We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Strand Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Strand Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

297 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Strand Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 296: English reviews
Wicklow
Reviewed 15 September 2014 via mobile

I wish I had read some reviews first. Food was quite good but service was slow and the place needs a real clean. Grubby, cobwebs, dusty. Far too expensive for what you get. It's like no one has any experience in catering or hospitality- front door of pub is closed,I've never seen this unless the pub IS closed. Container over...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank manflick
clifdenfoyle, Owner at The Strand Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. And I'm glad you enjoyed the food, the service you said is slow but we cook everything to order from scratch so it takes a little longer so apologies the waiting staff should of informed you. As regards the front door being closed, if we were to leave it open...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Dirty, lots of flies. Crap over priced food and the Guinness was really bad. Service woeful. They have a passing trade so they don't mind much. Windows could do with a clean as could the tables floor and everything else.

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank RogerMaguire
clifdenfoyle, Owner at The Strand Inn, responded to this review

Thanks Roger for taking the time to write a review, I see from your previous reviews your a hard man to please since you seems to slate everywhere you've ever been and reviewed 3 places yet I'm surprised you actually have the time to write reviews your so busy travelling 54 cities in 18 countries in the last year, you...

Reviewed 1 September 2014

we went to the Strand to have a meal. We were in the building for 15 min while two overworked staff were hurrying around. no one came to us to seat us. there were a good few empty tables. No one even acknowledged we were there. Cannot comment on the food. Needless to say we wont be back. The owners...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Aiden C
clifdenfoyle, Owner at The Strand Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, I'm sorry nobody seated ,but just to clarify we don't have a Maitre'd in the bar, you just grab a table if there is one free and then one of our staff would then look after you.

Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here this year for 4 nights over the Bluegrass festival weekend. What an excellent decision it was. Our family room was lovely, cleaned/restocked every day and fresh clean towels provided daily. Breakfast was exactly what we needed and the choice was great. Whatever we needed was served up with a friendly smile. The people are lovely and always...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suemo69
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Visited the Strand twice & the first visit was good'ish. Waited a long time for our food, what we got was nice but the wait & inexperienced staff was a bit of a turn off but we said we would give it another chance. 2nd visit was a disaster, the food took extradordinarly long time to get,delivered in dribs &...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank JaneyRyan
Waterford, Ireland
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Ate here with my parents for evening dinner and it divine! We had the fish pie and it was so delicious! There was a great selection on the menu for all courses! The view is pretty speculator too!! Very nice and friendly staff. Highly recommend for decent home cooked food!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LittleMissMalibu_12
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Located in Dunmore East, the Strand has to have the best location in the tiny lower village. It has a large, paved outside area which is directly above the pretty cove and opposite a cluster of quaint, thatched cottages. It feels just as it should feel - a meeting place of families, friends and tourists who are treated as friends....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AnnePelleschi
Haarlem
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

The strand inn is a cool and buzxing place. Many people from waterford come over for drinks and music on the beach. Great place good rooms great balcony with an excellent view over the beach and the bay. We would have stayed longer but they were fully booked.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MacEdward
Newry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Nice Inn, pretty decent food but don't expect sleep. There was Live music outside both nights we were there. The noise of this plus the noise from the bar below went on until nearly 4 o'clock in the morning. If the music had have been inside it would not have made any difference.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank IaFI
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed here during the August bank holiday weekend; the rooms are delightful, airy and clean with excellent interior decorating. The outside area is spacious with music in the evenings, ideal spot for a glass of wine looking out onto the ocean. We went for a meal in the restaurant, the food was very good quality but the only complaint...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sinead c

96 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (91)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunmore East
7.3 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
6.5 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#10 of 12 in Waterford
459 reviews
7.2 mi away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Arthurstown
632 reviews
8.6 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,055 reviews
24.6 mi away
Gold Coast Golf Resort
Gold Coast Golf Resort
#2 of 3 in Dungarvan
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Strand Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We liked the room with a deck located upstairs and facing the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles Caige, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Overlooking sea”
 of 5 bubbles clarelor, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Not rooms 5 or 6, as they are above the noisy bar door.”
 of 5 bubbles martinwA6799AG, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 18 looks over the sea. Rooms 2 and 3 have balconies and you can sit out. Located over the bar though!”
 of 5 bubbles clontarf, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you request a quite room f you don't want to feel you are sleeping in the bar”
 of 5 bubbles eimearg785, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5