We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bassets Acre Holiday Apartments

Save
Share
Glenfeadon Terrace, Portreath TR16 4JU England
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (54)
Room & Suite (22)
Pool & Beach (8)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#2 of 3 Speciality lodging in Portreath
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Basset Acre ~ We are just a few minutes walk to the Beach, Shops, Pubs & Restaurants, Our grand historic house encapsulates just six high-quality unique self-catering 1 - 3 bedroom apartments, WITH FREE WIFI We are set in one acre of sub-tropical gardens with Sea views & BBQs. Our swimming pool has a telescopic enclosure so you can enjoy swimming and relaxing whatever the weather, The hot tub spa are the ultimate in relaxation. Our Games room, has something for everyone with Pool and footballs tables, DVD and Book library, toys and games, There is a children's adventure play area in the garden with table tennis and sandpit, The stunning coast path & woodland walks are in easy reach. We also have private car parking. We are in the heart of Portreath but have a quiet location & are very central for visiting all of Cornwall , We have been resident owners of Bassets Acre for 43 years and are on hand for all your needs.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Beach
Archery
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's playground
Taxi service
Car park
Wifi
Hot bath
Swimming pool toys
Pool with view
Adult pool
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Badminton
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Boating
Bowling
Canoeing
Diving
Game room
Hiking
Horseback riding
Mini golf
Ski rentals
Ski school
Skiing
Snorkelling
Squash
Tennis court
Water sport equipment rentals
Windsurfing
Aerobics offsite
Archery offsite
Billiards
Bowling offsite
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Patio
Raquetball offsite
Squash offsite
Table tennis
Tennis court offsite
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Children's television networks
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Strollers
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Umbrella
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Dining area
Fireplace
Seating area
Separate dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Separate living room
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
On-demand films
Radio
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
83Reviews0Q+A11Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 69
  • 9
  • 1
  • 1
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Thomas J wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution
Incredible, clean and spacious accommodation, which was really clean and well cared for. The owners were friendly and flexible, allowing us to check in early and always around for a chat. The swimming pool is amazing, we got to enjoy in open on a sunny day and undercover on a wet day, was brilliant for both. The hot tub and games area is also ace, and super location for the beach and amazing fish and chips. Perfect family destination.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard & Pamela Christ, Owner at Bassets Acre Holiday Apartments
Responded 2 weeks ago
WISHING YOU ALL A VERY HAPPY NEW YEAR, Many thanks for all the amazing reviews you have sent, apart from a family that had two apartments and were being noisy but we soon sorted that out !! We have been very busy with new projects in the house, putting in new kitchens and bathrooms, It's all looking lovely, we are always very proud of our achievements and so happy that our guests appreciate all the hard work we put into making, Bassets Acre, the special place it is. We look forward to welcoming you all this year, Warmest regards Pam and Richard
Read more
Charlotte M wrote a review Oct 2020
2 contributions
We booked a last minute break away to bassests acre we arrive on the 28th and left on the first . We had such a lovely stay and was made to feel so very welcome by pam and Richard,apartment was gorgeous and lovely and clean beds were so comfy . I stayed here 12 years ago and its well worth the money and couldn't of asked for better people who run it. The pool is lovely the views from top of the garden are amazing looking over portreath beach. We are defo coming back next year and would 1000% recommend it to anyone. Thanks for such a lovely stay see you in 2021 .
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard & Pamela Christ, Owner at Bassets Acre Holiday Apartments
Responded 1 week ago
So sorry for the late reply, many thanks for your lovely review, We are so happy that you came back after a 12 year break, it's always lovely to welcome people that have been before, Many have been coming back for 45 years, almost unbelievable, this is why we are always updating and there are always surprises for people that have been before, We are busy with new projects this winter putting in new kitchens and bathrooms, everything is looking beautiful, definitely worth all the hard work, We look forward to seeing you all in the summertime, kindest regards, Pam and Richard
Read more
Robert P wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
Just back from our favourite holiday destination, Bassets Acre in Portreath. As always Pam and Richard went out of their way to ensure we had everything we could possibly need _ and more! In these uncertain times, it was good to know that our accommodation was clean to the highest possible standard - something we've come to expect over the years but appreciated even more right now! The facilities are really what makes the holiday - the heated indoor pool, indoor hot tub, games room, BBQ - just fantastic! And just a few minutes walk to the lovely family friendly beach and village at Portreath. All in all another wonderful week. Can't wait to be back next year!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard & Pamela Christ, Owner at Bassets Acre Holiday Apartments
Responded 1 week ago
Wishing you all a very Happy New Year, Sorry for the late reply! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review, it makes all the hard work so worthwhile, Having owned and lived at Bassets acre for 45 years, we are always very happy to receive so many positive reviews, Unfortunately, there are always people with their own issues which we have no control over no matter how hurtful it may be for us as Basets acre is our home and a second home for many people, We can't wait to welcome you back this year for another perfect holiday, our warmest regards Pam and Richard
Read more
Denise B wrote a review Sep 2020
3 contributions
The apartment was lovely, it wasn't fancy it was simply lovely. It was exceptionally clean and the beds were comfortable with cosy bedding. It had everything you needed My only complaint would be that we were unable to lock the childs bedroom window, it would close, but our toddler is more than capable of opening a window and being up on the 1st floor it was a worry. We did raise it with Pam who said there should be another key in the room to lock it, there wasnt, so i left a voicemail asking for them to maybe just borrow a key from another apartment to just lock it as we wouldnt need it open, she advised her husband would just remove the handle. That never happened so we had to block the window with a suitcase as we just couldn't risk it. So i would advise being able to lock childrens bedroom windows. The hot tub didnt work at all for our 3 night stay, we arrived on the sunday and were advised it would be fixed the next day, it still wasnt fixed on our departure on Wednesday. They did raise the temp in the outdoor covered pool. The "room" was warm but the water was still chilly, but it didnt stop our enjoyment of it, our 3 year old loved being back in the water and I imagine in the summer it is glorious. Its a stones throw from a lovely beach, a great bakery, amazing fish and chip shop and lovely ice cream. All the local places had adapted brilliantly to ensure people were safe through the coronavirus hitting. Everyone had masks on and helped keep eachother safe which was lovely to see and made us feel alot better. Pamela is absolutely lovely and you can tell she puts her heart into the place. We enjoyed our break. Thank you x We enjoytdc
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard & Pamela Christ, Owner at Bassets Acre Holiday Apartments
Responded 6 Oct 2020
There is a Childs lock on the bedroom windows which operates without a key, it was unfortunate that the heating broke in the hot tub which was mended as soon as possible.
Read more
Jessica H wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
We have recently came back from our stay at the basset acre, which was very disappointing on this occasion. We had rented out 3 of their apartments as there were 3 family's of us which were down for a special occasion. On night 1 a few of our party had gone to the pub which was close by, on returning to the basset acre we went straight into our rooms and were playing cards and having a few drinks. The next morning when one of our friends had woken up at 6:30am to get a drink he noticed a note on the table in their apartment. The note read please can you keep the noise down when returning. This meant that one of the hosts Richard had let himself into their apartment while they were asleep to leave the note which is unacceptable. On night 2 which we were all out for our special event when returning a short time after the other host Pam came shouting and swearing telling us that she would kick us out in the morning and kept telling everyone to F*** off and then proceeded to go into one of the rooms and tell 2 grown men to get into bed and go to sleep now. I found the hosts very rude and I am disgusted by the way we were spoken to. None of us will be staying here again which is a real shame but I will not be spoken to like that especially when our children were in the next room. On night 3 we were all going to get a Chinese and enjoy our last night on holiday but felt that we couldn't incase we got shouted at again. This has really got me down and ruined our holiday. *Seeing as this dosent have the option to reply to your response on here... Please don't say 'we have never had a family like this' we have stayed in your accommodation many of times and during our stay last year your son that lives underneath the apparments was blaring music unit 4am in the morning which you apologised for the next day but even though we had young children we didn't complain. Regarding the issue of Richard entering the apartment while we were asleep.. you didn't know 'we were down the pub' as a couple of the men were and the rest were out for a meal (not that I should have to explain myself during OUR holiday)! We had left the windows open as it was a very hot weekend. All doors were locked as we had our valuables with us. Also why would you leave a note on our first night when we had not returned yet telling us to be quite?? Please do not make out we were all drunk! We had 4 young children between us all and a few of us had no drinks while we were there at all as we still have family's to look after. And as for the 'mess' I had washed everything up that we used, taken the bins out the night before we left and made all beds!! The only thing there could have been is the children had crisps and were a few on the floor which would have just needed a hoover up. I am NOT ashamed of any of our behaviour as we did nothing wrong!! You are a very very rude lady! And made even worse by trying to lie. If you could please send us a refund as I am disgusted by this stay and the way I am STILL being spoken to.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard & Pamela Christ, Owner at Bassets Acre Holiday Apartments
Responded 6 Oct 2020
The bottom line to all this is, the fact that we tried to keep the noise down at 1am thinking of our other families that were being disturbed.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$104 - US$276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCornwallPortreath
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bassets Acre Holiday Apartments
Which popular attractions are close to Bassets Acre Holiday Apartments?
Nearby attractions include Feadon Farm Wildlife Centre (0.2 miles), The Hub Portreath (0.3 miles), and Basset Arms Portreath (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Bassets Acre Holiday Apartments?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Bassets Acre Holiday Apartments?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Bassets Acre Holiday Apartments?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Bassets Acre Holiday Apartments?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bassets Acre Holiday Apartments?
Conveniently located restaurants include Portreath Arms Restaurant, The Hub Portreath, and The Basset Arms.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bassets Acre Holiday Apartments?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Bassets Acre Holiday Apartments located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Portreath.
Are any cleaning services offered at Bassets Acre Holiday Apartments?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Bassets Acre Holiday Apartments?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Wheal Coates Tin Mine (3.9 miles), Cornwall Gold (2.0 miles), and Bassett Monument (3.2 miles).
Does Bassets Acre Holiday Apartments have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.