We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Castlecary House Hotel

Expedia.comUS$59*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Castlecary House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

484 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 475: English reviews
Start your review of Castlecary House Hotel
 Click to rate
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Just been to Castlecary Restaurant Sat. night well worth the money it beat me could not finish it wife was the same wife said one would have done the two of us service 100% only thing I could have done with a fire extinguisher I had chicken Fajita's mouth still burning well done chef keep up the good work this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank william b
Bury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I was going to give the hotel a 'good' review but having stayed in another hotel tonight (which on paper should be better but is actually well below par), I can only compare the service and lodgings here as excellent! Parking is more than ample and I loved the room I had. I stayed in the one of the mews...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hellie000
CastlecaryResponse, General Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for a wonderful review, we are pleased that you enjoyed our facilities and that you took the time to inform us of your recent stay. I will pass your thoughts accordingly to the team, from all at CASTLECARY thank you.

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

I'm a bit late in writing this review, but I had to share my experience of the Castlcary. We had our Mum's 70th birthday celebration here a few years ago (November 2015). Mum didn't want a big fuss, but we wanted to mark the occasion with close family and friends. We hired the "Wee Bar", where we had a lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire C
CastlecaryResponse, General Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Claire Thank you for remembering us, it was a pleasure and we also look forward to seeing you all again sometime soon. From all the team at Castlecary thank you.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for valentines as a last minute thing with my partner, we wanted something reasonably priced that was close to the motorway and this fit the bill. Got a great price for our room and we stayed in one of the little rooms that are away from the main building which was amazing because we got some extra privacy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank blndebombshell
CastlecaryResponse, General Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review, I will pass your thoughts to the team. From all the team at Castlecary thank you.

Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here for a night as it was near to a conference I was going to the following day. Friendly welcome from staff and shown to room which wasn't in the actual hotel but in another building on the site. Surprisingly big room, clean and all that you needed. Shower very powerful and lovely and warm. Quiet room too....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanne O
CastlecaryResponse, General Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review we will take on board all your thoughts. From all the team at Castlecary thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here with my family (2 teenage boys) for one night as a stopover whilst visiting the Falkirk wheel and the Helix/Kelpies. From that point of view, this hotel is very conveniently located and was good value. We ended up with 2 rooms outside the main hotel which are in a motel/chalet format (i.e. doors leading straight outside). One room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Noel H
CastlecaryResponse, General Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we will take on all your thoughts and pass them to the team accordingly. We are however very disappointed to read your comments on your food, We do hope that when you felt their was an issue with your meals that you brought it to the attention of the team at the time. Should you...

Fife Scotland
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The staff were lovely, it was a little chalet outside the main building, not a hotel room. The room was clean but very tired and in desperate need of makeover. The bed was lumpy as were the awful pillows. No lock on the bathroom door either. We had booked a table for eight and the food was fine, again the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NIcola D
CastlecaryResponse, General Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we will take on board all your thoughts and pass them to the accordingly. From all the team at Castlecary thank you.

Alexandria Scotland
Reviewed 23 April 2017

Just back from a 2 Night stay in this hotel. I was visiting the area to attend a wedding in another venue. The Castlecary hotel provides first class accommodation supported with a raft of first class staff. The booking in was easy and the bar of the hotel is staffed with attentive,courteous and professional people. The bar meal menu is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TamDennett
CastlecaryResponse, General Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you and your very kind feedback I will pass your thoughts to the team accordingly. From all the team at Castlecary thank you.

Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

Came for a last minute break away with my partner for a night. Not one single complaint. From the moment we arrived the staff were brilliant and friendly. The wee bar was fab, food and drink excellent! In particular the waitress Lauren, so helpful and nothing was a problem. Will certainly be returning in future!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karen m
CastlecaryResponse, General Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for an excellent review, I will pass your thoughts to the team accordingly. We look forward to seeing you again soon, from all at Castlecary thank you.

Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

Awful 2 night stay. Pub food disgusting.politely complained to manager he said nobody else had complained -we were the only people eating.!!Fish was cold inside burnt batter. Chips were unedible-appeared to have been reheated. Room was clean but bed broken and next bed they gave us had to have duvet folded over to lie on as it was so uncomfortable....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank monarchofglen
CastlecaryResponse, General Manager at Castlecary House Hotel, responded to this review

After deliberation with my team, we cannot except or agree with your comments. Our Manager has confirmed that you were not the only diners having fish at that time and this has been confirmed with the food checks at that time, we do not reheat fries they are prepared to order. Apologies that the bed was not to your liking,...

123 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (74)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cumbernauld
1.5 mi away
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow (Cumbernauld) Hotel
4.3 mi away
The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Best Western Garfield House Hotel
7.2 mi away
Mondo Hotel
Mondo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coatbridge
125 reviews
8.7 mi away
Halo Crowwood House Hotel
Halo Crowwood House Hotel
#88 of 96 in Glasgow
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Be welcomed by our friendly staff when you stay at the Castlecary House Hotel. Strategically located in the heart of central Scotland, this hotel enjoys a quiet suburban location, a short drive from Glasgow city centre and an ideal base for those who wish to explore Scotland's abundance of unique landmarks. Enjoy complimentary WiFi in all public areas of the hotel, ample complimentary car parking and easy access to the M80 North and South, as well as Scotland's main motorway network M8/M9/M73/M74. Visit The Falkirk Wheel,The Helix Park and The Kelpies, The Forth & Clyde Canal, stunning Loch Lomond, take the kids for an educational day out at Stirling Castle or Blair Drummond Safari Park or head into Glasgow (train station 3 miles from hotel) or across to Edinburgh. Whether you are a serious shopper, culture vulture, theatre-goer or visiting on business you couldn't be better placed.All of the guest rooms at this hotel offer modern amenities including a freeview TV, black-out curtains, a spacious work area and WiFi. Larger rooms are available, ideal for longer stays and families. Food is Homemade. We make it easy for you to enjoy a delicious meal without even leaving the hotel with a choice of dining options from the informality of Camerons Restaurant which has built an excellent reputation for serving a variety of traditional Scottish dishes using fresh and local produce to the hotel's traditional pub The Poachers Lounge & Snug which serves fine home cooked food and is a local legend! Host a successful business or social event in our Cameron Suite for up top 150 guests.Highlights set in a quiet suburban location, close to GlasgowEasy access to the M80 North and South and many attractions and businesses Camerons Restaurant The Poachers Lounge & Snug traditional pub and function suite ideal for parties or meetings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castlecary House Hotel

Address: Castlecary Road | Nr Cumbernauld, Cumbernauld G68 0HD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Cumbernauld
Price Range: £44 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castlecary House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Castlecary House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlecary Hotel Glasgow
Castlecary House Hotel Cumbernauld, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Castlecary House Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Castlecary House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sorry just in for a meal our local”
williambB3088CJ, 27 May 2017 | Read review
“I would recommend a mews room but this is personal preference, I stayed in room 237 (from memory)”
Hellie000, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“I was only in two of the rooms but other looked different but I think no matter what room you get you will love it,”
Cloharry, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“There are various rooms located about the site, preference seems to be in the hotel, the other rooms are ok though,”
whickerg, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“to be honest never seen to many rooms at the place but we stayed in 145”
mgrover90, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$59* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.comUS$59
TripAdvisorUS$59
Priceline
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates