We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Gwel an Mor

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Expert photos
Gwel an Mor
Gwel an Mor
Panoramas (20)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

623 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 620: English reviews
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was our second stay at this gorgeous resort! Once again, we loved every minute! The food at the terrace is gorgeous, the staff lovely and facilities great! This year we did the night walk down at feadon farm. One word. Awesome! We loved it! Our guide was so knowledgable and passionate, and despite it being freezing, enjoyed the evening...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte L
GwelanMor, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this review

Charlotte, So you think we're so "Gorgeous" that you are coming back a couple of times later this year! What an accolade! and thank you for your lovely words. The night walk is awesome with our Gary, who somehow manages to educate and enthuse 3 year olds to 70 year olds on all our wildlife activities, we are blessed with...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

I came here last year same time of the year and was so impressed that booked straight away for another visit . This place is simply beautiful. We loved every second of it. If i had one criticism it would be the service from the main reception desk. We attended the swimming on many occasions and sometimes would not even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louose
GwelanMor, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this review

Louose, Thanks for your business and thank you for taking the time to let others know your thoughts on trip advisor, and Im so pleased you returned to us and had such a lovely time. I will take on board your words about reception, we have taken on some new team members recently and it take them time to lose...

Cornwall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Booked last minute table for 5, was an early evening booking so plenty of choice where to sit. Tapas to start, lolive bread with dipping oil, sharing platter for the meat eaters, breaded deep fried manchego cheese for me, all yummy stuff. Between us for the mains we managed to cover pasta, pasta with crab and white wine, risotto, beef...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aytch G
GwelanMor, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this review

Dear G, So pleased you enjoyed your visit to our Terrace restaurant, the food is excellent, we have a great head chef in Joe Lado and his Spanish influenced food is better than I have eaten in many great restaurants in Spain. There is a page for the Restaurant on Trip Advisor "The Terrace" Portreath with more write-ups about our...

Cullompton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

So not staying at site but day visitors to base camp. I cannot praise enough the staff running this. Food excellent facilities for children brilliant and staff well trained young man running the climbing wall an absolute asset to the facility think he is called Darren. Make sure you go there and simply enjoy

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank McLaren12
GwelanMor, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this review

Dear McLaren, Thanks for taking the time to place a write up about our new Base Camp at Gwel an Mor, it is a really great attraction, with an amazing soft play area and clip n climb climbing centre. All built in a very classy building with a super cafe offering breakfast lunch and dinner and much more. The climbing...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Due to leave to tomorrow, we'll what can I say don't want to go home had an amazing weekend,, staff are so friendly and helpful. Lodges are beautiful and very spacious. Will definitely be looking to come back here in the future. Anyone visiting here will not be disappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fern B
GwelanMor, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this review

Fern, "Amazing" so pleased to hear your thoughts on us at Gwel an Mor, its exactly what we always try to achieve when our guests say "I don't want to go home"! Thank you Bill Haslam (Owner)

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in a residence 3 and it was amazing! I could not find anything bad about it and I am quite fussy! The weather was horrendous when we visited but we were more than happy to throw some logs on the burner and stay in the warm. We even used the hot tub in a hail storm! The beds...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nickynoo2013
GwelanMor, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this review

NickyNoo, So your fussy! and you couldn't find anything wrong! even with horrendous weather! well great to hear we got it right! There is lots to do in Cornwall even when the weather is horrendous, and all our lodges are so cozy when the fires lit and yes I've sat in the hot tub in the rain and watched the...

Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing, went for 4 nights over NYE 2016, staff were brilliant and nothing was too much trouble. Hot tub was checked daily, views of the sea were wonderful . Food was very good and we had some beautiful walks around the area. Would recommend and we will be going back! Just what we needed after rushing about for Christmas.5* all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sammyp1975
GwelanMor, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this review

Sammy, Thanks for your comments about our "Brilliant Staff" and that "Nothing was to much trouble" and I'm so pleased you enjoyed the food. We are so lucky where we are located, there are so many lovely walks and places to visit and then theres Portreath Beach only a few minutes walk away to a stunning sandy beach. Our new...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have been before some years ago and loved it so my family (12 in total) had 3 lodges to enjoy a Christmas holiday. Absolutely loved it. Forgot just how fab and peaceful it was. Meeting santa on the farm with my little one was so special and the reindeer were just beautiful. The facilities are very well maintained and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Louise L
GwelanMor, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this review

Louise, Fantastic write up, and so pleasing to hear you and your family ( all 12 of you) had such a lovely time with us. Gwel an Mor is a peaceful place and It's great to hear your you little one enjoyed meeting our resident reindeer, we look after them all year around for Santa. Thanks for your comments about...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Having recently lost my mum I decided that a lodge with a sea view away from all the hype was what was needed this year. I did a lot of research so nearly booked a well known lodge chain in Warminster but the lack of the sea stopped me along with price! ( we always go to the beach on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank southwestsampler
GwelanMor, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing us for your break and Im so pleased that this break helped you after losing your mother recently. You seemed to do most things whilst you were with us and great to see you enjoyed it all, and the farm is a wonderful place to learn about our wild friends and Gary is so informative, I learn...

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just got home from our family xmas break here and I'm so sad to be home. This place gave us the best family ( us and a 7, 2 and 6month old) xmas to date. When we arrived we knew it was going to be special!! Walking into our lodge in the residence section we we're blown away what a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michelle G
GwelanMor, Owner at Gwel an Mor, responded to this review

Michelle, I feel awful! we made you sad when you got home! But at least we gave you your best ever Xmas You mention that a shop would be a nice addition, but we have consciously chosen not to do this as we want our guests to support the shops and businesses in our village, we just feel its important...

723 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (355)
Viewed
Room/Suite (67)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (73)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (25)
Viewed
View from Room (30)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (129)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (334)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Other (297)
Viewed
Pool (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
The Hotel (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portreath
2.8 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,124 reviews
13.4 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
18.6 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
12.5 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 25 in Falmouth
129 reviews
21.7 mi away
Retallack Resort and Spa
Retallack Resort and Spa
#1 of 3 in St Columb Major
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Gwel an Mor is Cornish for "View of the Sea." We are a 5 Star luxury self catering holiday resort which sits high on hills above the Atlantic Ocean in Cornwall.Our grand Scandinavian style holiday lodges blend beautifully into landscaped gardens and the surrounding countryside. Truly inviting with a relaxed but luxury style, the two and three bedroom lodges have everything you may need – down to the hot tub on your private terrace and log burner in the living area. Alongside the traditional wooden lodges, we also offer the contemporary style of the Residence. Launched in 2012, these exclusive eco lodges provide the ultimate in high-end holiday accommodation, complete with underfloor heating, mood lighting, DVD and music players and WiFi. You'll even find a plasma TV in the bathroom. Our Clubhouse boasts a fully equipped gym, indoor pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna while outside there is a children’s play area, tennis courts and a putting and croquet lawn.For more grown-up indulgences, The Wellbeing Spa offers an extensive menu of pampering facial, body and cosmetic treatments designed to relax, revitalise and rejuvenate you using marine inspired products. With a great reputation amongst visitors and locals, the Terrace Restaurant at Gwel an Mor is an informal bistro style venue with a locally sourced, innovative menu. With an emphasis on using the best seasonal ingredients the Southwest has to offer, the Terrace even offers a take away service so you can indulge in the comfort of your lodge. One of the truly unique aspects to a stay with us is the chance to meet some of the local wildlife. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gwel an Mor

Address: Gwel an Mor Feadon Lane, Portreath TR16 4PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Portreath
Hotel Class:5 star — Gwel an Mor 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Gwel an Mor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwel An Mor 5 Star Holiday Hotel Portreath
Gwel An Mor Portreath, Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gwel an Mor staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Gwel an Mor staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Only went for dinner but the accommodation looks amazing,with views over the valley. There is also a spa/well being centre on site.”
 of 5 bubbles aytchg, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The lodges at the lower part of the resort have the best view, we stayed in number 23 which is next to the restaurant”
 of 5 bubbles 225sianr, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“residences are superb”
 of 5 bubbles NorthwichSteve, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“It seemed as though the lodges are on a refurbishment cycle - call reception when you book to request one of the newer ones.”
 of 5 bubbles KateTras, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in Residence Number 81, close to the entrance with a partial sea view”
 of 5 bubbles 565AmandaC, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay