Tormaukin
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Tormaukin

Tormaukin House Main Street, Glendevon FK14 7JY Scotland
Traveller (100)
full breakfast
Dining (26)
Bathroom (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 1 inn in Glendevon
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Tormaukin is an 18th-century country inn nestled in picturesque Glendevon, just a stone's throw away from Gleneagles in the foothills of Perthshire. Under new ownership and celebrating its next chapter, this gem in Scotland's secret glen, promises guests a dose of hearty Scottish hospitality and old world charm.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Breakfast buffet
Room features
Desk
Fireplace
Bottled water
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
632Reviews5Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 407
  • 129
  • 45
  • 31
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
katie26 wrote a review May 2022
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Great family run business - we took advantage of the May Mayhem deal and excellent value. We will be back as a lovely evening. Super friendly service and welcome from Mark and Lydia (and I think mum is the chef behind the scenes and if so deserves huge congratulations!). Dinner was delicious with excellent portions and served in the charming and atmospheric dining room. The team have refurbed the Inn and a modern feel yet very much kept the old charm and features which is to be admired. We had the beautiful Boudoir room overlooking the front with a super comfy bed (no shower but next time will just choose a room with one so no big deal). Everything you could need in the room albeit no water etc in the guest fridge as advertised but not an issue as we could have asked & nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was also delicious, freshly prepared and beautifully presented. Very homely and welcoming from start to finish with well appointed rooms, furnishings and beautiful little touches throughout the building. One tiny suggestion would be to spend an hour or so giving the hotel more kerb appeal as the weeds, dead leaves, cobwebs on windows etc detract from the immaculate interior and on first appearance would not encourage a guest in to sample the fabulous cuisine and hospitality. We met a local friend for a coffee who said he had passed many times but never been in as looked “unloved” but we have hopefully persuaded him otherwise! We will definitely be back and a little local jewel.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jo h wrote a review Nov 2021
Swindon, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We went as a table of eight (booked) and had a great afternoon. The dining area was stunning, lots of pictures, artefacts and niknaks to make the room interesting. They offer Sunday roast plus a full menu which was great for us. Most had the roast beef which was great. All plated up with the veg and an individual cauliflower cheese. Those who didn’t have the roast had the beef beer casserole, chicken and the mussels. All were good. Had haggis bonbons to start which were great, but I was too full for pudding.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jane wrote a review Oct 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked to stay for one night in a coach house room with our dog .
We received a warm welcome and were shown to our room . The room was spotless the bed linen lovely and the towels big and fluffy
.The newly refurbished bathroom was immaculate.
We had dinner in the bar. The food was incredible . Each dish was beautifully presented and of a very high standard. A hot breakfast was made to order and fresh tea, coffee, fruit juices cereal ; toast and yoghurts were available at the buffet
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay . In summary a charming Inn with a lovely cosy atmosphere ; fabulous food and excellent customer service..
We have already booked to return
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ian W wrote a review Aug 2022
Tillicoultry, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We went to the Tormaukin for a meal with friends, we have been here before the pandemic, always had a great meal, but it has went downhill big time. It was always famed for its steak & game dishes these are all gone, no steak on the menu when we asked why not the manager was very short with us.

Let’s start with some positives.

Starter & Sweets good .
Young waiter on his 2nd night in the job was pleasant & helpful.
Negatives
The selection of main courses was to say the least poor, I ordered Mussels, to get 12 medium sized mussels with some skinny fries for £14.50 was a bit steep. Tiny bit juice and small bit bread straight from the freezer..
My wife had steak & Ale pie, looked ok until, she found what looked like a tea bag, probably a herb bag should not have been in the pie.
One of our friends has the Ocean Bounty £30 for what was frozen fish over cooked along with some scampi calamari rings again deep fried far to long, there was enough chips to feed 10 .
We complained & were ignored by the manager on duty, who did not have a clue how to run a bath never mind a restaurant.
I can’t see why anyone leaves a positive review as this place is on its last legs , they are needing Alex Polizzi in to turn this place around, at present who ever is running this hasn’t a clue on hospitality that’s for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chloe Bews-Fullilove, Owner at Tormaukin
Responded 29 Aug 2022
Dear Ian, Your review is extremely exaggerated, misleading and distasteful, and all because we would not be coerced into giving you a discount off your bill. The menu that Saturday night contained eight starters, eleven mains, and eight desserts, which is ample choice. The Tormaukin’s menu is seasonal and sourced locally; it is not game season which begins in autumn, hence the lack of game. Regarding steaks, the manager simply confirmed that steaks were not on the menu and that we don’t currently offer a steak night - and nowhere do we mislead or advertise that we do. In hindsight, it is clear that by hoping to order expensive steaks you presumed you would get more money off by complaining. The Ocean’s Bounty platter for £30 is a sharing platter for two, which one of your friends had to himself, and the haddock is ordered in fresh each morning - originally you complained at the table that there wasn’t enough there for the price, and now you claim that there’s enough chips for ten. Regarding the steak pie, the ‘tea bag’ was bouquet garni as the pie is homemade, not manufactured bisto. In the same way that you come across bay leaves in other dishes, this gives it flavour. It is absurd that you seriously suggested we should give away a meal for free because of a piece of herb which is a key part of the homemade dish. The other woman who ordered to Chicken Savoyarde which costs 18.50 ate the whole dishful except for a few fries, but which were ‘worse than McDonald’s fries’, when we know for a fact that they are tasty and great quality. The complaint you wrote about the mussels is a new one, as at the table you actually admitted that you enjoyed yours. The manager told you she would speak to the chef and that she does not have the sole authority to take action upon herself in such circumstances. The chef examined your almost cleaned plates and confirmed that the complaints were suspicious, and mutually agreed that we not act upon the complaint. Staff are clearly instructed not to give any money off unless they believe it is a genuine justified fault conveyed in a polite manner - however all four of you had eaten nearly all your mains save for a few chips and proceeded to be intentionally rude for the rest of your time here. The manager has successfully run the Tormaukin for three years, and the very fact that she saw through your blatant ploy demonstrates her aptitude and good sense to circumvent the situation by not giving in or giving you the attention you were after, and instead concentrating on serving the other diners on a very busy night. If your experience with the mains was as poor as you claimed, you would expect that such unhappy customers would want to leave shortly after. Yet oddly, you then proceeded to order another expensive bottle of wine followed by desserts - clearly assuming these would be offered on the house. In the midst of a busy service, with the dining room full and a 30th birthday party of over a dozen people underway in the next room, you then proceeded to accost our new young waiter for the remainder of your time here - suddenly the same bottle of wine wasn’t good enough now, a ketchup holder wasn’t cleared quickly enough, the desserts weren’t fast enough etc.. After one of your party, who the manager recognised as he used to come drink and dine with us often last summer, came to the bar to pay the 220.00 bill, the other three of you again caused a ruckus at the table, claiming that he shouldn’t have paid us, that they deserved money off, a refund, etc. As if your motivation couldn’t be any clearer, you then came to the bar multiple times to again harass to the young waiter who is only 17 years old and told you he was still in training, which was completely inappropriate of you as grown adults in your fifties. The waiter himself thought that you were blatantly just after a discount as you kept returning to this demand, but that your behaviour was so bad that no way would anyone offer it. The table next to you also complained about your party and even moved away from you into the bar. They were also kind enough to ask if the both staff members were ok as your group was acting terribly, and not to worry about it as you get such ‘chancers’ everywhere. As you mentioned, the Tormaukin is thriving thanks to honest paying customers, and your exaggerations will not change that fact. We suggest you do not visit us again as we will not be blackmailed into handing out freebies. If you want to be given free food, you should visit a food bank, not a restaurant.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Big G wrote a review Sept 2022
3.0 of 5 bubbles
A roadside inn by some good walks. Mixed decor, overuse of fake plants and somewhat unkempt exterior. Luxurious dimly lit bar with leather sofas and chairs with a hunting lodge motif allied to some kitsch oversize craft objet. Fine in the evening but too dim even for me, fond of the shadows as I am, in daytime. The room, Highland Fling is as it looks online, the most expensive and newly refurbished with repro French furniture and a squidgy chesterfield chair which I enjoyed immensely. The bathroom is compact but does what it needs to do - just. Dinner was good, the main room is characterful, I faced wallwards and found it relaxing, my wife into the room and found it bright and busy. The conservatory is very bright and festooned with plant-like decorations. Fine for breakfast but the brightness spilled awkwardly into the dining room. The menu is more basic than the decor suggests and has some price point spikes but was busy on Saturday night. The food was well cooked and presented and the young man serving, in his first week was doing very well with some innate talent for hospitality. Less the case with the lady on reception, evening and breakfast. Maybe the owner/manager judging by the hours being put in but lacking in warmth perhaps an off day. The work that had gone in suggests a care for guests the delivery not always. Breakfast was late getting going, maybe as it was a Sunday but we had an early start. The food was fine but with limited choice. An excellent choice of teas was available and preferable to the coffee.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MalkieP wrote a review Jun 2022
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived for a night of tranquillity and good food in a relaxing and welcoming environment. What we got was a damp,dingy and poorly furnished room looking directly (at drivers eye level) with the car park and that smelt strongly of wet dog. The coachhouse accommodation was so poor that we immediately turned and walked away. £120 for a 3 minute stay was what we paid but I’d rather that than stay in the room we were offered. I’m no hotel critic but it is inconceivable that the proprietor thought that this was an acceptable quality of accommodation. Indeed, the receptionist who showed us to our room looked horrified that we’d returned the key within 5 minutes of arriving, but offered no apology or attempt to resolve our issues.

Keep your money or drive on, there’s much better places that this!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chloe Bews-Fullilove, Owner at Tormaukin
Responded 21 Jun 2022
Dear Sir, The reason you were allocated that room was because you emailed us last-minute only a few days in advance to book a room, and there were no other rooms available. We notified you we only had a coach-house room remaining for £120, and it was your choice to proceed with the booking. We do strongly encourage guests to specify which room they prefer as they are each decorated differently to one another which is reflected in the different price tiers we charge. In the initial email you sent enquiring about booking a room, you mentioned that you saw the room for cheaper, for £100 a night on another booking engine online called Priceline which advertises fake low rates to gain website clicks. The fact that you were looking for a cheap deal lead us to believe that you were interested a more budget stay, so even if an olde inn superior room had been available that night we would not naturally have allocated it to you as they are £140 a night which was a price you clearly did not want to pay. The day you checked in was a very wet drizzly day, and I can assure you there is no damp in the room itself. We do clearly state on our website that the coach-house rooms are rustic and are suitable for outdoorsy guests as they are dog-friendly, and accordingly they have not been redecorated as elaborately as the olde inn rooms, hence why they are £20 less per night. That being said, we had a last-minute check-in to that same room just a few hours after you left, and they said that they found that same room that you turned down very comfortable (no mention of any dog smell) and that they appreciated the newly-fitted bathroom. Indeed, when you were first shown the room your wife exclaimed that the room was nice! The startled reaction at the front desk upon being told how horrible you found the room and that you refused to stay in it, was due to the fact that no one had complained about the room before, and you very abruptly exited before any amends could even attempt to be made. Wherever possible we do offer free room upgrades to olde inn rooms (provided guests don’t have dogs) which would have solved this problem, but this wasn’t an option on the date of your stay as we were fully-booked and all the other guests had already checked-in. I hope this clears up the rationale behind why you were allocated to that room and also why we were unable to offer you the more expensive olde inn room you were perhaps expecting, Kind Regards, Chloe
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tina k wrote a review Mar 2020
Kinglassie, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Not sure about our experience.
I feel owners are getting there but missing vital keys.....
We were welcomed by lovely cosy fire but we were all freezing! Not enough heat in restaurant.
No atmosphere not sure if we were served by owner or manager not very welcoming.
Menu was interesting to say the least, scampi in basket, steak pie we went for hot open sandwich.
Very nice but served on piece of paper with a portion of caul saw on very large plate no garnish salad etc . I would cut in half serve on smaller plate.
Soup was tasty but served in a very large bowl but tiny portion, bread served with soup very up inviting I would have filled bowl serve with lovely chunky crusty bread.
Not sure what owners are trying to achieve stick to basics nice warm inviting wholesome menu Tormaukin hay day they were famous for steak pie, fish chips, fresh salads home cooked foods. Daily specials.
Good value for money.
People have to walk or travel to Tormaukin make it worth our while !!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pathfinder115853 wrote a review Sept 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I have received very poor treatment from this hotel. After having a sudden death in the family I contacted them as soon as possible to say we would not be able to stay. I then received a call from a very rude lady who refused to understand why we could not travel and then proceeded to take the full accommodation amount (even though half was for someone else) I am feeling aggrieved and at a loss to understand why I have been treated so inhumanely.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chloe Bews-Fullilove, Owner at Tormaukin
Responded 1 Sept 2022
Dear Sarah, Firstly please again accept our condolences for your loss. Our hotel policy as clearly stated on our website under the ‘Rooms’ page is that if you cancel within 48 hour of arrival you will be charged the full amount. This is the reason why we and most hotels require guests to provide card details as a security in the first place, so that it can be charged in case of last minute cancellations or no-shows. If you were not happy with this when you originally made the booking, you should have voiced this and refused to provide card details, which would have resulted in us not being able to accept your reservation in the first place. You initially left a voicemail message the day before you were due to check-in, stating that you had to cancel both rooms with no mention of your reason or any bereavement. We called you back a few hours later unawares to notify you that we would need to charge the cancellation fee in a calm manner. Once you told us of your reason, we offered to put the sum of £240 towards a stay for you at any time of your choosing in the future as a goodwill gesture. Despite this you then proceeded to become irate and began to scream down the phone demanding that we not charge the fee. Our staff member on the phone was taken aback at this reaction and apologised for causing you any further distress during this time, and merely explained that she had only been tasked with calling you to detail our hotel policy and to notify you that we would need to charge the card. After threatening to put a review on Tripadvisor, towards the end of the call you then told us to do whatever we wanted before putting the phone down on us. This was followed by threatening voicemails and text messages, including ‘I hope you burn in hell b****’, and non-stop calls no less than 17 times. We have zero-tolerance for abuse or harassment and instruct our staff that they do not have to respond in such upsetting situations - this treatment towards a stranger who is simply doing her job is unacceptable regardless of your personal circumstances. Unfortunately in these and all such cases without any exceptions, 48 hours is our cancellation policy, a measure which all hotels have in place and have to enforce for good reason, especially during these trying times. Kind Regards, Chloe
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Graeme M wrote a review May 2022
Muscat, Oman
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great food, great service.. I have been many times to the Tormaukin.. One reason is the idelic setting.. I attended an afternoon lunch with my family.. The food as usual was freshly cooked and delicious.. On this occasion the servver was very effective and friendly.. Service and food perfect.. Thank you..
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pickinmypocket wrote a review Jun 2022
Glasgow, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A lovely little gem in Glendevon. Quiet and peaceful, but a convenient drive to many top class locations and attractions. Friendly staff, comfy rooms and an excellent breakfast. Dinner served in a classy, traditional room with a sunny conservatory next door. Nice, well stocked snug bar with a convivial mixture of guests and locals. Terrific games room as well. Great value for money, will definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Chloe B
Hi Julie, Thank you for your query! The inn came under new and independent ownership a year and a half ago. But only very recently at the start of this new year have my mother, father and I decided to take a much more hands on approach in order to make the inn truly family-run - and hopefully this has been reflected in our most recent reviews! We hope you will come stay or dine with us soon! Best Wishes, Lydia
jandm51 asked a question Mar 2019
Mirfield, United Kingdom88 contributions116 helpful votes
Arriving late and would rather have a bar snack than a dinner. Are bar snacks available.
Answer from Chloe B
Hi there, Thank you for your query. How late will you be arriving in the evening? Check-in closes at 9pm, although if you would like to request a late check-in please call us on: 01259 781252, and our chefs will be able to provide you with sandwiches and light bites from our bar menu until the kitchen closes at 8:45pm. Best Wishes, The Tormaukin Team
Answer from roomspray
Dundee, United Kingdom8 contributions11 helpful votes
Yes it’s changed hands a couple of times since 2013. Not nearly as good as it used to be...our recent visit was spoiled by a member of staff with absolutely no people skills. Dinner was excellent. Room in stable block needed a makeover. Would not recommend
John M asked a question Mar 2015
Who.Owens.the.hotel
Answer from John M
Name.of.owners
Answer from Fraser_Tormaukin
Glendevon, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
Hi there, the only other pub near us is the muckhart Inn which is a traditional pub offering their own range of real ale
Pathfinder115853 wrote a tip Sept 2022
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid this hotel"
Read full review
fergie17 wrote a tip May 2022
Edinburgh, United Kingdom621 contributions321 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay in hotel"
Read full review
philipr522 wrote a tip Sept 2019
Torquay, United Kingdom7 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid room 14 and its neighbour in the annex at the back"
Read full review
clive turner wrote a tip Jul 2019
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"No comment"
Read full review
Calvin T wrote a tip Jul 2019
1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Change the Manager and Chef"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Glendevon area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
country inn perth and kinross, perth and kinross country inn
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandPerth and KinrossGlendevon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TORMAUKIN - Reviews, Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Tormaukin
Which popular attractions are close to Tormaukin?
Nearby attractions include Castle Campbell (3.7 miles), The Japanese Garden At Cowden (2.9 miles), and Dollar Glen (3.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Tormaukin?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Tormaukin?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Tormaukin?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Tormaukin?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Tormaukin?
Conveniently located restaurants include Inn at Muckhart, Tormaukin Hotel, and Mona's of Muckhart.
Is Tormaukin located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.02 miles away from the centre of Glendevon.
Are pets allowed at Tormaukin?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Tormaukin?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The William Spence Memorial Clock (4.4 miles).
Is Tormaukin accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire