The Sir William
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Sir William

Sir William Hill Road, Grindleford, Peak District National Park S32 2HS England
Plating up for the 6 course tasting menu with live jazz
Traveller (102)
View from room 7
Room & Suite (30)
Eel and Ink!
Dining (19)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#1 of 1 inn in Grindleford
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Country Inn with relaxed dining facilities, real ales and beautiful surroundings of the Hope Valley. Accommodation is comprised of eight individual ensuite bedrooms. Ideal for a base for exploring the Peak District.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Darts
Board games / puzzles
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Room features
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
308Reviews4Q+A88Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 141
  • 97
  • 28
  • 23
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
saaira93 wrote a review Sept 2020
London, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel was great value for money! The staff were very friendly and always happy to help with advice/ suggestions on walking routes.

The room was clean and the shower was very powerful (important after coming back from a long day's hiking)! We had the twin room and it was very quiet so we were able to get a good sleep.

The cooked breakfast was good - just what you need to set you up for the day! We ate at the hotel in the evening twice and both times the food was good - would definitely recommend the wagyu beef burger.

The pub quiz on Sunday evening was also fun and would recommend taking part in that too!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
maxine m wrote a review Sept 2020
Leicester, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
stayed for a wk end as was visiting friends this hotel is by far the most unfriendly place I've stayed with only one member of staff being friendly. Not made to feel welcome at all. Limited menu average breakfast. The room had the wall paper peeling off the ceiling chairs were ripped which let the room down. The room was clean and bed comfortable but very over priced. Unfortunately I cannot upload my photos
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sally wrote a review Jul 2023
Hathersage, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was a lovely meal in relaxed surroundings. The waiting staff were attentive and friendly. John (chef) came out to say hello and personally asked if we had enjoyed our meal. Just a lovely experience, felt like they cared. John’s cooking was spot on with perfectly cooked salmon and some interesting additions and flavours. Great portion sizes, acceptable prices and oh so fresh…Will definitely return soon.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Coastal39114795715 wrote a review Aug 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We found this establishment an excellent place to stay. the accommodation was fine and comfortable, the food also was wholesome , hot and well presented. The staff were always cheerful and very helpful , especially Dan who helped us enormously with transport when we found it difficult at that time to get a Taxi to the wedding venue we were invited to at a nearby location. ( there and back my we add !!) All in all a great place to stay at a very reasonable price. Would always stay again.
PS, Phew , the views were stunning !!. Many thanks all. R&M
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Great for walkers, climbers and all outdoor activities.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hannah D wrote a review May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a great last minute stay last weekend, with our friendly German Shepherd.

First time we have stayed away with our dog in a hotel scenario.
So was a great experience, they made us feel so welcome from the off set, couldn’t help us enough, chatted to us like old friends. Gave our dog a fuss too.

Great location, if you want to get away from it all, beautiful bay windows to look out at the views, cosy rooms with plenty of space.
Great breakfast, which can be veganised.

Nice to be able to have a couple of drinks after walking all day, which they have a great selection of.

Highly recommend, we have already said, we will be back ... with our dog!

Thanks for a lovely stay ☺️
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wendy Harby wrote a review Apr 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Called for lunch today, and had items off the 'lite bites' menu. I have to say these were so well presented and full of flavour, they deserved a higher price than the £8 each. The meat (1 had pork 1 had beef) was so well prepared, and the sauces and dressings were inspired and superb, and they were accompanied by well prepared fresh vegetables. I cannot speak highly enough off the excellent food.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Very welcoming and comfortable hotel with excellent food
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
J_Corn26 wrote a review Nov 2023
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Visited this establishment on a Friday evening, whilst staying locally at a cottage. Having travelled a long with with a small baby, we made our way to the Sir William expecting to have some food and a drink. The place was full with, I assume, locals, who appeared to be having a nice time. All of which having food and drinks. Given that the website clearly states the restaurant opening time is till 20:00, when we arrived (three in the party) apparently 19:25 was too late. There was tables available but clearly they didn’t want our custom. Now for a pub in the middle of nowhere you would expect them to welcome service and custom however here they were more than willing to provide us with information as to where else we can give our custom. So unfortunately we didn’t get to sample any food. Given that we had come out for the evening, we made a small amount of time to have a drink whilst I sourced other food. £25 for a beer, a gin and a wine - I would say that’s extortionately priced. To rub salt into the hungry wounds, it was great to see the kitchen staff coming out for social chats with their friends and continuing to serve food will gone 20:30 - can’t have been too late for them. Personally, I would avoid this place and leave it to the locals. If you want a decent meal either have it in your accommodation or have a short walk up to The Maynard.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Don’t rely on their information provided on the website - they say restaurant serves till 20:00...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Christopher Allewell, Owner at The Sir William
Responded 24 Nov 2023
Hi JCornforth I am disappointed that you felt you had a bad experience. For context we do clearly state on our website that "booking for evening meals and Sunday lunch is advised". We had a large function ongoing in our function room on the busy Friday evening you visited and as a result were only able to serve those who had booked for a meal. We do clearly display our phone number on multiple areas on the website so that you can check for table availability. I am sorry you did not read this information next to the opening times on our website. As to pricing, we offer a range of drinks at different price points. A standard beer is £4.20, but a premium beer is £5.50. A small glass of house wine is £4.50 but a large glass of a premium wine is £12. A standard gin is £3.50 but a premium gin with a premium tonic is £7.50. I believe you will find these prices very competitive. I am delighted that you noticed lots of locals using the pub. This is often a sign that a place repeatedly excels in many areas. I am also really pleased that you personally found it "great" to see our happy staff enjoying themselves at their place of work. We very regularly receive plaudits for our friendly and welcoming staff so am pleased that you recognised this. Finally I am confused by your statement "if you want a decent meal...". You say you didn't eat with us, so it is hard to know how you feel able to comment on this. Along with our staff, our food also gets very warm reviews. I hope that you enjoyed your visit to the Peak District.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
blumoon wrote a review Aug 2021
2.0 of 5 bubbles
What a shame, great location, but!!!! Radiator in shower room red with rust as was the baceria on the show tray, coupled with black mould. Surfaces were dusted but radiators and skirting boards were thick with old cobwebs and dust. Old carpets looked like hadn't had a wash in years. Single pain glazing means you hear every car. The girls are lovely but because of the above we felt very let down. I dont like leaving bad reviews but did not want anyone else to waste their money. Food was based on quantity not quality. Would not stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
clareshedden wrote a review Aug 2021
London, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a lovely stay at the Sir William end of July, they made us feel so welcome, our room was lovely such a gorgeous view, we ate there each evening and had great meals. After this difficult year our short stay with them couldn't have been better, fabulous location, relaxed and friendly place to eat and stay. Thanks you to Helen, Terry and their team. Hope we can visit again soon. Clare & Andy
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OliverJames69 wrote a review Feb 2024
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Didn’t stop in the hotel but had a meal which was reheated pre-cooked food.
Pastry on the steak and ale pie, no horseradish even though it is described as a steak, ale and horseradish pie, was very hard and only way to soften was with plenty of gravy. Very small pie, portion of chips and peas for a lot of money.
Lasagne was reheated to the point of the pasta sheets were rubberised and the edges were burnt black. The garlic bread was a crust with no taste of garlic butter.
A very expensive disappointing meal and would not recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Richard Ellis, Owner at The Sir William
Responded 7 Apr 2024
Dear Oliver, we take all feedback important, based on your comments we replaced the chef, we now have a great team and I think you will find all is much better. Sorry for the delay to get back to you, we wanted to be sure that with the change we are doing what we promise with our food and service. Thank you, Richard
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Yvonne F asked a question Mar 2023
Halifax, United Kingdom69 contributions41 helpful votes
What time is breakfast served
David J asked a question Nov 2016
Bridlington16 contributions5 helpful votes
Does the breakfast selection include a continental choice/
Answer from kate d
Swindon, United Kingdom51 contributions44 helpful votes
There are cereals, yoghurts and fruit in addition to the cooked brekkie
David J asked a question Nov 2016
Bridlington16 contributions5 helpful votes
Does the breakfast selection include a continental choice?
Answer from Emarrison
Doncaster, United Kingdom43 contributions29 helpful votes
Cereals toast etc but not the cold meats and and cheese elements. I suspect if you ask they may try to accommodate though
Answer from Lynette194
Bakewell, United Kingdom52 contributions17 helpful votes
Call them on 01433630303
J_Corn26 wrote a tip Nov 2023
32 contributions14 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t rely on their information provided on the website - they say restaurant serves till 20:00 but 19:25 is too late."
Read full review
Steve B wrote a tip Nov 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book a garden room "
Read full review
Sarah B wrote a tip Sept 2023
Sheffield, United Kingdom34 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The pub is in a lovely setting in the Peak District, great for walks and cycling "
Read full review
Nick B wrote a tip Sept 2023
Grindleford, United Kingdom2 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Worth booking on weekends."
Read full review
Bruce D wrote a tip Aug 2023
Sydney, Australia102 contributions60 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get the menu early - lots of choices and you may need time to choose"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Grindleford area.
PRICE RANGE
£94 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandPeak District National ParkHope ValleyGrindleford
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE SIR WILLIAM - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about The Sir William
Which popular attractions are close to The Sir William?
Nearby attractions include Bike Garage (3.8 miles), Ringinglow Archery (4.9 miles), and Stanage Edge (3.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Sir William?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Sir William?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Sir William?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Sir William?
Conveniently located restaurants include Village Green, Stella's Kitchen, and Curry Cottage at Lovers Leap.
Is The Sir William located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the centre of Grindleford.
Are pets allowed at The Sir William?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Sir William?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Eyam Parish Church of St Lawrence (1.8 miles), Eyam Museum (1.8 miles), and Eyam Hall & Courtyard (1.9 miles).
Does The Sir William have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
All Grindleford HotelsGrindleford Hotel DealsHotels near The Sir William
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire