We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel

Traveller (183)
Room & Suite (44)
Dining (5)
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The hotel is a grade II listed building, built in 1735 standing on the banks of the River Severn. A central location less than 10 minutes from Shrewsbury town centre and 5 minutes from J7 of the M54. The entrance to Attingham Park (National Trust)is directly opposite the hotel. Seasonal menus feature local produce. Log burner for cooler days. Local ales and fine wines to compliment good food. Free parking on site. Picturesque black and white cottage also on site. Flexible accommodation, doubles including Superior, twin, single, family and ground floor options all available. A perfect location to discover Shropshire. Alternatively if business brings you to the area the Mytton is perfectly placed for Telford, Shrewsbury and further afield.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Banquet Room
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
623Reviews
213Photos
7Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 201
  • 165
  • 121
  • 63
  • 73
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The hotel hosted our daughters wedding last weekend which was a truly wonderful day made even more enjoyable by Nick and his staff for whom nothing was too much trouble. We found the venue ideal as we were able to arrive early in the morning,have breakfast (delicious!) then
Read more
The Mytton and Mermaid was an ideal location for my niece’s wedding. Once through the large gates, the courtyard and surrounding rooms for both sleeping and the wedding celebration made it totally private from the main hotel. We were lucky enough to have our courtyard room early
Read more
Response from TheMytton, Manager at The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
DearJoBirtles, Thank you for taking the time to leave a wonderful 5* review of your niece's wedding. We are always so honored to be chosen as the venue for any couples special day. We hope to welcome you back for lunch, dinner or another special occasion. Kind Regards Management
Read more
The Mytton and Mermaid hosted our wedding on 12th January. Although there were a few hiccups during the planning, the day itself was absolute perfection. The food and staff service was out of this world, as were the hotel rooms. We had many guests tell us that it was the best
Read more
Response from TheMytton, General Manager at The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Dear CFpedleydawson, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review of your big day, we are always so honored to be chosen as the venue for a couples special day. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and being a venue that brings back great memories and venue that will be part of your lives. Kind Regards Kirstie Lewis General Manager
Read more
Great overnight stay after attending a lovely ceremony and reception at the same venue. The wedding service and food was perfect... before the space was quickly transformed to a dance floor whilst we all enjoyed tea and coffee in the courtyard from the comfort of sofas and
Read more
I can not express how much we were disappointed and offended by the food we were served at The Mytton and Mermaid on Friday 11th at 7pm. They restaurant was pretty empty, which we thought odd for a Friday evening to start with. We both ordered the Humous and Pitta for starter,
Read more
Response from TheMytton, Manager at The Mytton and Mermaid Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Rachcoupe, I am sorry to hear that you experience on Friday evening wasn't satisfactory. If nothing was to your liking we will always endeavor to to make it so, to do this however things on the night need to brought to our attention, extra pita would of been supplied with pleasure if asked, if your husband needed a side order to bulk out his main course that would have been brought over in minutes, If you Salmon wasn't to your liking of course this would of been changed, we never want anyone to leave dissatisfied. I am sorry you didn't enjoy your experience with us. Regards Management
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Photo provided by managementThe Mytton and Mermaid Hotel
The Mytton Suite 4 Poster
Photo provided by managementThe Mytton and Mermaid Hotel
Atcham Bridge
Atcham suite bathroom
Atcham suite bed, closets and bathroom
Large Atcham suite
PreviousNext
1234569
This question has come through to me as a reviewer and needs to go to the owner - good luck!
1 vote
Show all answers
Thank you for your question, we have never been asked about Cats before. If you can contact us directly then we can discuss this further.
1 vote
Show all answers
Is there a limit on how many dogs you can have to stay with you in room?
see answer above
0 votes
Show all answers
what do they charge for dogs
Sorry I can't say as it's not something we need to know. I didn't see any dogs in the hotel whilst I was staying but I am sure a quick call to the hotel (the staff are most helfpul) would answer your question.
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12
"Be aware when booking there is no porter service and no lifts."
"Ask to stay in the main hotel"
"Be aware there is no lift at this hotel"
"Atcham Suite - Room 4"
"We had the Mytton suite room 101 as our wedding accommodation, huge room, four poster bed, and amazing views of the river and bridge."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$75 - US$127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mytton & mermaid hotel atchammytton and mermaidmytton mermaid atcham
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandShrewsburyAtcham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing