Coast B&B
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Coast B&B

Coast St. Ives Road, Carbis Bay, St Ives TR26 2RT England
Traveller (48)
Dining (6)
Sea holly room and the view from the room - Lovely!
Room & Suite (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#6 of 6 B&Bs in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value

See why so many travellers make Coast B&B their bed and breakfast of choice when visiting Carbis Bay. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a charming setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

Rooms at Coast B&B provide a flat screen TV, and guests can stay connected with free internet access.

You can also enjoy free breakfast while staying at Coast B&B. Need a place to park? Free parking is available at Coast B&B.

During your visit, be sure to check out a popular Carbis Bay tapas restaurant such as La Casita, which is a short distance from Coast B&B.

At Coast B&B, your comfort and satisfaction come first, and they look forward to welcoming you to Carbis Bay.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Internet
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Bay View

Location

Coast St. Ives Road, Carbis Bay, St Ives TR26 2RT England
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 70 out of 100
70
St Mawgan Airport
26.9 mi
See all flights
Lands End Airport
15.4 mi
See all flights
137Reviews2Q+A31Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 89
  • 26
  • 14
  • 6
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Han2403 wrote a review Jul 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great accommodation..couldn’t fault it! We stayed in an apartment which was freshly decorated & lovely and clean. The small kitchen was splendidly decked out with everything you could think of in a compact space!
The location was perfect..a 10 min stroll from the beach, Tesco just up the road for self catering requirements, and St Ives a small walk or train ride away.

Gail was lovely, in fact all staff very friendly & accommodating. Great price too! Would definitely stay again & have already recommended it to other people.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SJR wrote a review Aug 2012
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It was a long 9+ hour journey for us to visit St. Ives, Carbis Bay and stay at Coast but it'll be one we make many more times. The welcome every morning at breakfast was warm, friendly and informative with a daily weather forecast and discussion about the activities planned for the day. Gail, although not from Cornwall has a really good local knowledge and good advice about joining or avoiding the crowds whichever we preferred. There was an excellent choice of food for breakfast and delicious, freshly cooked hot food. They also served Yorkshire tea which is just the icing on the cake for us! Our room had a fabulous view of Carbis bay where the sun rose and shone through our window at 6 every morning, a glorious way to wake, it danced on the sapphire blue ocean with luminous orange rays sometimes sharp and sometime hazy with the morning mist. I only missed one sunrise in our week long stay (too much wine the previous night!) and we watched many a sunset sitting on/by the beach, very romantic. This was one of our best holidays ever and that is as much about the accommodation as the location.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2012
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Sea view if you possibly can.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Diane G wrote a review Jun 2019
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I booked a three night stay at Coast bed and breakfast for the weekend starting on 20 June. We booked about 3 or 4 months ago and paid in full. However, we live abroad and we had a flight into Luton last Sunday which was cancelled in the end as a passenger was taken ill before take off. We did not depart until nearly 24 hours later and this threw all our trip into chaos. We contacted Coast to see if we could have a refund and were told that if they could re-sell that period we would be able to, otherwise it would be non - refundable. Imagine our surprise when the owner Gail, contacted us today to say she had in fact managed to re-book the room. I just wish to say how honest and commendable this was on her part and hope we will have a chance to actually go there later in the year
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sandandsun wrote a review Sept 2015
Pembrokeshire, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked this guest house after reading the reviews on trip advisor and viewing the establishments website. We were looking forward to staying at a real vegetarian / vegan guest house for our wedding anniversary and birthday celebration feeling that because The Coast specialised as such it would be a good choice.
We couldn't have been more disappointed! We were not greeted by anyone at the guest house on our arrival, our room key was left for us in an envelope. Our first impression of our room was yet further disappointing, rather than the ensuite we had imagined from their website, we had a toilet and hand basin in what appeared to be a converted wardrobe space and a separate shower cubicle actually in the bedroom with a curtain across it, I expect this was what gave the bedroom a damp smell to it, the room was called Great Willowherb.
The bed on first impression on arrival had a rather creased messy appearance. There was an information book left for us stating there would be no room cleaning, bed changing or making, or bin emptying or even cup changing service at the guest house and if we required any clean towels during our 3 night stay there would be a charge for clean towels!! If we required our coffee cups in our room to be changed we needed to do this ourselves. We were absolutely amazed and shocked! we had never come across this lack of service to guests rooms before anywhere we had stayed! We feel strongly the owners should have been up front making sure potential customers were aware of the lack of service to the rooms that would be experienced - towels, bins, beds, cups etc. before potential customers book a room, because it certainly was and still is an expectation of ours that towels are changed when required (not at an added extra charge)! That beds are made, bins are emptied, and cups are replaced with clean ones, we could have saved our disappointment in what we had hoped would be a special holiday because had we been aware before booking that this was the way this guest house operated we would have been given the opportunity of avoiding It. We feel that The Coast guest house lack of room servicing information should be given at the same time as their terms that were made most clear to us (that before arriving one night deposit would be taken and the remainder charge at £77.00 per night, due on the day of arrival for the entire stay).
At the coast you appear only see the management for the one hour at breakfast. You have to telephone them if you have a signal on your mobile! to speak to them outside of this time. The sheet on our bed did not fit the bed! exposing the mattress! After our complaint the sheet was changed and the bed appeared better.
Then the breakfasts! I don't know where to start with this. There appeared to be so much part eaten food left on plates from the guests around us however we ordered the full vegetarian it arrived cooked in and smelling of plentiful oil, the sausage, mushrooms, tomato and beans had absolutely no taste whatsoever apart from oil and it came complete with oily potato soggy slices, needless to say it went back hardly touched. You have to fetch your spreads, sauces, cereals, coffee, etc from another room taking your breakfast plate with you because there were 7 tables of guests and 2 tubs of margarine and sauce provided to use on a table for everyone in another room. One morning we ordered a poached egg in order to avoid the taste of the oil, however it came fried!
We had pre booked The Bean restaurant for our first and second evening stay, This restaurant is downstairs in the guest house, (where breakfast is served) it appeared to be operated by the same cooks that provide breakfast. On our first evening meal (a birthday celebration) we ordered for starter Hummus and flat breads, Hummus is something we love and have eaten in many places, it is a simple to make, yet an enjoyable starter, however there was no taste at all to the Hummus served to us, the flatbreads were like burnt crisps and yet further to our upset there was the added extra of a hair in one of our portions of Hummus this left us feeling ill! The rest of the meal took over an hour to arrive and again was tasteless, only because it was a birthday celebration meal where we did not want to ruin our evening / holiday further did we not make a very big fuss,! Hasten to add we cancelled our meal booking for the second evening and found a lovely pub down the road called The Cornishman arms where there were three lovely vegetarian dishes on the menue and the food and service was lovely.
We are very sorry to say our stay at The Coast guest house has totally put us off St Ives it has left a very bad memory!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2015
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Caroline R wrote a review Sept 2014
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The B&B itself was clean and nicely decorated with local artwork. The food was fine (we only ate breakfast here). The room was very cramped, with the en-suite only separated from the room by a thin sliding door, such that the toilet was probably only about 50cm from the bed nearest the en-suite. You would have to be very good friends to want to be in the same room while the other person was using it! The door on the shower cubicle was quite difficult to open and close - it didn't slide properly. The shower was hot though, and the water a decent pressure. No toiletries provided. Overall the feel of the place is more that of a hostel than a B&B.

On the basis of our room, I wouldn't stay here again. Other rooms may of course be much nicer. The location is pretty good - about a 1 mile walk into St Ives, which wasn't a problem for us.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2014
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Don't choose Tree Mallow!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vixxie76 wrote a review May 2011
Southampton, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I don’t really know what to say about this place, except that I feel compelled to write a review as my experience seems to differ so much to those who have already reviewed the place.

When I made my booking I requested the Great Willow room as a review I read told me that this was the best room, although now I would really not like to see the other rooms. We have been to Cornwall a few times and stayed in B&B’s they are often very creative with the bedroom space that they have and seem to have very small bathrooms just so they can charge for an en-suit room. I have to say that this is just what is happening here.. But the shower is actually in your bedroom?

On arrival we checked in by way of an envelope in a rack in the porch with a note and a mobile number should you need assistance, which I thought was a novel idea but definitely not up there for customer service. There is a charge of a £1 if you want fresh towels, breakfast is between 8.30-9.30 and definitely not any time before then, when the host is happy to chat to you will also be between 8.30-9.30. All of this was outlined in their guide by the side of the bed.

When we entered the room we were surprised and I am sure that there is nothing wrong with this B&B but I felt it was a little misrepresented by their website and the other experiences that people had written about. We love Cornwall and St Ives and so it was still a pleasure to visit and see this wonderful coastline and village, but this B&B was really run in a more self catering syle, which again I don’t mind, but when you stay at other places for the same price who greet you with tea and biscuits, clean your room each day and have a separate room for your bathroom, provide clean towels if they need changing during your stay and have breakfast for longer than hour you start to expect that all B&Bs will be of the same standard.. Well sadly this one is not.

Great place if you want to keep yourself to yourself and don’t make a mess.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2011
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Try another B&B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PippaLlys wrote a review Aug 2017
Harlech, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked two rooms at Coast B&B for two nights. We asked for a twin room for me and my adult daughter. On opening the door we were surprised at how close together the beds were, hardly any space around the beds to get to the make shift wardrobe, small table with cups, water jug and tea, at the end of their beds. The bathroom was so tiny it felt like a wardrobe converted into a shower space, with a toilet and minute wash basin. Basically everything was tired, old and scruffy. The ceiling light fitting was missing exposing bare wires and the window hinges were loose which meant it wasn't able to be opened just ajar, it just flew wide open which let in rain and/or left the room cold. We had to secure it with a belt in order to air the damp odour in the room. In fact, the whole house smelt slightly damp which was not good for my allergies. There was dust on several surfaces which gave us an uncomfortable feeling of not having been cleaned properly. One of the reasons we chose Coast was the vegan/ vegetarian restaurant attached, but unfortunately the breakfast didn't match our expectations. We also found the greeting service and general communications throughout our stay was rather impersonal. Overall, I feel the cost of 80 pounds per room, per night was excessive for the quality of service, size and cleaniliness.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don"t know
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
martyn b wrote a review Sept 2015
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
To be fair I can't blame the b & b for the weather but unfortunately it didn't help.

Our room was really small and the window was completely blocked by a large tree. Also, the toilet seemed to have been converted from a wardrobe so is extremely small, only inches from the bed and had only a poorly fitted wooden slide door to spare your blushes!

Also the towels were wafer thin and there's a charge to have any extra.

The weather for the entire time was terrible, so this might be impacting my review. Had it been sunny the flaws might not have mattered so much, but unfortunately I can only judge from our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BoodleandFaff wrote a review Oct 2011
Herts
2.0 of 5 bubbles
On arrival we found no-one to welcome us, but our key had been left in an envelope in the porch. Unaware of this, we rang the bell and eventually were met by the chef from the Bean Restaurant which share these premises.
Although friendly, she did not appear to have any interest in the B & B, so handed us the key and we found our room ourselves.
We had booked Great Willowherb, which had a good view across the bay, but had a shower actually in the room, not in a separate bathroom. Not suprisingly, the room smelt damp and musty on arrival.
Once we had settled in, we were suprised to discover a number of services were not provided or only available at extra cost e.g. cups had to be taken downstairs to be washed, waste bins were not emptied unless put outside the door, no toiletries other than soap provided, no room servicing (beds not made & no cleaning), towels changed at a cost of £1 per towel.
In our view, these are the standards we would expect to find in a hostel, not in a B & B charging £70 per night.
The basic problem seemed to be that no-one was running the place. Breakfast is provided by The Bean Restaurant whose staff have no involvement with the B & B.
The Bean is a vegetarian restaurant and as such might have been expected to provide high quality vegetarian food for breakfast. One day we had croissants which were some of the most pitiful, dried up offerings imaginable - what a disappointment after reading other TA comments.
Only on departure, did we meet anyone connected to the B & B and even then we were not asked anything about our stay.
In conclusion, the impression we have is that these are just rooms above a restaurant with no services that you would expect from a B & B, so be warned!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2011
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Morningbockerglory, Owner at Coast B&B
Responded 6 Feb 2012
We are disappointed to have had dissatisfied guests and would always take complaints as constructive criticism and try to address any issues raised. On this occasion we will address things in the order they appear. Our location makes it very difficult for guests to specify exact arrival times so we offer flexibility with check-in times- early and late arrivals- but also a 'meet and greet' service if guests prefer it. We are currenlty installing heated towel rails in all en-suites and have ioniser/dehumidifers available for damp days and drying clothes should there be any unexpected showers. While we do not offer the same room servicing as expected in a hotel we do service rooms on request and have revised our room information to make this clearer to guests. The B&B and the Bean Inn, although separate businesses, run as a team and we are sorry for the experience this guest had with breakfast croissants. If any guest is unhappy with their breakfast we would be happy to offer another choice from the extensive breakfast menu. It is fair to say that we do not always ask our guests on departure about their stay but we do hope that if there are any problems we can deal with them during your stay. We do not always get it right and we do apologise for this.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nigel D wrote a review Sept 2016
Mildenhall, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for a couple of nights at Coast.
First the good points:
Parking is fine and just outside the building(which for StIves is a big plus).
Location is good, not right on the road, and a nice (20min) walk into town, and a very close bus stop as well.
Food is very good (Vegetarian), particularly the Dinner menu.
Check in was effecient
Room was clean and brightly decorated
All staff were friendly and helpful
Wifi decent and free

No so good points:
Bathroom wass very small (shower only) and claustraphobic. Made by partitioning an area of the bedroom? If you are very large, you may struggle getting in the shower.
Curtains were not dark enough, once the sun was up it was quite bright in the room.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Front rooms have (distant) see view.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sal asked a question Apr 2015
Okehampton, United Kingdom8 contributions3 helpful votes
Does the B&B have it's own parking or do you need to pay for parking? If so what are the charges? Many thanks
Answer from Pedrohonez
London, United Kingdom48 contributions6 helpful votes
There are a couple of parking bays just outside off the road for guests. If these are full, you can park for free just around the corner on a residential street, very safely.
Wanderlust T asked a question Apr 2015
5 contributions3 helpful votes
How far is Coast from the train station?
Answer from Morningbockerglory
Cornwall
Hi, Coast is about a ten minute walk from Carbis Bay train station but it is all up hill. There are some alternatives, you can carry on to St Ives and then get a bus (there is a stop outside the B&B) or a cab from St Erth and avoid changing into the branch line. Although the branch line is a beautiful scenic route.
ShirleyGra wrote a tip May 2019
london6 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"My room overlooked delightful garden. Hidden Tesco 1min walk. Bus stop in front, 3stops/20min walk St Ives."
Read full review
PippaLlys wrote a tip Aug 2017
Harlech, United Kingdom1 contribution6 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don"t know"
Read full review
Nigel D wrote a tip Sept 2016
Mildenhall, United Kingdom8 contributions9 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Front rooms have (distant) see view."
Read full review
vedani wrote a tip Nov 2015
munich42 contributions37 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Top Floor rooms have a great view"
Read full review
Pedrohonez wrote a tip Sept 2015
London, United Kingdom48 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book early - this place is pretty special and gets very busy"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Carbis Bay area.
PRICE RANGE
£106 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCornwallSt IvesCarbis Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

COAST B&B - Updated 2024 Prices, Reviews, and Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Coast B&B
Which popular attractions are close to Coast B&B?
Nearby attractions include Carbis Bay Beach (0.3 miles) and St Ives Bay (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Coast B&B?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Coast B&B?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Coast B&B?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Coast B&B?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Bean Inn Vegetarian Restaurant, Ugly Butterfly by Adam Handling, and The Gannet Inn Hotel & Restaurant.
Is Coast B&B located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Carbis Bay.
Are there any historical sites close to Coast B&B?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Chysauster Ancient Village (3.9 miles), Zennor Head (4.6 miles), and Saint Nicholas Chapel (1.4 miles).
Does Coast B&B have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Carbis Bay HotelsCarbis Bay Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Carbis BayHotels near Coast B&B
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire