We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Prince of Wales

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Prince of Wales
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

75 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 73: English reviews
Polesworth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked into The Prince of Wales for a two night stay 18-20th November. We arrived in the pouring rain around 7pm and were greeted by Garry whom showed us to our room and checked us in. We had a double room at the rear of the property (4) which was well equipped with an exceptional bed and power shower.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tom W
GarytheLandlord, Owner at Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed your meals. It certainly gives us a boost when we receive reviews like yours and makes all our hard work worth while, We hope to see you again should ever you wish to return to the Bath... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

Lovely clean room..very comfy bed and room warm always..cosy Guest House with lovely staff..very dog friendly also which made our stay even better..and Riley the "pub dog" says thanks for the biscuits :) Would def stay here again..thank you

Helpful?
Thank lauramac81
GarytheLandlord, Owner at Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Just one thing, our dogs name is Scotty and not Riley, but when there are biscuits in the offering he answers to anything. We do hope to see you again Gary & Kingsley & Scotty ( the Scottish terrier) More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Host Gary & Kingsley very friendly rooms very clean food top of the range would stay again the beds very comfortable well done Gary was right with his advice to leave the car and go by bus into bath oap don't forget your bus pass.

Helpful?
Thank komara97
GarytheLandlord, Owner at Prince of Wales, responded to this review

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we do hope that yopu can make it again for the christmas market Thank you for your kind review More 

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Although it's a little way out of Bath itself, this pub is a great place to stay. The rooms are incredibly clean, the service if friendly and entertaining, it's got free parking, and both the dinners and breakfasts are delicious.

Helpful?
Thank Tim W
GarytheLandlord, Owner at Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are always happy to receive reviews like yours, it makes all our hard working in keeping our bedrooms clean etc worth while when guests like yourself notice it. We are also glad that you enjoyed your dinner and breakfast and hope to see you again should you be in the Bath area More 

San Francisco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2016

We really enjoyed our stay here. The rooms were very clean (especially the bathrooms), and they serve a full English breakfast along with some juices and muesli in the morning. It's about a ten-minute drive into Bath, and there's plenty of parking. The highlight for us was the pub since we enjoyed the food and the friendly atmosphere. We happened... More 

Helpful?
Thank ejohne
GarytheLandlord, Owner at Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

A lovely homely place, very friendly landlord and staff. Rooms are small but very clean and comfortable. The bed was so comfortable I slept really really well. Cooked breakfast was very filling. Not sure if all the food is home cooked though. Good value for money I would say if you are looking for something reasonable and about 20 minutes... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jude4007
GarytheLandlord, Owner at Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I can assure you that all our meals are home cooked with local produce where ever possible. Our cooked breakfast are getting quite a reputation as there is no less than 9 different items on one plate More 

Torfaen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Lovely country hotel, beautiful breakfast, really comfy beds and a lush resident dog called Scott. Quiet surroundings, a 20 minute bus ride from bath. Overall a relaxing and enjoyable experience. Highly recommend

Helpful?
1 Thank nerys261
GarytheLandlord, Owner at Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am sure Scott will be pleased that you enjoyed your stay More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Our room was clean and comfortable. Tea, coffee and tasty biscuits. Loved the shower. The bed was lovely. The bus is handy into the city centre. The two young boys were exemplary in their behaviour. Very polite, friendly and helpful. First impressions upon arrival of the building are great, the flowers adjourning the hotel are beautiful. Didn't like the smoking... More 

Helpful?
Thank tatwalesuk
GarytheLandlord, Owner at Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, having taken over The Prince of Wales less than a year ago and as you will see by many of the reviews we have improved on a lot of things, The decking outside seating area is a working progress which will be complete by next summer. With regards to your request for an iron we... More 

England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2016

Arrived on Friday until today, the room was lovely and clean. It had what you needed in a room. The owners were extremely friendly, and could have a laugh and joke with. The breakfast was lovely, set you up for the day. Also the food I the evening was very nice too. Overall my partner and myself had a lovely... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
GarytheLandlord, Owner at Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to your next visit More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

We arrived here on a Friday and spent two nights at The Prince of Wales. I was a little disappointed with the standard of the room for what we paid for it which didn't include breakfast. The wallpaper was coming away from the wall at the edges in the room and our toilet didn't flush properly (this angered my boyfriend... More 

Helpful?
Thank Olivia H
GarytheLandlord, Owner at Prince of Wales, responded to this review

It saddens us to read your review and that you were disappointed with the standard of the room for which we get many good reviews and comments, we have checked the toilet flush but have found no problem, it is however a flush system that you do have to hold the handle down until it flushes. The baths were disconnected... More 

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peasedown St John
2.5 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#29 of 33 in Bath
158 reviews
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Old Malt House
The Old Malt House
#1 of 1 in Timsbury
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
1.2 mi away
King William Inn
King William Inn
#1 of 1 in Tunley
112 reviews
3.2 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#17 of 194 in Bath
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a traditional english pub with 5 ensuite letting bedrooms.We pride ourselves on giving a personal service and our home cooked food ... more   less 

Additional Information about Prince of Wales

Address: Dunkerton Hill, Peasedown St John BA2 8PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Peasedown St John
Price Range: £69 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Prince of Wales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Prince of Wales staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at rear are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles tomwG5359JK, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Only 5 rooms and they are all quiet”
  • View from road outside
 of 5 bubbles nerys261, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at rear to avoid traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles colinp31, 24 May 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 has the best bathroom but is at the front so suffers from traffic noise. Ask for a room at the back if this will affect you.”
 of 5 bubbles AndyBrettle, 8 Mar 2016 | Read review
“On arrival we spoke to Gary who showed us 2 rooms and said we could take our pick, might be a good tip to ask what is available”
 of 5 bubbles N7599QKbills, 8 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay