Gulabin Lodge-Glenshee
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Gulabin Lodge-Glenshee

SUZIE’S hen weekend
Traveller (50)
Room & Suite (4)
                  fire in one lounge
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 1 lodge in Spittal of Glenshee
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Please search for our new listing and take a look at our stunning new photos! We welcome families and special interest groups such as walkers, mountain bikers and skiers. We don't accept stag and hen groups.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bicycle rental
Canoeing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Hiking
Horseback riding
Ski rentals
Ski school
Skiing
Fishing
Shuttle bus service
Non-smoking hotel
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Modern
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Spittal of Glenshee PH10 7QE Scotland
112Reviews0Q+A14Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 74
  • 21
  • 3
  • 2
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Zari S wrote a review Aug 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at Gulabin lodge for 4 nights last week
We were a group of 17 including adults and kids and booked the whole lodge for ourselves .
Everyone absolutely loved the remote location nestled among mountains and picturesque fields with beautiful streams flowing nearby .
The stay was wonderful , rooms were clean and well maintained . The period features add to the charm of the property .There are enough and more beds for a large group though my suggestion would be to add more double beds . The toilets were clean . The kitchen was well stocked with the right amount of utensils and cutlery . Children were delighted with the mezzanine floor rooms .The dining room was large enough to seat everyone at the same time comfortably and is great for group activities and discussions .There is a drying room which is extremely handy !
The WiFi is not strong upstairs but the signal strength is fairly good downstairs . The managing team ( Darren and Simon ) were very helpful and courteous and attended to any queries immediately .
All in all , while it isn’t a luxurious accommodation , it doesn’t fall short of facilities and is a great base to explore the unspoiled beauty of the highlands . Would definitely recommend !
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
cinimod63 wrote a review Jul 2022
Leicester, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
When I read the reviews I did wonder whether I should book a room at the Gulabin Lodge. I took a gamble as it is so close to Glenshee and the Munro walks we had planned. I expected to meet grumpy owners providing dirty rooms and leaking pipes.

Nothing could be further than the truth. A new couple, Helen and Tim took it over in May 2022 and are busy restoring the facilities and replacing a grumpy welcome with a warm one.

We received a super warm welcome from Helen!. We had booked a double room with shared bathroom and kitchen (there is a separate lodge for larger groups to book) - for a night or two, with us out walking the local hills. It may not be the Ritz, it’s a lodge hostel and provides all that is required. The rooms and shared facilities were super clean. It’s the perfect base in a lovely setting. There are a few bits that look a bit tired but it is obvious that Helen and Tim are working hard to get the place back to where it should be. We had a great night’s sleep before a long day in the hills.

I should add that it is a great location for Glenshee ski resort, and the groups of Munro’s nearby. We will definitely stay there again and make use of the log fires after a long day in the hills. Thanks Helen and Tim.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
adjr1 wrote a review Apr 2023
London, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Four of us stayed in the house (not the lodge) and it was spotlessly clean. The kitchen was well supplied with everything we needed - plenty of space in the living room and nice bedrooms. The beds were very comfortable. Gulabin is well situated for people wanting to explore the Cairngorms. Pitlochry, Braemar, Balmoral and Aberfeldy are all in easy reach. But the thing which really sets Gulabin apart from other places we've stayed at are the owners. Tim and Helen gave us such a warm welcome and were full of ideas and suggestions about places to go and good places to eat. We will definitely be back
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mr unimpressed wrote a review Jul 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
While you may not endure the physical abuse depicted in the hostel movie trilogy the owner of this small piece of hell on earth certainly tries to inflict the same level of mental abuse upon all unfortunate enough to come across this accommodation.

If you should come here for the purpose of rest and relaxation get that out of your head right now.

Upon arrival you will ve greeted with a list of chores expected of guests that render the massive cleaning fees you will pay unnecessary.

Under no circumstances should you try to enjoy your stay here as that is punishable by forfeiting the large security deposit.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
eazey t wrote a review Jul 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Great facilities but the management is absolutely dispicable.
Do not expect any security deposits to be returned as they will make up a bunch nonsensical rules on the fly to find a way out of it.
There was water leaking in one of the sitting rooms for the duration of our trip, when management was politely informed, no appology was offerred, not even recognition. Completely ignored. Generic excuses "oh it was a shower curtain", to avoid the subject. Then has the audicty to claim the party "left a mess" over a spilled beer and a couple of bins that needed emptied.
Management is like a substitute teacher with absolutely no idea what they are doing. Being said, the facilities are at hostel level, cheap and cheerfull but I certainly couldn't reccomend staying there due to the managements attitude.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The Substitute teacher of hotel management.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
J D wrote a review Jan 2024
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here with a friend for our first trip to Glenshee to snowboard. The owners are both fantastic. The accommodation is brilliant and in the best location. You could not ask for better amenities and the room was spotless. It is less than 10 minute drive from the ski resort.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fee0012 wrote a review Dec 2016
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at Gulabin House self-catering accommodation on 17th December 2016 for 3 nights. The photos looked lovely prior to staying, however this was soon forgotten. On arrival, bedrooms looked very different to pictures, straighteners burns in bedroom carpet, very basic and mould in every bathroom. 4 bathrooms of which 2 showers worked and they only worked when every other type of water was not in use. Therefore, water would not run at all through taps or showers or would run extremely cold. 2 ovens in kitchen, only 1 works, took 45 mins to cook 1 pizza in broken oven. Once logs run out at side of fire there are no extra. Site manager walks around the house at least twice a day, so a word of warning - very creepy! Also was met by the owner of the house's wife walking around the area also, of which we believe was set up to check how many people were staying in the house. Not only this, but the house itself is very pricey was £900 plus £300 deposit for 3 night stay for 12 people. Especially, when you are told to hoover every single room before leaving and strip every bed or you would incur a £50 fine per room. Never heard of such a thing to hoover every room! A word of warning!!! We were completely scammed out of money, booked through air bnb and on the website it states no extra charge for extra guests. We had extra guests over as we thought this was acceptable, however we were hit with with a nasty nasty fine without any warning. We spoke with the site manager before leaving and he gave the house a run over to check everything was fine, of which he said it was and we left. Extremely sneaky and very unprofessional to not speak face to face to discuss the issue not only this but decided to take more money off our card!! Will be taking this issue further as it is completely unacceptable. Won't be recommending to anyone to stay here and best save your money to spend on something of a much higher standard and quality, especially on the service side of things. Will be spreading the word!!! AVOID AVOID AVOID.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2016
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GulabinLodge, Owner at Gulabin Lodge-Glenshee
Responded 23 Dec 2016
Many thanks for your comments, these are much appreciated. It is a real shame that if there were so many problems with the house you did not bring this to the attention of our manager during your stay. It is also disappointing that you choose not to mention my manager having to clear up your regurgitated mess outside the patio doors for all to see. As with any property booked, an element of cleaning is required on completion of your stay which is normal when booking a self catering property. I can only apologise If you thought the property was over priced but maybe you should have booked somewhere else. As you have been charged by Air B&B for the extra guests you choose to bring along, which was above the agreed 12 persons allowed, I can only presume this is why you have chosen to publish this false review. I would like to wish you luck with booking properties in the future and arriving with extra guests. I would like to wish you all a very Merry Christmas.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Meso S wrote a review Aug 2011
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Please take this review seriously; this accommodation is not for families with toddlers, in fact even without children the rooms are rather claustrophobic. I banged my head into the ceiling several times and almost fell into a sink while climbing down the very steep ladder. The two sitting rooms available are dark, smelly and dusty, not a place I would want to spending time in. The shower facilities are odd, and you just cannot shower and put your clothes back on without them getting wet. Honestly, I feel I have wasted £300 and as this was my first ever visit to Scotland, and if I ever go again, I will make sure I choose something a bit more civilized. Sorry, but I feel very bitter about chosing this place for my holiday. It might suit people who are only planning on spending the whole day outdoors and only expecting a bed and a sink, but would I pay that much £ for just a bed and a sink??
Read more
Date of stay: August 2011
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GulabinLodge, Owner at Gulabin Lodge-Glenshee
Responded 7 Nov 2011
Sorry to hear that you did not like the room you had booked. We have many families who stay with us and all thoroughly enjoy the family bunk rooms. It was shame you did not highlight the problem during your stay as we could have looked to allocate you another room.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SMcL_7 wrote a review May 2008
Glasgow
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This lodge is poorly organised and vastly overpriced. We paid £45 for a double room and our overall experience of the place meant that this was a complete rip off.

Firstly it's difficult to confirm a booking with them. In our experience they didn't answer the phone for a week and when we emailed they said we should be able to have a room but it wasn't definite.

When we arrived, the owner was a bit off with us and seemed to be annoyed that I'd asked for a key to the room! There wasn't one (again, for £45 this is a joke), so we had to store our stuff in the car. They probably think it's a lovely area and no one would steal your rucksack, but in my experience you can have stuff stolen anywhere.

The room itself had a double bed up some very steep ladders in a kind of roof section. This wasn't a problem for us, but there should be some mention of it when booking as it may prove to be inaccessible for some visitors. Next to the bed was an uncovered socket which looked a bit dangerous and the decorating was half finished.

The mattress was very lumpy and uncomfortable and the slanted roof window didn't have a curtain so I hardly slept that night and what little sleep I did get was interrupted by the dawn light. In addition the light in the bathroom was broken and it's communal toilets.

Overall, I don't mind roughing it when you aren't paying as much, but for £45 we expected a bit more than this. £5 of that was for breakfast, which was ok, but the owner said if we didn't eat at the time that other guests were we could make our own breakfast, not sure if that was a joke or not! A terrible experience which I won't be repeating.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2008
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesCheck-in / front desk
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CaitlinHolly wrote a review Mar 2014
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
There were no staff around with the exception of the man in the morning who seemed very angry that all the logs had been used in the fire the night before.
As there is no one managing the place you could just walk in off the street and sleep in the sitting room.
Five days after my stay I received a phone call accusing me of having lost the room key. I don't know why it took 5 days to contact me but I was assured the cleaner had noticed after we left. The fact that there was an odd sock on the floor of my room on arrival tells me that the cleaners observational skills are not to the highest standard. A few days later the owner phoned me and claimed that I owed him £15 for a replacement key and told me, and I quote 'you need to get your friends to sort their life out' which can't even be classed as customer service.
I fail to understand how a replacement key can cost £15. When he asked for my permission to charge my account I specifically told him that I did not give him permission but he did it anyway.

It's such a shame when you think about what the place could be if only the owner knew how to run a business.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2014
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GulabinLodge, Owner at Gulabin Lodge-Glenshee
Responded 26 Mar 2014
I hope that people reading our previous reviews from satisfied guests and the tone of this one will work out that there is something else going on here. This group booked 2 rooms for six males and our house manager was in contact with them several times during their stay and they mentioned no problems. However they exhibited behaviour that night that was so unacceptable that in the morning they had to be woken and asked to leave. Our other guests were very grateful that we had removed them and will back up my account of events. The room was left in a terrible mess. They lost the room key and we gave them options to replace it but they denied losing it. The £15.00 charge is for the key fob and replacement key. They are definitely not welcome back.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
eazey t wrote a tip Jul 2020
1 contribution3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"The Substitute teacher of hotel management."
Read full review
Ross D wrote a tip Aug 2018
Ronda, Spain10 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring food"
Read full review
rv15243 wrote a tip Oct 2017
London, United Kingdom186 contributions117 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try to find the nicer rooms."
Read full review
craigpshred wrote a tip Apr 2016
Edinburgh, United Kingdom3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We booked the whole of Gulabin House - most of the rooms were twins, with one double room for the master bedroom"
Read full review
rozjon wrote a tip Jan 2016
edinburgh16 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book early!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Spittal of Glenshee area.
PRICE RANGE
£73 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Gulabin Lodge Hostel
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandPerth and KinrossSpittal of Glenshee
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GULABIN LODGE-GLENSHEE - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Gulabin Lodge-Glenshee
Which popular attractions are close to Gulabin Lodge-Glenshee?
Nearby attractions include Old Military Bridge Over The Shee Water (0.03 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Gulabin Lodge-Glenshee?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and airport transportation.
What food & drink options are available at Gulabin Lodge-Glenshee?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Gulabin Lodge-Glenshee?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Does Gulabin Lodge-Glenshee have airport transportation?
Yes, Gulabin Lodge-Glenshee offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Gulabin Lodge-Glenshee located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.03 miles away from the centre of Spittal of Glenshee.
Are pets allowed at Gulabin Lodge-Glenshee?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire