We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

KarMichael Farm Guesthouse

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
KarMichael Farm Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

56 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 43: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Firstly, upon arrival, there was a massive thunderstorm and the owner came outside in the rain and took us directly to our cottage and brought extra umbrellas. I have never experienced such hospitality. The cottage was lovely with crisp white linen, extra blankets and underfloor heating. The breakfast was excellent and as i inquired about the cheese selection, the owner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lara J
Kevin_McDonagh, Owner at KarMichael Farm Guesthouse, responded to this review

Lara truly appreciate your response and glad you enjoyed the stay. Getting wet is sometimes part of the job. Trust Fisherman's suited you all and that you enjoyed the breakfast. More than happy to share the cheese and hope it helped quell any hunger pangs on the way to Notties.

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 9 January 2017

The owner texted to let me know a room was available after a last minute arrival. I was about to book a room at a cheaper place in town, but he promised that his rooms were far better for slightly more money. He was absolutely right - for just a hundred rand more I received a multi-star upgrade. This is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelhardandchitown
Kevin_McDonagh, Owner at KarMichael Farm Guesthouse, responded to this review

We truly appreciate your time and effort taken to review us. Very glad we were able to accommodate you at the last minute and also get someone to take you up the Pass at such short notice and fit in with your tight schedule. It is nice and peaceful here and happy that you rested well and enjoyed a pleasant...

Reviewed 6 January 2017

I have just spent two nights at Gregg's cottage with my dad and his friend. There were dead insects on the walls,roof and floor that hadnt been cleaned. We found a packet in a draw with biscuit and popcorn from the previous guests. There were two sherry glasses on a silver tray that still hadnt been cleaned, The braai area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ethan B
Kevin_McDonagh, Owner at KarMichael Farm Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi Ethan Thanks for the report. First time I have had such a young person respond so interesting to observe your comments. We do reside in a farming area and insects are a big part of our environment. There may have been a few around, and we tried hard to find them on the walls as you claimed. They do...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

So it seems like a lovely setting until all you can hear are the cars on the main road and the fan in the room next door. The gardens are truly stunning though. So if we dont consider the romantic setting of a farm in the underberg, lets truthfully look at whats wrong: 1. Being lied to. Book one room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RMmysay
Kevin_McDonagh, Owner at KarMichael Farm Guesthouse, responded to this review

it is always disheartening when guests send through reviews like this. We are happy to accept truthful and legitimate complaints, but blatant lies and facts that you now admit you cannot prove should not be the way you go about things. Only after 3 emails and 2 sms's to you did you respond to us regarding your headline issue of...

Ashtead
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Karmichael Farm is a beautiful setting with wonderful views. The underfloor heating was great. It was let down by a very basic breakfast served in an extremely cold barn, on the first day there was no fresh fruit. Sadly we were expecting something better.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Berian M
Kevin_McDonagh, Owner at KarMichael Farm Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi Berian Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Sorry you felt breakfast was very basic. Generally we have fruit in season, a variety of cereals, fresh home yoghurt, croissants, and wide choice of eggs. Also there is toast and tea and coffee, either instant filter or plunger. So not sure what happened in your...

Kloof, South Africa
Reviewed 25 September 2016

We had a group of 20 People and we were easily accommodated. The arrangements beforehand were competently dealt with. The rooms were clean, neat and tastefully furnished. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The "shed" was very convenient for our group to chat and get together.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BarryHgo
Kevin_McDonagh, Owner at KarMichael Farm Guesthouse, responded to this review

Barry we sincerely appreciated you taking time to review us. Glad that it all worked out well for your group too. The staff enjoy their work and we have often been complimented on the way they treat guests. Will pass on the kind words to them. The Shed is a great meeting area as well for groups and glad you...

Reviewed 22 August 2016

5 for Location. 5 for Room. 5 for atmosphere I had a short stay at Karmichael Farm during Splashy music festival in March 2016. It is indeed a special place in the world. So peaceful and scenic. The rooms have a glorious class about them and the staff are exceptionally warm and helpful. I travel for work and this was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BobbyAlu
Kevin_McDonagh, Owner at KarMichael Farm Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi Bobby Really appreciate your feedback on our place and glad we were able to make your stay a memorable one. Splashy Fenn was also a great time for us with a few interesting artists staying too. Our staff work hard at their jobs and will make sure that they get to hear about your great stay. Would love to...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Wonderful accommodation with all that your heart requires and the added bonus of underfloor heating. Kevin and his staff are so friendly and helpful, we landed up here by an error of a double booking at a different guesthouse and we are so glad it happened. We will definitely be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly F
Kevin_McDonagh, Owner at KarMichael Farm Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi Kelly Thank you for taking time to review your short stay with us. Your time is much appreciated. We are glad that we could assist at short notice and happy you enjoyed the cottage. It does get cold this time of the year so the heating does help and make it comfortable. The staff try very hard and I...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

What a gem we found when looking for a place to stay for the Choc Sani walk. On arrival we were warmly greeted by the owner. The views from our cottage were of splendid mountains covered in snow. The cottage was clean and beautifully appointed with every effort made to ensure that we'd be warm. We were kept cozy by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dhvardi
Kevin_McDonagh, Owner at KarMichael Farm Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi Dhvardi We truly appreciate you taking the time to review our place. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. It does get pretty chilly here at this time of the year and pleased that you were warm and comfortable. Full marks for making the walk up the Pass. Hopefully we get to see you again. Kind Regards Kevin

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 June 2016

Beautiful farm property with great views of the country side. The staff were friendly and accommodating. Rooms were a great size and well kept. Made a pit stop here before driving up the Sani Pass (a must for breathtaking views). Breakfast was simple and delicious - a small variety of cereals and fruit with eggs to your preference. Highly recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank schroediee
Kevin_McDonagh, Owner at KarMichael Farm Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Much appreciated. We are glad that you enjoyed your short stay with us and will pass on your comments about the staff to them too. We trust your trip up the pass went well and that the rest of your South African Adventure left you feeling positive about this wonderful place of ours.

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (65)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Himeville
5.4 mi away
Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel
16.7 mi away
Gooderson Drakensberg Gardens Golf & Spa Resort
0.3 mi away
Moorcroft Manor
Moorcroft Manor
#1 of 9 in Himeville
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Yellowwood Cottage
Yellowwood Cottage
#2 of 9 in Himeville
55 reviews
5.6 mi away
Khotso Adventure Farm
Khotso Adventure Farm
#3 of 18 in Underberg
109 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Old Hatchery
The Old Hatchery
#2 of 12 in Underberg
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
KarMichael is a family run farm. We are situated just outside the Village of Himeville. We have up market self catering cottages and Bed 'n Breakfast accommodation available. Access is easy along tarred roads and guests just love the peace and quiet of the place. ... more   less 

Additional Information about KarMichael Farm Guesthouse

Address: Sani Road, Himeville 3256, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Himeville
Price Range: £48 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your KarMichael Farm Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from KarMichael Farm Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The fisherman's cottage looks onto beautiful scenery with trees and fields”
 of 5 bubbles , 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“For access to wifi, stay in room near front office.”
 of 5 bubbles travelhardandchitown, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles berianm, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Check their website to see which unit suits you - they can cater for up to 30 people.”
  • Early autumn morning mists
  • Dawn awakening
 of 5 bubbles rosemills2, 2 Jun 2016 | Read review
“in winter choose one with underfloor heating”
 of 5 bubbles pole-pole_express, 27 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5