We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
09/07/2017 10/07/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Coffee Shack Backpackers

    on the beach | Bomvu River Mouth, Coffee Bay 5082, South Africa
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    09/07/2017 10/07/2017
    1 room
    • 1 room
      2 adults
      • 2 adults
        0 children
        • 0 children
          Lock in the lowest price from our partners
          US$26
          View Deal
          Traveller (117)
          Pool & Beach (18)
          Room & Suite (13)
          Friends Wild Coast Backpackers & Guesthouse
          6 reviews
          #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Coffee Bay
           
          Swell Eco Lodge
          155 reviews
          #1 of 3 Speciality lodging in Mdumbi
           
          Ocean View Hotel
          178 reviews
          #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Coffee Bay
           
          Wild Lubanzi Backpackers Lodge
          61 reviews
          #1 of 1 Speciality lodging in Lubanzi Village
           
          Overview
          • Excellent71%
          • Very good20%
          • Average6%
          • Poor2%
          • Terrible1%
          Travellers talk about
          “surf lessons” (33 reviews)
          “coffee shack” (143 reviews)
          Free Wifi
          Free Parking
          Beachfront
          Restaurant
          Bar/Lounge
          Kitchenette
          Pets Allowed
          Laundry Service
          Shuttle Bus Service
          All hotel details
          Friends Wild Coast Backpackers & Guesthouse
          6 reviews
          #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Coffee Bay
           
          Swell Eco Lodge
          155 reviews
          #1 of 3 Speciality lodging in Mdumbi
           
          Ocean View Hotel
          178 reviews
          #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Coffee Bay
           
          Wild Lubanzi Backpackers Lodge
          61 reviews
          #1 of 1 Speciality lodging in Lubanzi Village
           
          {"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null}
          Write a Review
          Reviews (320)
          Traveller rating
          Traveller type
          Time of year
          Language

          1 - 5 of 269 reviews

          Reviewed yesterday via mobile

          Really cool vibe, even in winter, and the cheap surf lessons and free Sunday poitjie are unmissable. Definitely go on the Mapuzi cliff hike aswell, loads of fun and totally worth it! Food is well priced and tasty, staff are friendly and beds are warm...More

          Thank Dan P
          Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

          Very cool backpackers in a beautiful area. We stayed at the "quiet side" in a private rondavel which we highly recommend for couples. During high tide the direct path to the main side can not be crossed for 2-3 hours but can still reached by...More

          Thank MelanieandRobel
          Response from David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack BackpackersResponded 1 week ago

          Howzit Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack, and great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. Sorry about the inconvenience of using data codes, but unfortunately being in a remote rural area the cost of our data is...More

          Reviewed 15 May 2017

          Coffee Shack is deep in the villages of the rural Eastern Cape,where the hills are consistantly rolling and cattle not too far from you. The amenities are really good with friendly and helpful staff readily available to help you out. The bar is awesome and...More

          Thank sabata58
          Response from David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack BackpackersResponded 20 May 2017

          Howzit Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack, and great to hear that you had a peaceful stay. Safe travels and we hope you will be back soon. Cheers David & the Coffee Shack crew

          Reviewed 7 May 2017

          The short stay we had at the Coffee Shack, will remain as one of the most incredible experiences, Iv EVER!! had. EVER!. From waking up to breathtaking scenes of the ocean, to surfing crisp waves early in the morning, to hiking up along one of...More

          Thank Kamzati M
          Response from David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack BackpackersResponded 20 May 2017

          Howzit Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack, and awesome to hear that you had the most “incredible experience” ever! Please make sure you come and stay longer next time. Safe travels and we hope to see you again soon....More

          Reviewed 5 May 2017

          Talking about fun, we went surfing,hiking and even had a party. food was excellent i have to say... I never thought for once that id go hiking but i did it "hole In The Wall" is a must go to. we also went for sundowners...More

          Thank Veracious G
          Response from David M, General Manager at Coffee Shack BackpackersResponded 20 May 2017

          Howzit Thank you very much for taking the time to review Coffee Shack, we really appreciate everyone’s feedback and positive encouragement. Great to hear that you managed to do so much at Coffee Shack and had so much fun. Safe travels and we hope to...More

          Friends Wild Coast Backpackers & Guesthouse
          6 reviews
          #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Coffee Bay
           
          Swell Eco Lodge
          155 reviews
          #1 of 3 Speciality lodging in Mdumbi
           
          Ocean View Hotel
          178 reviews
          #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Coffee Bay
           
          Wild Lubanzi Backpackers Lodge
          61 reviews
          #1 of 1 Speciality lodging in Lubanzi Village
           
          About
          Awards & Recognition
          Certificate of Excellence
          Amenities
          • Top amenities
          • Beachfront
          • Free Parking
          • Restaurant
          • Bar/Lounge
          • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
          • Hotel Amenities
          • Shuttle Bus Service
          • Free Parking
          • Laundry Service
          • Things to do
          • Restaurant
          • Bar/Lounge
          Details
          • Price range
          • US$14 - US$26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
          • Room types
          • Kitchenette
          • Number of rooms
          • 13
          • Reservation Options
          • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Coffee Shack Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
          • Location
          • South Africa >
          • Eastern Cape >
          • Coffee Bay
          Add Photo Photos
          Traveller (117)
          Pool & Beach (18)
          Room & Suite (13)
          Dining (3)
          Hotel & Grounds (89)
          Family and Play Areas (3)
          Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
          Nearby
          Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village
          110 reviews
          3.78 miles away
           
          Nearby Restaurants
          Delicious Monster
          85 reviews
          31.84 miles away
          Panarottis Mthatha
          27 reviews
          35.49 miles away
          Friends Wild Coast Cafe
          35 reviews
          .09 miles away
          Wood n Spoon
          32 reviews
          32.94 miles away
          Nearby Attractions
          Hole in the Wall
          160 reviews
          4.23 miles away
          Nelson Mandela Museum
          23 reviews
          34.63 miles away
          Offshore Africa
          10 reviews
          35.20 miles away
          Questions & AnswersAsk a question
          Amanda M
          Kings house vs rondavel? We have the opportunity to stay and are super excited. We can't seem to choose between sharing a place with another couple at kings house or getting a rondavel and sharing the communal bathroom. We are a couple and kind like our privacy but want the authentic experience. Also scared about communal kitchen how can we be sure our stuff will be safe?
          18 April 2017|
          Answer Show all 3 answers
          Response from David M | Property representative |
          Howzit Amanda, I hope that you are well? Great to hear that you will be coming to stay with us at Coffee Shack. To be honest it is pretty hard to give you a direct yes/no answer to some of your questions, because obviously... More
          0
          Votes
          Cindy7ZN
          how is the road to travel with a small car how far is the walk to the hole in the wall would there be Skype connection anything else I need to know thank you
          16 September 2014|
          Answer Show all 4 answers
          Response from Thys16 | Reviewed this property |
          Hi there! The road isn't a regular one, but its pretty reasonable. Perhaps the final kilometer could be slightly tough but doable. They have wifi so you're set for Skype, don't expect the best connection tough, one should... More
          0
          Votes
          Room Tips
          "Rooms by Kings House"
          Read review
          "Kings house, the view is magnificent"
          Read review
          "Go with the flow. Wifi in main reception."
          Read review
          "Rooms on the other side of the river are quieter and a have an okay view."
          Read review
          Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
          Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing