We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Horseshoe Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Horseshoe Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

263 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 260: English reviews
Start your review of The Horseshoe Inn
 Click to rate
Kent UK
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Horseshoe is huge, we had a hedge laying competition down the road at Magham Down and had prize giving and a meal here after. We booked 57 people buy Mariya and team managed to squeeze in a further 12 people! Well done! Food was superb, and the function room was beautiful (I assume for a wedding and not us lot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PhillKentUK
Staines, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Myself and my wife stayed in this inn for one evening as we was travelling nearby. The room was clean and fresh towels was provided. It had a nice selection of tea and coffee supplied and was a good size for what we required However there could be a few improvements. The room looked like it needed refreshing as it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathleen_1991
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were on holiday around Herstmonceux and, during the week, we kept driving past this pub which looked utterly amazing. The building was so grand, imposing and luxurious that we decided to end our stay with a lovely final meal there. When we eventually entered the place on our last night, with great anticipation for a very pleasant evening, we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BlaineCoughlan
surrey
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Me and u husband attended a wedding yesterday 20january venue and decorations were fine meal and breakfast ok. Our room was very dated and freezing cold. Staff were alright. Husband bit on staple which was in his starters which was reported and told it could not have come from the kitchen !!! Never again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank monty054
poseygreen, Manager at The Horseshoe Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Montgomery, Thank you for your feedback on the hotel & the wedding. As I discussed with your daughter that approached me on the night, we have a very high rating of food hygiene that will back up all the controls that we follow , so there are no outside kitchen objects found in the meals that we serve....

Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Real shame we stayed for new year eve room 15. Heating wasn't very warm room was freezing n draft coming through the window .. bed make noise it was uncomfortable .. tv n wifi was too slow .. room look need update we did enjoy dinner n breakfast was nice .. staff were very friendly

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank starayres
Reviewed 18 December 2016

The Horseshoe Inn is a nice building that needs a lot of money spending on it to bring it up to standards. The showers in most rooms dont work very well and are warm at best. The windows are rotten and have holes in the frames. Very noisy as situated next to the main road. The current management are rude...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Bernard B
poseygreen, Manager at The Horseshoe Inn, responded to this review

Dear Steve, We have had our correspondence back and forth for some time now. And yet I am truly stunned of your attempt to personally sabotage the name we all trying to rebuild. The attacks,however would not go without our chance to clear our name and give our side of what truly happened while you were staying with us at...

ROCHESTER KENT
Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

Thank you to everyone at the Horseshoe Inn for a lovely stay. They let us book in early because our room was available and they could not have been more welcoming. We visited friends for they day/ evening and came back when the place was closed. Had a lovely room and would definitely stay again. Breakfast (included in price) was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J9RochesterKent
Burgess Hill, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Booked this hotel as my wife stayed here earlier this year. Very good evening meal, I had pheasant and my wife had steak, both very tasty and good value. 2 decent beers on - harveys and hobgoblin. Breakfast good as well. Given the rating as we've stayed in more expensive places and they're nowhere near as good. Rooms OK as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 November 2016 via mobile

Popped in for drinks with a large group of friends. I didn't stay to eat so can't comment on food. Good facilities, plenty of space and areas that can be reserved. Some areas of the pub are dog friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lornathoma
Lewes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 November 2016

The only reason we didn't give a higher rating was,the lack of heating (the heating had broken down, but they put a heater in our room as soon we mentioned it was cold.) And the breakfast was cold because the waitress was preoccupied. If we had the attention we had in the evening it would have been outstanding. As a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Justine K

104 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (99)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herstmonceux
4.9 mi away
The Boship Lions Hotel
The Boship Lions Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lower Dicker
466 reviews
4.4 mi away
Priory Court Hotel
Priory Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pevensey
194 reviews
5.9 mi away
Premier Inn Eastbourne (Polegate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Premier Inn Eastbourne Town Centre Hotel
5.0 mi away
The Cooden Beach Hotel
The Cooden Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bexhill-on-Sea
786 reviews
9.9 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about The Horseshoe Inn

Address: Posey Green, Herstmonceux, Hailsham BN27 4RU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hailsham > Herstmonceux
Price Range: £44 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Horseshoe Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Horseshoe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Horseshoe Hotel Herstmonceux
The Horseshoe Inn Herstmonceux, East Sussex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Horseshoe Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
7 months ago
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
7 months ago
11 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Horseshoe Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Nothing to say”
 of 5 bubbles monty054, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The best room is room 2 in my experience”
 of 5 bubbles bernardb946, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“side rooms are quiet - ours was room 5.”
 of 5 bubbles MikeG692, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Try not to have a room near the bar on a busy night”
 of 5 bubbles 742justinek, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We did not stay at the hotel but rooms do look great”
 of 5 bubbles Italyinjune07, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5