We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Paternoster Cottages

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Paternoster Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

57 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 55: English reviews
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 24 October 2016

We booked Paternoster cottages from hotels.com, and the lack of communication from the cottages company is ridiculous. From the booking it seemed that the company (hotel/resort etc) was called "Paternoster Cottages", yet we drove around in circles and could not find the place. eventually we stopped on the correct road and just called the number on the booking. Turns out,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jessjohn89
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Paternoster Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear about your experience. We will follow up with Hotels.Com as to why directions and information was not sent to you before arrival. Our collective name for our selection of cottages is the Paternoster Cottages, and it is thus explained on our official website. We also advertise on our website that...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 6 September 2016

When we arrived in Paternoster we were immediately warned by several different people about the crime rate, this instantly put my family and I on edge. We arrived at our beautiful sea side cottage, a stones-throw from the beach, we were very excited and eager to get the weekend started. However, almost every hour, random people walked up to our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Estherfil
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Paternoster Cottages, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant stay and chose to rate our facilities poorly because of this. We take feedback regarding crime very seriously and have put several precautions and facilities in place to secure the safety of our guests. We are sorry that this inconvenienced you and that you will not be visiting our town...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 2 April 2016 via mobile

So so sad that such a beautiful town has become such a hot spot for crime. We recently visited on our honeymoon and our car got broken into, just to find out from the police on Vredenburg that a woman was held at gun point that same morning and 10 other cars were broken into. When we told the rental...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AmyVer
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Paternoster Cottages, responded to this review

We're truly sorry to hear about your unfortunate experience during your honeymoon. We take our guests' safety very seriously and have several security measures in place including alarm systems and security guards patrolling at night. We will investigate additional security measures to further improve the safety and security of our guests.

Reviewed 13 March 2016 via mobile

Crime in this little West Coast town is terrible. You just cannot relax worse than in the city. We planned to stay for a week but returned after day 2, could not keep up protecting out property and our selves. Sad that this is the way a really previous pleasant destination is going down.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MariusRoux
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Paternoster Cottages, responded to this review

Dear MariusRoux, we are truly sorry to hear about your experience and that you decided to cut your stay short. Although there has been some cases of pilfering in the past, we have several security measures in place for our guests' safety. We have equipped all of our cottages with alarm systems and also have security guards patrolling at night....

Gordon's Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 3 March 2016

An expensive stay for what you get. The rustic look works, but only so far. The place was dirty and there was no sign of the room being serviced. There was litter in the yard and there was dog mess on the lawn. With a little more care it could be value for money. I also had a flooding problem...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo' V
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Paternoster Cottages, responded to this review

We thank you for your review. All our units are serviced before guests check in. We will investigate your feedback with our housekeeping team. Although the shower in Kliphuisie is an open shower, minimal water splashing is to be expected, which should be minimized by the glass wall that is in front of the shower separating it from the rest...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 11 January 2016

Decided to take my wife away for her birthday and found this jewel on the west coast. Paternoster is an old (working) seaside village. We stayed in Seaside Cottage 2. Two bed 2 bath with lounge, kitchen, scullery with dishwasher, even a guest loo! It was awesome, gorgeous sheets and towels, really good kitchenware and even spa bath toiletries. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KelvinPillay
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Paternoster Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Kelvin Pillay, we thank you for your pleasant review of your recent stay at Seaside Cottage 2. We take our guests' comfort very seriously and are happy to hear that you enjoyed the small touches to make your stay even more comfortable. We are truly sorry that you were inconvenienced by local youths during your stay in the parking...

Pretoria
Reviewed 5 October 2015

It was a wonderful cottage to stay. I loved it! There was security guard provided Thank you very much The view is unbelievable and it's is a short stroll down to beach. We were looked after. Thank you

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bernice J
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Paternoster Cottages, responded to this review

We're happy to read that you had a memorable experience in Paternoster. Thank you for sharing your review with us on Trip Advisor. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 19 September 2015

As is fitting for a seaside cottage, everything is white – whitewashed walls, cream-painted concrete floors, white painted ceiling beams, faux-antique off-white cupboards and dresser, crisp white bedlinen. It feels like a gentrified fisherman’s cottage, stylishly renovated to as to tastefully blend traditional and modern. For instance, there is an old-style deep bath but with a mixer tap and pop-up...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dromedaryman
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Paternoster Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about the Seaside Cottages on Trip Advisor. These units, which form part of our Paternoster Cottages collection, is owned and managed by South of Africa. The 5-star Abalone House & Spa is part of the South of Africa portfolio, therefore welcoming all our guests to check in here. We're delighted and humbled...

Reviewed 21 July 2015 via mobile

My boyfriend and I visited paternoster this weekend and stayed in one of the paternoster cottages known as Kliphuisie. We had an amazing time but were a bit disappointed with what was called a reserved parking, it was just the drive way and the gate was broken so we couldn't even close the gate. The shower, as gorgeous as the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Britt_SmithCT
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Paternoster Cottages, responded to this review

We thank you for your review and take note of your comments regarding the issues you have experienced with the shower and the unit's gate. We will attend to this immediately. We are sorry that you had been disturbed during your stay. We will bring this to the attention of our security patrol team. We look forward to welcoming you...

Reviewed 25 May 2015

Lovely views and good appointment, quaint interior, but just not measuring up to expectations. Admittedly, we did go in winter, which may not be the best season for this cottage. Checking in was quite a complicated process. There was so little wood supplied (as advertised ) that is was not even worth making a fire. Little things such as that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JojiThn
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Paternoster Cottages, responded to this review

We value your feedback and take note of your comments regarding the wood, however we wish to refer you to our welcome letter where we inform guests that we only provide a start up kit for the fireplace and do not supply guests with wood. The sliding door problems you experienced might have been due to the weather where the...

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paternoster hotels
0.8 mi away
Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Baywatch Villa Collection
Baywatch Villa Collection
#4 of 15 in Paternoster
78 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Baleine Paternoster
La Baleine Paternoster
#2 of 15 in Paternoster
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Nieuview
Nieuview
#1 of 15 in Paternoster
155 reviews
0.7 mi away
SA West Coast & Beyond
SA West Coast & Beyond
#5 of 15 in Paternoster
50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paternoster Dunes Boutique Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Whether you're a tourist or traveling on business, the small selection of Paternoster Cottages is a great choice for accommodation when visiting the beautiful West Coast town Paternoster. Each of the five units boast a convenient proximity to the beach, with Seaside Cottage 1 and 2 overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, and Kliphuisie and Oppidraai A and B being within walking distance of the neverending beaches. The facilities and services provided by the Paternoster Cottages ensure a pleasant stay for guests. The two Seaside Cottages each sleeps four guests and boasts a sea-facing infinity rim-flowing pool. The quaint Kliphuisie is a rustic one bedroom fisherman's cottage in the heart of the village and offers a cultural experience. Oppidraai A sleeps six guests while Oppidraai B sleeps four. Oppidraai B also offers delightful sea views. Each of the cottages also offer numerous on-site facilities to satisfy even the most discerning guest. All guest accommodations feature thoughtful amenities to ensure an unparalleled sense of comfort. The cottages offer fantastic facilities, including quaint seaside garden, to help you unwind after an action-packed day in the city. Whatever your reason for visiting, the five Paternoster Cottages are the perfect escape-to destinations for an exhilarating and exciting break away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Paternoster Cottages

Address: Sonkwas Road | St Augustine Road, Paternoster 7381, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Paternoster
Price Range: £51 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paternoster Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Paternoster Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Paternoster Cottages staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Johannesburg, South Africa
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Paternoster Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rather pick somewhere else that is an actual hotel or cluster of chalets, just for safety assurance.”
 of 5 bubbles jessjohn89, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you want real peace and quiet this is the place to be.”
 of 5 bubbles 528jov, 3 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Choose Cottage 1, it is away from the parking lot and has a lock up garage. Cottage 2 still fantastic though.”
  • View from bedroom
 of 5 bubbles KelvinPillay, 11 Jan 2016 | Read review
“good views, central, close to beach”
 of 5 bubbles Whittlers_HB, 17 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Pick the Seaside Cottages as it has the view dreams are made of, with enough sophisticated style to keep it modern and chic.”
 of 5 bubbles ayeshatoyer, 15 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay