We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The George Hotel & Brasserie

Share
Traveller (53)
Room & Suite (6)
Dining (5)
Overview
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
Wheelchair access
3 Star accommodation
Reviews (321)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveller rating
193
76
29
13
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
193
76
29
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely lunch cottage pie staff were attentive wine list main course three courses sunday lunch roast potatoes main meal bar menu public areas pudding biscuits yogurt orangery wedding venue
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 318 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

Lovely old hotel, just off the A1, at Buckden. We have been here many times for a meal in the brasserie, and the food is always very good, with excellent service to match. The hotel is full of charm and character, but very well maintained....More

Thank Keith D
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Some while since we were last here.Had a lovely meal in the restaurant to celebrate a birthday. Service was very attentive. The setting of the restaurant lacked a little bit of atmosphere, but otherwise couldn't fault a thing.

Thank SueCambridge2014
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My recent stay at the George hotel and Brasserie, themed on famous George's, was extremely pleasant. The rooms were very large,clean and tidy. The oldie worlde feel makes a refreshing change to modern soulless hotels. The restaurant offers a good range of food but could...More

Thank Robert J
Response from RichardO2515, Owner at The George Hotel & BrasserieResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent visit. We look forwards to welcoming you back. Regards Richard and the team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is how a hotel should look and feel ..... tasteful decoration, well maintained, character, welcoming reception, comfortable bar and fantastic food ! It’s one of those hotels where the staff approach is “ the answer is yes.... now what’s the question “ Highly recommended...More

Thank Jerry P
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This place is absolutely amazing, the pub itself is beautiful, very clean and modern. The staff are brilliant and friendly. The food we all had was amazing. This place is a must visit even just to pop in for a drink.

Thank ROBERT H
Response from RichardO2515, Owner at The George Hotel & BrasserieResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. We hope to welcome you back soon Regards Richard

View more reviews
About
Description
The George, Hotel and Brasserie, is situated in the historic village of Buckden just off the A1 between Huntingdon and St Neots, & a stones throw from the A14. For hundreds of years it has been a resting place More for travellers making their way between York and London along the old Great North Road. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Banquet Room
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Wheelchair access
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Number of rooms
12
Price range
US$96 - US$129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
The George Hotel And Brasserie
,
George Hotel St Neots
,
The George Hotel & Brasserie Buckden, Cambridgeshire
Location
United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Buckden
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Number of rooms
12
Price range
US$96 - US$129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
The George Hotel And Brasserie
,
George Hotel St Neots
,
The George Hotel & Brasserie Buckden, Cambridgeshire
Location
United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Buckden
Photos
Traveller (53)
Room & Suite (6)
Dining (5)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 nearby hotels
The Lion Hotel
386 reviews
.02 miles away
Premier Inn Huntingdon (A1/A14) Hotel
620 reviews
2.72 miles away
Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse
551 reviews
2.94 miles away
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
740 reviews
3.61 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 2 nearby restaurants
The Lion at Buckden
192 reviews
.03 miles away
Cinnamon
63 reviews
2.19 miles away
The Black Bull
174 reviews
2.38 miles away
The Bell
76 reviews
2.65 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 2 nearby attractions
Buckden Towers
38 reviews
.02 miles away
High Harthay Outdoor Pursuits
19 reviews
2.07 miles away
Southlake Aqua Park
50 reviews
2.55 miles away
Paxton Pits Nature Reserve
188 reviews
3.07 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Kevin K
Thank you for your reply, to tell you then truth I didn't want a reply saying that I should of told you on the day, firstly it as Christmas Day, I am the customer so therefore you should make my experience the best possible. What I have given you is honest feedback not aggressive in any way, what I would expect is from you is to look at the feedback and act upon it. When a business looks at feedback as a complaint its then a slippery slope, I also understand customers can be picky and down right rude, I am neither, but i do expect a high standard and something a bit more special than you offered on this occasion. May i suggest you step back and look at what you can see, you may then see that the men's toilets need decorating that no one offered us our drink. The food was not as good as previously had on the same day. As I just said its feed back,
13 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from RichardO2515 | Property representative |
We certainly didn't look at your feedback as a complaint. We welcome all feedback in order to maintain/improve our offering. What I said was we were confused by your feedback (the last part,) when you mentioned you may end... More
1
Vote
christopher d
30 November 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from JudithAylott | Reviewed this property |
Why don't you look on their website?
0
Votes
christopher d
30 November 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from rogerramjet365 | Reviewed this property |
Good Morning, Yes they have a set menu cost is £30 for 2 courses and £35 for 3 courses including a glass of bubbly on arrival. I would advise that you book early to avoid disapointment. Regards Roger
0
Votes
Room Tips
"We did not stay so we cannot commenty on the rooms."
gilliandeller
18 May 2018
Read review
"superior rooms have baths aswell as a shower."
elainewj
21 Feb 2018
Read review
"I have not used the rooms, so I'm afraid I could not comment"
TerrieF36
21 Nov 2017
Read review
"Try to get a room that isn't above the kitchen area! Unless you get up super early."
marnixa2017
6 Sep 2017
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing