Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille

L1025 Malin More, Glencolmcille F94 HH31 Ireland
Traveller (26)
Room & Suite (7)
Dining (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 2 B&Bs in Glencolmcille
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille is a friendly home, situated in the Parish of Glencolumbkille, a Gaelic speaking area which is adjacent to Slieve League with its breathtaking sea cliffs, as well as close to the famous Silver strand. We take pride on offering excellent self catering and Bed and Breakfast accommodation at affordable prices. 16 of the 19 rooms are en-suite with rooms varying in size from single rooms to large family rooms sleeping 6 guests with stunning sea and mountain views. All guests have access to a large and comfortable lounge and library, plus a stunning modern self catering kitchen with all amenities. There is ample parking on site and free fibre optic is available through-out. We also advise guests on local attractions and provide free brochures describing day outings around the area. Our website also has multi media content showcasing these amenities. Traditional Cooked Irish Breakfasts are also available.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Shared kitchen
Laundry service
Shared lounge / TV area
Room features
Fireplace
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Charming
55Reviews0Q+A11Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 43
  • 7
  • 2
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
rubadubsky wrote a review Jan 2020
Rome, Italy
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed in Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille for two nights in January 2020. I thought it was terrific, closer to a hotel than a hostel in some respects. The room was a good size, with an ensuite, both very well heated; very comfortable bed; tv also available. Leon provided a pot of coffee in the morning, also a light breakfast or an Irish breakfast for a very reasonable price. The large kitchen/dining room was very clean and comfortable, with tea bags available. I thought Leon's helpfulness regarding bus schedules in advance of arrival was spectacular: he was very responsive with email. Clearly very knowledgeable about the area, and committed to it, although he has been here only about three years. Leon and Gill do a great job with Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille. I'd love to return for a longer stay. Malinmore is a quiet place and the hostel too was quiet in January, which I enjoyed very much. Very good value. Nearby Malinbeg and Trå Bån are wonderful (4 km away). For dinner, Leon recommended the Rusty Mackerel near Carrick, which was warm, welcoming, and packed on Saturday night: very comfortable and comforting, and a good pint too.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Leon will do his absolute best to provide the best room available.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Leon Bouwer, Owner at Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille
Responded 5 Mar 2020
Sorry for the slow response. Somehow I missed this fantastic review. All I can say is we LOVE what we do and its fantastic to see our efforts being appreciated!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joanne Docherty wrote a review Jun 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Everything about this B&B was great; from the location, the facilities (especially for my dog Rex), to the hosts.
We were pleasantly surprised to see just how clean the entire place was, considering it's pet friendly.
The hosts could not have done more for us and nothing was too much trouble.
Leon went above and beyond his duties, by driving us to and from the local bar both nights (including the dog who ended up being the star of the show!)

The rooms were a perfect double size with a very comfy mattress/pillows and everything was extremely clean. Breakfast offered delicious white/brown toast, with Irish butter and jam/marmalade. This with tea, coffee and juice were available for 2nds if not more...

Cooked breakfast was simple, and cooked to order. Each element was perfectly cooked and not greasy in the slightest.

Leon and Gillian were just the perfect hosts. They came to help at a moments notice, and nothing was too much trouble, while they were still able to make guests feel they were completely at home and relaxed.

We ADORED our stay and hope to return soon. PERSONAL THANKS to all the staff.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Leon Bouwer, Owner at Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille
Responded 5 Jul 2022
Thanks for your kinds review.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tom Q wrote a review Aug 2021
Ballymena, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Only stayed for 1 night but will definitely stay again if we are in the area, we had a double room with private bathroom which was very clean and comfortable. We were made very welcome from the moment we got there Leon giving us some tips on places to go and where to eat. We got the cooked breakfast the next morning and for 7.50 you really couldn't beat it.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Plenty of parking onsite, any questions Leon will be happy to help.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Leon Bouwer, Owner at Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille
Responded 29 Aug 2021
we'll keep you to the promise to return! Thanks for a lovely review.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maria C wrote a review Aug 2021
Dublin, Ireland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a really nice stay a few weeks ago and we were happy they could accommodate our dog Bella as well.
Leon was extremely nice and helpful with all recommendations and he even sent them on to me by email in advance.
The location itself is very peaceful and we felt very relaxed.
Would definitely recommend Aras to all my friends and family.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amber-Dub wrote a review Sept 2020
Dublin, Ireland
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely location, owners are nice very chatty sometimes to much you should be professional enough to know when to leave your guests alone. Room very dirty and cold needs updating especially bathrooms, freezing at night had to leave my hoody on to keep warm, kitchen area is fine if cooking yourself I would bring my own disinfectant spray and clothes, very dirty and well used ones provided. Cats walking freely around not everyone likes cats. Had dinner on one evening, it was disgusting lovely place up the road to the right, I wouldn't stay again
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Leon Bouwer, Owner at Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille
Responded 15 Sept 2020
"had dinner one evening" ??? we do not serve dinners. "Lovely place up to road to the right" is an empty field, So I have to ask, are you referring to the correct place? I also do not see someone with this name having stayed here this year. If you did stay here, then I am stunned by this review. Every other review commends the cleanliness of Aras. Please look at reviews on booking.com also. As to heating, the heaters are on this time of the year you just had to open the tap on the radiator. We leave them closed as most people do not like them on as yet. The dishcloths and cleaning cloths in the kitchen gets replaced every morning as a matter of course and gets inspected regularly during the day. We also provide dettol disinfectant spray which is next to the washbasin. I do have a cat and a little dog ( chihuahua ). I cannot dispute that point other than to say we do advertise Aras as being pet friendly.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sati77 wrote a review Jun 2022
Jakarta, Indonesia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I am a solo traveler and totally relied on public transportation to reach here from Dublin. Leon was very helpful in explaining how to reach his place via email and the bus drivers were also very helpful. Although I relied on public transportation, I did not have a very hard time reaching interesting places nearby.

The place is on the edge, a walking distance of the beach, and in a very quiet environment. I was able to have a very good sleep during my stay. The room is small but very clean and had its own bathroom. The only problem was the water pressure was quite low and the water took some time to turn hot.

Gillian and Leon are both very welcoming and will always have time to chat with you when possible. If there were any issues, Leon will have it fixed instantly. I had a wonderful stay at this beautiful BnB at a very wonderful place. I wish Gillian and Leon all the best for their BnB.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Leon Bouwer, Owner at Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille
Responded 7 Jun 2022
Thanks Sati, for your lovely review, and hopefully we will see you again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jerry D wrote a review Jul 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Christian Motorcyclist Association had an amazing and blessed weekend at Aeas. The place is run and owned by Leon and Jillean. It is very clean. It is a B&B/hostel. Very nice full Irish. Evening meals are also available. All very reasonable. Its friendly and you would feel at home. Guests have full access to the kitchen where they can cook up for themselves. I will go back again when time permits. It was a great weekend. Highly reccomend this place. Also the scenery is stunning.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Leon Bouwer, Owner at Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille
Responded 7 Sept 2020
Our pleasure and it was an honour to host the CMA
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Matthew M wrote a review Sept 2021
London, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I had an excellent weekend here as part of an Irish road trip with two friends. It’s a comfortable, unpretentious place, and the family who run it were warm and welcoming. There were some thoughtful touches, like the bikes available for guests to borrow, and the surprise pancake that was offered when we got back late one evening.

Our room was a generous size and was clean and well maintained. The shower was the only thing I found disappointing - It would run lukewarm after a couple of minutes, but I wouldn’t consider that a dealbreaker.

Overall it was a very human experience, and if I’m lucky enough to be in that part of the world again, I’d love to stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Leon Bouwer, Owner at Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille
Responded 12 Sept 2021
Apologies about the shower. Its been fixed. There is a filter inside the mixer which had blocked, causing the hot water to run slow. SO SORRY! Leon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DylanP wrote a review Sept 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed with Leon and Gillian for one night in a very comfy and spacious, en-suite single room. The BnB is quite remote, about 7 minute drive from Glencolmkille but there are many scenic drives, cycles and walks closeby. When I arrived I spoke in depth to Leon, the owner, about Slieve League and he gave me some great insider information about how to get there and where to park etc. Then he reccomended a good fishing spot nearby and sure enough I caught plenty of mackerel. The facilities are excellent and the hosts are very accommodating, I cant wait to come back and stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Leon Bouwer, Owner at Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille
Responded 15 Sept 2020
I do have a soft spot for fishermen! :-) so glad you enjoyed your stay and caught some!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Enda H wrote a review Sept 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aras is an absolutely wonderful place to stay. The rooms are very clean and at a much better standard than you expect for the price. The large but cosy kitchen has everything you need. The first floor has a spacious communal area with comfy settees and great views. The hosts, Leon and Gillian, are super friendly and accommodating, making you feel right at home. If you don't have a plan of where you want to go and see, they'll give you all the information and directions you need to fill your stay with all the local sights and activities. And it's a great place to meet and chat with people from all over the world. Can't wait until I get back there again!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Eoin09 wrote a tip Sept 2021
Armagh, United Kingdom200 contributions44 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you don’t drive bring a bike or rent one from Teelin"
Read full review
Tom Q wrote a tip Aug 2021
Ballymena, United Kingdom4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Plenty of parking onsite, any questions Leon will be happy to help."
Read full review
Jaspreet D wrote a tip Jul 2021
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid booking"
Read full review
sukru c wrote a tip Jun 2021
Dublin, Ireland25 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I advice to go there with a car to discover around!"
Read full review
rubadubsky wrote a tip Jan 2020
Rome, Italy18 contributions37 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Leon will do his absolute best to provide the best room available."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Glencolmcille area.
LOCATION
IrelandCounty DonegalGlencolmcille
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ARAS GHLEANN CHOLM CILLE - Reviews, Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille
Which popular attractions are close to Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille?
Nearby attractions include Silver Strand Beach (2.1 miles), Glencolmcille Folk Village (1.6 miles), and Away to Me Sheepdog Trial Demonstrations (2.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and laundry service.
Is parking available at Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille?
Conveniently located restaurants include An Chistin @ Cook's Pantry, Benny's, and The Glen Head Tavern.
Are pets allowed at Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Glencolmcille Folk Village (1.6 miles) and The Deserted Village of Port (4.5 miles).
Is Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire