We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast

Save
Share
Dowfold House Low Jobs Hill Low Jobs Hill, Crook DL15 9AB England
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
Travelocity
View all 10 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (18)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (4)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 18/04/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast
Updated 18/04/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Crook
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Platinum level
Jill & Rupert Richardson, and Raffie the dog welcome you to our lovely, comfortable Victorian house with its delightful gardens. As a small, luxury bed and breakfast establishment, we aim to provide a comfortable, welcoming - and peaceful - home for you to enjoy; and we do GREAT breakfasts! - full of local produce. Our rooms are comfortable and well-equipped, all with en-suite facilities, while our home & gardens offer opportunities for relaxation. We're proud of our green credentials. "Green, but without the hair shirt" is our motto. We welcome business visitors, tourers, cyclists, dogs, horses(!) and children. People just keep coming back!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Golf course
Board games / puzzles
Books, DVDs, music for children
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car park
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Special diet menus
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
First aid kit
Umbrella
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Housekeeping
Seating area
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Iron
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French, German, Italian

Location

Full view
40Car recommended
Grade: 40 out of 100
19Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
1Attractionwithin 0.75 miles
181Reviews0Q+A39Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 174
  • 4
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Allan J wrote a review Sept 2019
Hereford, United Kingdom8 contributions
I cannot fault the Richardsons - they gave me a most comfortable stay, very welcome at the end of a 20 mile walk. A sound night's sleep in a spacious and elegant room, with every need fore-thought, and breakfast offering all I wanted, with the company of other pleasant guests. Highly recommended, and their address is noted in case of any possible future visit.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Jill and Rupert Richardson, Owner at Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast
Responded 23 Feb 2021
Thank you for your kind words. We're particularly pleased about your enjoyment of our other guests. We think that this is part of the very fabric of what a good B&B is like.
Read more
Sarah Fenwick wrote a review Aug 2019
5 contributions
Stayed at this excellent bed and breakfast while walking the weardale way with friends. The rooms were extremely well presented with lots of little extras and comfortable beds. The hosts were happy to deal with our wet boots and waterproofs which was great. The breakfast was delicious and just what we needed before another day’s walking. Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Jill and Rupert R, Owner at Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast
Responded 31 Aug 2019
Thank you very much. We don't get that many walkers, but always enjoy it when we do. We'll happily pick walkers up and ferry them back here, then on to where they want to start the next day. We're good for the Weardale Way and the C2C in particular. A bit of luxury in a week's hard walking has got to be good for the soul!
Read more
drs-swindon wrote a review Aug 2019
swindon25 contributions4 helpful votes
We felt very welcomed by Jill and Rupert who provided us with a very thoughtful and helpful stay. Dowfold House is peaceful and in a quiet location and it is within easy reach of Durham City and Weardale. The house is beautifully clean and our room (The Green Room) was large and comfortable. We will certainly return.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Jill and Rupert R, Owner at Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast
Responded 24 Aug 2019
It's just great to be appreciated - thank you! We are absolutely at the heart of County Durham, and rejoice in living in a beautiful part of England with an unrivalled heritage, lots to see and do, masses of unspoilt countryside and (whisper it) not too many visitors - although that's changing gradually. The Green Room can be configured with a SuperKing bed, which is what you had, or as a twin room. We also have other rooms with King-sized and double beds, so the choice is yours. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
Peter Ware wrote a review Aug 2019
14 contributions2 helpful votes
This is an excellent property to stay at if you are visiting Durham and environs. A large, traditional house, with plenty of room in the public areas. Jill and Rupert could not be better-informed about the attractions of the area and nothing is too much trouble.Excellent breakfast. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Jill and Rupert R, Owner at Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast
Responded 21 Aug 2019
Thank you very much. Jill in particular works hard at keeping up to date with the - literally - hundreds of things going on around here all the time, and we're delighted when guests can take advantage of this.,
Read more
Penny wrote a review Aug 2019
3 contributions
House is beautifully decorated, rooms large and comfortable, with tasteful decor. Felt welcome, and kindly recommended a great Italian called Viva in Crook for dinner. Breakfast was delicious, the best on our trip. Great suggestions on how to stay dry at Kynren - thank you, the giant bin liners were a life saver!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jill and Rupert R, Owner at Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast
Responded 16 Aug 2019
What a lovely review - thank you. You can't beat a good bin-bag! Deeply chuffed about the breakfast comment; we know the other places you stayed, and they're all pretty good, so this means something special.
Read more
paulowens2016 wrote a review Jul 2019
London, United Kingdom6 contributions3 helpful votes
We stayed with Jill and Rupert for our sons graduation at Dirham (there is simply nothing available in the city during the week) they were very welcoming with tea and cake. Bedroom and bathroom very comfortable. Breakfast Great (although we didn’t go for the full cooked ) all topped off by amazing views over the valley. Would definitely recommend staying here
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Jill and Rupert R, Owner at Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast
Responded 6 Aug 2019
Thank you. Graduation is SUCh a life-affirming event. You're quite right about the shortage of accommodation, however. Even though we' 20 minutes from Durham, we are invariably booked up for graduation months before the event, and we know of people who find themselves having to stay up to 50 miles from the city. Book early is the watchword.
Read more
Steve K wrote a review Jul 2019
Paris43 contributions17 helpful votes
Jill and Rupert made us very welcome. The house is very stylish and beautifully decorated and maintained. Breakfast was delicious - lots of variety and homemade jams, juices etc. Location is very convenient for exploring Durham and the region. Crook town is not very inspiring although fellow guests said the Italian restaurant was good.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Jill and Rupert R, Owner at Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast
Responded 6 Aug 2019
Thank you for your kind words. Stylish and welcoming is exactly what we seek to achieve, and it's good to know that it's appreciated. You're right; Crook is a classic working market town, with few pretensions to historical eminence or tourist-oriented activities - but the restaurants are good, and the local football team normally punches well above its weight!
Read more
Barbara S wrote a review Jun 2019
19 contributions5 helpful votes
Met on arrival with tea and homemade cake set the tone for a perfect stay. Our room was spotless,a very comfortable bed, fresh milk along with home baked delicious biscuits and a sparkling en-suite with lovely toiletries. The use of the comfy sitting room with countryside views and books galore was a bonus. The comprehensive brochure of local information was the best one I have ever come across along with all the other leaflets provided. We had an excellent breakfast and our only regret is that we did not stay longer.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Jill and Rupert R, Owner at Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast
Responded 6 Aug 2019
"Peaceful comfort". Thank you; we like it. Jill works very hard at keeping our information provision up to the mark, and it's good to know that it's appreciated.
Read more
Miriam Mole wrote a review Jun 2019
1 contribution
I stayed here for three days last week with friends and we were extremely well looked after by Rupert and Gill. Our stay began with an afternoon tea in the sitting room which was extremely comfortable with plenty of books and games. Our bedroom had superb views with a very comfortable bed and the breakfast was to die for with a splendid choice of home cooked food much from the garden. There was home made jams, fruit Juice and excellent potato bread. I spent a very happy hour in the garden which overlooked Crook and Dowfold House was surrounded by local footpaths. I certainly would recommend it to friends and family and hope to stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Jill and Rupert R, Owner at Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast
Responded 6 Aug 2019
Gosh! what a review. Many thanks, Miriam. It's always a pleasure to welcome Wolter and his friends, and we're delighted that you had such a good time. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
John B wrote a review May 2019
Sydney, Australia38 contributions14 helpful votes
Wow what a find. Every eventuality was catered for. I have thought long and hard to find even a small area that could be improved upon but have dismally failed. I have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending unequivocally.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Jill and Rupert R, Owner at Dowfold House Bed & Breakfast
Responded 31 May 2019
Gosh! How to respond to that? First, thank you very much. Second, what a relief! We knew how much store your friend and organiser set by the success of the trip, and we're so pleased that you all enjoyed it so much. I'm sorry that we had the bad taste to have the same make, model and colour of car as you - but you've clearly forgiven us for that😄.
Read more
PRICE RANGE
US$128 - US$144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCounty DurhamCrook
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing