We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Chateau d'Audrieu

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (159)
Dining (32)
Videos (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 hotels in Audrieu
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The history of the Château d’Audrieu is closely linked to the history of Normandy and its most famous representative, William the Conqueror. He became William II of Normandy in 1035 after the death of his father. He turned Normandy into a powerful duchy, which was independent of the Kingdom of France. Following his victory at the Battle of Hastings, William became the king of England in 1066. His epic is illustrated by the Bayeux Tapestry, a precious embroidery from the 11th century, which is listed on the Memory of the World register by the UNESCO and preserved in the William the Conqueror Centre in the town of Bayeux. The village of Audrieu, which was already known during Antiquity as Alderium, is only a dozen kilometres away from Bayeux. Traces of Gallo-Roman houses and a feudal motte were found there. The village also harbours the Gothic church Notre Dame d’Audrieu. The château is situated close to the village. Its current architecture is from the beginning of the 18th century, but its history dates back to the 11th century. Originally, the seigneury of Audrieu belonged to the Percy family. One of the family members, William de Percy, participated in the battle of Hastings alongside William the Conqueror. According to the legend, Sir de Percy was William the Conqueror’s personal cook. I t is said that at Hastings he knocked out a few Saxons by hitting them with a skimmer. For this he was ennobled, became the first lord of Hastings and sired the dukedom of Northumberland. His descendants founded the Juaye-Mondaye Abbey (which is nearby and worth a visit) and built the château. In 1593, Audrieu was passed down to the Séran family, following the marriage between Marguerite de Percy and Guillaume de Séran, who was a gentleman of the king’s chamber. He saw his land elevated to a barony in 1615. The château was sold during the French Revolution and returned to the Séran family during the Bourbon Revolution. It became the property of the Livry-Level family, following the marriage between Nicole Saillard de Boisberthe, a descendant of the Séran family, and Philippe Livry-Level (1898- 1960), who was a member of the French resistance, Free France pilot, former mayor of Audrieu and former MP of Calvados. During the Second World War, the German army set up their headquarters here. On the 8th of June 1944, 24 members of the 3rd Canadian Infantry Division and two British soldiers were killed, in the orchards, forests and clearings around the château. The château has been listed as a historical monument since the 27th of December 1967. It became a 5-star hotel and a member of the prestigious Relais et Châteaux Association in 1977.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Children's playground
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Electric vehicle charging station
Valet parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Table tennis
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Makeup services
Massage
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Chapel / shrine
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Italian
266Reviews1Q+A28Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 170
  • 44
  • 21
  • 19
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
ek1310 wrote a review Jan 2024
Cortona, Italy22 contributions21 helpful votes
This “luxury” high price, five star hotel was worse than any motel off the highway. In fact, it was the worst hotel I’ve ever stayed at. Some of the highlights were that the toilet was in a closet so small you couldn’t even close the door without crushing your toes. The shower portion of the bathroom faced the main driveway and had a semi sheer curtain. I had to take showers in the dark. I tried to take a shower before dinner and there were no towels. The front desk person told me the laundry wasn’t ready and they would send some down when they were. I had to dry off with the bathrobe! We were a group of eight arriving at 5:45pm and were told we couldn’t even go to their bar for a drink and dinner was impossible. Instead they sent us into the village 20 minutes away at a cost of 100€ STAY AWAY!!! This hotel was listed as a Virtuoso approved hotel. Someone needs to check it out personally.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Just don’t go!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jérôme Charaoui, Propriétaire at Chateau d'Audrieu
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear guest, Thank you for your recent visit at Audrieu. Please could you email us your booking details at reception@chateaudaudrieu.com in order to send you an appropriate offer and looking at your booking details more precisely. We have been closed for the winter since January 07th but would be more than happy to discuss any further. Best regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
The Hubby’s wrote a review Jul 2023
Sidcup, United Kingdom31 contributions12 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favourite
We were greeted warmly and we loved our room, the service was also very good, we did have a little issue on the first day, but this was rectified for us, there was another little hiccup the next day but they sorted it too, they were very apologetic and they looked after us very well. We had afternoon tea one day and dinner both nights and the food was beautiful and tasty. The breakfast was also very good and great value for money with a lot of choice, the dish of eggs, bacon, mushrooms and spinach was just what you needed for breakfast, along with lots of local cheeses of course. The Donkey key rings are also very cute, shame they didn’t have any to buy, maybe next time. Would we stay here again? Absolutely we would 🤩
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jérôme Charaoui, Propriétaire at Chateau d'Audrieu
Responded 27 Jul 2023
Dear Sirs, Thank you very much for your kind words and enthusiastic comments. I have shared it with my Teams and they were delighted to be at your service while you were staying with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in a near future at Audrieu. Best regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Peter K wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution
Do not be deceived! There is no luxury here. The restaurant could not accommodate us. Imagine being told this after a long day of travel to a luxury resort. The taxi ride was € 50 each way to get something to eat that evening. No offer to help with the cost. Also we were told the bar would be not available after 7 pm due to maximum capacity for the dinner crowd. The bar was empty all evening ? The guest rooms are not up to luxury standards. No plug ins for our accessories ,crawling on the floor looking for outlets. The room was small and the beds seem old. The grounds keeper gets the award for keeping the grounds beautiful. It appears that there is a shortage of staff everywhere. One of the worst run hotels I have every stayed at.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jérôme Charaoui, Propriétaire at Chateau d'Audrieu
Responded 3 Dec 2023
Dear guest(s), Thank you for your recent visit. I am deeply sorry for the bad experience you had while staying with us. This is not up to our standard and I apologize once again. Please contact me at reception@chateaudaudrieu.com so we can discuss any further your experience. Looking forward to hearing from you soon, Best regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Joseph E wrote a review Oct 2023
Lawrence, Massachusetts3 contributions
My wife and I felt very welcomed at this Chateau. The staff were Excellent and friendly. The Rooms were very comfortable and the food was tremendous. We would like return because we did not get to see all of the area. A lovely area and place tostay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Make sure you stroll around the property.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jérôme Charaoui, Propriétaire at Chateau d'Audrieu
Responded 14 Oct 2023
Dear guest(s), Thank you for your comments and top rating. We were delighted to have you staying with us and I am happy to share your comments to my Teams. Looking forward to seeing you again at Audrieu. Best regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
laurenj38 wrote a review Oct 2023
Millburn, New Jersey5 contributions2 helpful votes
This property presents beautifully upon entry to the grounds. But unfortunately it stops there. The rooms are old and tired. The furnishings don’t lend themselves to modern travelers, although the bed was updated and comfortable. The breakfast was great. But the dinner in their fine restaurant fell short for us as well.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jérôme Charaoui, Propriétaire at Chateau d'Audrieu
Responded 14 Oct 2023
Dear guest(s), Thank you for your recent visit at Château d'Audrieu. I am happy to read that you enjoyed our grounds. Château d'Audrieu has been fully renovated in 2016 & 2017. We have modern rooms and Suites fully equipped. I am afraid I do not see which room is old and tired . Would be happy to discuss any further your feedback. You can contact us at reception@chateaudaudrieu.com to do so. We hope to seeing you again at Audrieu in a near future. Best regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Bill M wrote a review Oct 2023
Kansas City, Missouri78 contributions40 helpful votes
+1
The amazing chateau has been completely renovated. It still sits on a very large park like property that is enjoyable to stroll. All the amenities you would expect- fine dining and a cozy bar. Rooms are large. Our suite was amazing. Great site for weddings and small business events.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jérôme Charaoui, Propriétaire at Chateau d'Audrieu
Responded 14 Oct 2023
Dear guest(s), Thank you for your comment and great feedback from your stay at Chateau d'Audrieu. We were delighted to have you staying with us and hope to seeing you again at the Château. Best regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Catherine C wrote a review Sept 2023
4 contributions5 helpful votes
The setting is gorgeous and the staff is amazing but it ends there and it's not enough to warrant a visit with so many other options in the area. The hotel literally had no staff. Restaurants and bars were not open due to 'staffing' shortages. The closest restaurant is 20 min away so this creates issues. When we arrived at 7pm tired from travel we had to beg for food. Like literally. We got a cold hamburger and a cold pasta salad. The beds need to be replaced. Sheets are rough and pillows are hard as rocks and they don't have down pillows. We had no AC in our room. They said it worked but 3 days into our stay we had to sleep with doors to the outside open and the room would be full of bugs. I know they have AC.because our friends room was nice and cool. The staff is so short that our last night they locked up the bar area and you could not even get a drink. The poor staff does everything. All day long. Check you in. Breakfast lunch and dinner and when asked served us a glass of wine by the pool. The manager should be retrained or let go. While his employees are working he was at the pool with his kids for hours. That didn't bother me initially but after watching how poorly run the hotel is it did seem completely inappropriate. Feels like a bankrupt operation. Rethink your plans.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jérôme Charaoui, Propriétaire at Chateau d'Audrieu
Responded 4 Oct 2023
Dear guest(s), Thank you for your recent visit. I am deeply sorry for the bad experience you had while staying with us. This is not up to our standard and I apologize once again. Please contact me at reception@chateaudaudrieu.com so we can discuss any further your experience. Looking forward to hearing from you soon, Best regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ian wrote a review Sept 2023
5 contributions2 helpful votes
Incredibly poor service. I booked a Suite and was then contacted by Front Desk to advise me there was no restaurant availability. I was given a blunt response that I could move the date, which does not fit with my trip to Normandy. The General Manager has not even had the manners to respond to my complaint. I struggle to understand how this hotel is included in the Relais and Chateaux list, as the customer service standards are appalling.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jérôme Charaoui, Propriétaire at Chateau d'Audrieu
Responded 22 Sept 2023
Dear guest, Thank you for your comment. I have been advised and our Front Office Manager replied to your email few days after we received your complaint. It is indeed inconvenient for you, that our restaurant is already full the date of your stay due to a full occuâncy at the Chateau. We have only few rooms left on sell on our booking engine, but the dining experience included is closed and is not bookable on line. Only the request to book a table, and subject to availability and to be reconfirmed by my team as stated on the website, is on the booking engine of Relais Châteaux. We have notified the unavailability in our restaurant as soon as you booked your room, ahead of time. One of our Front desk representative, asked you if you would like to move your reservation at another moment just to give you the option of tasting the Chef cuisine. Sometimes it is an option for our guests who have flexibility on their dates of stay. I completely understand this is not an option suitable for you. I am sorry again about this matter and wish you a pleasant day,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Rach1310 wrote a review Sept 2023
York, United Kingdom126 contributions112 helpful votes
Beautiful but woefully understaffed. We didn’t get shown to our room until 6pm. We waited 90 mins to get any food at dinner. The place is beautiful but like the Marie Celeste staff wise. The poor young lady on reception was working very hard but too thinly stretched. Hardly saw any other staff. Needs addressing. It’s very expensive but the experience is lacking due to lack of service.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jérôme Charaoui, Propriétaire at Chateau d'Audrieu
Responded 20 Sept 2023
Dear guest, Thank you for your recent visit at Audrieu. I am sorry for the bad experience you had while staying with us. We have difficulties staffwise like many other places in the area, and all over the world. We are working hardly to train our young staff and we are always looking to hire new members. I do apologize once again for the inconvenience, hope you will not hold it against us and I do hope to see you again, Best regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ann Q wrote a review Sept 2023
1 contribution
Such a bad experience that I cannot even give one star. My husband and I traveled nearly 30 minutes by taxi to go to dinner at this hotel’s restaurant, Le Séran. We had stayed at Chateau D’Audrieu 30 years ago, during our first time in Normandy. This time, our fourth visit, we wanted to stay closer to the D-Day landing beaches. However, when our travel agent recommended dinner at Chateau d’Audrieu, we found ourselves full of enthusiastic anticipation. The approach up the long drive to the chateau was more impressive than we’d remembered, but that’s where the good experience stopped. When we got out of our taxi and made our way towards the chateau, a gardener shouted at us asking if we were there for the hotel or for the restaurant. Once a direction was established, we proceeded through the door to what looked to be an erstwhile dining room. The one featured online but missing any of the finery. It seemed to be more like a large staging area or store room. We encountered a perspiring young man as we found ourselves in his hurried path and he seemed to be somewhat of a deer caught in the headlights. He was nervous, if not concerned to see us. When we told him we were looking for the restaurant, he uncertainly indicated that we should continue outside to the back. There, we found ourselves on a practically empty terrace where a handful of hotel guests had gathered informally at one table. Otherwise, no one else was in sight, and there weren’t any tables set for any kind of dining whatsoever. Certainly no evidence of a venue for fine dining, and particularly none worth our time and expense from Porte-en-Bessin! As the surreal experience set in, we were shown to an ordinary garden table for two that had been hastily and spartanly set for two. My husband had to ask for someone to get us some drinks. It took an eternity to get 2 glasses of wine, but in the meantime, a 3-part amuse-bouche that had a pre-fab look about it was plunked down in front of us. These hors-d’œuvres looked as if they’d been plucked out of a catering box and plopped onto our plates. Everything seemed as if the few employees who were there were trying to pull off a charade to make us believe we’d found the right place! Incredibly sorry to have let our taxi go, our first priority was to ask anyone we saw to call to have it come back. If we hadn’t been so far from our hotel and in such a remote location, we would have certainly gotten up and left on foot. We were literally sitting on a deserted garden terrace that could have accommodated about 40 people. Yet, we were only 2 of about 7 people, feeling unsettled and duped and wondering how we’d be able to see a hand in front of our faces, let alone a fork, unless a light source was to magically materialize. Translation: absolutely no ambience or artificial lighting whatsoever. After being unceremoniously handed menus one might find in an ordinary café, we were expected to order almost immediately from a choice of 3 options: the chef’s “surprise,” menu of 3 couses, or 5 or 7 courses of the described tasting menu. Afraid to sign on to any other unknowns, we opted for 5 courses, in the interest of finishing before the taxi’s return. The first course, made with local tomatoes was tasteless. The fish wasn’t bad, and the locally made cheese was probably the best of the line-up. Not surprisingly, we had to chase down someone to take payment before making our getaway. Relais and Chateau needs to investigate. If only we had a do-over for dinner that evening!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: There must be a back story as to why we had such an awful experience
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jérôme Charaoui, Propriétaire at Chateau d'Audrieu
Responded 20 Sept 2023
Dear guest(s), Thank you for your recent visit. I am deeply sorry for the bad experience you had while staying with us. This is not up to our standard and I apologize once again. Please contact me at reception@chateaudaudrieu.com so we can discuss any further your experience. Looking forward to hearing from you soon, Best regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Audrieu area.
PRICE RANGE
£251 - £370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
le chateau d`audrieu hotel audrieu
LOCATION
FranceNormandyBasse-NormandieCalvadosAudrieu
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CHATEAU D'AUDRIEU - Updated 2024 Reviews (Normandy)

Frequently Asked Questions about Chateau d'Audrieu
Which popular attractions are close to Chateau d'Audrieu?
Nearby attractions include Les Vergers de Ducy (1.6 miles), Abbaye Saint-Martin de Mondaye (4.3 miles), and Jerusalem War Cemetery (2.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Chateau d'Audrieu?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Chateau d'Audrieu?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Chateau d'Audrieu?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Chateau d'Audrieu?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Chateau d'Audrieu?
Conveniently located restaurants include Château D'Audrieu, Le Massalia, and Les Bretelles.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Chateau d'Audrieu?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Chateau d'Audrieu have airport transportation?
Yes, Chateau d'Audrieu offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Chateau d'Audrieu located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the centre of Audrieu.
Are any cleaning services offered at Chateau d'Audrieu?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Chateau d'Audrieu?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.