquil place. We had a really lovely stroll through the woods, the sort that I remember as a child. Was worried I’d be cold under the tree cover but the ascent soon sorted that. Looking back I couldn’t believe we’d climbed so high so quickly. We could hear the waterfall right from the start and seeing it was an incredible sight, the views once we finally got to the top even more so. Go. Wear sensible shoes. Be prepared to climb, it’s steep and uneven. Take your time, take a snack, take lots of pictures and take in the sheer awesomeness of it all.
Written 22 September 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wow, what an incredible review, thanks so much for for taking the time to write this. We are so pleased you enjoyed the awesomeness of the waterfall, we think she is very special too!
Written 24 September 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

186338Hmm
Exeter, UK101 contributions
Aug 2023 • Friends
Really enjoyed this visit. Never felt rushed or too crowded. Less comercial than places like the Eden Project or Lost Gardens of Heligan.
Written 13 September 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
I am so appreciative of you taking the time to review us, we really try to find the right balance between being open to the public but still immersed in nature. thanks for taking the time to feedback.
Written 14 September 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jilly312018
United Kingdom20 contributions
Sep 2023 • Couples
This is a magical place, the falls are beautifully looked after although a steep climb that needs a degree of fitness. I would have given it 5 stars if the cafe had been better. This really is stuck in the 70’s with poor quality decor and uninspiring food. What an opportunity that’s been missed. Why not have it the other side of the entrance fee and encourage more people, increase turnover and provide good quality food. A simple menu with good ingredients. Otherwise a great place with an excellent children’s playground , no plastic in sight and not plastered in signs just excellent info and treating everyone as an adult.
Written 6 September 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Jilly, thanks so much for your review and feedback on our waterfall, we are sorry you were not so keen on our cafe, we really have excellent reviews for it and do have free entry so there is no need to visit the attraction to use it. We have a simple seasonal menu served with home-cooked food, as you have described, and are very much hoping to develop the decor as part of our 5 year plan, but as everyone knows budgets are very tight and we are an independent family business not supported by bigger commercial chains. Currently, it feels homely with flowers on our tables and a sofa seating area which, as the weather gets cooler in autumn, will be around a roaring log burner. We pride ourselves in serving great coffee and cake alongside our signature cream teas. We do however really appreciate your feedback and are so pleased you found your visit to be magical.
Written 8 September 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

thewishfulthinlker
London, UK2 contributions
Aug 2023 • Family
Excellent attraction. Well organised and very good value for money. Would definitely recommend to others.
Written 2 September 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you so much for such a lovely review and feedback it really means a lot to us.
Written 8 September 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

sam s
4 contributions
Aug 2023 • Family
Such a lovely place for walks. Takes a couple of hours if you do the falls to the top and lower lakes walks. Worth the slightly slippy walk to the top. Wear decent trainers or boots. Lovely cafe after for deserved food and drink. Well worth a visit.
Written 1 September 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks so much for your lovely review and recommendations this summer good walking shoes have been an absolute must as the paths have been a little slippery due to the rain. I will make sure I pass on your lovely comments to the cafe to the team. They will be thrilled to hear them. We hope to see you soon.
Written 1 September 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Usher7278
Stroud, UK21 contributions
Aug 2023 • Family
Visited with hubby and 2 girls (12 and 9yrs). Beautiful grounds, well maintained and clean. It has all you need for a simple and relaxed day out. People of all ages dotted around the place... lakes, play areas, cafe, shop, toilets etc... and of course the walk up to the waterfall. Obviously accessibility is an inevitable difficulty when negotiating the steps and woodland paths up to the viewpoint but for those able to make their way there, it is well worth it.

We bought the trail activity pack which just adds to the enjoyment, scouring the trees for fairies and reading the signs for quiz answers engaged all the family.

We didn't sample the cafe other than a milkshake and tea/coffee but it all seemed fresh and simple which we'd happily have eaten if we'd not brought a picnic.

Dogs on leads are welcome, and with large open spaces for children to run and play it is a day out that caters for all. Thank you.
Written 30 August 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks so much for such a detailed and lovely description of your visit, which I feel sums us up perfectly. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and we really hope to see you again soon. Thank you for taking the time to feedback.
Written 1 September 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 820
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

CANONTEIGN FALLS: All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)

Frequently Asked Questions about Canonteign Falls

Canonteign Falls is open:
  • Sun - Sat 10:00 - 16:00


Restaurants near Canonteign Falls: View all restaurants near Canonteign Falls on Tripadvisor