We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bandarawela Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Bandarawela Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

338 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 233: English reviews
Hamburg
Reviewed 1 week ago

We went for dinner while staying in another hotel in the city. The athmosphere is great: very colonial. The servers wore old colonial uniforms. The service was friendly and fast. I had the pasta (okay) and my friends a burger (tasty but small). The price is totally okay for the food you get. You cannot estimate western standart regarding the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Banjo_Alina
Nipuni S, Manager at Bandarawela Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for visiting Bandarawela Hotel and for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to see that you have enjoyed the culinary experience offered at our hotel. We invite you to visit Bandarawela Hotel again and we assure you of superior services at all times. Yours Sincerely, Azmath Hamid, General Manager, Bandarawela Hotel,...

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Well maintained colonial style hotel with some lovely quirky "antique" pieces about the place. Rooms are basic but roomy, very much kept in their original style. Had the buffet here one evening and the food was good, the staff were very helpful and attentive.There is a lovely garden. The small town is very busy but not much to see apart...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaggieC100
Nipuni S, Manager at Bandarawela Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for visiting Bandarawela Hotel and for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to see that you have enjoyed the colonial experience offered at our hotel. We invite you to visit Bandarawela Hotel again and we assure you of superior services at all times. Yours Sincerely, Azmath Hamid, General Manager, Bandarawela Hotel,...

Basel, Switzerland
Reviewed 24 October 2016

The colonial style of this hotel is nice, however, I had to sleep on top of my bed sheets since the mattress was so dirty, which I could see through the thin bed sheets...I covered myself with a towel. They should put in a bit of work in their interior because the hotel would be nice with its lovely colonial...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chocaholic2112
Nipuni S, Manager at Bandarawela Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for visiting Bandarawela Hotel and for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to see that you have enjoyed the colonial experience offered at our hotel. Thank you very much for the suggestive comments given on uplifting the room amenities and we understand that we can improve only through our valued guests'...

Kegalle, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Very convenient place to stay if you are travelling around near by. Location vise the hotel is in the middle of the town. We had a different feeling through our stay as our most experiences are with rather modern type Though it is an old building no less of attraction because staff doing best to maintain the beauty and cleanliness....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ravinclifr
Nipuni S, Manager at Bandarawela Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for visiting Bandarawela Hotel and for sharing your experience with us. Thank you for all the positive endorsements as well as the suggestive comments given on the stay. We invite you to visit Bandarawela Hotel again and we assure you of superior services at all times. Yours Sincerely, Azmath Hamid, General Manager, Bandarawela...

Tilburg
Reviewed 29 September 2016

The Bandarawela hotel has quite some colonial charm. Little courtyards, pictures and decoration in colonial style added to this. The rooms were fine. Again in colonial style, which was cosy, but not that practical. For example, my boyfriend didn't fit in the bed (by far). Breakfast and dinner was very good! A mix of western and traditional food and well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meike R
Nipuni S, Manager at Bandarawela Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for visiting Bandarawela Hotel and for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to see that you have enjoyed the colonial experience offered at our hotel. Thank you very much for the suggestive comments given on uplifting the room amenities and we understand that we can improve only through our valued guests'...

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 20 September 2016

That was a average stay with does not expect with that type of hotel. Blankets are old and not nice in the room. there is no tea or coffee making facility at room. Buffet is with lack of choices and they served colorized tap water while dining. We were at the garden having a chat around 9.30 pm. and security...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Surendra G
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 15 September 2016

A step back in time to the colonial lifestyle of the 1900's. Stopped by on a tour for a lunch break. Tasty food in a charming setting. Staff were pleasant and efficient, lovely lunch break. Did not stay as a guest to be able to comment further

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fae0049
Nipuni S, Manager at Bandarawela Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the time devoted in posting a valuable feedback on TripAdvisor following your stay with us. We are much obliged to hear that you have enjoyed the warm hospitality of the staff and we will convey the applause to them. Please be sure to keep us informed when you're making your holiday plans again so...

Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

This is a wonderful nest of grand old British style situated in the city center of Bandarawela. Walking distance to railway, shops n restaurants. The place is very neat, clean and tidy. Great food. Friendly staff. I found the access road bit broken off. Recommend to stay, go for breakfast buffet n tea. So enjoy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chandana H
Nipuni S, Manager at Bandarawela Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We would like to thank you for your valuable feedback posted on TripAdvisor following your stay at Bandarawela Hotel and your time devoted to post same. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed the overall experience during your stay with us and your comments are inspiring. We surely will convey the applause on our service...

Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

It is located in the center of town with a grocery market right across the street an easy walk to burs or trains. The hotel is warm and comforting and the grounds are really lovely. They do not have a hot water pot in the rooms so I you want to make tea you need to order room service. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glenda S
Nipuni S, Manager at Bandarawela Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the time devoted in posting a valuable feedback on TripAdvisor following your stay with us. We are much obliged to hear that you have enjoyed the hotel and thank you for the given suggestive comments on adding hot water to rooms. Please be sure to keep us informed when you're making your holiday plans...

Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Definitely only 3 star facilities, but I hardly noticed as the atmosphere, charm and feeling of history is so overwhelming. Brass knobs on the bed, colonial pictures etc. PLEASE DO NOT MODERNISE! Comfortable bed and very quiet room. Food and bar was good, staff not evident, but no problems.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marion F
Nipuni S, Manager at Bandarawela Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the time devoted in posting a valuable feedback on TripAdvisor following your stay with us. We are pleased to see that you have liked the colonial atmosphere of the hotel and thank you for the given recommendations. Please be sure to keep us informed when you're making your holiday plans again so that we...

280 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (242)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (63)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandarawela
4.8 mi away
Ceylon Tea Bungalows
Ceylon Tea Bungalows
#2 of 5 in Bandarawela
14 reviews
5.7 mi away
98 Acres Resort
98 Acres Resort
#1 of 11 in Ella
1,094 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Orient Bandarawela
Hotel Orient Bandarawela
#3 of 5 in Bandarawela
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Mountain Heavens
6.1 mi away
Feelin'good Resort
Feelin'good Resort
#4 of 11 in Ella
176 reviews
1.0 mi away
No photo provided
The Rendezvous Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bandarawela
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Journey to the top of the world across a limitless mountain vista adorned by a green carpet of tea plants. Enter a long lost era through a portal of clouds and feel the kiss of mountain mist on your skin. Breathe the pristine mountain air and let your soul be rejuvenated. Gaze upon the dream scape of Bandarawela. Reside at the Bandarawela Hotel, and live for a while in a land of strawberries, pears and tea.The hotel has 33 colonial rooms with great views of tea plantations. All the bathrooms come with bathtubs and hot water. Each bathroom is supplied with all requirements. The rooms provide TVs with local channels and telephone with international direct dialing. Our rooms are wheel chair accessible. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bandarawela Hotel

Address: No. 14 Welimada Road, Bandarawela 90100, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Bandarawela
Price Range: £50 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bandarawela Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Bandarawela Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bandarawela Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
3 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Bandarawela Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you like an old style cottage experience then this is for you”
 of 5 bubbles samona2016, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms are closer to the hall. some rooms have LCD TVs. Take movies with you if you have small children.”
 of 5 bubbles ruwanthif2015, 23 May 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are mor or less the same but down stair rooms are more convenient.”
 of 5 bubbles chaturanga150, 28 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you get no room nearby the bar or reception! Everyone passes there and when there are locals staying in the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 109stefa, 22 Jan 2016 | Read review
“There is no good view of the rooms we stayed. The front raw may have view but was not avaialble for us. No comment.”
 of 5 bubbles Lakpura2015, 17 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay