Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Kenmore Hotel

Kenmore Hotel et son parc au bord du loch
Traveller (692)
One of the new renovated rooms, very comfortable
Room & Suite (124)
breakfast
Dining (71)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#2 of 2 hotels in Kenmore
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
*RECENTLY RENOVATED* The historic Kenmore Hotel has been lovingly restored during the lockdown period and returned to independent ownership adding a personal touch to the Kenmore Hotel guest experience. Covid Safe - The Kenmore Hotel has got everything in place to make sure guests are as safe as possible during their stay. Set in the stunning village of Kenmore nestled on the banks of the River Tay, the hotel bosts 24 rooms in the main building which dates back to the 16th century and boasts a handwritten poem by Scotand's beloved Rabbie Burns on the wall of our beautifully redecorated Poet's bar. We have additional rooms in our Castle Gatehouse for guests to relax in and enjoy. The hotel also boasts of another Public bar, a favourite with visitors and locals alike, The Boars Head. Here you will find ample outdoor seating to enjoy those gorgeous sunny Kenmore days and indoor seating to cosy up in our colder months. Our spectacular Taymouth restaurant provides splendid, panoramic views of the River Tay and Drummond hill. Indulge in our delicious Menu of the finest seasonal and locally sourced Scottish produce created by our head chef using classical french techniques to elevate beloved Scottish dishes. Dog lovers rejoice and relax in our brand new Dougal's diner, a specially appointed dog friendly dining area complete with blankets, treats and hand carved water bowls to match our beautifully handcarved booths that nod to our fishing herritage. We are here to attend to all your furry freind's needs. We have also now extended our dog freindly rooms to several the main building of the Hotel including some in our deluxe west wing so just make sure to request where you would like to stay when booking directly with us. If you fancy a touch of luxury stay in one of our newly refurbished deluxe rooms in the West Wing boasting two suits and beautiful, top of the range, Crosswater bathrooms. We do hope you love visiting The Kenmore Hotel and all that Kenmore and the surrounding area has to offer, from some of Scotland's most celebrated munros to fishin in the River Tay to catching a round of golf at one of the many near by golf courses to many more activities and adventures right on our doorstep. With warmest regards, Kenmore Hotel
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Free breakfast
Fishing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Internet
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Family
Languages Spoken
English
1,273Review8Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 382
  • 406
  • 236
  • 135
  • 114
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Rodders353 wrote a review Sept 2021
Glasgow, United Kingdom133 contributions117 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Selected this hotel for one nights stay because it was near the Highlands Safari Centre in Dull.
Hotel is situated in Kenmore in a lovely location with a view of the start of the River Tay.
We had booked a grand master double and was assigned the Veranda Room ( room 23 ) on arrival.
Room was spacious. However there was a strong musty odour in room as if it had not been aired in weeks. The bedding also had a musty smell. The staff member showed us the outside balcony but the rattan furniture had no cushions, the table was dirty and the flowers were dead. Not an attractive option should one want to sit outside. No bottled water is supplied in room but there was the usual tea/coffee and some digestives. Bathroom was huge with separate bath and walk in shower and shampoo, conditioner and body wash.
On closer inspection, one of the bed pillows,whilst appearing clean, still had stains on it.
I slept reasonably well but my wife found the musty smell off putting and did not get a good nights sleep.
Let me say that we totally understand the staffing issues brought about by Brexit and Covid but if you are going to charge £189 for bed and breakfast in this room you should at least ensure that the room is fully aired out and sheets and pillows are inspected for stains.

While the hotel does not offer a bar meal service because of the aforementioned staff shortages, they do provide a restricted meal option for residents. My Cullen Skink soup was tasty but lukewarm. My wife’s smoked salmon was average. Her steak was good and my monkfish was OK if a little overcooked.
After dinner we noticed a large group of people bringing in some takeaway pizzas to eat in the bar. Probably a good idea and cheaper at that.

The choice at breakfast was a full Scottish breakfast, or a vegan breakfast or a very limited continental selection. I would have liked to have a cereal, and fruit/yoghurt option. Having said that, I was given a very generous portion of scrambled eggs. My wife was quite happy with her fried egg and bacon.

In summary, this hotel is in a good location with friendly, helpful and efficient staff but let down by staffing issues which impact on housekeeping and restaurant offerings. We have stayed at other hotels in Scotland during Covid and they manage to maintain housekeeping standards and offer full food service.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking free outside hotel. Wifi reception a little variable as was cell phone service.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jkwilso5 wrote a review Jan 2020
Edinburgh, United Kingdom27 contributions45 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Check in was a bit disorganised on the 30th and it really does need better organisation to welcome guests. I dont know why the band stopped at 11:25 pm with things going well and people just getting used to the dancing, lots of people never returned from the firework display and that was a pity.
Breakfast was a disaster on the 1st and why it was from 8-10am after a Hogmanay party doesnt make sense, no fruit for breakfast on two of the days and why do you have to ask for milk for butter for more bread, for cereal, everything seemed to be complicated and the staff in a flurry but quick to shut up breakfast at 10am, surely to start at 9 and finish at 11 or 11:30 would have been better. Bar ran out of certain drinks and items off the food menu even before the party started .
I have stayed here over a dozen times at least and love the place, its difficult to write a bad review and I am being diplomatic but things need to get better. I can put up with a few things wrong with the room but not when everything else is such a muddle.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Pets are in the annex room 26 is pretty good
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GHGM001, General Manager at Kenmore Hotel
Responded 25 Jun 2020
Hello jkwilso5 - thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I have added your feedback to our festive debrief notes which will be considered for years to come. I can only apologise that this impacted your stay but I can assure you that we will aim to be better next time. thanks again for taking the time to share your comments with us. Hopefully we will get the chance to welcome you back to the hotel in the not to distant future, when the time comes please get in touch directly so that I can personally oversee your booking Reception@kenmorehotel.com. Many thanks,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
J0HNG67 wrote a review Aug 2021
Glasgow, United Kingdom159 contributions51 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a great couple of nights.

There was a reduced menu due to staff shortages with just coming out of Covid restrictions but we'd had plenty of emails advising us. The food that was served was delicious and the staff, although rushed off their feet, were very friendly.

We had our dog with us and the hotel is well geared up for four-legged friends with plenty of help yourself dog biscuits, towels and pooh bags
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Puddy6410 wrote a review May 2021
Peebles, United Kingdom10 contributions11 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I’d always wanted to stay in this hotel, having passed through Kenmore many times over the years.
In short - recent reopening after Covid lockdown left a feeling that the staff were new or hadn’t worked together and were not coping with the number of customers, either inside the restaurant or outside in the beer garden.
Very long waits for service, with diners outside becoming very cold or smoked out on the balcony by the chimineas lit below (who thought that was a good idea?).
No dedicated member of staff to greet diners in the evening or for breakfast left a queue like one for school dinners and they were not happy faces.
Our room was ‘Tom Na Croiche’ which had clearly just been painted and the overpowering smell of paint led to us asking to change rooms, which wasn’t possible as the hotel was fully booked. Waking up to that smell did not set me up well for the day. Why painting the room was not done in the months it was closed is beyond me.
We felt it necessary to point out to reception that the blind fell off the window as soon as it was touched, as did the towel rail in the bathroom. The shower head bracket was hanging off and was almost ready to join them. None of these things require much work to get right.
The corridor fire door banged loudly every time it was used but was right outside the door, and again, a slight adjustment of the door closer would help.
However, the room itself was a big disappointment as it was really too small for two people and the sloping ceiling actually made it impossible to sit up in bed!
I’m generally not one for complaining and we did raise some concerns and really hope they are not just brushed off, as the location of the hotel is superb and with a little bit of attention to detail this place could be as good as we hoped it would be when we booked.

Please fix the faults and sort out the customer service.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Melloney Flinn, Owner at Kenmore Hotel
Responded 5 May 2021
We regret that your stay did not live up to your expectations and we at Kenmore hotel pride ourselves on customers leaving happy and relaxed after a visit to our beautiful hotel. While we take on board your comments about our staff we politely remind you our staff have been in lockdown like everyone else and a little patience as they find their feet would be greatly appreciated. We are sorry your room was not satisfactory and we will certainly be addressing the issues you have raised however would also like to remark that while you feel we left the decorating to the last minute it is worth noting that we have been renovating the entire hotel over the lockdown which is actually a huge undertaking and therefore yes, the time did catch up on us. We highly recommend booking one of our deluxe west wing rooms when you return if you prefer a larger room. These have been renovated to exacting standards with brand new bathrooms and plenty of head room above the bed! We look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lopurv wrote a review Jun 2021
Edinburgh, United Kingdom36 contributions55 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I am confused. I cannot understand how the only hotel in Kenmore Village, which holds such history, can be such a disaster area. Totally renovated ??? Well in my opinion your renovation should start from the outside in. First impression from the street is this Hotel needs a good lick of paint and a brush and shovel. On entering the reception it is dull and old fashioned and even if the rooms are lovely, first impressions wouldn’t draw you inside, we had to go down the side of the building to enter the beer garden. Got a table on the grass. Downstairs bar very dark and dank. Tables not cleared, dust, leaves and dirty windows and dirty decking area. Dining room balcony just as bad and dirty. We had a table booked for a meal. Mediocre at best. This hotel is in such a prime location and is shouting out for a full external refurb. Kenmore has so many self catering lodges and this hotel if cleaned up and marketing properly could make an absolute fortune !!! Would not recommend, we stayed in Kenmore for 3 nights and had to find an alternative place to eat for the other nights. We are trying to promote Scottish tourism post Covid 19 and this hotel has been left behind. Such a shame.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mell D, Owner at Kenmore Hotel
Responded 30 Jun 2021
The facade of the building has been freshly painted and the sign reguilded in May by one of the most respected decorators in the country who's work includes many of the royal households so I am not sure if your visit preceded this. In relation to your experience during your stay: Things are not where we had hoped they would be at the Kenmore Hotel. A combination of understaffing and lack of time to train the existing staff is to blame and I can only apologise and assure you that we, the business owners, are working towards a solution to these problems and it is extremely upsetting to us to read these reviews and see how far below customer expectations we are falling. If there are serious issues with your stay, we are always available to listen to feedback at reception and would ask that you approach us first there before leaving a damaging review on tripadvisor. These reviews affect the mental health of ourselves and our staff and if would be prudent to remember this is a small, family run business with real human beings behind it. We will continue to endeavour to improve and hope you will return.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Harry M wrote a review Jun 2021
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Visited with friends for a spot of lunch and some drinks. Great atmosphere. Sat on benches outside as weather was good. Bar very easily accessible from benches and bar staff were very friendly, helpful and accommodating. Food was great, fully understand why plastic cutlery was provided due to the coronavirus and we had no issue with it, in-fact we actually were glad to get plastic cutlery as it felt safer knowing no one had used it so great idea from the hotel. Would highly recommend anyone to visit the hotel for either drinks or food as we had a great experience and would go back in a heartbeat. Couldn’t have asked more friendlier staff who were to help us. Overall great service and a great experience.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fiona J wrote a review Feb 2020
14 contributions27 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 2 nights in February. The room was very disappointing and not at all like the online photos. False advertising!
Some rooms have obviously been renovated but ours definitely hadn't. With 1980s shabby decor, a creaky floor and very creaky two single beds put together so uncomfortable in the middle.
Bathroom not fully clean. Stains in toilet bowl. No hot water on first morning and only lukewarm water after it was supposedly fixed.
Breakfast service Friday morning was great but not so on Saturday morning when they were more busy. Table not fully set - no sugar or salt and pepper. Had to borrow from another table as the waitress was too busy and forgot.
Food trays were not fully stocked so had to wait for beans and bread.
Hotel itself is old but very tired with dated decor and electric heaters dotted everywhere.
Needs a full refurb.
We wont be back in a hurry!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GHGM001, General Manager at Kenmore Hotel
Responded 25 Jun 2020
Hello fionaj958 - thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. feedback like this is crucial to us as it lets us know when we are doing things well, but more importantly where we need to make improvements. As you've already identified the building is the oldest inn in Scotland and therefore restoring is an ongoing activity which brings its own challenges. Rest assured we are continually upgrading all areas of the hotel with our refurbishment programme. hopefully we do get the chance to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. When the time comes please do get in touch with us directly so that I can personally oversee your booking. Reception@kenmorehotel.com Many thanks
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paula wrote a review Jul 2020
Edinburgh, United Kingdom75 contributions27 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for a couple of nights to go hiking. We initially were allocated room 151 which wasn’t nice at all to be honest and the receptionist changed us to room 8 which was lovely with great views. Only disappointment was there was extensive work going on directly above us, we should have been out climbing but with the weather we couldn’t and the noise was unbearable albeit we do understand work had to done as it’s been a pandemic and all works had ceased.

The staff in this hotel made the stay amazing, from Kieran in the bar and Sean in restaurant they did everything possible to look after the guests. The guy (can’t recall his name) with glasses in the bar downstairs was also lovely.

Food was absolutely amazing defo have the seafood platter!!

Felt safe and clean especially in current conditions

We were up early to hike at five am on the day of departure and the night porter from Australia made us an Amazing continental breakfast,

Views and location of this hotel excellent we will defo return

Thanks guys.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
briankR5418KK wrote a review Aug 2020
6 contributions5 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived with the intention of having a meal but after purchasing drinks and taking them outside to the seating area we changed out minds. Tables were left uncleaned with empty plastic cups and bottles. No staff clearing up and the ground littered with napkins, sauce sachets etc. On using the toilets, I discovered there was no soap in the dispenser.... not really acceptable at any time but especially In the current situation of Covid-19. More worrying there was no track and trace procedures in place.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Frances Findlay wrote a review Feb 2020
Glasgow, United Kingdom35 contributions27 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Wow so impressed beautiful old hotel coal and log fires in every longe and eateries wiith pet friendly rooms in adjacent manor.
Old, warm, welcoming, spotlessly clean huge 4 poster bed so so comfortable tea coffee facilities in room tv wifi great shower quiet area very small village great for sightseeing. Food great tasty menu drinks very reasonable again pets welcome gift shop and restaurant across small bridge well worth a visit owner extremely friendly and knowledgable of area. cannot fault this place so looking forward to my next visit.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Simply ask staff when booking but as far as I hear from other guests all rooms were great and...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GHGM001, General Manager at Kenmore Hotel
Responded 25 Jun 2020
Hello Frances F, thank you for sharing your positive experience with us. We will be sure to pass your comments to the team who be delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your visit. The next time you're looking to book - please get in touch with our reservations team direct for our best deals. Reception@kenmorehotel.com Many thanks
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alison S asked a question Oct 2020
Dundee, United Kingdom4 contributions5 helpful votes
Is there a kettle in the room
Answer from ihammie
Montrose, United Kingdom209 contributions85 helpful votes
Yes with coffee and tea.some biscuits
IanDunsmore asked a question Jan 2020
Bathgate, United Kingdom9 contributions
Is there Internet in the rooms?
Answer from GtmRossaK3
Forfar, United Kingdom42 contributions40 helpful votes
Think so. Phone them and check.
brian m asked a question Apr 2019
6 contributions1 helpful vote
How much does a breakfast cost?
Answer from Malgy
Glasgow134 contributions98 helpful votes
Contact the hotel and ask
Lori B asked a question Apr 2017
Boyertown, Pennsylvania8 contributions
I would like to know if the rooms have hair dryers?
Answer from Helena R
Glasgow, United Kingdom108 contributions34 helpful votes
Yes they do.
Marie M asked a question Jul 2016
6 contributions5 helpful votes
Is it worthwhile upgrading to executive room with verandah?
Answer from joaniebinedinburgh
Edinburgh623 contributions435 helpful votes
If the room has been decorated recently the yes I'd probably go for it. Don't stay in the gatehouse rooms they aren't brilliant
Lesley M wrote a tip Mar 2022
Edinburgh6 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"best views at the back oh the hotel"
Read full review
tigger2felix wrote a tip Mar 2022
Lincoln, United Kingdom100 contributions42 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"expensive we didn't stay here only ate"
Read full review
Pyronix wrote a tip Feb 2022
2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Upgraded room 22 large, quite as it's at the rear and view of the river"
Read full review
Companion709991 wrote a tip Feb 2022
11 contributions6 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid eating"
Read full review
Phoenix G wrote a tip Dec 2021
United Kingdom26 contributions64 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go elsewhere."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kenmore area.
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandPerth and KinrossKenmore
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KENMORE HOTEL - Reviews, Photos - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Kenmore Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Kenmore Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Scottish Crannog Centre (0.8 miles), Fortingall Yew (2.2 miles), and Taymouth Castle (0.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Kenmore Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Kenmore Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Kenmore Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kenmore Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Waterfront Restaurant @ The Kenmore Club, Highland Safaris Cafe, and Karelia House Coffee Shop.
Is Kenmore Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.04 miles away from the centre of Kenmore.
Are pets allowed at Kenmore Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Kenmore Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Kenmore Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Taymouth Castle (0.9 miles) and Croft Moraig (1.9 miles).
Does Kenmore Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
All Kenmore HotelsKenmore Hotel DealsHotels near Kenmore Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire