We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Swan by Marston's Inns

Station Road, Thatcham RG19 4QL England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (29)
Room & Suite (11)
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 small hotel in Thatcham
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Darts
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Outdoor furniture
Show more
Room features
Desk
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
272Reviews1Q+A46Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 62
  • 56
  • 42
  • 27
  • 85
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
John R wrote a review Dec 2023
Bristol, United Kingdom3 contributions
We have just returned from a four day break while visiting our family at Christmas 23, on 1st reflection room 5 was very clean and comfortable but it soon became obvious that there were several plumbing issues. The room was extremely cold and it was impossible to turn the radiator up as the thermostatic valve was seized solid. When the flush was pushed the water continued to run unless continually pushed and the basin push plug did not work, if you filled the sink up to wash it emptied in a few seconds. A few minor repairs costing a few pounds could have made our much more comfortable. Another problem which were totally beyond your control is from. 11.15pm on Christmas Eve a group of 20+ mixed adults congregated outside the window of our room in the light talking, shouting and laughing loudly until after 1.00 am making sleep impossible Mr & Mrs J Rider
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
daniel b wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution
Do not go to this place, They have sneakily put in cameras which monitor your parking. I came back here after a little while and was shocked to see that they want parking, but the signs are really easy to miss. Never going back
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Danny Campbell-Ross, General Manager at Swan by Marston's Inns
Responded 9 Nov 2023
Hi there, Thank you for your feedback, and I'm sorry that this has been your experience. We have had them here for 5 years& do have 14 signs in the carpark, on each entrance and each till, and in the rest rooms. We are more than happy to help with any issues in your appeal to the parking company, so please don't hesitate to get in touch
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
rovingranger wrote a review Sept 2023
england156 contributions88 helpful votes
We went here for a 30th birthday , I was very surprised how quite it was on a Sunday at 1.30 pm but got busy later. It's a traditional pub with two bars , there s a basic bar which allows dogs and has a pool table , which means the other bar is really a restaurant bar. Although the majority of food I suspect is pre prepared and delivered , not all I believe is that way. We had some wings , etc as starters , pretty basic but very reasonably priced , but the big surprise was the quality of the Sunday roasts , we all said they were great and the portions were reasonable for the price which is exceptionally good value. If you want to order any extras such as their great roast potatoes which comes with the meal then you can pay £2,00 extra. The puddings were good , and they seem to have food offers on every day. Staff were very friendly and professional , so an enjoyable meal out.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Watch out for the car parking fee , you can get a refund if you spend a minimum amount.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Danny Campbell-Ross, General Manager at Swan by Marston's Inns
Responded 9 Nov 2023
Thank you so much 😁
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Danny C wrote a review Aug 2023
2 contributions
Nice welcome,great value breakfast. Rooms are small but everything you need,parking is free just pay and it is refunded with your bill, quiz night was very busy on the Wednesday but the host is very good
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Quiz night needs a table pre booked,very busy
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
DAVID Barnett wrote a review Aug 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Do not use this pub full stop.I joined all my family there for a funeral reception.we all got a £100 pound fine for parking in there carpark.Avoid it your cost.its a disgrace as it was a sad occasion for all.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Dont go there.it will cost you £1009 to park
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Danny Campbell-Ross, General Manager at Swan by Marston's Inns
Responded 9 Nov 2023
I'm so sorry that was your experience with the parking, please get in touch if we can help in anyway as we always refund the parking with any purchase
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
nigelparkinson wrote a review Jun 2023
newbury9 contributions5 helpful votes
Fantastic Family pub. Great food, big selection of cask ales and premium lagers. Friendly staff. Dogs welcome. HUGE garden with lots of seating. Nothing not to love here!! ❤️ Quizz night on a Wednesday hosted by the amazingly entertaining and talented Scott is very competitive but lots of fun! Would 100% recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marston's Inns, Revenue Management at Swan by Marston's Inns
Responded 19 Jun 2023
Thank you for your review Nigel! 😊
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Hayley S wrote a review Apr 2023
6 contributions
Came down on a Friday evening, staff were very friendly, the atmosphere was inviting. Was here having drinks with friends so was the for a fair while. Hayley helped me out with some drink choices as I wanted to mix it up a bit. Great pub!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marston's Inns, Revenue Management at Swan by Marston's Inns
Responded 9 Apr 2023
Thank you very much for your review!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
J1233SKgeorge wrote a review Feb 2023
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom5 contributions1 helpful vote
Arrived just after 12pm but wasnt able to pick my room key until after 2pm. Which meant I had to make a special trip back from Newbury as it was likely I would be returning after 11pm when the pub shut. Room nice on first floor. Unfortunately the shower is underneath the the sloping section of the roof so reduced height which made showering a bit tricky. So a ground floor room may be the better option for that. As others have mentioned the sound prrofing not the greatest and I could imagine the people below could hear me walking about as some floor beards creaked. A bottle of water in the room would have been nice. Breakfast very good, cooked fresh and hot. Served from 8am on a Sunday. Starts earlier in the week I believe. 2min walk to Thatcham station so ideal to catch the train to Newbury races/Newbury. Staff all friendly and pleasant. Would happily stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: GF rooms have full height shower but can hear people walking about above. Rooms on 1st 1/2 height...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marston's Inns, Revenue Management at Swan by Marston's Inns
Responded 7 Apr 2023
Hi George, thank you for your feedback, I'm sorry we weren't 100%, If there is anything we can do then please don't hesitate to get in touch on 01635862084 or www.swanpubthatcham.co.uk Thank you, Danny and the team at The Swan
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Daisy F wrote a review Dec 2022
London, United Kingdom13 contributions5 helpful votes
We came for the festive meal on Boxing Day at The Swan. Fantastic service from Scott who went above and beyond to look after us from start to finish. Amazing food from head chef Mark including a lamb shank that was perfectly cooked. Couldn’t believe we had the 3 course set menu for less than £25 each, superb value. All staff are super friendly & I’d really recommend the Swan! Also the cocktails are great & again, really well priced.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marston's Inns, Revenue Management at Swan by Marston's Inns
Responded 7 Apr 2023
Thank you for your review Daisy! 😊
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
andy b wrote a review Dec 2022
2 contributions
We stayed here for 3days visiting family and take Christmas present down to family and grandkids we loved it friendly staff and the food was amazing breakfast is great the new manager is fantastic the room has been vampt up it’s bright and fresh and very clean but shout out to Cameron and lauren thank you guys and well done and have a wonderful Christmas to you all
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: If need space getting around and have a disability ask for room 3
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marston's Inns, Revenue Management at Swan by Marston's Inns
Responded 7 Apr 2023
Thank you for your review Andy! 😁
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Thatcham area.
PRICE RANGE
£50 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBerkshireThatcham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SWAN BY MARSTON'S INNS - Updated 2024 Prices (Thatcham)

Frequently Asked Questions about Swan by Marston's Inns
Which popular attractions are close to Swan by Marston's Inns?
Nearby attractions include ExCLUEsive Games Escape Rooms (2.8 miles), Nature Discovery Centre (1.5 miles), and Forrest Motorsport (3.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Swan by Marston's Inns?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Swan by Marston's Inns?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Swan by Marston's Inns?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Swan by Marston's Inns?
Conveniently located restaurants include Spotted Dog, The Hartley Arms, and The Flower Pot Cafe.
Are pets allowed at Swan by Marston's Inns?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Swan by Marston's Inns?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Greenham Control Tower (1.9 miles), Donnington Castle (4.4 miles), and Shaw House (3.4 miles).
Is Swan by Marston's Inns accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.