We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Arbigland Estate

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (42)
Room & Suite (18)
Pool & Beach (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 2 limited service properties in Kirkbean
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
13Reviews2Q+A0Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 5
  • 2
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Su H wrote a review Oct 2022
4 contributions
Lovely quirky Shore Cottage. Spotlessly clean. Great enclosed garden. Used the slope at the back to access the beach. It was just a few feet and on the beach. Everything we needed was in the Cottage. So relaxing to hear the sea. Very peaceful and one of the best locations we have stayed in. Fell in love and could have stayed a lot longer. Owners were very friendly. The Cottage really is as says, on the shore and a great quiet beach. Dogs loved it and was good to be able to sit out at night in the garden knowing the dogs were safe and couldn`t get out. No light pollution so looking at the stars whilst listening to the sea was wonderful. Can`t wait to go back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
ccc2846 wrote a review Sept 2022
Stalybridge, United Kingdom5 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
DO NOT BOOK THIS PROPERTY THE WEBSITE PICTURES ARE GROSSLY INACCURATE OBVIOUSLY STAGED AND DO NOT REPRESENT THE FILTH AND RUN DOWN STATE THAT IT IS IN We checked in at 4pm Saturday and left 830am Sunday and that was too long £900 for a week that should of been a family break what an absolute let down and complete waste of money Shame your cancellation policy doesnt cover complete Where do I begin? To say that shore cottage did not match our expectations would be a gross understatement!!! The place smelled awful and we were grateful to our son who arrived before us and asked us to buy air fresheners from Dumfries before we arrived. The place is run down and unkempt, windows cracked and rotting, pictures taken. Dead insect in kitchen cupboard. Old chipped crockery, dirty drapes. Old microwave with paint flaking off. Access to beach via a steep dangerous unmaintained path. We’ve rented numerous cottages throughout Scotland, this was the worst we have encountered by some considerable distance.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sheri Blackett, General Manager at Arbigland Estate
Responded 20 May 2023
Hi, all negative reviews on Shore Cottage are mainly down to the windows, these have now been replaced. It did take over a year for them to be fitted from when we ordered them due to the covid back log. We are so sorry you were disappointed with the cottage, but we both felt that sadly you arrived determined to find fault where ever you could and wanted an excuse to go home and ask for a refund. However, we have since completed a major renovation of Shore Cottage which has included replacing all the windows (except for the three sash windows which are good condition). Our professional cleaning team normally do an exemplary job and one dead insect does not make a dirty cottage. Once there was a gap in or bookings I checked through the crockery which I'm afraid does get chipped and because of covid precautions we were still asking our guests to load the dishwasher with what ever they had used and set it off when the left, then leaving everything in the dishwasher so that the new arriving guests knew everything in the dishwasher was clean and untouched it was therefore impossible for us to check before. Shore Cottage has a stream of regular guests who come year after year and as you can tell by our bookings it is extremely popular. There are two access points to the beach. The path from the garden is neither steep or dangerous and another track at the back which is very easy walking. My parents, both in their 80's easily do both paths. I am very upset that you say the photos are 'staged', I took them all myself and they are true and accurate so it is very wrong of you to suggest otherwise.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
carolineadavis wrote a review Sept 2022
6 contributions1 helpful vote
We had a wonderful week at Arthur's cottage, which was comfrotable, well equipped and in an absolutely lovely location, 5 minutes walk from the beach. We were with our 14 month old and the cottage was perfect for him, he really enjoyed exploring the large open plan living space and playing in the garden. All the bedrooms and bathrooms were nice and newly done up. The kitchen had all the equipment we'd expect for cooking our meals for a week. There are lots of nice places close by to eat and visit, we especially enjoyed the Nearly Lost Gardens of Arbigland and the John Paul Jones Museum, which are easy walking distance. The real highlight though was the wildlife on the estate and the beach with views out across the Firth.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Nicola C wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Just spent a week at shore cottage with family and our two dogs. A completely chilled holiday which was lots of fun for our little girl. It was back to basics, playing on the beach, running through the woods. The garden is a good size and is safe and secluded for our dogs. A timeless cottage located on a private estate, we were fortunate to find this hidden gem. Our thanks to the owners for sharing this with us.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Alison S wrote a review Jun 2022
26 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
This was booked for a significant birthday. The location is stunning but...first impressions were not good. Rotting window frames, boarded up window, cracked glass in interior warped door stuck with sellotape. Foul smell in bathroom according to other recent review due to dead mouse - so presumably still there. Overgrown garden. No access to beach from garden unless you brought your secateurs. Very narrow entrance to shower room. Shower curtain grey and stiff with dirt. We noticed there was no fire alarm in hallway outside kitchen. There was one lying on side in kitchen but don't know if it worked as not attached to anything. We complained about the hallway fire alarm, a cracked wine glass found when we had to wash all the glasses before we used them. We also mentioned that there was a baseball cap left in one bedroom and that a bin in the bathroom had not been emptied since last visitors. A new fire alarm was installed the next day but whether the system complies with Scottish legislation of linked alarms I couldn't comment. We nearly cancelled our family coming to join us as the place was so rundown but they said they would cope. We made the most of the surroundings which are stunning and I do want to point out that the Arbigland Estate that runs this cottage is in no way connected with Arbigland House and Gardens which is well worth a visit and also has self catering accommodation. We have stayed in self catering cottages and caravans over the years. Yes, some are quirky, some are basic but this is not a cheap property and doesn't market itself as basic.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Sheri Blackett, General Manager at Arbigland Estate
Responded 20 May 2023
All negative reviews on Shore Cottage are mainly down to the windows which have now been replaced. They deteriated through lock down and it then took over a year from the order date for them to be fitted due to the covid back log. Our fire alarms are all linked to the mains and have a battery back up, they have recently been inspected by the Fire Officer as all holiday lets in Scotland now have to have licenses so undergo a rigorous inspection. We investigated your complaint and it seems that the previous guests had taken the alarm down as it started to bleep saying the battery was low. Our cleaning team failed to report to us that it had been taken down We do ask our guests to please let us know if there are any cleanliness problems on arrival as our professional cleaning team, under contract, are obliged to put right any issues if our guests aren't happy or arrival so hence they normally do an exemplary job. I am sorry they obviously had not as good a job as they should have this time.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Cato wrote a review May 2022
Edinburgh, United Kingdom25 contributions49 helpful votes
We stayed at Lapwing during the Easter holidays. We were quite taken aback upon arrival because the three lodges (Skylark, Lapwing and Curlew) are located relatively close together on a narrow, tapering field and the exteriors were weathered and in poor condition. The interior of the lodge was fine - 'hotel standard' mattresses was a bit of a stretch. While comfortable, they are simply ordinary sprung mattresses with yellow foam overlays. There are nice views from the front windows over the fields. They really do need a bit of upkeep on the exterior. Don't book Lapwing if you want working WiFi. The hub is in the middle lodge and we had a booster that didn't reach. The owner tried to tell us that 'the orange light means it's working'. It didn't work all week and they did nothing about it. This matters if you have work to do as we did. I'd imagine only the middle lodge gets any connection. Regarding the beach, there are positives and negatives. The setting is pretty, with open coast and it is a short walk along to the pub (which is really a restaurant more than a pub). There is great geology and fossils for kids to explore. However, it's a really dangerous stretch of coast with a rapid tide that means you can't swim on the outgoing tide at all. That leaves very brief windows of time where a swim is possible, i.e. when the tide is high enough but not yet going out. The bay empties right out and the water is very far away for long spells of the day. That sounds silly, but what I mean is, the whole estuary empties out so it really is a large expanse of wet sand. When it is in at high tide, the water is churned and murky. Finally, the sand is very muddy and there is an ankle deep mulch of fine seaweed along much of the bay. I'd hoped to run with our dog but it wasn't possible on these beaches - I do a lot of trail running so I don't say this lightly! If you want to walk along this bay do so in wellies. It's not a bucket and space beach, that's for sure. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and explored the beautiful local area, but we didn't love the cabin itself and its location. We left a couple of days early in the end.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Ian Clive wrote a review Oct 2021
3 contributions5 helpful votes
Be very careful before booking one of the holiday cottages here. Ours was described as being separated from the adjacent cottage by thick soundproof walls. In reality there was a thin door between them and the upstairs rooms were above next door’s lounge, with a wafer thin ceiling. You can hear everything from the adjacent holiday let. The overall standard was mediocre at best but we did not pay a mediocre price. The owner was entirely unhelpful and my honest review was removed by Airbnb because it apparently contradicted their review policy. That explains why most of the reviews for these cottages are so positive. The honest ones are missing!
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Wee Emm wrote a review Aug 2021
Lanark, United Kingdom84 contributions33 helpful votes
+1
We booked on the basis of an email description of Arthur’s Cottage as it was still being renovated. As a semi detached, £1045 for the week is a bit pricey. When we arrived we could not find the keys as described under a flowerpot. After raking around and waiting I called the number but no answer it took over an hour and a lot of trying to get the host and eventually find the keys buried in the soil! To be honest he seemed a bit perturbed that his afternoon was interrupted. He did in fairness turn up after a couple of hours to ch3ck we were in. We never did find the front door key! Everything was newly done so was clean, pretty and smart with decent cooking equipment and crockery. Unfortunately the dishwasher had not been checked prior to our arrival and was full of dirty dishes. Only 2 dishwasher tablets were provided - a bit mean for the price. Also in every other rental we’ve had, including caravans, towels were provided, I did not find out I had to bring these until I had made full payment and received the info pack. The baths in two rooms are beautiful and quite luxurious….the shower in the main bedroom was tricky being a rain shower in a small enclosure…resulting in a very wet floor until we got the hang of it! The view from the upstairs bedroom is simply beautiful, accessed via a very steep narrow painted stairway. Walks around the estate and beach are beautiful. Heating is controlled centrally, weather was fairly mild so it never kicked in while we were there. Hot water was plentiful. There are a couple of picnic benches outside and rattan furniture in the porch both with views of Criffel. The garden is still a bit rough but maybe early days…if it was wet weather children and dogs would get a bit muddy I think. Please visit Arbigland House gardens (not part of the estate) as they are beautiful! Overall the newness carried this place to a four overcoming the niggles mentioned.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sarah W wrote a review Aug 2021
Abingdon, United Kingdom2 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed at Shore Cottage for a week. It is blessed with a truly wonderful location but I would advise only booking here if you are prepared to put up with very poor accommodation. The cottage appears to have been built contemporaneously with the main house in the 1930s and much of it looks not upgraded since then. The windows are rotting in the frames, one had disintegrated just before we arrived so we had a hole in the dining room window for our stay, conveniently situated under a wasps nest. The bathroom with the shower felt damp and mouldy, with loose floor tiles and missing and broken grout. One shower door had been replaced with a curtain. The kitchen was really poorly equipped with much of what was there looking like a random collection from a charity shop. The whole cottage needed a really thorough deep clean as it was all grubby and we had a lot of flies in, I’m sure partly due to this. Although the cottage sleeps 6, there was only a two seater sofa and two armchairs in the living room. The sofa is on its last legs with broken zips, ripped cushions and very grubby. Other furniture in the cottage have a also shabby and broken. Possibly worst of all for me, was the advertised view was essentially non existent from the cottage because the plants outside were so overgrown. The garden also was overgrown and uninviting. Also a word of warning for dog owners. The owners have two dogs which have unsupervised access to the beach. I guess this is their right as it’s their beach but it was slightly problematic for us with our somewhat reactive/excitable puppy for whom recall is still a work in progress! The location is genuinely amazing so if you can bear the standard of accommodation, great! We found it a real spoiler for our holiday and would absolutely not book again. We’ve stayed in lots of holiday cottages over the years and this is easily the worst we have experienced. We didn’t complain to the owners as they must be well aware of the issues and are happy to let the cottage in its current state. To be fair, I think the window falling apart had only just happened before our arrival but it was symptomatic of the disrepair of the whole cottage.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Matthew Taylor wrote a review Jul 2021
London, United Kingdom28 contributions29 helpful votes
We stayed in Lapwing and loved it all. Nice open layout, good kitchen, comfy beds and sofa/armchairs, nice wood burner, kettle BBQ. Hosts greeted us on arrival and were friendly and helpful. It was so peaceful. Setting was really beautiful over-looking rural countryside and green hills, and 30 second walk down a private path to a huge deserted beach. Fantastic local pub (Steamboat Inn) that can been walked to along the beach in 5 minutes (make sure you book for evening meals). Birdsong all around. The area was very pretty - like south Devon but with big hills, and no people! Great walking locally and beyond - we drove all the way to Port Patrick which is like a pretty little Cornish fishing port but without the crowds. Galaway Forest beautiful and mountainous. Went north to Multiverse attraction in Crawick though lovely countryside and back via spectacular Mennock Pass (B797). The people we did meet were really friendly. Two great local Farm Shops within 30 minutes drive, and everything else you would want in Dumfries. Our dachshund loved chasing the rabbits on the beach (don't worry he never catches anything). Can't wait to return.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
12
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kirkbean area.
PRICE RANGE
£238 - £713 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandDumfries and GallowayKirkbean
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ARBIGLAND ESTATE - Updated 2024 Prices, Reviews (Kirkbean)

Frequently Asked Questions about Arbigland Estate
Which popular attractions are close to Arbigland Estate?
Nearby attractions include Dumfries Museum and Camera Obscura (0.3 miles), Moat Brae - Birthplace of Peter Pan (0.3 miles), and Robert Burns Centre (0.09 miles).
What are some restaurants close to Arbigland Estate?
Conveniently located restaurants include Home Restaurant, The Back Street, and Cavens Arms.
Are there any historical sites close to Arbigland Estate?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Robert Burns House (0.4 miles), Old Bridge House Museum (0.1 miles), and Thomas Carlyle's Birthplace (0.06 miles).