We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Estate Escapes

Save
Share
North Cave, Brough HU15 2LW England
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (8)
Room & Suite (18)
Dining (3)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Estate Escapes comprises three five star luxury holiday cottages in Hotham, East Yorkshire. Set in the charming village of Hotham, Stracey, Clitherow and Park Cottage offer a peaceful haven for guests wishing to visit the Yorkshire region.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Public wifi
Hot bath
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
15Reviews1Q+A2Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 11
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Vicky T wrote a review Aug 2020
Birmingham, United Kingdom5 contributions1 helpful vote
Booked Stracey Cottage for a week from 10th Jully 202 and paid the deposit. When the Covid19 restrictions were confirmed to be lifted for overnight stays I contacted the owner via email and telephone on 5 occasions over a week and did not receive any response. I had paid the deposit via paypal so had to raise a case through them to have this refunded as by that point I had taken the view that we wouldn't be able to go as we weren't able to contact the owners. No response was received to the paypal case so I did receive a refund, but I have never (4 weeks later) had the courtesy of a response from the owners. I appreciate we have been in highly unusual circumstances, however, that is no excuse for unprofessional conduct, especially when it is clear from the owners website for the other business that they are continuing to operate. Avoid at all costs.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Andrew wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Be warned - we booked Stracey cottage 24th July for 7 nights. We tried to call the owner for the three days before we were due to arrive, to arrange key collection, but they would not answer and just put us to voicemail. The cottage showed as booked on the main holiday websites, but it was left as available on the Estate Escapes website. The day before we were due to arrive they cancelled our booking. We have two children, 9 and 5 years old; our eldest was in tears when they did this.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Service
Room Tip: Approach with caution!
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
640maureens wrote a review Jul 2020
Leicestershire, United Kingdom4 contributions
Be warned- we booked park cottage Hotham for a weeks holiday in July 2020 through holiday cottages. Imagine our dismay when we were contacted three days before we were due to go, with food ordered to be delivered and trips booked and paid for, only to be told it had been double booked. Our money was refunded but three days beforehand and with a 4 year old in the party the upset was considerable. I rarely write reviews but felt it might be beneficial to someone - great disappointment and callously handled
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Hobo73 wrote a review Nov 2019
Woodford Halse, United Kingdom1 contribution
We stayed in Stracey Cottage over half-term. The cottage is lovely in a very peaceful spot at the gates to Hotham Hall estate. There is access for bikes through the estate with next to no traffic, so ideal for kids. You'll mainly see walkers, joggers, cyclists and horse riders pass by. The cottage has a cosy living/dining room with stove (coal and logs provided). Perfect for snuggling in on a cold Autumn evening. The kitchen is large and is well appointed with all you'll need. There is also a utility room with washing machine. The stairs up are quite steep, but we had no issues and there was a stair gate available. The beds were very comfortable and there was plenty of storage space - chests of drawers and cupboards to hang clothes. The bathroom had a old style free standing bath and separate large shower. Outside the cottage there is a shed with a small freezer. We didn't use it, but there's also a garden table and chairs in the lawned courtyard garden. Nice if you were staying over the summer. The local area offers plenty for young families. We visited Dalby Forest, York, Brimham Rocks (a bit further afield), Beverley and the Deep in Hull. William's Den is also only a very short distance - great for letting our son run off some energy. Overall we had a great week and would recommend to anyone looking for a base from which to explore this lovely area.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Rooms
Location
Helpful
Share
Dan M wrote a review Apr 2017
Bramhall, United Kingdom170 contributions50 helpful votes
These are three beautiful cottages. We stayed in Clitherow (sleeps 5), there is also Park (sleeps 5) and Stracey (sleeps 4). The Clitherow is really well finished, with quality furniture and fittings. The kitchen is well equipped, with everything you would need to cook most things. There are 3 bedrooms; a double with an ensuite, a bedroom with two single beds and a bedroom with a single bed. Downstairs there is a kitchen/dinner which opens to a sitting and tv area, next door is a snug. Everything is well thought out and there is a luxurious feeling throughout. There is a highchair, cot bed and stair gates. The stair gates are useless, but that is more about bad products, than anything else. There is a pretty garden at the back, which is shared with Stracey. The cottages are set in a very sleepy, pretty village and are well linked for Beverley, Hull and York. The owners also own Williams Den in the next village, but it was not open when we visited. The only negative is the booking process with a little haphazard. We chased for information though it took several goes it get emailed across, otherwise we would have given 5 stars. Finally, don't go to the pub in the village. The landlord is very grumpy.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from EstateEscapes, Owner at Estate Escapes
Responded 17 Apr 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience at Estate Escapes. We are always very grateful for honest feedback. Apologies for the trouble you had with the booking process, we are reviewing how we currently take bookings and realise the experience could be much more customer-friendly which is why when William's Den opens, we plan to transfer it over as we'll have a customer services team working full-time, seven days a week. We are due to be given a handover date from our Contractors re: William's Den so any day now, we'll be announcing an opening date. We are only sorry we weren't able to open William's Den for Easter. Thank you for letting us know about the stair gates - bought from Mothercare - clearly they're not fit for purpose and need replacing with something more robust. And finally, I'm very sorry you didn't enjoy your experience at The Hotham Arms, I'm not quite sure what happened but I do hope it didn't spoil your entire trip. We'd love to see you again in Hotham, I promise that William's Den will definitely be worth another visit. We'll be putting packages together for the cottages so families can benefit from having such a unique visitor attraction on the doorstep. We are incredibly excited, we've been working on it for five years and are finally almost there! It has taken every ounce of energy but we think it has all been worth it. Best Wishes Victoria, Owner, Estate Escapes
Read more
Previous
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireEast Riding of YorkshireBrough
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Estate Escapes
Which popular attractions are close to Estate Escapes?
Nearby attractions include South Cave Falconry (1.7 miles), William's Den (0.5 miles), and North Cave Wetlands Nature Reserve (0.8 miles).
What are some restaurants close to Estate Escapes?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Star at Sancton, Hotham Arms Pub, and Emon Spice Lounge.
Are there any historical sites close to Estate Escapes?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The White Horse Inn (9.6 miles), North Bar (9.5 miles), and Beverley Guildhall (9.6 miles).