We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Bold Peak Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Bold Peak Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

21 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 20: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My partner and I booked here by accident, purely because Queenstown was booked out, and we were certainly not disappointed. The service was excellent, friendly, happy staff. The room was modern and clean, with comfy beds and warm room and bathroom including heated towel rails. The food was great, if the venison backstrap is on the menu go for it,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bev T
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

So asking for a decent coffee and a bowl of chips is too hard. Chips were burnt and coffee was so bitter. I'm glad that's all we ordered as we were very disappointed. I would hope they improve the basics so they get repeat business.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BillTSydney
Auckland
Reviewed 10 June 2016 via mobile

The lodge looks great from the outside but turns to outdated inside. The food area put me off slightly as it looks disorganised but we ordered a pie for my hubby which was nice. Ordered coffee too which was much better than we expected. Pleasantly surprised..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank POMSNZ
Graham D, General Manager at Bold Peak Lodge, responded to this review

I'm very pleased to hear that we were a pleasant surprise. The Lodge has a long history in Glenorchy. We're glad that your pie and coffee were just what you asked for. Do come back and see us again.

Jarrow
Reviewed 27 April 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights. The room was very clean and modern. The bed was very comfortable and there was good water pressure in the shower. The staff are really helpful and were happy to give us lots of suggestions about things to do in the area. We ate lunch and dinner a few times. All...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel L
Graham D, General Manager at Bold Peak Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks so much for writing a review, Rachel. We're glad that you found your room and bed comfortable. Our staff love to help out and share ideas about where to go and what to do, so I'm glad they were able to help. And that you were able to join us for some meals, too. We'll look forward to your...

Gore, Southland, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 April 2016 via mobile

We had three couples with children who stayed for the weekend at the Lodge. They rooms were lovely with very comfortable beds and nice and clean. We had a tasty breakfast each morning and an evening meal that was as good as any restaurant in a main city. The Lodge was well presented and the staff delightful. The manager Graeme...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Justine A
Graham D, General Manager at Bold Peak Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review, Justine. We enjoyed having you stay with us and are so glad that you and your family took advantage of all that we have to offer. Please do come back and stay with us again.

Cambridge, Massachusetts
Reviewed 5 January 2016

I felt right at home at the Lodge. The rooms are spacious with updated bathrooms. Equipped with everything you need from coffee plunger to a fridge to a powerful hairdryer. The views around are just spectacular. Sitting outside, having breakfast or lunch is very scenic. Would love to go again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angelina_Serra
Graham D, General Manager at Bold Peak Lodge, responded to this review

Please do come back and stay with us again, Angelina. We loved having you here and we're so glad that you found all of the amenities we've tucked away into your room, too. We've tried to make sure you have everything you need (and a little more in the way of those mountain views, too!).

Salvador, Bahia, Brazil
Reviewed 28 November 2015

A few days in the summer of 2014 enjoying the simple charm of Glenorchy. Nice hotel with good facilities and a nice look around.We discover Glenorchy, a nice surprise, and stayed for three days enjoying the region. The food at the lodge is also nice. Like much of what we found!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Upchara
Graham D, General Manager at Bold Peak Lodge, responded to this review

We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We like to be that little unexpected surprise, and we're so pleased that you decided to stay for three days while you explored all of the amazing things on offer up here. We hope you'll come back and stay with us again.

Urbana, Illinois
Reviewed 8 November 2015

If you're looking for a more rural location with a nice view, stay in Glenorchy! Beautiful view and quaint lodgings just blocks from Dart Stables. Take a walk down to the dock as well and just enjoy the small-town atmosphere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KatrinaOlson
Graham D, General Manager at Bold Peak Lodge, responded to this review

We're so glad that you stayed with us, Katrina. We think it's a wonderful experience to be able to take in the quiet of Glenorchy and then take advantage of some of the amazing opportunities like Dart Stables that are on offer here. We hope you'll come back and stay with us again.

Valencia, Spain
Reviewed 4 June 2015

We love Glenorchy and this is the first time we have gone in winter so instead of camping or hutting we decided to stay in a hotel (really cold). Found the Glenorchy lodge on the AA directory in NZ and we could not get the webpage to work but read great review from traveller from just 15 days ago. Called...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eva F
Graham D, General Manager at Bold Peak Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks so much for coming to stay with us. We're still working on the webpage but we're glad you gave us a call and that we could look after you for the night. Do come back and stay with us again the next time you're in the neighbourhood. The views get better and better, especially in midwinter when the mountains...

Reviewed 19 May 2015 via mobile

Basic but fresh looking room, plenty of space and a nicely renovated bathroom with a heated towel rail. High ceilings and several curtain-less windows made it a difficult room to heat, being winter (Rm 204) and it meant cold nights even with the small panel heater on full-time. The electric blanket was welcome, but an extra blanket for the bed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 777Gus
Graham D, General Manager at Bold Peak Lodge, responded to this review

We're so glad that you came and stayed with us. Sorry that you didn't know that we've tucked a spare duvet in the cupboards of all of our rooms and that there's a small heater in there, too, as we do know that the Autumn and Winter nights can be extra chilly. Hopefully next time you come back and stay...

10 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenorchy
18.0 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 57 in Queenstown
1,217 reviews
17.2 mi away
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
540 reviews
18.2 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
17.6 mi away
Matakauri Lodge
Matakauri Lodge
#8 of 57 in Queenstown
189 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kinloch Lodge
Kinloch Lodge
#2 of 5 in Glenorchy
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At the heart of Glenorchy, Bold Peak Lodge invites you to relax and unwind after a day of exploring. You will be spoilt for choice with our 11 individually designed guest rooms. Open daily from 7am our popular Sugar Loaf Cafe serves a range of delicious homemade treats, coffee and brunch options. In the evening relax by the fire with a local wine or beer and tuck into our delicious tapas menu available at The Humboldt bar. With easy access to the The Routeburn track, horse riding and helicopter activities we are the perfect central location for your Glenorchy getaway. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bold Peak Lodge

Address: Cnr Mull & Argyle St, Glenorchy, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Glenorchy
Price Range: £90 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bold Peak Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Bold Peak Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bold Peak Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Bold Peak Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed on the top floor and a large corner room and very pleasant.”
 of 5 bubbles Upchara, 28 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Upstairs you get the views and a small balcony”
 of 5 bubbles EvaF350, 3 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Rooms on back side get afternoon sun beautifully.”
 of 5 bubbles muriwaidonna, 1 Aug 2014 | Read review
“We stayed in a brand new refurbished room which was superb .. it may be that all rooms are now refurbished ( not sure ) - but check to make sure”
 of 5 bubbles DN164, 18 Feb 2014 | Read review
4 of 4
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay