We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Chwarel Penrhyn Quarry, Bethesda, Bangor LL57 4YG, Wales
Phone Number:
+44 1248 601444
Website
Today
08:00 - 18:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 08:00 - 18:30
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Description:

Zip World Snowdonia is the longest zip wire in the northern hemisphere and...

Zip World Snowdonia is the longest zip wire in the northern hemisphere and it the fastest in the world! Reaching speeds of up to 100mph, it is also a guided adventure experience that lasts for approx 2hours, and is located in the most dramatic of settings - Penrhyn Quarry which is nestled amongst the mountains of north Wales.

Zip World is a first for the UK, the site contains two specially constructed and amazing zip lines, the 'little zipper' first will take you down to the bottom of the quarry, reaching speeds of up to 40mph, you will then pick up your specialised vehicle for a magnificent quarry tour in what was once the largest slate quarry in the world, before then zip lining back down over a mile, looking down at what was until the 1950s the largest man-made hole on the planet.

Experience the nearest thing to flying today!!!!!

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 2,258 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 1812
    Excellent
  • 301
    Very good
  • 59
    Average
  • 20
    Poor
  • 59
    Terrible
my 60th birthday pressie doing 100miles an hour

FANTASTIC so well organised, the staff are lovely. the mini zip lets you get the feel for the position you'll fly in, the views are amazing. would have liked to do it over and... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 days ago
fattybumpkins
,
Colchester, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

2,258 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,251: English reviews
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

FANTASTIC so well organised, the staff are lovely. the mini zip lets you get the feel for the position you'll fly in, the views are amazing. would have liked to do it over and over

Helpful?
Thank fattybumpkins
Zip World T, Adventure Booking Centre at Zip World, responded to this review

Happy 60th! We are so pleased you had an amazing time. Thank you for your review. More 

Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Staff were attentive and caring esp when I fell off the quarry truck steps lol hubby done the zip wire as his 40 th birthday present and found it totally amazing the views and the experience is well worth the money he can't wait to do again !!!!!! The quarry tours are now not open to public that are not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fiona S
Zip World T, Adventure Booking Centre at Zip World, responded to this review

Thank you so much. Happy 40th to your husband! Many thanks for highlighting how great our staff are, this means a lot to us. Although we are no longer doing the spectator Quarry Tours, the new Adventure Terminal will give spectators and Velocity riders a much better experience. The rooftop viewing area, where riders will fly past, will be amazing! More 

Level Contributor
116 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

My husband organised a trip of about 30 people to do the zipwire. We arrived and were shocked how organised everything was. Taken in weighed, suited up given a run through of safety etc. Small zipwire first then into the biggy. Speeds of upto 100 mph and the views are wonderful. Going back again later this year.

Helpful?
Thank Queensmot
Zip World T, Adventure Booking Centre at Zip World, responded to this review

Superb! We are glad you all had a great day. We look forward to seeing you all again soon. Many thanks for your review and visit. More 

1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Wow! Is how I'll start! An amazing experience, from arrival the staff tagged us, gave us our times to go, didn't have long to wait! I have mobility difficulties and walk with a stick, but it didn't make any difference at all..! All of the staff couldn't have been more kind and extremely considerate, from kitting up, driving me specifically... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kirstine G
Zip World T, Adventure Booking Centre at Zip World, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this amazing review. We are very grateful and so pleased you had a brilliant day. More 

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My partner bought this for me as a present and we spent the weekend in Wales celebrating our birthdays with the zip line being the main attraction. The weather was cold, wet and miserable! Which fair enough it's Wales in march, lucky the zips were not cancelled. However the weather made it so you couldn't see a thing and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank BeeAndTortoise
Zip World T, Adventure Booking Centre at Zip World, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. Apologies about the weather on the day you visited. We can still have some of the best days in the Spring and Winter also. The views can still be amazing and we have the best temperature inversions, the beauty of the mountains. We would love to see you back again. More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Well organised, easy to find, slick and fun! What a great idea. I've read some of the reviews and yes we were lucky with the weather but honestly can't really fault the place. Read the small print and take care with stuff but honestly its a real blast. There was 8 in my party from 16 to 78 and we... More 

Helpful?
Thank TheSkiptonSquire
Zip World T, Adventure Booking Centre at Zip World, responded to this review

We love slick! Glad you all enjoyed. Come back soon! Thank you. More 

2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

i advice everyone to do this its fun you go on two zip lines one small one and one big one the staff are friendly nice polite helpful they make sure your checked by two members of staff before your even allowed to be let loss lol they radio to the people below to let them know your going they... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jody S
Zip World T, Adventure Booking Centre at Zip World, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and recommendation. We hope to see you at another adventure soon! More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Weather prevented me from doing my Zip ride. This was booked for the start of our holiday. What I didn't realise until we got home was you have to apply to get a refund and the time limit had expired. Quite a sneaky way of keeping revenues up when a weather dependent activity is cancelled. So be aware, if the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank marksmith99
Zip World T, Adventure Booking Centre at Zip World, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Firstly, I would like to apologise your adventure was postponed due to the high winds we understand the disappointment this causes. With regards to the refund it clearly states on the adventure postponement email, we also text and phone out, to claim a refund within 14 days. We also try... More 

Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This has to be one of the best experiences I have ever had. Staff were great, safety aspect was very thorough. Was there for 1hr 30mins completing both the nursery training before the big one. I would love to do it again but will go to their other site to complete the sitting position one. They film you (Free!) and... More 

Helpful?
Thank 35JudyB
Zip World T, Adventure Booking Centre at Zip World, responded to this review

That is praise indeed. Glad you enjoyed it so much! Many thanks for your review and we look forward to seeing you at Titan. Have fun! More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A fantastic experience; the staff were friendly and outgoing, the equipment seemed super secure (at least I hope it was!!) and the experience was awesome! Would definitely recommend! We also did the caverning and, if you can only do one of them, I would actually say the Caverning was better! It also lasted for longer so you feel you're getting... More 

Helpful?
Thank gloriouslylost
Zip World T, Adventure Booking Centre at Zip World, responded to this review

Superb! Woo hoo - we love it! Thank you for your review. Yes, you were super secure. Glad you enjoyed! More 

Travellers who viewed Zip World also viewed

Blaenau Ffestiniog, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Blaenau Ffestiniog, Snowdonia National Park
Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Zip World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Zip World and other visitors
98 questions
Ask a question
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 months ago
Solihull, United Kingdom
over a year ago
1 month ago
Rotherham, United Kingdom
11 months ago

See all questions (98)

Questions? Get answers from Zip World staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?