We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Amalur Hostal Restaurante

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Amalur Hostal Restaurante
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

209 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 103: English reviews
Beernem, Belgium
Reviewed 24 October 2016

We stayed here a few years ago, and last week again. After the massive earthquake earlier this year, this hotel proved to be absolutely save!! (Spanish) hosts are a very nice couple with two lovely kids and do their utmost to give their guests the best Canoa has to offer. If you like the beach and surfing this is the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RudolfMarcellina
Paris, France
Reviewed 25 September 2016

I stayed a couple of days in this place. The rooms are nice, comfortable beds. Rooftop have a nice view with hammocks, tables and chair outside with sand are nice to have a peaceful time and relax. They also have a restaurant and serve nice food. People who run the hotel and work there are really nice, and welcoming

 Report
Helpful?
Thank claradventurer
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for one night. There are hot showers and mosquito nets in the room. The bed was comfortable but noise from other rooms was quite apparent during the night. The restaurant provides many tasty meal options. We recommend the Spanish style croquettas, carbonara and Spanish style breakfast. For an extra $1 you can also get a very generous...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GlobalRunaways
Reviewed 24 August 2016

So very glad I booked this place. I stayed for almost a week and quickly learned that this is THE place to stay in Canoa. Best food. Best wifi. Safest. Great Location. What more could you want ? Many tourists in Canoa go here for the food as it is by far the best in Canoa. The special sandwich is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kimmmmmmy
Lincoln NE
Reviewed 31 July 2016

We are only reviewing the restaurant, as we stay at a friend's house in Canoa. We love stopping in for a drink and snack or for dinner. We are relieved to see that they survived the earthquake. The staff is very friendly and the food is excellent. My favorite dish is the shrimp pasta; my husband's in the calamare -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AbuelitaSuzy
Tacloban, Philippines
Reviewed 7 June 2016

I spend the whole month of May '16 in Canoa. Working, no leisure. Amalur was the only wifi spot so subsequently I start visiting it on a daily basis. The place, the owners and rest of daily "frequenters" allowed me to mark a distinction between work and relaxing time and I ended up looking forward to visit again. Cuisine is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank levisedno
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 6 June 2016

We are totally confused as to how this hotel gets the rating it does. The room we reserved was cramped & stunningly hot, even with the fan blowing. We couldn't believe how flimsy the lock on the door was and the fact there was no safe - either in the room or out from. The bathroom wasn't clean, especially the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mira P
kanjakumari, Owner at Amalur Hostal Restaurante, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that but is almost impossible because we clean the rooms everyday and we check the housekeepers after that . The hostel is safe and you can ask all the other guest how they felt here, many moved from other places because they were being robbed. Usually if there is a problem with the room exist one thing...

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 29 May 2016

This is the first negative review I've ever written. I regret being such a sourpuss, moreover in the face of a natural disaster where everyone is doing there best, but I felt the owner's rude behavior towards me uncalled for. I came as a tagalong new volunteer with an organization. On my first day there, the male owner seemed to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank moorweed
kanjakumari, Owner at Amalur Hostal Restaurante, responded to this review

Is great you came as volunteer and is bad you felt that way but you must understand what we had to go througth and tiredness+stress+people like you who come and is not thinking about how we are feeling and neither realize how your behaviour is also affecting us .So sorry if you felt that way but there thousand things more...

Grand Junction, Colorado
Reviewed 21 May 2016

Wow, not only is this a great place run by great people but it survived the recent series of earthquakes in Ecuador. We only ate here so I can't really rate it as a hotel but the restaurant is wonderful, the food is great and the owners are very nice and very helpful. I hope that as Canoa recovers from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thirst-Aid
Cairo, Egypt
Reviewed 20 March 2016

Very polite and helpful people either the owners or the volunteers, you don't have to be their guest to help you, no you just need to ask about anything and they will do their best to help you, they speak English fluently so don't hesitate to ask, in English as in Spanish. The restaurant oh god it's amazing for an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amir M

58 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canoa
0.0 mi away
Hotel Canoa's Wonderland
10.2 mi away
Saiananda
Saiananda
#1 of 5 in Bahia de Caraquez
88 reviews
12.8 mi away
Casa Ceibo Boutique Hotel & Spa
Casa Ceibo Boutique Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bahia de Caraquez
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hosteria Canoa
Hosteria Canoa
#1 of 13 in Canoa
134 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Vista Hotel
La Vista Hotel
#7 of 13 in Canoa
38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rutamar
Hotel Rutamar
#5 of 13 in Canoa
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hostal Amalur is a new hostel where you will feel like at home, is well located, out of the noisy area but close enough to listen the ocean at night. Here you can find nice atmosphere, good tips, good food, and help to organize your days in our town.We, Diego and Lorena will help you in all that you need trying to make easy your stay and making you able to relax and enjoy the beach of Canoa.If you want to stay longer periods we make special prices for weeks or months. Is an ideal place to learn spanish with a native speaker from Spain while you are surfing or just spending your holidays.The hostel has 2 dorms ( 3 beds each) and another 6 double rooms with twin or double beds. Every room has a fan, mosquito net, locally crafted wooden beds and beautiful Ecuadorian art. All of them with private bathroom, hot water, and free wifi. Bed sheets, linen and towels are provided, and the bathrooms has hot water 24hsWe have three common areas, one in the roof where you will relax seeing the sunsets in the hammocks, another one is a patio with garden and the restaurant.We are located two blocks from the beach and one block from the main street. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Amalur Hostal Restaurante

Address: San Andres, al frente de la plaza civica, Canoa 131451, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Manabi Province > Canoa
Price Range: £21 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Amalur Hostal Restaurante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Amalur Hostal Restaurante staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Amalur Hostal Restaurante staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms looked great.”
 of 5 bubbles kimmmmmmy, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Veggie sandwich you can't miss it.”
 of 5 bubbles 982amirm, 20 Mar 2016 | Read review
“our favorite room is on the second floor with two twin beds”
 of 5 bubbles MaryM38, 21 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Difficult to answer this question. All looked similar. Can't really help...”
 of 5 bubbles Isle 'n Sun, 29 Nov 2015 | Read review
“2nd floor was quiet, don't know about the rest.”
 of 5 bubbles Amigo48582, 12 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay