We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Battlefield Experience

Ploegsteert, Belgium
More
About Battlefield Experience
Since the Coronavirus crisis we have installed a new routine: All cars are cleaned and sanitized after every tour. Drivers/guides are wearing a face mask, a bord of the vehicles are sanitizing gel, face masks and gloves. Drivers / guides clean their hands every time we stop and all safety rules are respected. Guided battlefield tours with an experienced guide. We offer you a first class service: tours can be adapted to your needs, Hotel pick-up and drop-off, lunches included, bottled water, and a booklet recording the tour. Security is important, we know all the places where we will bring you and can adapt to all the situations. The drivers are experienced and our vehicles are controlled every 6 months. We have a transport and a guiding license.
Read more
Open Now
Hours Today: 00:00 - 23:59
See all hours
72Reviews1Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 64
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Austin wrote a review Dec 2019
1 contribution
My wife and I did this tour with Claude. Two points to put peoples minds at ease. First, is that he was on time and his vehicle was very safe, comfortable and reliable. He went through great lengths to keep us on time to what was a very full-day schedule. Second, is his knowledge about the region and the war itself. He knows the full-background and history of the great war and his knowledge of the military regiments is outstanding (Canadian, British, German, Australian, French, etc). In particular, I was interested in the history of the PPCLI in the region and was not disappointed. His family has lived in the region for generations and this brings a personal touch to the the tour. We were not disappointed.
Read more
Date of experience: November 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from 736Nelly, Owner at Battlefield Experience
Responded 23 Mar 2020
Hi, TNWE thank you very much for your nice comment, I am glad you enjoyed the tour. Claude
Read more
MABOntario wrote a review Oct 2019
Ontario50 contributions26 helpful votes
Claude was excellent, picked the two of us up in Lille right on time. He his very knowledgeable and explained all facets and the sequence of the battles that took place. Had a very nice lunch and the entire day was so informative. I learned so much, it meant so much to us. I would recommend Claude anytime. We ended our day at the Menin gate and experienced the very moving daily remembrance ceremony there, in Ypres. Excellent.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from ClaudeV967, Propriétaire at Battlefield Experience
Responded 5 Oct 2019
Dear MAB, thank you for the nice review, I am glad you enjoyed the day. Claude
Read more
Canuckonthego wrote a review Aug 2019
Edmonton, Alberta3 contributions2 helpful votes
I booked this private tour through Expedia and received confirmation and vouchers . All I had to do was email Claude to confirm hotel pick up. I was now ready to book my hotel and train tickets. I’m so glad I didn’t because I received an email from Claude that he doubled book the dates and can’t except my booking. Well that was extremely disappointing because I couldn’t locate another tour from Brugge. I got a refund within 7 days but I was mad , I had to rearrange my whole vacation because of his unorganized behavior. Do not book with Battlefield experience. Buyer beware!
Read more
Date of experience: August 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from ClaudeV967, Manager at Battlefield Experience
Responded 8 Aug 2019
Dear Bonnie D, thank you for your review. Yes indeed I had a booking coming in an hour or so before yours and in that short amount of time I could not manage my diary because I was on a tour. I am sorry to hear that you have to change your entire vacation. Nevertheless I hope you will enjoy your holiday. Claude
Read more
Kangourou_itinerant wrote a review Apr 2019
Paris, France29 contributions31 helpful votes
Claude is extremely patient, considerate and knowledgeable. He showed considerable patience and indeed with our two two little girls (9 and 11), who at times bombarded him with a thousand questions at times bordering on the bizarre. Even more amazing, even towards the end of the day, the kids weren’t complaining at all. He kept them fully and in thrall. The tour was well planned and very well executed. Fully recommended.
Read more
Date of experience: April 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from ClaudeV967, Propriétaire at Battlefield Experience
Responded 14 Apr 2019
Hi Richard, thank you for your review, I pent a nice day with you and your family. Claude
Read more
AucklandExplorer wrote a review Nov 2018
Auckland7 contributions1 helpful vote
We had a really informative and full day with Claude. He is really well informed and he focused on the areas of interest to us ( New Zealand and South Africa). We strongly recommend booking a trip with Claude for anyone interested in learning more about WW1!
Read more
Date of experience: November 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from ClaudeV967, Propriétaire at Battlefield Experience
Responded 13 Nov 2018
Thank you very much for the nice comment. Claude
Read more
Previous
123456