We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hawkstone Hall & Gardens

Save
Share
Hawkstone Hall & Gardens, Weston-under-Redcastle, Shrewsbury SY4 5UZ England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
US$273
View deal
Free cancellation until 24/11/21
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$287
View deal
Free cancellation until 24/11/21
Expedia.comUS$273
eDreamsUS$287
CheapTicketsUS$273
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (269)
Room & Suite (42)
Dining (34)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
Updated 09/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 09/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 2 hotels in Weston-under-Redcastle
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Garden Spa - Coming Soon | Nestled within the hills of the rolling Shropshire countryside, you will find the magnificent Grade | listed estate of Hawkstone Hall & Gardens. With ceilings gilded in gold, sweeping staircases, four-poster luxury suites with roll-top tubs, and 88 acres of pristine gardens, Hawkstone Hall & Garden’s invites you to stay with us. Thinking of a Staycation this year? Relaxing Dinner, Bed & Breakfast Break packages start from just £269.00 per couple. Luxury suites offer a complimentary turndown service plus exclusive access to our pantry room. We are delighted to offer the option of In-Room Relaxation and Beauty Treatments provided by trained Elemis therapists, to add that real sense of luxury and pampering to your stay. Hawkstone Hall & Gardens offers the perfect combination of character, charm, natural beauty, and heritage; perfect for weekend special occasions or weekday getaways. The 18th-century mansion boasts itself as a luxury hotel, wedding, and events venue with TWO wonderfully tasty and chiefly British on-site restaurants that serve afternoon tea, lunch, evening A La Carte dining, and Sunday Lunch, as well as extravagant corporate functions, parties, or conferences. Nearby attractions include adventure in the Hawkstone Follies, or the famous Hawkstone Park Championship Golf Course right on its doorstep, less than a mile away. Hawkstone Hall & Garden’s is available for exclusive event hire and hosts a range of exciting events throughout the year!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car park
Wifi
Yoga classes
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Patio
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Chapel / shrine
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Butler service
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Additional bathroom
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Dining area
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Room service
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Radio
iPod docking station
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English
210Reviews1Q+A23Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 182
  • 8
  • 5
  • 11
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Emily A wrote a review Sep 2021
5 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
I have been to Hawkstone a few times previously and after incredible stays, decided to get married there. In August we took the plunge and had the most amazing wedding. The staff, the organisers and everyone in between couldn't do enough for not only us, but all the guests and they made our couple of days unforgettable. Especially Laura, our wedding organiser, put me at ease throughout the day and made sure the day ran smoothly. The drive up to the Hall is undoubtedly incredible and when you arrive with a glass of fizz, it's a very welcome treat. The rooms are spectacular - whether you stay in a suite or a standard room (of which I have both). The food - dinner and breakfast were lovely and couldn't fault at all. Having snacks and a cocktail or two in The Snug is a must - just
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Martin Hirst - Managing Director, Other at Hawkstone Hall & Gardens
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Eaddiaon 241, We are thrilled to hear that you had an amazing wedding day with us! We have to agree, Laura is a real asset to Hawkstone and delivers the most incredible weddings. We shall pass on all of your kind comments to Laura and our staff here at Hawkstone. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Best Wishes
Read more
John K wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
I stayed with my family for two nights and we didn't want to leave! Upon arrival we were greeted by jolly staff who welcomed us in and engaged with the kids. We were quickly shown to our room - huge room, big windows and a brand new, super-clear bathroom - before heading down to take a walk around the grounds. The gardens are like a National Trust property and obviously very well maintained. The children particularly liked feeding the llamas who were hilarious and not shy about a photo. Dinner options are the more casual Hills Kitchen or the superb Saloon. We had read about chef Andrew Watts in the press and the food did not disappoint. Beautifully presented with bags of flavour and generous portions for such delicate food. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful, and served in
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Martin Hirst - Managing Director, Other at Hawkstone Hall & Gardens
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi P2733EGjohnk, Thank you for your feedback! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and are already planning your next visit to our hall. We shall pass on your kind words to our executive chef and look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Best Wishes
Read more
kallie2016 wrote a review Sep 2021
Lichfield, United Kingdom3 contributions
Really looked forward to this after visiting for the Summer Garden Party at the end of August and I wasn't disappointed. Beautiful grounds and surroundings. When I first arrived the bar was a bit congested, once we got through that it was a great. It was obvious the staff were under pressure but they coped under the circumstances. Yes there was a bit of wait for the food but only to be expected. The food was lovely and hot. Looking forward to going there again
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Martin Hirst - Managing Director, Other at Hawkstone Hall & Gardens
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Kallie, Thank you for your kind words regarding our Sunday Lunch. We are thrilled you had such a good time, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best wishes, Martin
Read more
ZNR10 wrote a review Sep 2021
cambridge3 contributions
The best part of our stay was the drive in. Following this we were check into a substandard room: It was small, unclean and located directly above a smelly, noisy extractor fan from the kitchen. After the first night we were moved to a better room, however service overall throughout the weekend was below the standard expected (it was very difficult to contact anyone on reception all weekend, e.g it took over an hour for an iron to brought up. It may be that this can be put down to poor management and therefore disinterest and improperly trained service team (as mentioned in a recent review) For a hotel such a hawkstones, who would expect the doors to service areas to be closed, for all surfaces to be cleaned and the reception team to be easily available for resident guest.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Martin Hirst - Managing Director, Other at Hawkstone Hall & Gardens
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hello, we are sorry to hear that you had a negative experience at Hawkstone Hall & Gardens. We noticed that this was your first visit, and we appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback. To ensure that we get to the bottom of what has happened during your visit I invite you to give myself, carly@hawkstonehall.co.uk an email outlining your booking details and telephone number so that I can delve into this further for you. Hawkstone Hall & Gardens take reviews very seriously and it is our priority to ensure guests receive an outstanding experience.
Read more
Steve Clegg wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
The table service was absolutely dreadful... We waited just over an hour for each course to arrive. When it did arrive, the food was ok but the portions were beyond small. I understand fine dining but £60 for a piece of fillet steak no bigger than a conker, a teaspoon of pureed mash and a (half) piece of chicory is disgraceful! We also waited over 40 minutes for drinks after placing a table order, to the point where I had to go to the bar to re-order! The staff seem so disinterested and unmotivated; they, and the food ruined our stay. The (inclusive) mountain bikes need scrapping as safety critical components (bottom bracket, hubs, brakes, tyres etc.) were damaged. I told staff twice but was offered the same bike 3 x times. Finally, keep a close eye on the bar tab and the
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Martin Hirst - Managing Director, Other at Hawkstone Hall & Gardens
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hello, we are sorry to hear that you had a negative experience at Hawkstone Hall & Gardens. We noticed that this was your first contribution ever to TripAdvisor, and we appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback. To ensure that we get to the bottom of what has happened during your visit I invite you to give myself, carly@hawkstonehall.co.uk an email outlining your booking details and telephone number so that I can delve into this further for you. Hawkstone Hall & Gardens take reviews very seriously and it is our priority to ensure guests receive an outstanding experience.
Read more
PRICE RANGE
US$193 - US$503 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandShropshireShrewsburyWeston-under-Redcastle
NUMBER OF ROOMS
37
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing