Aphrodite Hills Riding Club

Aphrodite Hills Riding Club

Aphrodite Hills Riding Club
5
About
Aphrodite Hills Riding Club is situated in a magical area of Lakkos Tou Frangou, just 10 minutes from the main Aphrodite Hills Resort, near Paphos; it is in an area of outstanding natural beauty, truly wonderful offering peace and tranquillity for riders. For anyone who wants to see the real Cyprus on horseback this is a must. Whether you are a total novice who just wants to try horse riding or a more seasoned rider we can cater for any level at Aphrodite Hills Riding Club. Individual horse riding lessons are available for any level of riding ability on well schooled and trained horses and ponies. All lesson are taught by fully qualified, experienced and friendly instructors. We also offer guided trail rides catering for all abilities so that you may experience the beautiful countryside of Aphrodite Hills, trail rides vary depending on ability.
Meets animal welfare guidelines
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

The area
Address
Reach out directly
See what travellers are saying
  • 🙂
    12 contributions
    Highly recommended
    We visited the stables twice during our holiday to Paphos, I took my younger son first who said he couldn’t put into words how amazing it was. After telling his older brother we of course had to bring them both back the very next day. Thalia was brilliant with them, she was so friendly and knowledgable and really put them at ease. It’s a beautiful place and the horses were very well cared for. The resident cats were gorgeous and really friendly. Highly recommended! Can’t wait to go back!
    Visited February 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 27 February 2023
  • Laulx
    Hertfordshire, United Kingdom40 contributions
    If you love horses, the stables are a must visit…
    This is my second visit to Aphrodite Riding Club, Thalia took it over in 2019 after I had been and I thought it was even better than before! Firstly Thalia has a wealth of experience with an English riding and competing background so the horses and the yard is looked after really well and is in top condition. I did a trail ride and it’s gorgeous, viewing points, farmland and I was able to get some canters in! I was able to help in tack, shower off and see the other horses. They also have a gorgeous dog who is really friendly and loves a cuddle! Note for driving in a hire car... go slow, it’s literally in the hills and it’s quite a stony track! You don’t want to get any burst tires in the middle but you can get Thalia and her team to pick you up/drop you if needed from the resort which I did!
    Visited July 2023
    Travelled solo
    Written 8 July 2023
  • Linda D
    1 contribution
    Family rides on Monday morning with Thalia, staff and brilliant horses.
    As a family of 8 from 7-70yrs, beginners to riders we had a fantastic morning on trail rides. Thalia and her staff were fantastic. Helpful. Knowledgeable. Professional. Made us all feel special. A brilliant experience for us all. Everyone now wants to go horse riding. Thank you so much Thalia. Great job.
    Visited August 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 23 August 2023
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
5.0
191 reviews
Excellent
179
Very good
7
Average
1
Poor
1
Terrible
3

twitch m
1 contribution
Oct 2023 • Family
We had the most beautiful evening trek tonight at Aphrodite Hills Riding Club, everything was wonderful, Thalia’s correspondence was excellent in organising our trip, Joe picked us up from the village square and transported us to the stables, it’s absolutely breathtaking up there, we were assigned to our beautiful, calm horses Jake & Twizzle after assessing our experience level, which was complete beginners, but we never felt at all nervous and throughly enjoyed the whole experience, taking in the stunning scenery and sunset, whilst feeling like we were in very safe hands.
A really special & memorable time, thank you Thalia & Joe, we will hopefully be back again.
Written 17 October 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Sandra Solomon
Helsinki, Finland3 contributions
Oct 2023 • Friends
We had a 1,5h trail ride. I told while doing the booking that we are two very experienced riders and have owned our own horses. Not a single experienced rider would pay 75€ for a 1,5h walking trail. We did not have any canter on the trail. When I made the booking I kindly asked that if this trail includes some canter as we are good riders, and the answer was that yes it is possible if the weather is good. The weather was excellent when we went, not too hot and didn’t rain.

We had three times about 30m of trotting and the rest was walking. I traveled all the way from Ayia Napa for this trail. Huge dissapointment. I would have appreciated for some honesty here, they should have told that the road is rocky and not for cantering when I made the booking..

The owner was really nice and kind and if you are a beginner rider this is the place for you definitely! Nice horses and well being taken care of.

As the owner was really nice I didn’t have the gut complaining about this when we were there, but I’m really really dissapointed and sad that we spent 150€ for this and I travelled all the way there and lost a whole day of vacation because of this.

So if you are a experienced rider looking for a fun trail ride, this is not for you. 🙁

(also be aware that the road to the stables is so rocky that our small rental car literally almost broke there)
Written 9 October 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Linda D
1 contribution
Aug 2023 • Family
As a family of 8 from 7-70yrs, beginners to riders we had a fantastic morning on trail rides. Thalia and her staff were fantastic. Helpful. Knowledgeable. Professional. Made us all feel special. A brilliant experience for us all. Everyone now wants to go horse riding. Thank you so much Thalia. Great job.
Written 23 August 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Laulx
Hertfordshire, UK40 contributions
Jul 2023 • Solo
This is my second visit to Aphrodite Riding Club, Thalia took it over in 2019 after I had been and I thought it was even better than before!

Firstly Thalia has a wealth of experience with an English riding and competing background so the horses and the yard is looked after really well and is in top condition.

I did a trail ride and it’s gorgeous, viewing points, farmland and I was able to get some canters in!

I was able to help in tack, shower off and see the other horses.

They also have a gorgeous dog who is really friendly and loves a cuddle!

Note for driving in a hire car... go slow, it’s literally in the hills and it’s quite a stony track! You don’t want to get any burst tires in the middle but you can get Thalia and her team to pick you up/drop you if needed from the resort which I did!
Written 8 July 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Evgenia E
3 contributions
Apr 2023 • Couples
I’m not usually a person who complains, especially on the Internet, but the treatment I’ve received by this place in specifically the female in charge is incredibly appalling. After struggling to fit me in for a 30 minute session we finally agreed on Thursday at half five. Now, Aphrodite Hills is a 25 minute drive for me but nonetheless, I was excited about finally going horse riding for the first time. I got to Aphrodite Hills at 5:25 where I then proceeded to call the lady that booked me my appointment to which she responded very casual manor “oh you didn’t get my text?” The lady then went on to explain that she had messaged me and a bunch of others a a few days ago to inform us that the horse had given birth that the holes had given bus bus, and thus was unable to complete the horse riding. Irregardless, I asked if we could re-book to which she said of course come tomorrow at 6:30. After making the drive for a second time in a row and due to heavy congestion on the dual carriageway I arrived at 6:14 after trying to contact her once again to receive the location of the horse riding area she informed me once again that I could not complete my schedule horse riding as it was getting too late. Now I’m not a very suspicious man, but canceling on me on two occasions for reasons that I simply do not believe are true, displays low professionalism and no respect for your clientele. You mean to tell me that I was scheduled for a 30 minute horse riding session on a pregnant horse? How could that have been? And then 10 minutes after your scheduled appointment time you told me it’s too late.? Like I said at the beginning of this rant, I’m not a person who complains it’s just this place has managed to turn something that should have an enjoyable experience, and an initiation into equestrian life in to a long and tedious ordeal. The worst thing is. After expressing my frustrations in a calm and collected manner to the lady in charge, i said well you’ve cancelled 5 times what gives me the confidence that you won’t do it again, to which she responded we’ve only canceled three times in a very condescending manner. I really and truly would not recommend this place to my worst enemy. I would rather throw my money into a pit of fire, then pay these rude and inconsiderate people. thank you that was all.
Written 10 April 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi, thank you for your review, please see the following answers: Yes one of the horses did give birth, it was at a busy time however Mother Nature has its own time scale. We did try and contact you and it was unfortunate that you didnt receive our message as I can understand how frustrating this must be. On the 2nd occasion you did turn up late, unfortunately it was too late, if you had arrived on time we could have given you the lesson but you called from the middle of the resort so you were still 10/15 minutes away from the location. We cannot teach a lesson in the dark and the horses are our priority as they have to be fed at a certain time each day. I was slightly amazed by your comment that you thought you had been booked on a pregnant horse...no that is not correct at all, we have many horses however when a mare gives birth we have a responsability to the horse to keep the area quiet for a few days so that we do not disturb the bond between mare and foal. Im sorry this happened to you however other customers on those days we did have to also cancel, you were not on your own. A professional stables will always put the welfare of the horses first. As a gesture to show what the stables is about and see the extend of the professional operation I would like to invite you as our guest to come riding and meet the new addition.
Written 11 April 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Relax53582966580
2 contributions
Apr 2023 • Solo
Don’t even consider going for a horse ride!! I tried booking 3 times and she cancelled for stupid reasons. Eventually, we agreed to have the session at Thursday at 5.30. I called her to tell her that i was there and she had the audacity to tell me that one of her horses gave birth( apparently the same day and time that i booked my appointment) we rescheduled for the next day at 6.30. So for the SECOND TIME i drive a 20 min ride only for her to tell me that it was getting dark and we couldn’t make it, not even for 10 minutes. Do yourselves a favor and choose any other company regarding horse riding. I had to drive 20 minutes two days in a row only to hear stupid excuses.
Written 7 April 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi, thank you for your review, please see the following answers: Yes one of the horses did give birth, it was at a busy time however Mother Nature has its own time scale. We did try and contact you and it was unfortunate that you didnt receive our message as I can understand how frustrating this must be. On the 2nd occasion you did turn up late, unfortunately it was too late, if you had arrived on time we could have given you the lesson but you called from the middle of the resort so you were still 10/15 minutes away from the location. We cannot teach a lesson in the dark and the horses are our priority as they have to be fed at a certain time each day. I was slightly amazed by your comment that you thought you had been booked on a pregnant horse...no that is not correct at all, we have many horses however when a mare gives birth we have a responsability to the horse to keep the area quiet for a few days so that we do not disturb the bond between mare and foal. Im sorry this happened to you however other customers on those days we did have to also cancel, you were not on your own. A professional stables will always put the welfare of the horses first. As a gesture to show what the stables is about and see the extend of the professional operation I would like to invite you as our guest to come riding and meet the new addition.
Written 11 April 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

🙂
12 contributions
Feb 2023 • Family
We visited the stables twice during our holiday to Paphos, I took my younger son first who said he couldn’t put into words how amazing it was. After telling his older brother we of course had to bring them both back the very next day. Thalia was brilliant with them, she was so friendly and knowledgable and really put them at ease. It’s a beautiful place and the horses were very well cared for. The resident cats were gorgeous and really friendly. Highly recommended! Can’t wait to go back!
Written 27 February 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Natalia D
Rumia, Poland17 contributions
Jan 2022 • Solo
I am late with the review as I visited that place more than one year ago but I need to write it! I really loved the atmosphere, horses and instructors! I have so beautiful memories and I hope that while visiting Cyprus I will come back to you! I highly recommend that place if you want to continue learning but still enjoy your ride! Being there was a pure pleasure! All the best to you guys and happy new year!!!
Written 29 December 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Diane R
1 contribution
Aug 2022
My daughter and I had a lovely trail ride through the beautiful countryside. The horses are lovely and so well looked after by Talia and her team. Definitely recommend this.
Written 15 August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Blonde Traveller
Barbados27 contributions
Jun 2022
I went for two trail rides while staying nearby. Both horses were absolutely wonderful. Thalia and her team were fantastic.

The trail has some wonderful views that are made even better though a pair of happy ears!

Would definitely recommend for both experienced and beginner riders :)
Written 8 July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 182
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

APHRODITE HILLS RIDING CLUB: All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)

Frequently Asked Questions about Aphrodite Hills Riding Club


Restaurants near Aphrodite Hills Riding Club: View all restaurants near Aphrodite Hills Riding Club on Tripadvisor