We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Parador de Villafranca del Bierzo

PricelineUS$117*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Parador de Villafranca del Bierzo
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

291 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Parador de Villafranca del Bierzo
See the most recent reviews
Showing 49: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 27 May 2016

We had an easy walk from Ponferrada and arrived a little bit early but there was no problem in letting us into our room. We enjoyed the comfortable lounge while the room was made ready. Our room was very comfortable and had a nice bathroom. As several others have noted the wifi was not working. I went to the main...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DemonJohn
ParadordeVillafranca, Gerente at Parador de Villafranca del Bierzo, responded to this review

Dear dEMONjOHN, Thanks so much for sharing your experience with us, we are so happy to read your comments and check that your experience in the Parador has been satisfactory, we hope to meet you again in a near future in the Parador. Best regards Ana Domínguez

Reviewed 26 May 2016 via mobile

Our stay required an additional, unexpected night when my wife required health attention. The staff were outstanding. Luis at the front helped arrange many details. Rosa helped with many needs in the room. All of this additional attention and service was accomplished without any fuss or difficulty. I have stayed at many hotels across the US and never received such...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paul g
ParadordeVillafranca, Gerente at Parador de Villafranca del Bierzo, responded to this review

Dear PAUL G, Thanks so much for sharing your experience with us, we are so happy to read your comments and check that your experience in the Parador has been satisfactory, we hope to meet you again in a near future in the Parador. Best regards Ana Domínguez

Northampton
Reviewed 23 May 2016 via mobile

To be fair this is a really nice hotel - if I stayed here on business I'd be delighted but as part of a touring holiday in Northern Spain which included other Paradores and hotels with character this was just a bit modern and soulless. However I only have myself to blame as I booked it and mistook it's description...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HelenMNorthampton
ParadordeVillafranca, Gerente at Parador de Villafranca del Bierzo, responded to this review

Dear HelenMNrthampton, Thanks so much for sharing your experience with us, we are so happy to read your comments and check that your experience in the Parador has been satisfactory, we hope to meet you again in a near future in the Parador. Best regards Ana Domínguez

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

Great place to stay after 23 days of walking from St. Jean Pied de port to Villafranca. Good location, breakfast and staff. Location - great Room- spacious with mountain views Staff - good, front desk can be better but good Service- excellent Breakfast - excellent and great service. She was very attentive to my needs

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aris D
ParadordeVillafranca, Gerente at Parador de Villafranca del Bierzo, responded to this review

Dear Aris D, Thanks so much for sharing your experience with us, we are so happy to read your comments and check that your experience in the Parador has been satisfactory, we hope to meet you again in a near future in the Parador. Best regards Ana Domínguez

kildare
Reviewed 4 May 2016

Stayed here at the end of our Camino, good price for a double room and it was very clean, quiet and confortable. The hotel had all the facilities that you would expect but while it advertised WiFi it didnt work. I did ask the receptionist and was advised that they wereaware there was a problem and it was intermittent but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brianaib101
ParadordeVillafranca, Gerente at Parador de Villafranca del Bierzo, responded to this review

Dear Brianaib101, Thanks so much for sharing your experience with us, we are so sorry to read that your experience in the Parador has not been as good as we desired for our clients. The wifi used to work perfect in the Parador but we are trying to know what happened during your stay. Best regards Ana Domínguez

Nauheim, Germany
Reviewed 13 December 2015

The Parador in Villafranca is a bit out of town, but easy walking to the town center. Check-in went well with not problems. The rooms we got were very spacious as was the bathrooms. Everything was clean. We liked to stay for longer here. As it was already October, the outside pool could no longer be used. The breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Always_0n_trip
ParadordeVillafranca, Gerente at Parador de Villafranca del Bierzo, responded to this review

Dear Always_On, Thanks so much for sharing your experience with us, we are so happy to read your comments and check that your experience in the Parador has been satisfactory, we hope to meet you again in a near future in the Parador. We wish you a merry Christmas and a very happy new year accompanied by Paradores Best regards...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 28 October 2015

The hotel is modern and different from the other paradores in historic buildings. The room we had was very spacious, comfortable, clean and quiet. The staff was very friendly. It is very close to the town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank seasonedvisitor
ParadordeVillafranca, Gerente at Parador de Villafranca del Bierzo, responded to this review

Dear seasonedvisitor, thanks so much for sharing your experience with us, we are so happy to read your comments and check that your experience in the Parador has been satisfactory, we hope to meet you again in a near future in the Parador. Best regards Ana Domínguez

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 27 September 2015 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful probably the nicest we've stayed in whilst doing the Camino de Santiago. The only problem was the service, both the reception and restaurant staff could do with a refresher in customer service. The food was also quite disappointing. I was with 22 other people and the food choices for the 2 nights were bizarre to say...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
ParadordeVillafranca, Gerente at Parador de Villafranca del Bierzo, responded to this review

Dear Sharon B. First of all we would like to express our sincere regret that your visit to this Parador was not altogether satisfactory and we grateful for the useful comments you sent after your stay, since your comments help us to improve the service we offer to our clients. I have forwared your comments to each departament of the...

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2015 via mobile

Chef even made me a vegan meal once asked - so very nice of him!!! Hard to eat vegan out here but he did a lovely pasta and vegetables sauce. Lovely helpful waiter too. So accommodating! Would visit again if in the area. Pretty little town too for a nice wonder although it did rain!! Not good down calle agua!!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MissClaireRose
ParadordeVillafranca, Gerente at Parador de Villafranca del Bierzo, responded to this review

Dear MissClair... Thanks so much for sharing your experience with us, we are so happy to read your comments and check that your experience in the Parador has been satisfactory, we hope to meet you again in a near future in the Parador. Best regards Ana Domínguez

Oswestry
Reviewed 9 September 2015

This is just a very nice, modern hotel, nothing wrong with it but nothing special either and grossly overpriced for what it is. The place is spacious and very clean, the suite we had was spacious and well appointed, breakfast was OK, again nothing wrong just nothing special but their restaurant menu was decidedly uninspiring. The ‘pilgrims’ menu section was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FoodieOswestry
ParadordeVillafranca, Gerente at Parador de Villafranca del Bierzo, responded to this review
Google Translation

Estimado FoodieOswestry, Gracias por compartir su opinión acerca del Parador de Villafranca del Bierzo, lamentamos que su estancia no haya...

91 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (56)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villafranca del Bierzo
1.5 mi away
Villa Mencia
Villa Mencia
#1 of 1 in Corullon
103 reviews
12.3 mi away
AC Hotel Ponferrada
AC Hotel Ponferrada
#2 of 15 in Ponferrada
237 reviews
0.3 mi away
San Francisco
San Francisco
#2 of 2 in Villafranca del Bierzo
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Hotel el Castillo
Hotel el Castillo
#1 of 15 in Ponferrada
248 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ctr Ambasmestas
Ctr Ambasmestas
#1 of 1 in Ambasmestas
65 reviews
0.4 mi away
Las Donas del Portazgo
Las Donas del Portazgo
#2 of 11 in Villafranca del Bierzo
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Parador de Villafranca del Bierzo

Address: Avenida Calvo Sotelo 28, 24500 Villafranca del Bierzo, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Leon > Villafranca del Bierzo
Price Range: £57 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Villafranca del Bierzo 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Parador de Villafranca del Bierzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Parador de Villafranca del Bierzo staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Parador de Villafranca del Bierzo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose another hotel”
aligastro, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Stay in Santiago de Compostela!”
FoodieOswestry, 9 Sep 2015 | Read review
“We stayed in room 213 - a suite on the second floor with a nice view. Comfy living room area and bedroom.”
  • The bedroom area of the junior suite
  • The bathroom
  • The junior suite on the second floor
JKS55, 29 Apr 2015 | Read review
“The rooms looking down the hill had great views. Ask for one on an upper floor.”
95stevew95, 25 May 2013 | Read review
4 of 4
Priceline
US$117* /night
View Deal
CancelonUS$127
Booking.comUS$117
Expedia.comUS$117
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates