Glasney Rooms
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Glasney Rooms

Treliever Road Glasney Lodge, Penryn Campus, Penryn, Falmouth TR10 9FE England
Room view
Traveller (31)
Premium Room includes TV, Tea/Coffee facilities and Toiletries
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.0
#1 of 1 guest house in Penryn
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Set within the landscaped gardens on the impressive university campus in Penryn, Glasney Rooms offer double and twin bedrooms, which all include an en-suite shower. Towels and linen are provided in all rooms. There is no TV in the rooms, but free Wi-Fi is available. Our affordable campus accommodation is open exclusively to the public in July and August. For the rest of the year, our en-suite bedrooms service university students at the leafy Penryn Campus, which enjoys views of the surrounding countryside and Fal River Estuary. Ideally located between the bustling harbour towns of Penryn and Falmouth, our accommodation offers free onsite parking and equipment storage facilities for cycles and more. With good public transport access, Falmouth and the nearby award-winning beaches are a 10 minute bus or car journey away. Staying at our affordable accommodation gives you the freedom to make the most of your evenings out and enjoy Falmouth's busy summer events calendar and the many nearby bars and restaurants in the waterfront towns of Penryn and Falmouth. Our accommodation also offers facilities such as on-site essentials shop and our Koofi café/bar, which offers pizza, and hot and cold snacks. There are a limited number of Glasney Flats available. Our 7 bed flats are made up of en suite bedrooms with a self catering kitchen. Talk to us to find out more about Glasney Flats and our Group accommodation packages.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Coffee shop
Table tennis
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Convenience store
Car park
Wifi
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Breakfast available
Snack bar
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Shared kitchen
Shops
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Desk
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Coffee / tea maker
Oven
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Family

Location

Treliever Road Glasney Lodge, Penryn Campus, Penryn, Falmouth TR10 9FE England
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 37 out of 100
37
St Mawgan Airport
19.4 mi
See all flights
Lands End Airport
28.4 mi
See all flights
81Reviews2Q+A21Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 8
  • 34
  • 17
  • 9
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Richie M wrote a review Jul 2022
Blackpool, United Kingdom33 contributions52 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Before I begin I will point out that this is basic student accommodation. I had a double en-suite room. No tv, radio or air con.
But, it was 65 quid, free parking (I drive a large van so getting off street parking for it is occasionally difficult), the wi-fi speed was unreal, there’s a kitchen in the block, a shop on site and the local takeaway was sound. I’m away with work regularly and I have an oscillating fan with me so the lack of air con wasn’t a problem.
The person who checked me in was informative, helpful & understanding (especially when there was a problem with my key). I didn’t catch their name but they had amazing hair!
I’d definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: If it’s warm take a fan & download some food delivery apps to your phone (Just Eat etc).
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Glasney Rooms, Other at Glasney Rooms
Responded 28 Jul 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review our accommodation. We’re thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. It’s fantastic to hear your comments about our staff being informative, helpful and understanding, and that you were pleased with the wi-fi and other amenities available on-site, as well as the free parking. Great customer service is really important to us. We would be delighted to welcome you back! We hope you enjoy the rest of your summer. Very best wishes, Cornwall Plus, Glasney Rooms
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CompassSpinner wrote a review Aug 2023
Bristol, United Kingdom488 contributions330 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
3.5 out of 5, so rounded up to 4.
Very cheap for Cornwall, even if you’re booking last minute.
Campus very pleasant and car park generous.
Admittedly quite basic and shower and bathroom a bit mouldy, and communal kitchen also quite gloomy. Also more pillows need to be provided.
But for the price I really can’t complain that much and would say go for it if you need somewhere handy to stay in Falmouth and don’t want to blow your budget.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sam wrote a review Jul 2022
Bristol, United Kingdom19 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in Glasney Rooms for our graduation in July. Upon arriving we noticed that the window handle was broken off, meaning we couldn’t open it which was bad considering the hot weather. Once letting reception know, they quickly found us a new room and we’re very apologetic, great service.

The rest of the stay was very good indeed.

Good service.
Good room.
Great location.

I would recommend
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Glasney Rooms, Other at Glasney Rooms
Responded 28 Jul 2022
Many thanks for your fantastic review. Warmest congratulations on your graduation! It’s so lovely to receive your positive feedback about our Reception team being helpful, and that you were satisfied with the service, room and location. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back. With best wishes, Cornwall Plus, Glasney Rooms
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Debora C wrote a review Aug 2021
10 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights. The Campus is in the middle of nowhere, quite far from any facilities so we had to take transports every time we wanted to go somewhere. Reception staff not well trained, we haven't been given any information regarding the checkout, the room, where the kitchen was. They just gave us the key (without asking any document or booking confirmation) and a map of the Campus showing where our room was. The room wasn't kept well enough, I undestrand it's a student accomodation, but there were marks all over the wall, the shower overflowed if left on for more than 1 minute, the window wouldn't open more than 2 cm. Going out and coming back when it's dark can be difficult if you don't drive and you have to walk up to 100 stairs in the middle of the woods without any light ( just a few on the top were working). I defintely won't come back again, for the price we paid I was expecting a better service.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Heather Fitzgerald, Other at Glasney Rooms
Responded 5 Aug 2021
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you weren’t happy with some aspects of your stay. We do apologise that you didn’t receive your full welcome in-room information when you arrived. We have a helpful welcome pack that we normally issue to guests, which provides details about our on-site amenities, including access to a communal kitchen, laundry facility, sustainability and grounds information, food and drink opening hours, pizza menus and breakfast details etc. There is also a complimentary Saver Card giving discount for our on-site Shop and Sports Centre and some local attractions. We are looking at improving our communication and procedures in future. For instance, we would love to develop a Cornwall Plus App to send to guests before they arrive. Our guests normally cite the location of Glasney Rooms as an asset, with close proximity to the coastal town of Falmouth and Penryn. Getting around is easy as we have good public transport links with bus stops onsite, and buses run regularly to nearby towns (Falmouth, Truro, Redruth, Newquay), so guests don’t need to drive. Penryn train station is just a short walk away (0.4 mi) too. Taxis firms are also on hand day and night if you need them. If guests do drive, car parking is free on campus. Our room tariff is benchmarked locally, reviewed regularly and is competitive with local rates. We hope that you got to enjoy the local area and that you had a safe journey home.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kirsty_DT wrote a review Aug 2021
Bournemouth, United Kingdom37 contributions56 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Do not stay here if you would like to get some sleep. Despite paying hotel prices it is still student accommodation even though it says that out of season it is not. There was partying, door slamming and shouting all night until the early hours. Tried to mention this at reception but staff not interested and just gave me a card with a link to write a review about it. Have contacted them to discuss this but no response. Would not stay again after this experience.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Glasney Rooms, Other at Glasney Rooms
Responded 9 Aug 2021
We are sorry that you had trouble sleeping on the occasion you stayed. Your positive experience matters greatly to us. We are not sure if you reported the noise from other guests when it happened at the time. If you had, our security team would have spoken to them. As with all hotels, guest houses, B&Bs and campsites, we do expect guests to be respectful of others who may be trying to sleep, particularly in the early hours. We’ll take a look at our welcome communications around this. We hope this hasn’t hampered your Cornish experience and that it didn’t spoil your holiday. Kind regards, Cornwall Plus, Glasney Rooms
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sharon B wrote a review Jan 2022
Phe, Thailand3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Cancelled a refundable standard room by email and have been trying to get refund since August. Have received no communication whatsoever. This I find is completely unacceptable and totally unprofessional. I would not recommend you stay here if there was a chance you would need to cancel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Avoid if you may need to cance
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Glasney Rooms, Other at Glasney Rooms
Responded 13 Jun 2022
Dear Sharon, we are sorry that your query wasn’t responded to more promptly. The hospitality industry has faced unprecedented staff shortages, including Glasney Rooms, and we ask for your forgiveness and understanding. We now have a full complement of staff in place. Please do contact booking@fxplus.ac.uk outlining the dates and details of your original booking, and the date you cancelled the booking, and the team will investigate your request. Thank you for your patience and understanding.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steve H wrote a review Aug 2021
4 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is Student accommodation thats supposedly had a clean for the general public.
Don't waste your money. At £85 per room per night its not cheap and definitely not good value for money. The place stank of stale urine. The bed was a glorified double campbed at best. The windows hardly opened to get any fresh air. Stains on the carpet eeergh!! Doors slamming outside throughout the night. Couldn't wait to leave. This place would not look out of place in downtown Beirut what with skips and building work going on.
I Hated It!
Whats more the Kids that run the place were not overly bothered about our complaint and just said write to the manager on an e-mail provided.
Complaint sent…Nothing back! Typically don't care!
So my Review is Stay Well Clear and don't waste your money. No Doubt this review will be answered with the usual standard lipservice. 😩😩
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Glasney Rooms, Other at Glasney Rooms
Responded 30 Aug 2021
We are very sorry that you weren’t happy with your stay. It has been an exceptionally busy summer for us, we have been under a lot of pressure, and have been full to capacity numerous times. We do ask guests to report any room issues to Reception at the time of their stay, so that they can be resolved immediately. In this instance, our dedicated Housekeeping team could have visited your room to address and resolve your issues, and/or if availability allows, we could have offered you an option to relocate to another room in a different Flat. Contrary to your review, we normally have incredibly positive comments about our staff, who are often described as helpful and friendly. Our room tariff is benchmarked locally, kept under review, and is competitive for the current local market in the peak of summer. Any profit made from Glasney Rooms is gifted back to the universities who share the Penryn Campus, to directly benefit students, staff and visitors.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sharon B wrote a review Aug 2021
Phe, Thailand3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The rooms were fine. No issues there. I booked a few weeks due to working in Truro. Work circumstances changed and I had to cancel one of the rooms. I paid for the refundable option so emailed to cancel the room on 20.08.21. However 3 or 4 emails later I am still waiting for some acknowledgment of said emails and of course my refund. As of 27.08.21 still no communication. The phone number just directs you to email or leave a message but no facility to actually leave a message. Would really appreciate someone actually getting back to me as this is very unprofessional in my opinion.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Only book if you know you won’t have to cancel as it’s proving difficult to get your money back
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Glasney Rooms, Other at Glasney Rooms
Responded 30 Aug 2021
Thank you for your feedback and positive comment about the quality of our rooms. We apologise for the delay in getting back to you. Please bear with us. You say your room is a refundable option, so we will be able to refund you within our agreed terms and conditions stipulated on our website. We have had an incredibly busy summer, the busiest ever in fact. Our staff are working as hard as they can. We are therefore very grateful for your patience at this time. Your issue may have been resolved or is being processed, but if you still need to get in touch, please email us directly on booking@fxplus.ac.uk. Kind regards, Glasney Rooms
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nick T wrote a review Aug 2022
30 contributions18 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
If your idea of a good place to stay means being near facilities and comfort look elsewhere. This accommodation can't even boast about being cheap as it's not. Beds are uncomfortable and too small. There's no TV. Didn't realise that the carpark would be a 5 minute walk from the room or that there would be no signal for my O2 phone or any WiFi. Very basic room which was clean but overpriced. Should be £30 a night tops. Feel like I got ripped off, which I did.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Glasney Rooms, Other at Glasney Rooms
Responded 14 Aug 2022
Thank you for your feedback and your comment about the cleanliness of your room. We are very sorry that you weren’t happy with some aspects of your stay. We do benchmark our accommodation tariff locally and we are very competitively priced for Falmouth and the local area in the peak of summer. We do make it clear on our Cornwall Plus website that our rooms are simple and functional, with access to a communal kitchen diner which has a small TV in it. Free parking is available on campus for all guests. We operate a drop-off system so you can unload luggage at Glasney Lodge to take to your room. There are multiple car parks across the campus which are within a short 5-10 minute walk from your accommodation. If you have accessibility requirements, please contact us - booking@fxplus.ac.uk Free Wi-Fi is available, apologies if you had a problem connecting to it. For any issues we encourage guests to contact our Reception team at the Lodge so that assistance can be provided at the time. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope you had a safe journey home. Best wishes Cornwall Plus, Glasney Rooms
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
chris o Grady wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Service is non existent, no mobile data and no wifi.when I asked at service desk I was given a number to call. 1 frying pan and 2 saucepans in kitchen and no other cook ware..parking is horrible .its a lotto to find the right area.no services..I hope I never have to stay here again
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Glasney Rooms, Other at Glasney Rooms
Responded 14 Aug 2022
Thank you for getting in touch Chris. We are very sorry that you weren’t satisfied with some aspects of your stay. Apologies that our free Wi-Fi didn’t work on your device on the occasion you stayed. It is something that our IT team can advise on for you, as it does work normally. A communal kitchen diner is available at the end of the corridor in Glasney rooms, which is a great self-catering option for guests. It includes a kettle, cooker, fridge, freezer and microwave, cutlery, crockery, dining table and seating for 10 people. There is also a small TV in here. We are pleased to offer free secure parking to all our guests. There are multiple car parks across the campus which are within a short 5-10 minute walk from your accommodation. If you have accessibility requirements, please contact us - booking@fxplus.ac.uk Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope you had a safe journey home. Kind regards, Cornwall Plus, Glasney Rooms
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Cornwall-Plus
Penryn, United Kingdom2 contributions
Hello there, Thank you for your enquiry for accommodation this summer. Our rooms at 'Penryn Summer Apartments' are available July and August only so if you wish to stay May and June they are not available during that time. If you would like to book with us for July and August, you can book with us via our website. We hope your stay in Cornwall is enjoyable. Kindest regards, From the team at Penryn Summer Apartments
Answer from Cornwall-Plus
Penryn, United Kingdom2 contributions
Hi, thanks for your question. We are delighted you want to come back this year and stay with us. Our rooms are available from 6th July to 31st August 2015. We also have a great new Penryn Summer Apartments web site which describes the rooms types and has more information. We look forward to seeing you again this summer. The Penryn Summer Apartments Lettings Team.
bosunchris wrote a tip Aug 2022
Plymouth, United Kingdom51 contributions10 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be aware that the parking is a ten min walk away. But you can drive down to drop stuff off 👍🏻"
Read full review
Richie M wrote a tip Jul 2022
Blackpool, United Kingdom33 contributions52 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"If it’s warm take a fan & download some food delivery apps to your phone (Just Eat etc)."
Read full review
Sharon B wrote a tip Jan 2022
Phe, Thailand3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid if you may need to cance"
Read full review
Sharon B wrote a tip Aug 2021
Phe, Thailand3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Only book if you know you won’t have to cancel as it’s proving difficult to get your money back"
Read full review
GrumpySoutherner wrote a tip Aug 2021
Watford, United Kingdom3 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Find somewhere if possible me or ask to places in rooms away from street and contractors. be prepared for Dirty flat mates who don’t wash up"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Penryn area.
PRICE RANGE
£71 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Penryn Summer Apartments
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCornwallFalmouthPenryn
NUMBER OF ROOMS
1,400
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GLASNEY ROOMS - Updated 2024 Prices, Reviews, and Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Glasney Rooms
Which popular attractions are close to Glasney Rooms?
Nearby attractions include Raze The Roof Indoor Play, Gel Blasting, Virtual Reality, Laser Tag & Party Venue (0.4 miles), The Thirsty Scholar (0.7 miles), and Granite Planet (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Glasney Rooms?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a fitness centre, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Glasney Rooms?
Top room amenities include a desk, an oven, and a stovetop.
What food & drink options are available at Glasney Rooms?
Guests can enjoy breakfast and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Glasney Rooms?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Glasney Rooms?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Thirsty Scholar, Pips Pasties, and Taproom At Verdant Brewing Co.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Glasney Rooms?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre, fitness classes, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Is Glasney Rooms located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the centre of Penryn.
Are there any historical sites close to Glasney Rooms?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Pendennis Castle (3.8 miles), Marlborough House (2.5 miles), and Cliff Road Chapel (3.2 miles).
All Penryn HotelsPenryn Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in PenrynHotels near Glasney Rooms
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire