We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Severin Sea Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Severin Sea Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

484 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 324: English reviews
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

It was an amazing time spent at the facility. From checking in to departure, my family enjoyed every bit of it. The staff demonstrated a very high degree of etiquette that was very welcoming. Taking a stroll along the well secured beach-line after a well prepared breakfast was amazing. Keep up the good job. Won't hesitate coming back. Gerald M.

Helpful?
Thank gkariu
Severin_Kenya, Geschäftsführer at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Jambo dear Gkari, Thanks a lot for your amazing review about our Severin Sea Lodge. We will pass your comments to our colleagues and are looking forward to welcoming again in our hotel. James Owiti Resident Manager More 

Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel lawns are beautiful and and the staff are very friendly. The buffet break fast have great variety and the meals well prepared. There are the cottage rooms which I didn't care much for but they have a new wing with very modern rooms.

Helpful?
2 Thank kat n
Severin_Kenya, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear kat n, Thanks a lot for writing this posivite review on our Severin Sea Lodge here on Tripadvisor. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and will be happy to welcome you again soon! Best regards James Boho Guest Relations Manager More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great customer service. I once failed to lock my valuables (Laptop, cameras, debit cards, passport, jewelry and cash in the safe, When I came back, I found a note notifying me that I forgot to lock my safe. They had recorded everything they found in the safe and gave me and told me to confirm that everything was ok. Sure... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brie M
Severin_Kenya, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Brie M, Thanks a lot for taking your time to write such a great review here on Tripadvisor. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Bamburi Beach so much and that you were so satisfied with our service. We would be glad to welcome you here again soon! Best regards James Boho Guest Relations... More 

Mombasa, Coast, Kenya
Level Contributor
15 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Nice quite place away from the buzz of the busy town. Located in a peaceful area with the Neptune beach nearby with its broad shores stretching to give a wonderful jogging pitch and a nice place for a morning run/hike.

Helpful?
Thank DestinySafaris
Severin_Kenya, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Destiny, We were happy to read your nice review about our Severin Sea Lodge. Great that you enjoyed your stay with us. You are right, it is a great place for relaxing but also for sports and activities. At the moment we are running our theme weeks, for example cooking or coffee and tea week. From January on we... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2016

The hotel is perfectly situated on right on the beach and bungalows have a superb sea view. The rooms were mostly clean though for the price I expected a bit better and on top of that they seemed a bit run down. Also they forgot to pick me up from the airport, though they reimbursed me the taxi cost later... More 

Helpful?
Thank Edrin K
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Edrin K, Thanks a lot for your review here on Tripadvisor and that you're not too angry regarding the transfer. I once again want to apologize for the inconveniences as we normally take great care of these things and service overall. But I'm happy to hear that you nevertheless enjoyed your stay here with us at Bamburi Beach. We... More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Stayed here for 11 nights and we just loved it! Peaceful "old school" hotel with super staff. From welcoming to check-out everything went smoothly. Stayed in a Karibu class bungalow right by the pool. The room was clean and nice. We had full board and the food was very nice with variation from Kenyan and Italian buffet to a la... More 

Helpful?
Thank 885katris
Severin_Kenya, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Katris, Thank a lot for your positive review about our Severin Sea Lodge. Our team is looking forward to welcoming you again at Bamburi Beach! Kwah Heri – see you in Kenya. James Boho Guest Relations Manager More 

London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Again Severin and it's staff did not fail to disappoint me. The staff were their usual welcoming, helpful and friendly selves - a few new faces on the team. The room was clean and everything worked fine for me. Housekeeping was done everyday - I had clean towels, water and the room was nice and tidy when I returned from... More 

Helpful?
Thank travelbeehappy
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Travelbeehappy, „Asante Sana“ & thank you not only for your positive comments but also for returning again to our Severin Sea Lodge. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us again and are looking forward to welcoming you with a big “Jambo” again soon. James Owiti Resident Manager More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2016

I would have rather stayed in a hostel than this hotel- at least I would receive friendly service. Upon checking in, the staff were pleasant. However, once in our room we noticed several things. The furnishings are old and in poor condition. I understand many Africa hotels have dated furnishings but they are usually taken care of and are in... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank NoExcuses_TravelOn
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear NoExcusses_TravelOn, Thanks for your valuable review which we would like to comment as follows: We are sorry that you were not happy with your room, please note that you booked our low cost room which are not equipped with rain shower or bathrobes. Those are the rooms in the Comfort Class. If you would have let us know we... More 

Camborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2016

If this review was done on first impressions it wouldn't get any stars. We arrived at an empty reception yet it still took over half an hour to check us in. After check in we we had two porters to show us to our rooms. What a laughable experience! They had absolutely no idea where they were going and eventually... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SiBaker64
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear SiBaker64, Thanks a lot for your positive comments regarding our Severin Sea Lodge, in particular about our food and service. We would also like to thank you for your valuable comments regarding your experience during check in. We will follow this up with our Front Office Manager. We have also taken note about your comments regarding housekeeping and will... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

Value for money. At an amazing place. Nice staff and perfect rooms. The kitchen and the food is wonderful. It's the best at Bamburi beach. 2 nice pools and a great bar. The beach direct ro the compound is sugar white. The ocean is warm and save. A place you have to visit.

Helpful?
Thank Ron t
Severin_Kenya, Manager at Severin Sea Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Ron t, Thanks a lot for your positive comments about our Severin Sea Lodge. Great that you liked everything from service and rooms to food and beach. We would be happy to welcome you again with a big “KARIBU” here at Severin Sea Lodge. James Owiti Resident Manager More 

488 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (447)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (110)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (88)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (146)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburi
0.2 mi away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
320 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#9 of 14 in Bamburi
111 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#10 of 58 in Mombasa
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Reef Hotel
Reef Hotel
#15 of 58 in Mombasa
364 reviews
3.7 mi away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#1 of 58 in Mombasa
2,774 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
GPS Koordinaten: 3 59 13 Sud, 39 44 21 Ost ... more   less 

Additional Information about Severin Sea Lodge

Address: Bamburi Beach, Malindi Road, Bamburi, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Bamburi
Price Range: £76 - £420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Severin Sea Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HRS, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Severin Sea Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Severin Sea Hotel Bamburi
Severin Sea Bamburi
Severin Sea Lodge Kenya/Bamburi
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bamburi
#2 Spa Hotel in Bamburi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Severin Sea Lodge staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Severin Sea Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose cottages. They have a great sea view. They are also quiet”
 of 5 bubbles briem35, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the sea were wonderful to me. The smell of the sea is refreshing.”
 of 5 bubbles DestinySafaris, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“As for a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles travelbeehappy, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The nearer the beach you can get, the more stunning the views of the Indian Ocean.”
 of 5 bubbles PhilipMHenlow_UK, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a beach view room closer to neptune resort away from the other resort”
 of 5 bubbles , 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay