We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.
Save
Share
Balkerach Street, Doune, Stirling FK16 6DF Scotland
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
FindHotel
StayForLong
Etrip
CheapTickets
View all 7 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (13)
Dining (4)
Room & Suite (2)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Doune
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
At over 200 years old, the Red Lion is a charming village Inn located in the centre of the picturesque village of Doune in central Scotland. The Inn has 6 bedrooms with 2 family room which can sleep up to 4. A friendly public bar serves a range of whiskey and local beers, while our restaurant offers fresh pub grub with a little finesse. Our Quaich suite is suitable for functions, meetings and events and opens onto a sunny courtyard.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Restaurant
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Allergy-free room
Housekeeping
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English
171Reviews1Q+A29Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 87
  • 49
  • 17
  • 11
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Peter P wrote a review Sept 2021
1 contribution
When we booked we were not told the pub did not have a licence at the moment. The bed was creaky in the extreme & the mattress had seen better days and was not at all comfortable. The grouting in the shower had black mould & the door was stained. Sink & pedestal cracked. When leaving was asked for £80 not the £50 quoted. Will NOT be back
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Helpful
Share
jason l wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
From the moment we arrived we felt immediately welcomed. Jamie was fantastic and couldn't do enough to make us feel more at home. We had our evening meal outside and the food was fantastic! Fish and chips and 6oz Burgers were great! We were only booked for three nights but ended up staying 4. Breakfast was quality, sausages were to die for. Rooms were clean, looked after and had all the extras you expect. Jamie sat with us and went through maps of all the local areas and pointed out some spots only locals would know. He helped us plan some amazing days with our family and gave us some secret local knowledge to make our stay just that little more special. Pretty sure we'd have just done the usual without his little pearls of wisdom. All in all a brilliant time. Great value for money and we'll be back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Hayley L wrote a review Aug 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Last minute mini break for me and my family. I cant quite believe how beautiful Scotland is!! We stayed at the Red Lion for what should of been 3 nights but ended up 4. Lovely homely feeling. Jamie was amazing and put us all at ease and couldnt of been more accommodating, food was gorgeous, rooms (we had 2) were clean and fresh. We will definately be back again, numerous times I imagine.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Karen W wrote a review Sept 2020
4 contributions3 helpful votes
This pub may well have been ok before lockdown but now it is a dump. Please don’t waste your time or money, you’ll regret it. Not sure you are allowed to score 0/5 but even this would be a generous score.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamie Oliver, Owner at Red Lion Inn
Responded 17 Sept 2020
Hi Karen I'm very disappointed and concerned you were given that impression of the establishment. No one has ever described the place as a dump so would really appreciate any feedback on where I could improve as it sounds I need to do this very soon if it has given you this impression. Especially when we decorated everywhere during lock down. However, I find it difficult to understand the fact you could give such a scathing review after only being in the building for around an hour at the very maximum let alone the fact you didn't even stay. What I find more difficult to understand is from reading your review, your husband said to me and my colleague when paying (quoting exact words) 'Its not your fault mate, It's my wives. There's nothing wrong with the place' Overall,l I think it is rather unfair to brand my establishment as a dump when you didn't stay here and had such contrasting point of view from your husband. I look forward to your response and would really appreciate your feedback. Kindest regards Jamie Oliver Proprietor
Read more
DavidDundonald wrote a review Jul 2020
4 contributions1 helpful vote
A quiet but unremarkable stay. Friendly staff but a very disappointing continental breakfast and slightly uncomfortable beds. Although it served our needs, The Red Lion is not a place I will return to.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandStirlingshireStirlingDoune
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Red Lion Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Red Lion Inn?
Nearby attractions include Argaty Red Kites (1.6 miles), Dunblane Cathedral (3.4 miles), and Doune Castle (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Red Lion Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Red Lion Inn?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Red Lion Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Red Lion Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Another Tilly Tearoom, L'Angolino, and Lion & Unicorn Hotel post code FK83PJ.
Is Red Lion Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.01 miles away from the centre of Doune.
Are pets allowed at Red Lion Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Red Lion Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Dunblane Cathedral (3.4 miles) and Kinbuck Bridge (4.6 miles).