We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Hotel Rural Las Calas

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Rural Las Calas
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

151 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 54: English reviews
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Nice room and nice looking century old manor house, with plenty space to chill out ouside The pool is more like a huge bath! Far too small to swim in it or even play. The staff was efficient but we did not feel welcomed as guest, but just customers. The food was poor, and not authentic.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Laurent P
LasCalas, Director General at Hotel Rural Las Calas, responded to this review

Dear Mr Laurent, Thank you for your comment. We always want to improve from the guest comments. Our apologies if you did not feel as a guest in your stay. We always want our guests feel like home. Our dinner is a homemade menu, a 1st and a 2nd main course plus a dessert. Typical and traditional food from the...

Cumbria
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Nice quaint place to stay, no aircon in rooms but at least a fan was provided, TV also in room. An old farmhouse converted into a hotel. Breakfast was continental style and adequate. Free Wifi is provided but speed is up and down but ok for basic needs. The hotel is 3,000 feet above sea level and 10 minutes away...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnnydontdoit
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

To celebrate my wife's major birthday we booked for 4 nights but we're so impressed we extended for another three. We stayed in a Junior Suite which was spacious, comfortable beds, well-appointed bathroom with double sinks, mini-bar fridge and two large armchairs. We were welcomed by Indira on arrival who immediately helped me take our luggage to the suite. As...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barrie997
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed there with colleagues. The weather was bad, but we enjoyed the stay. The each room was with different story and during the stay you can feel the soul of the house. It's unique and with attitude. I liked the host, she was open to our questions and suggested us the dining places. also there was a possibility to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Indra V
Beneden-Leeuwen, The Netherlands
Reviewed 27 March 2016

The hotel is really a lovely place to stay! Different from other places, with its own caracter. Beautiful garden with swimmingpool a "salon" with a small bar, comfortabel chairs and an open fire guest can use for free. Staff very friendly, good food. We were there because we made a great walking holiday.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erika v
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 March 2016

We stayed here as part of a walking holiday. Lovely gardens with swimming pool ( too cool in March). We stayed in a Junior suite which was spacious, clean and very nice. Bathroom with hot shower. Bed comfortable with plenty of pillows. Dinner was a set menu. Simple home cooking but enjoyable. Selection of wines, very drinkable. Dinner starts at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marge W
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 28 February 2016 via mobile

Beautiful place, nice garden, very pleasant room, friiendly staff and good kitchen for breakfast and eveningmeal! No bus in the neighbourhood but easily to reach by taxi. Much information available for walking trips

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adamline
Gjovik, Norway
Reviewed 8 February 2016

We have an apartment in Puerto Rico and we wantet to explore fjerne nothern and central part of the island.We have problems to go om feet, but we ovn A car and had som nic trips to Teror and Firgas. We had a dog with us and that was no problem. Nice staff, god food. We stayed for 2 days

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria Sips K
Tromso, Norway
Reviewed 30 December 2015

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of a hiking trip across Gran Canaria. It is a small rural hotel up in the hills, very quiet, with large rooms around an enclosed garden. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast is simple but fresh and good. There is a room with seats around a woodfire...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Corine D
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed 20 December 2015

We started our hiking trip here, and there couldn't have been a better place. The room was gorgeous with a lovely balcony. Food and Service were first class. Meeting other hikers, who had done a similar tour ending here, helped a lot.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doerte F

132 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (98)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vega de San Mateo
3.0 mi away
Hotel El Refugio
Hotel El Refugio
#2 of 4 in Tejeda
126 reviews
11.9 mi away
Hotel Roca Negra
Hotel Roca Negra
#1 of 8 in Agaete
615 reviews
14.1 mi away
La Aldea Suites Hotel
La Aldea Suites Hotel
#1 of 1 in San Nicolas
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hotel Rural El Mondalon
Hotel Rural El Mondalon
#1 of 1 in Marzagan
110 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Escuela Santa Brigida
Hotel Escuela Santa Brigida
#1 of 7 in Santa Brigida
129 reviews
11.9 mi away
Hotel El Cabo
Hotel El Cabo
#2 of 8 in Agaete
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled high in the heart of Gran Canaria’s rugged mountains is the tiny hamlet of La Lechuza, and here you will find Hotel Rural Las Calas – once a 19th century manor house, now a cosy country inn. Renovated in 1999, the inn is a comfortable mix of traditional Spanish furnishing and African flair, with rooms built around a verdant central garden. Nature lovers will be pleased to know the the hotel is located close to the protected areas of the Cumbre and Pino Santo, rich in ecosystems and birdlife. Sporty types are well-placed for hiking, mountain-bike and horse-riding excursions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Rural Las Calas

Address: Carretera El Arenal 36 | La Lechuza, 35329 Vega de San Mateo, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Vega de San Mateo
Price Range: £71 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rural Las Calas 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Rural Las Calas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rural Las Calas Hotel
Hotel Rural Las Calas Gran Canaria/Vega De San Mateo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Rural Las Calas staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Rural Las Calas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Wifi only accessible outside of rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 245laurentp, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The junior suite was lovely”
 of 5 bubbles SarahH916, 23 Mar 2016 | Read review
“We had A Nice junior suite !”
 of 5 bubbles mariasipsk, 8 Feb 2016 | Read review
“The rooms all have a nice view so it would be hard to say. we stayed 12 days.”
 of 5 bubbles jamessH8978HX, 26 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Room next to the dining room is very small and door is next to the first breakfast table. Ask for the room with the big oven”
 of 5 bubbles 767patp, 7 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay