Hurley Riverside Park
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hurley Riverside Park

Traveller (224)
Picnic Grounds
Room & Suite (17)
Dining (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 1 campsite in Hurley
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Our family-friendly park sits alongside the River Thames in the picturesque village of Hurley between Henley-on-Thames and Marlow and has been run by four generations of the same family for over 50 years. With direct access to the River Thames and the Thames Path we are perfect for lovers of the river and walkers alike. For those with a boat or canoe we have two slipways and for those without we have over a mile over river frontage for picnics. With the lush green countryside of the Thames Valley all around, red kites circling above, and the river traffic gliding it is hard to believe we are only an hour outside London. We have won the prestigious David Bellamy Gold Award for Conservation for the last 15 years and even won their rare Special Distinction Award. To teach children about the local wildlife we also have a self-guided nature trail which follows the length of the campsite.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Electric vehicle charging station
Internet
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Picnic area
Self-serve laundry
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to VisitEngland.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
596Reviews20Q+A54Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 435
  • 89
  • 32
  • 22
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Jemma J wrote a review Aug 2020
Banstead, United Kingdom6 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just spent 4 nights on an electric tent pitch and was really pleased with this campsite.
On arrival we were greeted by a friendly warden who explained everything including the Covid measures now being operated. Our pitch (oak area) was spacious, level and the surrounding grounds were tidy and well kept.
We had a block nearby with toilets, showers (ladies, gents and family cubicles) which we’re clean with hot showers and hand sanitizer on all entry points. To one side was the washing up sinks which were socially distanced with a one way system in place. If I have one suggestion it is that a bin be placed in the washing up area just so you can clear any bits out of the sink when your done.
The location is fantastic for direct access to the river and the towns of Marlow and Henley are within a few mins drive. There is also a lovely pub In Hurley village (the rising sun) which you can walk to.
We will definitely be back to this site again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Will Burfitt, Owner at Hurley Riverside Park
Responded 17 Aug 2020
Hi Jemma thank for your review. We have tried food waste bins at the sinks before however they tended to get full of normal waste very quickly and so were removed. We were due to try them again this summer however did not go ahead to minimise the number of high contact areas on the park. We will hopefully be able to try again when live is back to normal (or whatever the new normal is!) Thank for you for your positive feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mikewakefield1951 wrote a review Jul 2020
Wakefield, United Kingdom65 contributions38 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent 4 nights here in our tourer the day after the site reopened. Everything was so well organised. We were met at the gate and shown to our pitch by a member of staff on his bike. He was incredibly helpful and asked if we wanted a longer pitch given the length of our twin axle. New premium pitch was perfect and he radioed in the change to reception. Two minutes later a lady came to sanitise the taps, electric hookup tower etc before we used them. Everything was super cleaned regularly and there were sanitising points all over. This park is really well kept and no expense is spared. The facilities are excellent and well looked after. All staff are friendly and helpful, including Derek! We are booked in for 7 more nights from 26 July and cannot wait.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Will Burfitt, Owner at Hurley Riverside Park
Responded 19 Aug 2020
thank you for your positive feedback MIke, we very much appreciate it and hope you enjoyed your second stay as much as the first!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amir Daoud wrote a review Aug 2021
London, United Kingdom312 contributions206 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
They have made the best of the wonderful location, directing visitors to the lovely Thames and nearby Hurley. They have made sure that everything on their site is high quality - making sure everyone who stays has a great time.

Food trucks if various types visit and a boat' selling good pizzas visits every Wednesday.

The site is very well kept and well run.

The pitches are all well kept wherever you go, and they have different types of pitches to serve different needs. The accessible facilities ensure everyone can enjoy their visit here.

The hard working staff were all wonderful, and despite being busy, they took the trouble to get back to me & accommodated a request to move pitches to be nearer to my cousin.

The facilities were busy, but always clean enough & coped easily with the number of users (the site was almost full).

It's a well run, safe site in a wonderful location with really good staff. It's family run, and they clearly do take pride in it.

Lots of people enjoyed the river with their canoes, paddle-boards and boats. The site have provided access straight onto the grassy bank.

I would return and highly recommend this site to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Chestnut - grass pitches and a relaxed atmosphere.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Will Burfitt, Owner at Hurley Riverside Park
Responded 11 Aug 2021
thank you for the great review we are glad you enjoyed yourself and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mike P wrote a review Aug 2020
Dunstable, United Kingdom8 contributions8 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Staff was rude. They did not seem to have any interest in being friendly or helpful. The social distancing check-in involved a rude man standing very close to my car window for way too long. Desk check-in would have been less exposure. They have a list of rules a mile long. They seem to use this list of rules as cover for their discriminative practices; the rules are very unevenly enforced. The drinking water tap on our pitch had a cleaning ceremony once a day. Then the gaggle of children on our pitch went back to constantly playing in it. The wardens would constantly ride around and eye you up. Not to see if you needed help. Just to decide if they wanted to critique your set-up. There are loose children everywhere whose parents have an awful lot of naive trust in the "family campsite" marketing scheme. We found many of the hand sanitizer stations broken or empty. The social distancing measures in the bathroom was to only open one stall. (Seems counterintuitive to make sure everyone sits on the same toilet). Many of the campsites featured amenities were closed due to their social distancing measures. The rubbish and recycling points were all overflowing, and none of the labeled bins contained the correct items. Everything was in every bin. The staff seemed unable to communicate between themselves. I had one small issue on my pitch which prompted a full investigation several times a day by rude staff. I ended up having to explain my perfectly logical and within the rules solution to every member of staff. Firstly, they should leave people alone. Secondly, they should have a system for putting a note on a pitch for their fellow employees edification. "Pitch X: has two pitches, parking both cars on pitch Y." In saying that, they probably do have that system, but it has messages like "Hassle pitch X" on it. Overall, I'm surprised these guys haven't been sued for discrimination, and this was not the relaxing experience we had hoped. Never again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Will Burfitt, Owner at Hurley Riverside Park
Responded 5 Aug 2020
Thank you for your review and the similar review left by the driver of your other car, Emma B. I have included some of the same information on this response as you were the same booking. We are sorry that you felt our new procedures were not to your liking. As you can imagine the new logistics of contactless check and COVID-19 regulations mixed with trying to ensure all customers stay safe on the park and stay happy is a very difficult situation for a business. Unfortunately, you arrived at a peak time and there was a queue of cars waiting to enter the park. We have tried to minimise contact at this point, however some customers are still very concerned about what safety features we have in place and want to ask questions before entering the Park. As was explained in your booking confirmation, emailed to you before arrival and when you checked in we are unfortunately unable to accept two cars onto one pitch. When you requested to let you onto the Park as you had a child in the car our Warden did let you in straight away but mentioned you would need to bring the second car out of the Park and use the Car Park. It is unclear which block you are referring to regarding the closed cubicles. We have not closed any cubicles only every other wash hand basin and washing up sink to enable customer to effectively social distance. We clean our Shower Blocks 3 times a day and have two additional disinfection cleans during the day and at each of these times the hand sanitisers are checked. We did not receive any other reports that any of the units were empty as these would have refilled immediately. Our outside facilities including the water points are also disinfected several times a day, however it is not possible for us to supervise the children on the park as we do rely on parents ensuring the welfare of their children, We did have an issue with our recycling one weekend (as mentioned in a previous review) however this situation has now been resolved but we are sorry that this occurred during your stay, We have closed is our park shop and our playground to ensure the safety of our customers. We would ideally like to reopen them however due to the relaxed nature of the campsite we did not believe it would be possible to open the playground safely in the current environment. The village shop is available 7 days a week however. Our Wardens do cycle around the park and I understand you did inform them on your departure that you did not like this. We have had a lot of positive feedback from our staff ensuing everyone’s safety and our Wardens do need to ensure customers are pitched correctly. This is to ensure that they are a safe distance away from other units and we also visit customers after they have pitches to take them through our COVID-19 procedures and important park rules regarding social distancing. Our staff do like to interact with customers during their stay rather than check them in and then not see them again until check out. We are sorry that this is not to your liking however. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay but do hope you will visit us again when we are able to relax our COVID-19 procedures.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joe K wrote a review Aug 2020
Hitchin, United Kingdom48 contributions54 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent 3 fantastic nights camping with my family- wife and 3 young kids (6,6 & 5). This was our first time visiting Hurley Riverside Park and it certainly won't be the last. Whilst there we told friends at home how great it was and they have already booked a trip.

The welcome on site was quick and friendly with a member of staff cycling in front of our car and taking us to our marked pitch- Chestnut area. There are lots of toilet and shower blocks on site, and although we only used one as recommended as part of the Covid protocol, it was always clean with plenty of hot water.

The site has security barriers at all entry exit points which made us feel very secure and meant we were comfortable with the kids exploring on their bikes. Unfortunately due to Covid the playpark was closed, although it looked great. There was however a large field for games with football goals set up which was always full of kids playing.

The wildlife around the park is great too with Red Kites constantly circling overhead. The park also has a nature trail with a quiz for the kids which ours enjoyed.

The best thing about the park is the location, right on the banks of the Thames. We cycled to Marlow one day which was an absolutely beautiful gentle ride. One evening we also had a dip in the Thames to cool off. Whilst the kids paddled at the waters edge I took a swim out for a bit.

One evening we also ventured to the lovely Rising Sun pub for dinner, Thankfully we booked ahead as it was full that evening. The food was great and the service fast and attentive.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Everywhere is good.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Will Burfitt, Owner at Hurley Riverside Park
Responded 17 Sept 2020
Thanks for your review, we are glad you and your family had a good time and we look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anne B wrote a review Sept 2020
3 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
very nice place, very clean at all times and helpful staff. We had to use the temporary shower/toilet blocks and they were spotless every time we used them, obviously cleaned on a very regular basis. Lovely park right by the river where you can take a picnic and watch the world go by or walk the dog. Have been a couple of times and will be booking for next year :)
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bryan S wrote a review Aug 2021
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just spent 10 days at the awesome HRP and enjoyed every minute of it: brilliant well grassed camping pitches, spacious clean ablutions, excellent wash-up facilities with lots of hot water. Lots of drinking water taps, wi-fi throughout the park for those not so sunny days, and all the roads and paths perfectly maintained.

Apart from the facilities the staff were fantastic and Tom was happy to help with advice on things to do, nearest shops / fuel / attractions. We were even granted 2 free parking permits for family to join us in the adjacent picnic area for an afternoon.

There is easy, well maintained access to the River Thames for kayaking, canoeing, paddle boarding and swimming and the park is perfectly situated for leisurely strolls along the river to Hurley lock where the cream teas are worth the walk.

Our 2 young sons were able to cycle around the park and into Hurley Village in safety, and there is lots of open ground, with proper grass, to run and play footy, rugger or cricket.

Just an all round awesome place for a family holiday, at a very palatable price - HRP delivers on value for money.

The missus was gutted that we didn't book for the original plan of 14 days and was distraught when we had to pack up and leave so soon.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Will Burfitt, Owner at Hurley Riverside Park
Responded 31 Aug 2021
thank you for the great review - we look forward to seeing you again soon, hopefully for a whole fortnight!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ryan wrote a review Aug 2020
West Sussex, United Kingdom1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The site is situated in beautiful surroundings and is within walking distance to the village of Hurley with its pub, shop and lock/boat moorings. The staff are generally very friendly, polite and helpful and the toilet/shower facilities are excellent.

However, the terms and conditions of the site include a 10:30pm noise curfew, which in my opinion really ought to be revised. It is far too early for adults who are on holiday (with or without children!) and it is enforced militantly by a team of security guards who patrol in cars, which makes for a rather unpleasant atmosphere on the site. Having been out for a meal, we arrived back at the site at 10:40pm (plenty of people were still up of course) and we were flagged down by a security guard in the car and given a dressing down with a reminder about the terms and conditions. Whilst polite, the whole experience was patronising and completely over the top.

Would I stay there again? No, simply because we were made to feel like naughty children for having returned a little later than they would have liked and for staying up and talking past 10:30pm.

It’s such a shame as apart from this, the site is brilliant.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Will Burfitt, Owner at Hurley Riverside Park
Responded 17 Aug 2020
Thank you for your review. We do have a Quiet Park Policy that ask our customers not to make excessive noise after 10.30pm. We are a family friendly park with many of our customers having young children and we ask customers not to disturb other families after this time. Though we understand that you may believe this is too early, this policy is in place to ensure the enjoyment of all of our customers who do not want to be disturbed late at night. It is explained on our website, your booking confirmation and the welcome letter you are given on arrival. if customers return to the park from a pub or elsewhere after this time making noise our night warden will remind them that this rule is in place. We have one night warden who is on the park in a vehicle and on foot and is usually responding to issues created by customers not wanting to follow our rules. You mentioned that he spoke to your politely so it is unfortunate that you feel that you do not want to return to the park due to the fact that we ask customers politely to abide by the rules.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LinnyWestSussex wrote a review Aug 2020
Midhurst, United Kingdom45 contributions27 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited with friends and found the park extremely clean and tidy and well geared up for all the Covid19 guidance. The site is nicely separated by high hedges and the ground is flat with grass well maintained and each pitch has plenty of space. It’s a short walk to the village with a pub and the walk along the Thames to Henley or Marlow is lovely. Will definitely revisit this lovely site which is also reasonably priced in high season for tent pitches too.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Will Burfitt, Owner at Hurley Riverside Park
Responded 19 Aug 2020
thank you for your review ad are glad you enjoyed yourself - we look forward to seeing you again next year!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joanne H wrote a review Sept 2020
London, United Kingdom941 contributions250 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Although Hurley Riverside Park's online booking was for two nights they were able to accommodate me and my tiny tent for one night only while walking the Thames Path. Everything was very efficient. The showers were clean and decent and the outside washing up facilities good in the current situation. I was even able to get a (weak) WiFi signal on my pitch! The only downside was that it was pretty expensive at £28 for a small tent and no car.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Will Burfitt, Owner at Hurley Riverside Park
Responded 17 Sept 2020
thank you for your review Joanne we are glad you had a good time. If you are able to come back after the school holidays a small tent pitch is only £13 a night so hopefully we will see you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Sue W
4 contributions5 helpful votes
We had no problems with either thankfully. Enjoy.
Answer from Susan G
1 contribution
I'm not sure if one goes into the campsite but there is one outside but where it is lm not sure, my sister in law used the bus but we were on a quad. The office on the campsite can tell you where the bus stop is.
Wj6 asked a question Jun 2021
Broadstairs, United Kingdom91 contributions24 helpful votes
Hi Do you know an approx. time that it would take to kayak to Henley from the site? Thank you.
Answer from Hurley_Riverside
Hurley, United Kingdom2 helpful votes
It takes around an hour to get to Henley by boat but can take up to an hour and a half depending on how busy the locks are
Answer from Hurley_Riverside
Hurley, United Kingdom2 helpful votes
The easiest way is to get the train from High Wycombe as there is a multi-story car park next to the station and it goes to London Marylebone. Maidenhead is also an option which goes into Paddington.
roland_rockwell wrote a tip 15 Jun
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom16 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t be put off by narrow road access, it’s very short and no problem."
Read full review
Linda L wrote a tip 14 Jun
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"A campsite close to the Thames. Local commerce nearby."
Read full review
Jane wrote a tip 14 Jun
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Perfect if you enjoy hiking and also close to an excelling riding stables for rides in Great Windsor Park"
Read full review
EQuart wrote a tip 14 Jun
7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book in advance as it’s a very popular site."
Read full review
Alie F wrote a tip 13 Jun
Bristol, United Kingdom13 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"You have to pay for Wi-Fi and the providers (not the camp site) coverage was poor and not as advertised. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hurley area.
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBerkshireWindsor and MaidenheadMaidenheadHurley
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HURLEY RIVERSIDE PARK - Updated 2024 Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Hurley Riverside Park
Which popular attractions are close to Hurley Riverside Park?
Nearby attractions include BCA Zoo (1.4 miles), Feathers and Fur Falconry Centre (3.7 miles), and Escape3600 ltd (4.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hurley Riverside Park?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, internet access, and self serve laundry.
Is parking available at Hurley Riverside Park?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hurley Riverside Park?
Conveniently located restaurants include TGI Fridays - High Wycombe, Lavvin, and Palmieri's.
Is Hurley Riverside Park located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the centre of Hurley.
Are pets allowed at Hurley Riverside Park?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Hurley Riverside Park?
Many travellers enjoy visiting All Saints Church (2.7 miles), Lillibrooke Manor & Barns (4.7 miles), and Statue in Memory of Charles Frohman (2.6 miles).
Is Hurley Riverside Park accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Hurley HotelsHurley Hotel DealsHotels near Hurley Riverside Park
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire