We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cabanas El Rucio

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penuelas
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Cabanas El Rucio
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

16 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 13: English reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

It was very cleaned and relaxing. We had and amazing night staying at the cabin. We definately hope to stay here again soon. Definately recommend this place 100%. It has everything you need to relax and have fun with your friends and family. If you are looking to disconnect from the technology and just relax, spend time and bond with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle111521
Reviewed 20 December 2014 via mobile

I love to hike and being able to hike up the mountain and see the Caribbean Sea was the highlight of my trip! Not to mention fresh fruit to be picked like oranges and bananas while we hiked gave us the extra energy with such a tranquil feeling!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carlos R
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewed 30 September 2014

My husband and I visited in July 2014. We thoroughly enjoyed our time there. The 1 br cabin was adequate with a kitchen, bath, and bedroom. Nothing fancy but that was fine with us. The land is beautiful with an abundance of tropical vegetation. The mangoes and bananas were ripe and abundant. This is a wonderful get-away from the big...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RC-RC07
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

Usually I go in November but I heard it was mango season in June. Mangos were delicious, ripe and very sweet. I really wished I could of filled luggage with them. Also ate a fresh guanabana which I have never seen tasted before. Our hostess was friendly and very helpful. She would check up on us to see if we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Erica I
New York, New York, United States
Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

Had a great time. Spent a week in one of the newly constructed cabin. It was great. I travel with my private chef (mom) and she had everything she needed on site for whipping up amazing meals with platanos, breadfruit, bannanas, lemongrass and all sorts of things growin right there within our reach. Tons of great beaches are nearby. As...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kihani B
Carlisle
Reviewed 18 April 2013

If you want to rough it in the country, one step up from camping, then this place might be for you. Armando is very friendly, and will describe the fruit trees, and you can learn about life in the country. However, the website’s description statement of being able of pick fruit for your breakfast, was not quite accurate, since none...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather886
Armandopacheco, Manager at Cabanas El Rucio, responded to this review

Thank you for being with us. You rented the most economical of our cabins which cost you only $60. including taxes for 3 beds and a kitchen. You had rented 2 nights and then you canceled one. We have upscale cabins with AC and Direct TV. You arrived at our place at 5pm. If you wanted a tour of the...

Brooklyn, New York, United States
Reviewed 6 April 2013

I've been to Cabanas several times and Im very happy to say I will be going there again in June I was very happy to eat fresh oranges every day ( which I sometimes picked by myself) as well as plantains. The fresh crisp air of the mountains is a treat -especially for us "city folks"-not to mention the breath...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erica I
New York, New York, United States
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I just booked my flight to Ponce for June and I will be staying at El Rucio. I absolutely love this place. It's not fancy- it's like summer camp for grown ups! I'm Dominican so the fact that a VARIETY of platanos are grown on site and I can cook and eat as many as I want, makes this a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kihani B
Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2013

I am sad to say that our experience at the Cabanas El Rucio was just like baltofed's a few days earlier. The place looked like a derelict trailer park. We arrived earlier in the afternoon than we had intended. There was no-one available although loud music was coming from one of the cabanas. We phoned the caretaker but there was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JW10050
Armandopacheco, Manager at Cabanas El Rucio, responded to this review

This client arrived at our place 5 hours before the check in time that we had agreed upon. We were finishing cleaning up their cabin because another client had checked out 30 minutes before. That client was there for 5 days and he never complained of any dirtiness or animal dropping. The attendant had gone to her house which is...

Baltimore
Reviewed 15 February 2013 via mobile

A shower without a showerhead. Property marred by eyesores like a tipped-over fridge filled with dirt and weeds. A mattress covered in cheap plastic, so that it made crunching noises anytime I moved. A caretaker who was supposed to introduce herself to me the morning after I arrived, but didn't (even though I waited for her until 10am.) She didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank baltofed
Armandopacheco, Manager at Cabanas El Rucio, responded to this review

We did all we could for this client. We upgraded her from a $50 per night room to a $70 per night villa withour charging her any extra money. We gave her the same blankets that we give every customer. We didn't want to enter her room because she was by herself and she wasn't amicable. Common sense told us...

16 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penuelas
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino
6.9 mi away
Hotel Melia Ponce
Hotel Melia Ponce
#6 of 7 in Ponce
418 reviews
9.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Hotel Parador Guanica 1929
6.4 mi away
Parador Villas Sotomayor
7.4 mi away
Costa Bahia Hotel & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a heaven for nature lovers located in a 50 acres farm surrounded by other farms. You may swim at the Tallaboa River surrounding our property. All you see is green all over. Walk on our trails to the top of Central Mountain Range of Puerto Rico from where you can admire the beauty of the Caribbean Sea, which is only 10 miles away. Ponce Airport is only 25 minutes from our entrance. We will cure your stress. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cabanas El Rucio

Address: Carretera 391 | Barrio Rucio, Sector La Haya, Penuelas 00624, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Penuelas
Price Range: £32 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Cabanas El Rucio Hotel Penuelas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cabanas El Rucio staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Cabanas El Rucio staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They all good”
 of 5 bubbles madellines, 4 Jun 2012 | Read review
1 of 1