We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cricklade House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Cricklade House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

558 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 553: English reviews
nuneaton
Reviewed yesterday NEW

This was our second visit to this hotel and it was great. Our reception was very friendly and helpful. We were on a 2 night half board break and were informed that there would be a reduced menu. However, as there were 4 choices for each course, this did not turn out to be a problem. Sam, in the bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michael c
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited as a very large family to celebrate a 95th Birthday. Everyone had a lovely large room with some in the main house and some across the courtyard. There was an issue with a couple of the rooms being cold on arrival but that was quickly rectified by staff. The evening meal was nice and the breakfast the following...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen A
CrickladeManager, General Manager at Cricklade House, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent visit I'm pleased to hear that the team looked after you all so well, and that everything went to plan for the event I look forward to welcoming you all back soon kind regards

England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well I came back for a weekend break in December lovely clean room in the main building again reception lady was misrable food wasn't that bad but apart from that a lovely hotel and staff are great I don't believe what everybody say about the hotel I think people moan for discount if there was anything wrong I'd be the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sally A
CrickladeManager, General Manager at Cricklade House, responded to this review

thank you for your feedback on your recent stay I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed the visit, and I hope to welcome you back very soon kind regards

St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Dirty room with plenty of dust, powerless shower, heating only twice a day for short spurts, unhelpful and rude service from the staff including the manager paul. stayed here new years day and very disappointing, would NOT recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mabel C
CrickladeManager, General Manager at Cricklade House, responded to this review

thank you for your feedback on your recent stay I'm both surprised and disappointed to hear that you found the team rude and unhelpful, especially Paul, my manager I'll investigate the issues you have mentioned with the team here, the heating is on a temperature controlled system, so should be on as needed; it's certainly not on for only 2...

milano
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and i didn't have a good experience overall. In my opinion a few things that makes this very nice situated hotel below average are: 1) strong smell of chlorine in the hall and reception - it's definitely the first thing you notice entering the venue. Also toilets near reception have a very strong unpleasant smell and to me...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank terzinos
CrickladeManager, General Manager at Cricklade House, responded to this review

thank you for leaving feedback on your recent stay we had an issue in the kitchen during your stay with part of our power supply, which meant we could only offer a limited six option table de hotel menu at dinner and some of our breakfast options, such as fried eggs were unavailable, but we were offering poached or scrambled...

Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The first night here we decided to eat in the restaurant (very dated, very small tables) we had 4 choices to choose from for our main meal, which non were very appealing. The main came out and was very small portions as well as the dessert - which came to £21.99 each for two courses! The room decor is very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hannahpiet
CrickladeManager, General Manager at Cricklade House, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving feedback on your recent stay I'm sorry to hear that you found the dinner disappointing, as the hotel has been quite quiet between Christmas and New Year, we have been running a daily menu, with a range of dishes, but I'm surprised to hear that your portions were small, I'll take this up with the team...

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely hotel in a gorgeous setting , room was comfortable, clean and warm , staff accommodating and friendly .. the menu is a strange mix .. I decided to skip starter and pudding and opted for burger with the usual accompaniments .. I could go on at length but I will cut the chase it was terrible in every aspect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
CrickladeManager, General Manager at Cricklade House, responded to this review

thank you for feedback on your recent stay. I delighted to hear the staff made you feel welcome, but I'm surprised and disappointed to hear your burger wasn't to your liking. I'm not sure if you mentioned it to any of the team during your stay, but they would have changed or replaced it for you. Our menu is quite...

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 December 2016

Have stayed here many many time over the last 25 years always book the same room which my wife loves as she likes to sit on and watch the sun set. wonderful stay always made to feel very welcomed very helpful staff, will be back soon,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mike c
CrickladeManager, General Manager at Cricklade House, responded to this review

thank you for your feedback I'm pleased to hear my team looked after you again, and we look forward to seeing you both again soon kind regards

Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

Place looked lovely, especially the conservatory. But don't book it just for that. More annoying little cons than pros over all. Pros: 1. Pool area and spa which were decent. 2. Bathroom was large and Bed was comfortable. 3. The room service dessert was amazing. Cons:1. We waited 10 mins upon arrival for someone at reception to show up. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natalie B
CrickladeManager, General Manager at Cricklade House, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay. I'm sorry you didn't enjoy the stay overall, and that we had an unavoidable boiler issue overnight whilst you were here. I'll discuss your comments with Chef regarding the quality of the breakfast; we do use local suppliers to ensure a good quality, but we may need...

Devon
Reviewed 22 November 2016 via mobile

I used to use the hotel for Sales Meetings, Conferences and stays for both business and personal. It always felt like going home there was an older gent on reception and so helpful and Jane who worked in the office. I've been praising the hotel up and took my new partner last weekend only to experience no end of issues....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Aggett
CrickladeManager, General Manager at Cricklade House, responded to this review

thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay with us. I'm sorry to hear that you felt things have changed for the worse here, there hasn't been a change of ownership or management recently, and I'm disappointed that you felt the team were not as happy as they used to be; I'll discuss this with them and try...

133 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (112)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cricklade
6.0 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#6 of 24 in Swindon
602 reviews
2.5 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
2,229 reviews
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Swindon Blunsdon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
858 reviews
5.6 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 24 in Swindon
1,457 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Pear Tree at Purton
The Pear Tree at Purton
#2 of 24 in Swindon
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf course
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Standing in over 30 acres of peaceful, secluded grounds on the edge of the Cotswolds, the privately-owned Cricklade House offers a traditional, warm and friendly welcome for those in search of tranquility, comfort, good food and wine, with extensive recreational facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cricklade House

Address: Common Hill, Cricklade, Swindon SN6 6HA, England (Formerly Cricklade House Hotel & Country Club)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon > Cricklade
Price Range: £61 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cricklade House 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Cricklade House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cricklade House Hotel And Country Club
Cricklade Hotel Country
Cricklade House Wiltshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cricklade House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Sutton Coldfield
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Cricklade House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“overlook the green”
 of 5 bubbles mabelc652, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Main house has bigger rooms”
 of 5 bubbles B0rderers, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a room in the main hotel”
 of 5 bubbles eviean, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 34 in my opinion is not a supiriour double .”
 of 5 bubbles bryantd717, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose one of the rooms with a four poster bed”
 of 5 bubbles mjhturner, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay