Castlecary House Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Castlecary House Hotel

Castlecary Road Nr Cumbernauld, Cumbernauld G68 0HD Scotland
Traveller (224)
Room & Suite (49)
Dining (25)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#2 of 4 hotels in Cumbernauld
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Be welcomed by our friendly staff when you stay at the Castlecary House Hotel. Strategically located in the heart of central Scotland, this hotel enjoys a quiet suburban location, a short drive from Glasgow city centre and an ideal base for those who wish to explore Scotland's abundance of unique landmarks. Enjoy complimentary WiFi in all public areas of the hotel, ample complimentary car parking and easy access to the M80 North and South, as well as Scotland's main motorway network M8/M9/M73/M74. Visit The Falkirk Wheel,The Helix Park and The Kelpies, The Forth & Clyde Canal, stunning Loch Lomond, take the kids for an educational day out at Stirling Castle or Blair Drummond Safari Park or head into Glasgow (train station 3 miles from hotel) or across to Edinburgh. Whether you are a serious shopper, culture vulture, theatre-goer or visiting on business you couldn't be better placed.All of the guest rooms at this hotel offer modern amenities including a freeview TV, black-out curtains, a spacious work area and WiFi. Larger rooms are available, ideal for longer stays and families. Food is Homemade. We make it easy for you to enjoy a delicious meal without even leaving the hotel with a choice of dining options from the informality of Camerons Restaurant which has built an excellent reputation for serving a variety of traditional Scottish dishes using fresh and local produce to the hotel's traditional pub The Poachers Lounge & Snug which serves fine home cooked food and is a local legend! Host a successful business or social event in our Cameron Suite for up top 150 guests.Highlights set in a quiet suburban location, close to GlasgowEasy access to the M80 North and South and many attractions and businesses Camerons Restaurant The Poachers Lounge & Snug traditional pub and function suite ideal for parties or meetings.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Non-smoking hotel
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Meeting rooms
Room features
Telephone
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi
796Reviews7Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 371
  • 217
  • 99
  • 57
  • 52
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Allan L wrote a review Jan 2022
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Having made several journeys for different reasons accompanied by my family and on one occasion hosted over one hundred guests. On the celebration of our Golden Wedding, at the end of the evening there were several questions regarding another party in the future, the same was repeated over several days. With the arrival of Christmas cards the same question was repeated. On the back of such success my family and myself decided back in October 2021 to book for the Hogmanay Party. During the time prior to the Hogmanay event all indications proved to be in favour regarding COVID and the new variant and the event went ahead. The dance floor would not be available for dancing, however dancing was permitted in the vicinity of your table. Seating was excellently arranged for social distancing, the meal was served in a very short time ensuring that courses retained the appropriate temperature and ensured the flavour was retained till finished. Clearing tables and serving all courses remained at a high standard throughout. Bar service was direct to your table, and staff continued an excellent service throughout the period of the party. A system was adopted where you paid once at the end of the evening that proved to be a good means of bar control. The local DJ gave a very entertaining service throughout the evening. Music for everybody’s taste and the offer of any requests was met and enjoyed by all. About thirty minutes after midnight the evening slowly came to an end at which time further eats were served by way of a Scottish Bread Roll filled with local butcher sliced sausage. A recommended event for next year, by which time COVID will hopefully have lower restrictions and the event will go ahead again. Finishing off the evening with an enjoyable restful sleep in a comfortable bed in a room adapted for disabled guests with more than adequate room. Breakfast offered several choices such as a full Scottish, a continental or any other selection that you wished to order, again table service was necessary due to COVID rules. A very enjoyably event in the presence of other guests who appeared to be making every bit of enjoyment as we were.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Do not hesitate when considering events or accommodation. Helpful management and reception staff...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Castlecary Hotel, General Manager at Castlecary House Hotel
Responded 17 Jan 2022
All i can say is thank you, from all the team at Castlecary.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tigglette wrote a review Mar 2020
Glasgow, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at the Castlecary for a retreat weekend - it’s the third time I’ve been to this retreat at the hotel. Amidst the crisis around Coronavirus, the hotel have been superb, they kept in close contact with the organiser, reassured folk about the measures they have in place and were more than fair to folk who needed to withdraw because they were self isolating.

The hotel itself is absolutely spotless with staff cleaning surfaces every 30 mins, taking care about potential contamination, hand gel easily available throughout. To be honest, that level of attention is what I’ve come to expect from the hotel staff who are professional, friendly and so accommodating - they literally can’t do enough for you. The rooms are bright and comfortable and food is excellent.

Thanks to Dylan, Nicole, Karen and the rest of the team for a fantastic weekend, see you in September.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Castlecary Hotel, General Manager at Castlecary House Hotel
Responded 20 Mar 2020
Don't really know to say but thank you and that we look forward to seeing you later in the year for the next retreat. From all the Team at Castlecary thank you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ann wrote a review May 2021
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We received a warm and friendly welcome on our stay to break up our journey to the NE of Scotland. All staff were helpful and professional.
We enjoyed a lovely large room that was spotlessly clean and very comfortable with high TC bed linen and soft towels.
Our package included a 3 course dinner that was excellent and portions were very generous, we didn't have dessert. We were so impressed that we booked the same hotel on our return trip and we were delighted to be upgraded to the Skye suite, which was beautifully furnished and had the biggest bathroom I've ever stayed in.
We were pleased to observe good Covid controls in place; our temperatures were taken, there's a one way system, masks were worn by staff, tables and chairs were cleaned as soon as they were vacated.
I would not hesitate to reccomend the Castlecary Hotel for comfort, convenient location and value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gerry Cooney, General Manager at Castlecary House Hotel
Responded 26 May 2021
All i can say is thank you, the team have worked tirelessly to enable our guests to feel safe, comfortable and welcome. From all the team at Castlecary thank you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
gilly wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I am just home from a weekend staying at this hotel with a group of friends from all over the country. I have stayed here before and each time the room was immaculate, bed extremely comfortable, bathroom fully equipped with towels , toiletries, hairdryer etc. I have stayed in the annex rooms and the main hotel and happy with both.
The staff however, are the what made my decision to give a 5 star review.
Nicole assisted us all day and evening, chatted, laughed and put us all at ease. The cleaner in our conference room, who's name I didnt catch was very diligent, particularly as we have the Covid 19 situation, however, still took a moment to chat, show genuine interest in the conversation and indicated that nothing was too much trouble.
After checkout we remained in the hotel for lunch, I had left something in my room and the staff took the time to check if I had been in the room and if the item was mine.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel for a conference, getaway, meal or just a drink in the bar and will certainly return.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Castlecary Hotel, General Manager at Castlecary House Hotel
Responded 20 Mar 2020
Delighted that all had an enjoyable weekend retreat once again, we are so pleased that the team played their part, we will pass your thoughts along. From all the team at Castlecary thank you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ajmcb1973 wrote a review Aug 2021
Bathgate, United Kingdom5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is my 3rd visit in 10 months and I would just like to say what a wonderful hotel.

The staff are so accommodating, nothing is too much bother such as extra water, extra ice, hot water for special tea etc. They were really good fun too, Nicole doing the raffle was fab! It meant everyone could join in

The rooms were spotless and the staff worked tirelessly to ensure tables, door handles etc were wiped down.

The bed was so comfortable I don't think I moved all night!

The food as always was great but the empire biscuits- they were a mass of gooey, sticky jammy loveliness lol

I had a great weekend with my fellow stitchers made extra special as the staff always make us feel so welcome

Thanks and see you again in September, November oh and March too 😉
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gerry Cooney, General Manager at Castlecary House Hotel
Responded 17 Aug 2021
Dont really know what else to say but thank you and we very much look forward to seeing you all again soon. From all the team at Castlecary thank you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Annmarie W wrote a review Jun 2021
Stirling, United Kingdom1 contribution2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My sister had her wedding here on 19th June and the whole weekend was just perfect from start to finish.

The thing that stood out the most was how helpful and friend all of the staff were, especially those involved with the wedding. They were on hand from the night before the wedding, right through to breakfast the morning after providing us with all the little things we had forgot (fan for the room etc.).

The newly refurbished rooms are stunning, especially the honeymoon suites which are very spacious and have the most beautiful bathrooms (ideal for bridal prep and wedding photos). I will definitely return for an overnight stay again.

The food is also fabulous and drinks very reasonable.

I look forward to visiting again for a meal and overnight stay.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gerry Cooney, General Manager at Castlecary House Hotel
Responded 28 Jun 2021
Many thanks for the very kind feedback, we are pleased all enjoyed the celebrations and look forward to seeing you on your next visit. From all the team at Castlecary thank you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mike S wrote a review Feb 2020
Grimsby, United Kingdom103 contributions44 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Knowing this place for many years and i can say that the rooms improved quite a bit since the new owners took over, it's still good value for the money.
Wifi works and plenty of parking, actually never been a issue there
I already wrote a review back in 2013 or so, and it appears the traffic noise from the nearby motorway has increased a bit. Not an issue for me, just an observation.
Breakfast is still very good, just the coffee is not really.
What i really dislike is the refubished restaurant, it's bright and posh, almost sterile. The old cosy pub had a lot more character, even it was in need of a make over, but that revamp was (in my opinion) just a step too far and the food was more reasonably priced, too.
Food is still good, nothing to complain here.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Castlecary H, General Manager at Castlecary House Hotel
Responded 12 Feb 2020
Thank you for your kind feedback. I cannot agree with your opinion about the refurbishment being a step too far and I cannot agree with your opinion on the pricing of our dishes on the menu either. Quite clearly a gap of seven years is a long time between visits and certainly a lot has changed during this time. We apologise that our coffee is not too your liking and we understand that it a personal preference. We very much look forward to seeing you again, from all the team at Castlecary thank you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mes wrote a review Aug 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Living in Cumbernauld we were very happy when the Cary bar & grill was taken over and given a facelift. However I feel I need to express my extreme disappontment with this restaurant. The 1st time we visited we were quite happy. The 2nd time we met friends here. My husband and the friend were given the wrong steaks but with the right sauces!! Half way through eating their steaks neither were happy and suddenly realised what had happened. When we said to the waitress she did not even apologise. Last week we had friends staying with us so we decided to give it another try. The food was terrible. 2 people had haggis in pastry served with mash & neeps. It was just such an insipid looking plateful. The pastry was barely cooked, the haggis tasteless and was described as a plate of stodge. My husband's steak pie was lacking in meat and again the pastry was stodgy. I always have a sweet when I eat out but didn't bother as my expectations were by now so low. The place was characterless, we did not feel particularly welcome and we thought the high viz jackets worn by the staff was a bit extreme. No we wont be back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Castlecary Hotel, General Manager at Castlecary House Hotel
Responded 15 Aug 2020
Firstly, I would like to say thank you for your feedback and that we do take all onboard good and the not so good. I apologise that neither you or the team member realised visually that the steaks cooked differently!!! had been served the wrong way round and that took until you were half way through that you realised.. Per your recent visit I presume you spoke with a team member and brought your dis-satisfaction to them? as per your comments regarding your meal. The reason for the high viz waistcoats is for your benefit creating a safe environment for all making customers aware of our team during this Pandemic, so therefore I don't agree with your extreme comment, really don't think we should go into a debate regarding mitigation however I am available for discussion. Secondly it is very difficult to create an atmosphere in a dining room just now as we are not allowed background music or sound on our Tv screens as per Government guidelines. I CANNOT AND TOTALLY DISAGREE WITH YOUR COMMENTS THAT YOU FELT YOU WERE NOT WELCOME. We pride our selves on our customer service and have built the business on this even during these very trying and difficult times. We are obviously disappointed that you have decided not to return, however would like to say thank you for your custom and stay safe during these unprecedented times. From all the team at Castlecary thank you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Danielle W wrote a review Jun 2021
6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I got married at the Castlecary hotel on the 19th of June 2021. We booked our wedding back in 2018 and had originally planned to be married on the 13th of June 2020 but covid put a stop to that. When we booked with the Castlecary, we were greeted by the hotel manager, Gerry, who was there for us anytime we needed him right up till our special day. He was just a phone call or email away. He was also very quick to respond to any emails we sent.

When we had to postpone our wedding date, nothing was a problem for the hotel. They went above and beyond to make sure no matter what, we would have our day and it would be perfect.

We had 40 guests on our big day, 15 of which booked rooms in the hotel. The whole day and night we had guests approaching us telling us how lovely the staff had been and the highest quality of service they received. Breakfast in the cary bar was also a massive hit with ourselves & all our guests.

Myself, my husband, our kids & bridal party stayed the night before. My husbands room (268) was so spacious and clean. My room was the skye suite and it’s simply stunning. If your a bride and going to stay the night before I would so recommend you book one of the suites as they are fantastic for pictures too. The beds in both rooms we had were very comfortable and we all had a great sleep.

On the day of the wedding, it can be overwhelming. The bar managers Karen & Jo were fantastic and made sure that when we needed a little time to ourselves to just take a breath, we had somewhere to go. They also helped us out massively when we ran out of baby milk for our youngest and one of the lovely bar maids went to asda and got us some more (life saver).

The hall was absolutely beautiful for both the ceremony and the reception. We added some decoration of our own, but to be honest, the hotel had the room absolutely beautiful without the need for any additional decoration. The wedding guests raved about how amazing the canapés were while we got our photographs taken. The staff quickly transformed the room for the meal and what a meal it was. We had a choice of 3 starters, 3 main meals and opted for a trio of desserts. Every single guest remarked at how much they thoroughly enjoyed the whole meal.

We could never thank Gerry & all the staff at the Castlecary hotel enough. Our wedding wouldn’t have been half as good as it was if it wasn’t for Gerry & all the staff. We will definitely be back soon for a lovely meal & overnight stay. Danielle & Gordon.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gerry Cooney, General Manager at Castlecary House Hotel
Responded 25 Jun 2021
Thank you for choosing Castlecary to celebrate your Wedding Day, firstly we must say it was an absolute pleasure to be organising and hosting your big day. Secondly thank you for an incredible review, i will pass your thoughts along to the team. We are pleased all present had a wonderful day and enjoyed their meal. We very much look forward to seeing the Wedding pictures in due course . From all the team at Castlecary we wish you both all the very best for the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Danielle W wrote a review Sept 2020
6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in the Skye honeymoon suite at the Castlecary hotel last night with my fiancé for my birthday. The room was beautifully and tastefully decorated. The bathroom was huge - as big as the room, with a lovely double bath and big walk in shower. The modern 4 poster bed had crisp white linen, amazing pillows and a really good mattress. We were really cosy and had a great nights sleep. We had a full Scottish breakfast which was delicious and the staff members we spoke to were really friendly. The hotel followed the COVID-19 guidelines impeccably and at no point during our entire stay at the hotel did we feel unsafe. I have to give a very special mention to Gerry the hotel General Manager. We have met him on a few occasions at the hotel and he really does make you feel like a VIP. Nothing is too much trouble for him and makes you feel welcome and in good hands. He really is a credit to the hotel. We are just counting down the days till we can come back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gerry Cooney, General Manager at Castlecary House Hotel
Responded 13 May 2021
Apologies for the delay in answering your comments due to Covid. Your feedback is very much appreciated and hope to see you again once the restrictions are removed. From all the team at Castlecary thank you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cumbernauld area.
PRICE RANGE
£52 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
castlecary hotel glasgow
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandNorth LanarkshireCumbernauld
NUMBER OF ROOMS
55
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CASTLECARY HOUSE HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Castlecary House Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Castlecary House Hotel?
Nearby attractions include World of Wings Birds of Prey Centre (3.7 miles), Falkirk Wheel (4.3 miles), and Xtreme Karting Falkirk (4.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Castlecary House Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Castlecary House Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Castlecary House Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Castlecary House Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Railway Inn and The Platform Lounge, The Dovecote Beefeater, and Scarecrow Bar & Grill.
Does Castlecary House Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Castlecary House Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to Castlecary House Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Carrick Stone (2.3 miles).
Is Castlecary House Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Cumbernauld HotelsCumbernauld Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CumbernauldHotels near Castlecary House Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire