We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bath Lodge Castle

Orbitz.comUS$177*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Bath Lodge Castle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

436 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Bath Lodge Castle
See the most recent reviews
Showing 430: English reviews
Frome, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 June 2016

My friends and I have afternoon tea here last week, (we were using a Groupon coupon), the setting is only a few miles from where we live, a place we have passed very many times on route to Bath. Our first visit we were pleasantly surprised at the beautiful courtyard and gardens. We were seated outside on the patio, seat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
Reviewed 10 June 2016 via mobile

Popped in to this beautiful hotel as it boasted a set price lunch on a big banner outside. As we parked we were in awe of how beautiful the place was - it was absolutely stunning. We walked up to the dining room and found a blackboard propped against a chair on the floor with lunch options crudely scribbled on...

 Report
Helpful?
110Thank Rachel F
Reviewed 7 June 2016 via mobile

I visited the Bath Lodge Castle with my girlfriend and was disgusted by the service we received. We arrived expecting the restaurant to be open having planned our day around eating at the hotel only to be told that the restaurant wasn't open that night. It was not made clear to us on the website or when we booked that...

 Report
Helpful?
55Thank Fred K
KLH99973, Owner at Bath Lodge Castle, responded to this review

We recall this couple only too well. They arrived on a special cheap deal. They claim that they were not informed of the fact that our restaurant is closed on Sunday night and Monday all day, yet this information is given to every person booking by telephone for a Sunday or Monday. In addition it is clearly stated on our...

Reviewed 1 June 2016

We have just come home from a two night "mini-moon" stay after our wedding and I didn't want to leave! It wasn't that close to Bath, about 6 or 7 miles away but it was set in beautiful grounds and was gorgeously quiet which was much needed! We were shown to our amazing room and I was in awe! Pure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel P
KLH99973, Owner at Bath Lodge Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind and generous remarks. We would welcome you back with open arms and will make sure you receive good discount as a returning guest.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 May 2016

The name may be confusing as it's about 8 miles from Bath, but apart from that it's a good hotel. Our room was well fitted, clean comfortable with a balcony. The building is unusual as it's a Grade II listed castle. For nicer than the large hotel chains. Lovely hot tub. Reason for not giving Excellent rating? 1 No soap,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank JDetre
KLH99973, Owner at Bath Lodge Castle, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, thank you so much for your kind comments. As for your criticisms, we are at a loss to understand them because (a) there is always a large supply of soap in the rooms, which I can only assume you didn't find for some reason, (b) there are 2 normal sized bottles of mineral water provided in every room...

Desborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 May 2016

At first look,the place looked enticing,delightful, with nice suroundings. However,i felt that the longer we were there the more uncomfortable we felt.staff were rather rude and whispered to themselves,the male owner i found to be rather pompous and seems to be a guest himself ,rather than mingling with guests. The castle is superb but pity about some of the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
26Thank mandymaan3
KLH99973, Owner at Bath Lodge Castle, responded to this review

Why is it that people imagine that as owners we are obliged to talk to the guests. This is not a zoo where guests come and ogle the owners. Luckily these people will not be back. This is a review from a couple who have personal issues mixed with an inferiority complex. We can't help that, we're not trained psychologists...

Reading, England
Reviewed 22 May 2016

My wife and I recently spent a couple of nights here and had a good time. We like quirky places and this definitely fits that bill. Our room was small but comfortable and since we were spending most of our time outside of the room this was not an issue. If you are looking for everything to be absolutely perfect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KJBMTB
KLH99973, Owner at Bath Lodge Castle, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed the quirkiness of our small fairy tale Castle. Don't forget to come back and visit another time. Always good discount for mid-week returning guests.

Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 May 2016

We arrived last night to be greeted by Karen at the door. Things just got better and better. The fabulous Castle, the fab home cooked food, and to top it all Karen the owner, talk about living the dream.. And at the end we met her tennis mad husband Mike.. This place and Karen is 10 out of 10 and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eddy A
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

I don't usually write reviews unless they are positive but I felt compelled to leave feedback after my experience with the owners of this establishment. I have never, ever in my life been spoken to in such a way as I have by the owners. I am shocked that they are still open when they can treat their customers so...

 Report
Helpful?
80Thank trinket_treat
Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

This is the perfect place to relax and great rooms along with friendly staff. Book direct with Karen or Wayne to save money over the groupon offers and get breakfast included in the price with a free drink on arrival. Perfect place to stay and visit the city of Bath too.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gary K
KLH99973, Owner at Bath Lodge Castle, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your stay. Would love to see you come back again one day.

192 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (181)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (54)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norton St Philip
6.9 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
6.0 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
5.8 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
1,337 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
1,354 reviews
6.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Le Chateau
Le Chateau
Cuisines: British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This quintessentially English Grade II castle complete with 11 bedroom suites is just 6 miles from the historic City of Bath. Completed in 1806, Bath Lodge Castle is a wonderful rural retreat for a wide range of purposes. Refurbished at the end of 2010 to a stunning standard, the Castle is packed full of charm and character, and friends, families and colleagues alike will be astounded by its comfort. The four acres of grounds including the Pavilion, contain a hot tub, sauna and bucket shower, as well as outdoor bar and river surround this stunning property and together provide a perfect base from which to explore and enjoy South West England. Call 0,1225-7==-23043 for bookings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bath Lodge Castle

Address: Warminster Road (A36) | On the A36 Itself, Norton St Philip, Bath BA2 7NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Norton St Philip
Price Range: £139 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bath Lodge Castle 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bath Lodge Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bath Lodge Castle Hotel Norton St Philip
Bath Lodge Castle Norton St Philip
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bath Lodge Castle staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Bath Lodge Castle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Use premier inn instead”
suesamwes, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We had a Cantenbury (their spelling) room, do not ask for the four-poster, they have better beds without.”
PurleyTraveller, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All very good”
StephenandJane2014, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Some of the rooms can accommodate families”
davidhQ6931NL, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Family rooms perfect”
judyp461, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$177* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$177
Booking.comUS$181
Expedia.comUS$177
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates