We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 80: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Transkei is a beautiful part of the country with some truly untouched spots. The scenery is wonderful, the Hole in the Wall is an absolute must see, within walking distance from the hotel. The resort offered all we could wish for and more. The rugged natural beauty of the coast line just wonderful. Great place to unwind and refresh. Spacious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GOUNDENBEN
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Was with family over the festive. Accommodation is decent and spacious but the location is superb. It's at the beach and kids love it. Perfect trail walks around the place. The restaurant has excellent food. The staff is great and helpful. Pool area also nice. Note to advice, if staying in self-catering, make sure you bring your groceries as they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tapiwa M
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

• Swimming pool on the day of arrival and subsequent 3 days the pool was green with foam in it – urgh! • Why must the music play from 8h00-22h00 • On day 4 we lodged a formal complaint as the music continued to 23h00 for 5 pub patrons in the pool area while 60+ guests are trying to sleep...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Craig P
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What an amazing place, very kid friendly and a beautiful beach! Great food in the restaurant too. We have however been really disappointed with the security and the lack of management concern, we had our trailer stolen from next to our unit on one night and on another occasion they attempted to break into our unit through the sliding door....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank shelleyroberts2016
First_Resorts, General Manager at Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village, responded to this review

Dear Shelly, First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay. We are so sorry to hear about the trailer being stolen from your unit, this is something that we never want to happen to any of our guests. On the day that they took your trailer I was...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Rooms look nothing like those posted on the resorts website. Bathrooms need a makeover. No fans in the rooms. The beach is beautiful and the Hole in the Wall is breathtaking. Food is good. Staff were polite and courteous.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vaughanl2017
First_Resorts, General Manager at Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village, responded to this review

Good day Vaughan, Thank you for the review. We always strive to exceed expectations at the Resort so are thrilled that you enjoyed our location, food and hospitality. We are due for an upgrade this year which we are extremely excited about. With regards to the pictures of the units on the internet, we have addressed this and we will...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Such a beautiful part of our country, the ocean is magnificent although a little chilly this time round for December. The rugged natural beauty of the coast just wonderful. One of the men's favourite fishing spots, such a lovely spot just to spend some time away from the rush of life. Sadly we were disappointed this time to see they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dreamer1001
First_Resorts, General Manager at Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village, responded to this review

Dear Dreamer First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to write us a comment. Transkei is a beautiful part of the country with some truly untouched spots. We are indeed busy with upgrades and dealing with maintenance issues at the resort. Due to the electricity outage we experienced, we also had no water as...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We traveled from Durban to the resort. We were apprehensive about the resort from the pictures and reviews. However we were pleasantly surprised by the resort and the area. The resort does need upgrading and more maintenance. My opinion to would be travelers is leave any expectation behind. It's a great area to visit and this resort is the best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nitesh T
First_Resorts, General Manager at Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village, responded to this review

Dear Nitesh, Firstly I would just like to thank you for taking the time to write the review. I am ecstatic to hear that we surprised you on your visit. The resort is always busy with maintenance and making things better, we will also be doing some upgrades in the new year. We can’t wait to welcome you back with...

Knysna, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Accommodation was clean but needs a make-over (but ok for the price we paid) and we had a very comfortable bed!! The shocker was the service and food at the restaurant. All five of us had terrible food - worst, most disgusting, white mushy "beef" (NOT beef!) and vegetarian hamburgers ever! Could literally not eat our food. Waitress was unattentive...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 767esterv
First_Resorts, General Manager at Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village, responded to this review

Dear Ester, Firstly I would like to thank you for taking time to give us feedback. I do want to assure you that I take any feedback very seriously, especially when things did not go well. I also apologise for the bad service you received in the restaurant as this is definitely not the service we strive to give our...

Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This Hotel has great potential The senior management doesn't do this place justice Alicia the managares is totally incompetent she shouldn't even be a cleaner The tuck shop stock levels were totally depleted, The pricing on the few items available in the shop is at least 300% inflated they steel from the guests.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
3Thank chrisvT8339OI
Sandton, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staff very friendly and helpful...excellent customer service! Enjoyed the complimentary drinks in the mornings and evenings...nice touch. The kids play area was very nice. The trampoline should be serviced though. We really enjoyed our stay and will plan another trip.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 100hugol
First_Resorts, General Manager at Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village, responded to this review

Dear Hugo Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this comment. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Hole in the Wall. With regards to the trampoline, we are getting that fixed as the kids enjoy the trampoline a lot. We can’t wait to welcome you back...

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coffee Bay
0.0 mi away
Gecko Guest House
Gecko Guest House
#1 of 6 in Coffee Bay
58 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#2 of 6 in Coffee Bay
163 reviews
6.0 mi away
Swell Eco Lodge
Swell Eco Lodge
#1 of 3 in Mdumbi
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Friends Wild Coast Backpackers & Guesthouse
0.0 mi away
Freedom O Clock
Freedom O Clock
#3 of 3 in Mdumbi
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Midlands Saddle & Trout Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in Coffee Bay and surrounded by vast stretches of unspoiled coastline, Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village offers some of the most picturesque scenery in South Africa. The remoteness of Hole in the Wall resort lends itself to excellent bird watching, nature walks, hiking trails as well as being an ideal spot for fishing. The beach is directly in front of the resort and has a lovely natural bay. This secluded location makes it the perfect destination for a relaxing holiday and the ideal base from which to explore the pristine Transkei coast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village

Address: Coffee Bay Rd | Umthombe District, Coffee Bay 5080, South Africa (Formerly Hole in the Wall Hotel and Backpackers)
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Coffee Bay
Price Range: £46 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hole in the Wall Hotel and Holiday Village staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Buy groceries as no supermarkets nearby. They do have a shop with basics t the place.”
 of 5 bubbles 991tapiwam, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Chose a unit closer to the beach”
 of 5 bubbles Dreamer1001, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“close to beach, wifi, close to hole in the wall, hiking trails”
 of 5 bubbles DevonKrantz, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“stayed in unit 36 had a good view of the ocean”
 of 5 bubbles cnrdhnkm, 7 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Chalets/ Rooms on the higher ground allow you to see the ocean”
 of 5 bubbles gueste2016, 17 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5