We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lapland Safaris Yllas

Features Animals
Akaslompolo, Finland
More
About Lapland Safaris Yllas
From our office in Ylläs we provide day tour adventures suitable for all: come with us and enjoy snowmobile safaris, reindeer and husky rides, or snowshoes walks in the nature.
Read more
Travellers talk about

Lapland Safaris Yllas
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
220Reviews5Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 195
  • 20
  • 1
  • 2
  • 2
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Diane N wrote a review Jan 2020
176 contributions67 helpful votes
Ice hotel- great place to visit, drinks at the ice bar were a bit expensive €10 for half glass of champaigne. It's worth staying overnight but wouldn't do it again. Reindeer farm- AMAZING. Very much worth a trip. Ask lots of questions but don't ask how many reindeer they have, it's the equivalent of them asking how much money you have in the bank. Husky sledding- AMAZING! Please wrap up warm, it seems obvious but you do freeze. TOP TIP- book them before you go, you will get them a lot cheaper.
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from AnneLaplandSafaris, Front Office Manager at Lapland Safaris Yllas
Responded 28 Jan 2020
Hi Diane, Thank you for taking time to leave us your review! We are happy to hear you had a great time in Lapland and had the time to experience many of the activities we offer. Best regards from snowy Ylläs!
Read more
Sarika S wrote a review Jan 2020
San Francisco, California19 contributions2 helpful votes
We went with them to the Snow Village New Year's Celebrations. The charges were way too high & they did not instruct us about the time to reach etc. We missed the dinner & the snow village rooms close to visitors at 8 pm.- so had a hurried look. The snow mobile ride ( supposedly to see the Northern Lights) was a silly loop - 10 minute ride - Are we small kids??? Not at all happy with the costs we incurred - $ couples!!
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from AnneLaplandSafaris, Front Office Manager at Lapland Safaris Yllas
Responded 28 Jan 2020
Hi Sarika, Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that your experience on our New Year's Event has not met your expectations. To improve our service, it would be important to hear where you have booked this excursion, as it seems the information you have is not correct. Could you please kindly contact us directly by email at yllas@laplandsafaris.fi to give us further information on where you have made the booking. We have promoted this event on our webstore, in some of the hotels in the area and in the general websites of Ylläs. Everywhere where this event has been promoted, the timetables and what is included has been clearly written. It has been possible to book the event with or without transfers and in all cases we have given the meeting times and schedules for the event. Also, it has been mentioned that this is a family friendly event, with a few short and easy going activities included. The rooms and common areas have been open until midnight, so all guests who have booked the event or the New Year's dinner at SnowVillage have had a chance to look around freely in the area for 2,5hours before midnight. Live music in the ice bar was available also until midnight before the private firework show started outside. If you book the event through Lapland Safaris, a dinner at SnowVillage is not included but was available in the warm restaurant at a supplement cost at least around 10pm in the evening. We hope that your overall experience in Lapland was still nice! And as mentioned, we would be happy to get more information about where you have booked the event, to make sure that in the future everyone would get correct information for our excursions.
Read more
the drunken reviewer wrote a review Jan 2020
Redditch, United Kingdom60 contributions36 helpful votes
Yllas. Me and my wife went on a nighttime tour (adults only) and was lucky enough to get it just the two of us and the one instructer (can't remember his name.. Curly hair shoulder length very funny guy) we got to travel a total of 36km through snowmobile tracks across lapland and the views are absolutely epic. We stopped off at a teepee like place and our instructer told all sorts of info about the country and lapland fed us barbecue sausages on a fire he made himself and gave us hot drinks before we blasted it back to where we started. It was a once in a lifetime incredible experience and couldn't recommend it enough.
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from AnneLaplandSafaris, Front Office Manager at Lapland Safaris Yllas
Responded 28 Jan 2020
Hi beerandgrub, Thank your for taking the time to leave us a review! We are happy to hear you had a great time on our safari. The night time snowmobile is definitely a nice experience to discover when in Lapland. I'm quite sure I recognize the guide you are referring to and will pass on your kind greetings to him. Best regards from Ylläs!
Read more
Hiliain wrote a review Dec 2019
38 contributions12 helpful votes
This was one of the best adventure experiences we have had. The 2 guides ( Ian and Anna) were excellent and made sure everyone enjoyed the evening. We walked through snowy forests looking at the winter scenes and tracking animals. We sat under starry skies looking at the constellations and drinking hot juice. We’ve spend many a NYE in a pub: after this never again. Our appetite for wilderness rejuvenated. Thanks so much Ian and Anna. We all thoroughly enjoyed it. Happy New Year.
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from AnneLaplandSafaris, Front Office Manager at Lapland Safaris Yllas
Responded 28 Jan 2020
Dear Hiliain, Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. We will pass on your warm greetings to our guides Ian and Anna! There are definitely many great ways to spend your New Year's Eve, and we are happy to hear this experience was one of the best ones!
Read more
L2912UBs wrote a review Dec 2019
Melbourne, Australia731 contributions227 helpful votes
+1
Does it cost a lot? Yes and once you learn of the effort behind the reindeer ride, from training, feeding, health, and care of these beautiful animals you may appreciate the cost required. I was a skeptic, since changed. The info: Bus to farm some half hour away. Arrive. Instructions given. 2 person per sleigh. 1 drives. 20-30 minute reindeer ride. (Reindeers know what to do do it’s easy). Feed reindeer arctic grass. Return to hut. Coffe, tea or hot berry juice. Ask questions. Learn of reindeer care. Much easier than huskies but very different experience. This is more relaxed. Reindeers at this farm are recorded in kms worked, rotated, let roam free in summer and so much more. Mostly great experience. Things not provided as advised that were to be included: thermal outfit not offered nor observed; reindeer farm visit was arriving, walking past a yard with some reindeer in, to board our ride, so it isn’t a true farm walk around. Pictures below from 2pm time slot. I wouldn’t recommend doing any later due to darkness.
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
1234569