The House of Bruar
The House of Bruar
3.5
9:30 AM - 5:30 PM
Monday
9:30 AM - 5:30 PM
Tuesday
9:30 AM - 5:30 PM
Wednesday
9:30 AM - 5:30 PM
Thursday
9:30 AM - 5:30 PM
Friday
9:30 AM - 5:30 PM
Saturday
9:30 AM - 5:30 PM
Sunday
9:30 AM - 5:30 PM
About
Duration: More than 3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Top ways to experience The House of Bruar
See what travellers are saying
  • maggie l
    1 contribution
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Pedestrian Crossing
    Nice place to visit, good big car parks, problem with the car park on the right side at entry. There are signs saying 'Careful Busy Road ' which it is, but no Pelican or Zebra Crossings to get over the road to House of Bruar, once you manage to cross the road you then have to walk on the road where cars are entering and exiting to get to the square as there are no pavements! Tried walking up beside Fish and Chip place but it is blocked off with benches. Someone from House of Bruar should try this for themselves and it might, hopefully, prompt someone to add some safety measures.
    Visited August 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 11 August 2023
  • Nicola M
    St. Andrews, United Kingdom4 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Five star butchery
    Friendliest butchery staff I have ever encountered on my visit 13th August!! Great quality meat, as usual, however I don’t know how the staff can cope in such a poorly air conditioned environment! I was only in for 5 minutes and was struggling for breath!
    Thank you for your comments regarding our butchery staff and for taking the time to enter your 5* review. This message will certainly be passed on to the staff. We hope you return very soon Best Wishes Carolyne Manson
    Written 15 August 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited August 2023
    Travelled solo
    Written 13 August 2023
  • The Duchess
    Northumberland, United Kingdom135 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    HOUSE OF BRUAR SHOPPING MALL A MUST !!!
    I love the Scottish style shopping malls , they look like a castle . This is a great stop over to rest, stretch your legs, walk the dogs , let the children run around . It offers the most superb range of shops including the House of Bruar Scottish country outerwear , a wonderful restaurant, delicatessen and gift shop. If you love chocolate this is the place ! A vast range of Scottish fine liqueurs and whiskies are available to purchase too. A wonderful Lobster and Chip shop draws you in with the aroma , it has an outside bistro setting which is lovely on sunny days and kick starts your holiday . You may think it’s a bit pricey at about £27 but why not ! You don’t often get lobster and chips unless your Father was a fisherman . Mine was , and the Lobster was succulent and fresh . Outside also has an ice cream cart vendor with candy floss machine a great treat for the children . The mall also has plants for sale and a wonderful stall to display local vegetable produce . This place is classy and a fabulous place to get a selfie with the historical Scotsman sculpture .
    Visited August 2023
    Travelled on business
    Written 16 August 2023
  • RuthyGlasgow
    824 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Harrods of the Scottish Highlands!
    Been here before but not for a long time, so husband decided he needed a coffee and I just love the food and other delicious food delicacies? Browsed through all the lovely and expensive clothing then into the food hall. Decided that I have in my basket of what I fancied trying and making my way to the till area, with my indulgent treats, but caught red handed by my husband! On way out he said it was the most expensive coffee he'd ever had to pay for! He explained there is a cafe type place for just coffee and cake, then if you want a meal you venture further into restaurant, which all makes sense than the way it used to be.
    Visited August 2023
    Written 20 August 2023
  • Chris N
    Nashville, Tennessee29 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Great clothes, great staff, and a surprisingly good restaurant.
    Enjoyed an excellent shopping experience during a stop on my journey from Edinburgh to Stonehaven. Started off with lunch in the restaurant, where I enjoyed a steak pie, chips, carrots, a scone, and a brownie. Much than the the "mall food" I'm used to back home. Then I went over to the ladies area where I bought a new cashmere jumper for my mom. Wish I had caught the name of the nice lady who was very helpful. Upstairs, William was an absolute gem in helping me find many items to wear on my holiday and bring back to the states. There was one jumper that turned out to have a split sleeve when I opened it in Stonehaven, but I contacted the store and they immediately agreed to replace it. Which they did when I stopped by again on my way to Inverness. So terrific customer service before, during, and after the sale. Will definitely shop there again when in Scotland.
    Visited April 2023
    Travelled solo
    Written 25 August 2023
  • annedraper1956
    Wigan, United Kingdom6 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    5 star service
    Visited the store Tiuesday 29th we was served by a very nice professional young lady, we bought some baby wear. I am a disabled person and she looked after us very well. My daughter was with the baby and myself, I find it very hard to do stairs and she escorted us down the disabled lift. My daughter was so impressed she visited again two days later alone and bought more items. 5 star service. Great place, great staff, quality everywhere. ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
    Visited August 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 31 August 2023
  • Babyface J
    Fife, United Kingdom314 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Lovely
    Very busy on a Sunday afternoon. Second time visiting there after a break stop on way home to Fife coming from Ullapool. Bought 2 packs of fresh raspberries for £6 and had delicious strawberry ice cream. Plenty of fresh fruits on stock. Great gift shop as it has many lovely sweet or gifts to look for.
    Visited September 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 4 September 2023
  • Catherine S
    2 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Fab shop, caters for those who enjoy life outdoors but dogs still not welcome
    I love this store and have been stopping here to shop for over 20 years. I just don’t understand how they clearly cater for outdoor type people but they aren’t dog welcoming. Yes they have high end clothes and a food hall so I can understand why they don’t allow dogs in these areas. Yes they have created a parking spot under a cover for when it is raining, but they have a pavilion spacious area with a stone floor to have a coffee under cover, so why dogs can’t come in here I can’t understand. Even birds fly into this area and there is no food served in this space. With so many dog owners why not review this policy. People with dogs like a coffee under cover with their dogs. Come on House of Bruar I can only shop when the weather is good
    Visited September 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 14 September 2023
  • Bronwyn M
    1 contribution
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Service is slipping
    I have always bought my clothes from Bruar but of late noticed the quality is not what it was and therefore had to return goods. I am appalled at the amount of time I have to wait for a refund a couple of weeks ago I had to wait 14 days M&S and Next 2 days maximum I have just returned two parcels and I am waiting to see how long I will have to wait to have the parcels acknowledged. So disappointed but have to add Nina is brilliant and so helpful Bruar you are going to have to do better
    Visited September 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 26 September 2023
  • Katie P
    United Kingdom285 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Nice and different shopping village
    A little shopping village. Definitely on the pricey side so not for your average person /not for kids but got some absolute GEMS of food bits from the food court. Free parking and a lovely walk nearby. Just a shame the cafe was closed when we had finished (at 1500). So went into Pitlochry instead.
    Visited October 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 7 October 2023
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
3.5
3.5 of 5 bubbles1,571 reviews
Excellent
570
Very good
441
Average
223
Poor
143
Terrible
194

Woody's family
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom62 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 • Couples
Visited The house of Bruar for a break in our travels. Covid rules where non existent no one way rule. For the restaurant we had to queue for at least 5 min in the rain once in we where asked if we had a reservation. Who going to book a table for a service station. Then it seemed a hassle to get a table once seated we where asked what we wanted to eat then get informed they stopped serving food from 11am and only opened at 10 am we sat down at 1105 so very poor service and high covid risk
Written 27 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for leaving a review following your recent visit. Our restaurant is very popular with travellers and locals alike so following the changing legislation we are now only taking table bookings, and we also have a one way system in place. All the information is available on our website, and social media pages and we are sorry you left feeling disappointed. We appreciate all customer feedback and are working hard during these unprecedented and ever changing times to keep our staff and customers safe. We hope you will not be deterred from visiting again. Kind regards, Will Stephenson Head of Restaurant
Written 1 September 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sue Dixon
8 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 • Friends
This is our usual stop when heading to and from the North of Scotland. I was very disappointed with our last visit last week and felt very unsafe. There were far too many people in and around the place, the restaurant was still doing self service and no names or phone numbers were taken for track and trace. My tuna sanwich was nothing short of mush and obviously the company weren't offering the new government discount Mon to Wed. The one way system didn't allow you to visit the toilet after eating without rejoining the huge queue to re-enter. Very disappointed!
Written 10 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Sir / Madam, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review I am sorry that you were disappointed during your recent visit to Bruar. We very much understand the concerns you have brought to our attention but please rest assured we are following procedures and government guidelines. We have now installed some temporary outside loos as we feel this will allow a significant improvement in the Food Hall and restaurant areas where it has been particularly busy. Track and trace is available on our website under customer services, and we are no longer doing self service. These are unprecedented times and we are all trying to find a new normal, and as we do this we continue to strive for high standards, ensuring our staff and customers remain safe, whilst adhering to the government guidelines and advice. Thank you again for taking the time to write and we hope to see you again soon at The House of Bruar. Kind regards Will Stephenson, Head of Restaurant
Written 11 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Vickie W
19 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2020 • Solo
Really disappointed that due to ‘Covid Restrictions’ you can buy a lot of expensive stuff but not a cup of tea. You now have to book the restaurant in advance which isn’t really possible when you are driving from Inverness to England and don’t know when you will be there. You can get cold drinks at the fish and chip shop but not a hot drink even though there is plenty of space to sit outside. I’ve been here twice with this new regime and now my advice is stop at Pitlochry or drive on to Aviemore. I used to enjoy stopping here for refreshments and little gifts and there is absolutely no reason why they can’t even provide even hot drinks like garages do. Too complacent! Very disappointed.
Written 4 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Madam, Thank you for leaving a review following your recent visit. Our restaurant is very popular stopping point. Following government guidance we are only taking table bookings for the restaurant seating area, although we do have a Take Away service in our conservatory area where tea, coffee and sandwiches are available. We are sorry you left feeling disappointed. We hope you will not be deterred from visiting again. Kind regards, Will Stephenson Head of Restaurant
Written 6 October 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Food Traveller
137 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 • Couples
Traveling from Glasgow to Inverness we decided to stop at the house of Bruar for some Breakfast we’ll we’ve all experienced poor motorway cafeterias in our time but this establishments restaurant is the worst yet. Actually a motorway cafeteria would have a better choice. My wife went for the full English presentation dreadful quality shocking even the plate was the wrong size. I went for a roll in fried egg they must have cooked the eggs when we were at Perth if you want to charge these prices get a chef that can cook and give patrons a better choice l am fed up listening to restaurant’s blaming Covid for there poor management. Lovely shops but stay clear of there restaurant 1 out of 10
Written 29 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear reviewer, Thank you for your review of your recent experience of The House of Bruar. We are very sorry you have had a negative experience during your recent visit We are constantly reviewing what we offer at The House of Bruar and are very active in making changes so that visiting The House of Bruar is an enjoyable experience for all our customers, we are sorry you have felt let down. We hope that you will visit us again in the near future. Kind regards, Will Stephenson, Head of Restaurant
Written 1 September 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Neil R
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2020 • Family
On our visit yesterday, I was shocked at how poor the arrangements were for managing social distancing. No attempts were being made to restrict numbers entering the food hall and restaurant. No arrangements were in place to manage the flow of visitors inside or maintain distances of people in queues. Worst of all, there was no attempt being made to ensure customers indoors were wearing face masks. In short is was a free for all. It's a poor attempt from an organisation that pretends to have such high standards.
Written 18 July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent visit to our business. I appreciate your feedback and I can assure you that we are taking all precautions possible to protect ourselves and our customers during these uncertain times. We are following all Covid-19 secure guidelines and are committed to an enhanced cleaning protocol, the floor is marked out every 1 meter to encourage social distancing, we have sanitising stations at every entrance, and all surfaces are being regularly disinfected. We are also collecting contact tracing information at every till point. Whilst customers are encouraged to wear masks and keep a safe distance, unfortunately we cannot enforce this. I very much hope that you won’t be deterred from visiting again in future. Kind regards, Will Stephenson Head of Restaurant
Written 21 July 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

186543Oldpete
Inverness, UK20 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020
We visited the main conservatory restaurant for coffee around mid morning and decided to return for lunch after a walk to the falls. To our amazement we were told that the sandwiches were not on sale as it was lunchtime - it was hot food only. There was a bakery for takeaway sandwiches but we weren't allowed to eat them inside, despite the fact that it was now raining heavily.

I didn't really want a hot meal - although it did look quite nice - and was put off by the prices. Also a little surprised that the chefs were both wearing their mask around their necks rather than over their faces. But for a little care and consideration it could have been very pleasant, instead it was awkward and disappointing.
Written 14 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for leaving a review following your recent visit. Following government guidance and to adhere to social distancing rules we are only allowing indoor seating for customers wishing to have hot food from our main restaurant area, which unfortunately does not serve sandwiches. Sandwiches are only available to Take Away from our conservatory area. We are sorry you left feeling disappointed and hope you will not be deterred from visiting again. Kind regards, Will Stephenson Head of Restaurant
Written 27 October 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Matt
16 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 • Family
After a recent visit which was really enjoyable. My wife managed to lose her purse I phoned them when we realised which was over 70 miles away. Not only did Richard Christie help us locate the missing purse he sent it recorded delivery to our next hotel free of charge first class service which I don’t think you would get at other places
Written 22 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Sir/Madame Thank you for taking the time to visit and leave a review. We're delighted that we were able to reunite you with your lost item. I shall pass on your compliments to Mr Christie. We look forward to welcoming you to our store again soon. Kind regards Emily McIntyre - The House of Bruar Team
Written 16 September 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

trhugh
8 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2021 • Couples
Not very friendly staff. We arrived at 4.30 , the kitchen was closed for hot food but we only wanted coffee so that was fine. Staff were cleaning and putting things away so it felt a bit uncomfortable asking for something and it wasn't clear if the cafe was still serving because there was no sign up that we could see. We asked a girl who was stocking shelves and she was helpful but the lady serving the coffee looked utterly fed up and annoyed maybe although she wasn't rude just unwelcoming. It felt like an inconvenience. The toilets were being cleaned by two ladies, again it felt as if people being in there was an inconvenience and only two sinks were accessible for washing hands, the others blocked off by the cleaning lady with a big basket bin, I'm not sure that was OK due to covid it never left any space between users. Two small lattes and two bits of shortbread for £9 later we left feeling pretty underwhelmed. Every time I've gone in here , which isn't often , I've felt the same leaving. Overated and overpriced. The building is nice though hence the two stars
Written 19 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Reviewer Thank you taking the time to review following your recent visit. I am sorry to hear that you had a negative experience. I will look into your complaint regarding the signage, and staff, however I must state that all of our team are customer focussed and polite. Regarding our Restaurant, we do feel our prices are consistent and reflect the fine quality of produce we sell, always served with a smile and in a courteous environment. We hope to be able to welcome you again soon. Kind regards, Will Stephenson Head of Restaurant, Fish & Chip Shop and Bakery.
Written 25 August 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Mrs J R
Glasgow31 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2022 • Couples
Definitely not dog friendly. Dogs can not go anywhere beyond the car park. They have a poor attempt at a dog car parking area which is closed off. It has a covered area but no use if its closed off. Ridiculous attempt to make up for not allowing dogs anywhere in the building or external seating. A massive outdoor courtyard which would be ideal for those to sit and eat/rest with dogs but it's used for additional sales and very cluttered. Considering the lack of services along the A9 it is a disgrace they do not provide adequate rest and eating options for those travelling with dogs. Sitting in a car park is less than ideal. I think they expect dogs to be left in cars whilst people shop in the extortionate retail offering? Totally irresponsible and not appropriate.
Beyond my irritation at poor dog facilities, the toilets are cramped and lacking in number, and eating options are very limited. Almost no quick take away options. If you arrive after 5.30 no toilets available. Fish and chips outside main building only available at certain times and again with lack of toilets. Limited take away food consisting mainly of sugary sweets or extortionate treats. The restaurant is expensive and ultra busy.
If you want to be ripped off and put up with lack of choice or no dog facilities by all means stop here if not I thoroughly recommend stopping at Blair Atholl or Pitlochry for great choice, better value eateries and more dog friendly stops.
Written 10 June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, I am really very sorry you felt so unsatisfied during your visit to House of Bruar. I agree, our dog parking is closed off at present but this is just temporary maintenance works which are taking place, and we hope this will be open again soon. Like many retailers and food establishments we do not allow dogs within the building but we do have seating in our courtyard, and situated at the rear of the site we have a dog walking area to let your four legged friends stretch their legs. As we are at the foot of the beautiful Bruar Falls, there is ample space to have a decent walk to let the dogs enjoy the fresh air. With regards the fish and chip shop, it is a hugely popular stop off for hungry customers into the evening, but as with most takeaway outlets we are not obliged to offer toilet facilities, the nearest is the public conveniences in Blair Atholl. We do take all feedback seriously, and all comments have been passed to the relevant teams for their attention. Thank you again for your feedback. Kind regards, Jenny Dow
Written 17 June 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Fiona C
Aberdeen, UK9 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2020
We visited on a friend's birthday to have lunch in the restaurant. The full menu was advertised on the wall in the restaurant but in fact there was just some salad - it was a cold day in December, not exactly salad weather - and one hot dish, roast beef, on offer. No potatoes, no veg, no gravy, just a couple of slices of roast beef. Oh, and with chips, most of which were like leather having been left over from the previous day.
The bosses at House of Bruar should eat there occasionally to experience what they serve up to paying guests.
The House of Bruar's advertises itself as 'Scotland at its very best'. As locals, we find it embarassing that visitors would pay the high prices they charge for such terrible food. It's a rip off.
Written 22 December 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Madam, Thank you for getting in touch and taking the time to leave a review. Please be assured that these are not the standards we aim to uphold and your feedback will be passed on to the senior management team. We hope that when we are able to open our restaurant again that you will come back and have a better experience. Kind regards, Louisa - The House of Bruar Team
Written 8 February 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 1,525
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

THE HOUSE OF BRUAR (2024) All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)

All things to do in Blair Atholl
RestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire