We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Explore Orkney Tours
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
36
All photos (36)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent91%
  • Very good4%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“great tour”(8 reviews)
“ring of brodgar”(10 reviews)
“skara brae”(14 reviews)
About
Contact
Unit 3 Quarry Road, Finstown KW17 2EN, Scotland
Website
+44 1856 761159
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
78
4
1
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
78
4
1
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great tour ring of brodgar skara brae comfortable van italian chapel bad weather private tour megaliths susan company cruise sites orkney ship peoples geography knowledge
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2018

We (2) had organised to take the first flight onto Orkney and the last flight out and to be taken to see key sights on the island for the day by Explore Orkney. I had phoned Susan some months before to organise this and discussed...More

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Robin P
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

Since returning from our 2-month overseas trip (from Australia), we keep telling our friends and relatives about the amazing, busy day we spent with Susan, who showed just the two of us the main archeological sites as part of the Explore Orkney Megaliths and Mystery...More

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank DellMac
Reviewed 9 June 2018

Four of us booked this tour as a one-day excursion on our British Isles Princess cruise We were met by Trevor at 8:30 am and rode with two other couples in a comfortable van on our tour of Orkney. Trevor has lived on Orkney his...More

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Bon S
Reviewed 27 July 2017

We had 9 people in our group. We found Kevin via phone call when we got off the ship. We wish we would have found him before our cruise. He took us all for a tour of the sites we wanted to see, and then...More

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Fcf57
Reviewed 24 June 2017

The tour got off to a rough start...there was one other couple and we both had emails from Susan saying that the guide would meet us at 8:30..,. we waited and waited. Trevor showed up and realized we were not happy. He was very apologetic...More

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank J H
exploreOrk, Owner at Explore Orkney Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

My sincere apologies for the mix up for the start times for this tour date. On investigation an initial email was sent stating an 0830hrs start which was changed by request from one of the guests to 9am. Trevor arrived at 0845hrs as he always...More

Reviewed 10 June 2017

I would not recommend this tour group for cruise groups, given the frequent times cruise ships are unable to dock. It sounded like a great tour, and we were disappointed to miss. I am sure if we had the opportunity we would have expressed the...More

Date of experience: May 2017
2  Thank Faroffplaces1
exploreOrk, Owner at Explore Orkney Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Explore Orkney likes to acknowledge all reviews both positive and negative to enhance and improve our tours. The issues appear to be our refund policy and the ability of ships docking in bad weather. We make it very clear to all our guests what our...More

Reviewed 21 May 2017

Our May 1st Caribbean Princess cruise was unable to dock in Kirkwall. The ship's Captain reported high winds and the unavailability of tug boats to provide docking assistance as the issue. Explore Orkney Tours reported no such conditions and the problem lay with the ship's...More

Date of experience: May 2017
3  Thank clmom
exploreOrk, Owner at Explore Orkney Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Explore Orkney likes to acknowledge all reviews both positive and negative to enhance and improve our tours. The issues appear to be our refund policy and the ability of ships docking in bad weather. We make it very clear to all our guests what our...More

Reviewed 2 March 2017

We had only one day to visit Orkney and we hired a car and driver to make the most of the sights we were interested in seeing. Sue from Explore Orkney Tours met us at the ferry and drove us around the island, making stops...More

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Mary Pat D
Reviewed 11 December 2016

We took this tour November 22, 2016. Our guide was very knowledgeable, very personable, down to earth and genuine! We learned so much and a had a great time. We would definitely recommend this tour to a friend. The forecast for Orkney in November is...More

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank Scrabby2016
Reviewed 28 October 2016

I spent my two days in Orkney with Explore Orkney tours, and I could not have asked for a better experience. It was the end of the season, and I was the only person on the tours both days, but the tours were still run...More

Date of experience: October 2016
1  Thank JoCombs
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 17 nearby hotels
Standing Stones Hotel
211 reviews
3.97 miles away
The Foveran
146 reviews
4.91 miles away
Polrudden Guest House
48 reviews
5.21 miles away
The Ayre Hotel
443 reviews
5.38 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 68 nearby restaurants
The Waterside Cafe
26 reviews
.20 miles away
Gerri's Ice Cream Parlour
67 reviews
4.33 miles away
The Foveran Restaurant
565 reviews
4.91 miles away
Standing Stones Hotel
42 reviews
3.76 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 108 nearby attractions
Maeshowe
624 reviews
2.85 miles away
Corrigall Farm Museum
55 reviews
4.38 miles away
Fursbreck Pottery
7 reviews
2.02 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Explore Orkney Tours staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines