We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Forest Holidays Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christchurch
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,253 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Forest Holidays Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,252: English reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

We visited the 11th to the 15th of July. I don't know where to start - but everything I would like to say is of the highest praise. The setting is tranquil and breathtaking, our cabin (number 19 - Golden Oak) was beyond what we were hoping it would be like. We had perused the photos and knew that it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ju D
Kerry M, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent family break at the Forest of Dean. We are delighted you enjoyed it so much; it sounds as if you had great fun! We look forward to seeing you with friends and family again next March. Kerry

Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

Had a great holiday with my husband and two children. The lodge was so nice, clean and airy. We had a hot tub and can't honestly say it entertained our kids more than anything else while we were away. We had a few days out and even a trip to the cinema. Great visit, would definitely return

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty G
Kerry M, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your break at the Forest of Dean; it sounds as if you all found plenty to enjoy – particularly that hot tub! We hope to see you again soon. Kerry

Cardiff, Wales
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

Just got back from a 4 night stay in a Golden Oak Cabin - Monday - Friday. We booked the entertainment package in advance. We were 3 adults including 1 disabled traveller and a small dog. We were given cabin number 7. We arrived slightly early at around 3.15pm we were able to check in around 3.45pm and able to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pinkspideruk
Kerry M, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review following your recent break with us at the Forest of Dean. We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday and that you found the team friendly. Please accept our apologies for the problems that you encountered; your feedback is very welcome. We do hope you will consider staying with...

Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

8 of us stayed in a Golden Oak cabin with hot tub on the veranda. The cabin was furnished and fitted out to a very high standard with more than enough crockery and glasses of all types which I have found lacking in other similar type places I have stayed in. Bathrobes and towels for each person were included which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Slp209
Kerry M, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent break at the Forest of Dean and that you found your cabin spacious and comfortable enough for your group. We hope to see you again in the future. Kerry

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 July 2016

My husband booked a long weekend break here as a suprise. After checking in and unpacking we decided to relax and enjoy the beautiful view our cabin had to offer only to have a hen party in the cabin next to ours, which needless to say the noise they made was horrendous and we either had to stay in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adamhughes2016
Kerry M, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review following your surprise break at the Forest of Dean. We are pleased you enjoyed your weekend but of course, sorry to hear that you had noisy neighbours on the first evening. We are pleased to hear that it was sorted out swiftly and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kerry

Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

Had a lovely time in the areas , plenty of amazing walks and sights to see all dog friendly. The cabin was warm and modern, loved the fact they have the board games already set for you, a really lovely touch. Be warned although lots of cooking utensils there was not even bare necessities food wise. Would make the place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brodie O
Kerry M, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent break at the Forest of Dean. We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday and found it so dog-friendly. We are grateful for all your feedback and we can reassure you that the hot tub is drained and cleaned before every changeover and monitored daily. We hope you will stay with us again....

Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

The way this place is set up, it can only be compared to Centre Parcs. If you disagree, then this review is not for you. We had a good birthday family weekend here in one of the 3 bedroom lodges. The price for a weekend is astronomical considering there is nothing really to do on site. We arrived at midday,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RobertTwell
Kerry M, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you had a good holiday overall but sorry to hear that you weren’t happy about certain aspects of it. Our holidays are very much based around enjoying the forest setting which we are privileged to occupy. We live in harmony with that setting and we offer activities based around it, such as...

Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 July 2016

We chose a long weekend at Forest Holidays in the Forest of Dean instead of a long weekend at Centreparcs Woburn. Forest Holidays in a Golden Oak cabin was slightly more expensive than a two bedroomed superior Executive villa at Centreparcs so we felt it would be of a very high quality. Unfortunately, there have been a few problems during...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank R2J2H
Kerry M, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that your holiday was not as perfect as you had hoped it would be and we are grateful for your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed the area though, and it sounds as if you had some great days out. Kerry

Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

Had a fantastic time here, cabins are beautiful and in a stunning location. You can really kick back and relax there. Cabin was very clean, well equipped, the slippers and gowns provided were a god send with the hot tub, as it does feel chilly when you get out! I've booked a cabin for myself and my family to celebrate...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lisa D
Kerry M, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, responded to this review

Thank you for a great review following your recent break at the Forest of Dean. We are delighted you had such a great time and we very much look forward to seeing you along with your family for your 30th birthday in December. Kerry

Reviewed 5 July 2016

Booked a 3-night stay with two young children (aged 3 and 6 months). Cabin looked clean enough but after 20 mins I noticed the baby, who is trying to crawl, had black hands, feet and knees from being on the floor....!! Checked the toddler's feet and hers were also black. Someone had clearly swept the floor but it hadn't been...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jo M
Kerry M, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Please accept our apologies; your cabins should have been spotlessly clean. We will be investigating why it wasn’t, as we have a strict protocol for cleaning which clearly wasn’t adhered to. If you would like to raise a formal complaint please email us on customerservices@forestholidays.co.uk with full details of your booking and your complaint. Kerry

1,025 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1022)
Viewed
View from Room (70)
Viewed
Room/Suite (164)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (63)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (23)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (15)
Viewed
3:49
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (595)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
2.9 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
603 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
657 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#12 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
83 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
6.0 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Forest Holidays Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire

Address: Bracelands Drive, Christchurch, Coleford GL16 7NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Coleford > Christchurch
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Forest Holidays Forest Of Dean Cabins Hotel Coleford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Forest Holidays Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire staff and other travellers.
32 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (32)

Questions? Get answers from Forest Holidays Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would advise a golden oak or above. Unless you are not bothered about the luxury extra's then go for a less expensive lodge.”
 of 5 bubbles Lauren1339, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask where your lodge is and if there's a forest view”
 of 5 bubbles rebeccabW656NZ, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I prefer the lodge in the Forest rather than in the Meadow, but it's all about preference.”
 of 5 bubbles traceyrussell2, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Would certainly recommend the hideaways. Bring a tourch.”
  • Golden Oak Hideaway Cabin 93 view from gas BBQ looking onto forest.
  • Golden Oak Hideaway Cabin 93 view from decking towards cabin 94 in distance.
  • Golden Oak Hideaway Cabin 93 enjoying the log burner by roasting marshmallows.
  • Golden Oak Hideaway Cabin 93 view from decking towards cabin 92.
  • Golden Oak Hideaway Cabin 93 view from hot tub with cabin 92 to the right and tree blocking view
  • Golden Oak Hideaway Cabin 93 view looking towards bridalway.
  • Golden Oak Hideaway Cabin 93 view from dining table towards the living room with comfy red sofa.
  • Golden Oak Hideaway Cabin 93
 of 5 bubbles EnglandGirl1984, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you want forest experience do not go in the meadow, !! Too sunny, overlooked, no privacy no atmosphere , ,it's like a hoiday park ,”
 of 5 bubbles Ourfamilycardiff, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5