We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best Western Shrubbery Hotel

Traveller (65)
Dining (29)
Room & Suite (28)
Certificate of Excellence


Certificate of Excellence
Ilminster in Somerset provides a fantastic base for breaks. Visit this quiet market town and enjoy the stunning countryside that lies on our doorstep. Ilminster is a charming town home to medieval streets, independent shops and regular markets. It is a great base to explore the many cycling routes, National Trust Houses & Gardens that Somerset has to offer. Located just half a mile from the A303 and 10 minutes from the M5, the hotel makes a great base from which to explore the beautiful county of Somerset. Individuals, tours and groups of varying sizes are welcome – the hotel has 23 bedrooms to choose from in a variety of styles. The hotel has ample car parking with easy access for guests. Recently, the hotel’s reception, bar and restaurant areas have all been refurbished. The bar, lounge and Revival restaurant are open all year around. Enjoy a simple snack, tasty carvery or more formal a la carte dining. This 3 star Edwardian Country House is a great venue for small intimate weddings, large receptions and civil wedding ceremonies. The hotel's ballroom (the largest in the area) can seat up to 250 guests for a wedding reception venue and there are 4 licensed rooms where a civil wedding ceremony can take place. Guests can stay in one of our 23 individually furnished en-suite bedrooms. We'll get involved from the initial planning stages right through to the big day itself. Our aim is to make your wedding day as special as it can be while alleviating some of the stresses along the way. For all enquiries, please contact the hotel directly.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Room Service
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
Historic Hotel
72Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 139
  • 117
  • 53
  • 14
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
After being told about a recent review on tripadvisor i have joined tripadvisor just to be able to send my views. We were at the wedding 3 weeks ago and very close to the bride and groom the day at the Shrubbery was so perfect we could not fault anything, the gardens which we
Read more
A flying visit to this hotel after a family celebration nearby. Arrived at 11.30pm and departed at 9.00am so the review is based on limited experience. Reception were efficient and helpful, room was spacious, comfortable, equipped and clean. Entering the dining room for
Read more
If you are thinking of using The Shrubbery as a Wedding Venue I advise you to think again. What you are quoted is very far from the actual bill you end up with which is not even broken down to be clear to see.....£650 difference!!!!!!!! Not amusing for a young couple starting
Read more
Response from Mark T, General Manager at Best Western Shrubbery Hotel
Responded 16 Jul 2018
Dear Reviewer Thank you so much for taking the time to write a re-view on our site. We do of course welcome all feedback positive or otherwise which helps us to learn and improve on our services for the future. I am of course concerned about your comments regarding the difference in the account, to confirm fully as per our previous direct communications and meeting the bill on departure was the same as pre-paid amount before the event. The pro forma invoice was agreed and paid in full by the Bride and Groom who where very happy with the costs which where broken down in full. I am so sorry that you are confused by this however please do have my personal assurances that all charges and services are always agreed and confirmed prior to any event, on this occasion they where agreed and all paid prior to the event. I would be more than delighted to talk this through in more detail with you should you wish. Equally i express my most sincerest thanks for the vegan option offered, i am assured by the team that more was provided however thanks to your constructive feedback i do get the opportunity to look into this so thank you. Regards and best wishes. Mark Tobin General Manager
Read more
Stayed here 2 nights for a wedding The reception was held here The room was fine Bed on small side No A/C Baking hot Windows open for air at night Room was facing main road hence noisy and difficult to sleep in Staff helpful Wedding do was well catered for Lovely beer garden
Read more
A much overhauled Victorian hotel, with a jumble of public rooms below and a warren of guest rooms above, connected by a staircase that looks imposing when you have a suitcase and realize that there is no lift. But my large room, with large ensuite bathroom, was quiet and,
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravellerDining Room & SuiteBusiness Centre & Event RoomsFamily and Play Areas
Photo provided by managementBest Western Shrubbery Hotel
Garden Gazebo & Folly
Room 7.
Newly updated bathroom
Another shot of the room
Amazing Bed!
We have 3 ground floor rooms, access to the hotel is from the outside on the level, and access to our restaurant and bar is on the level, I trust this the information you require Regards Stuart Shepherd General; Manager
0 votes
Show all answers
"Room 7 much better than room 8."
"we had room 17 it was lovely"
"Check air-con is working before you stay in hot weather Garden area great for a quite drink in the evening"
"Don't go for no. 10 or the one with the fire escape running through it"
"There are three rooms in a sort of annexe which have doors opening onto the car park, motel style, and are covnenitnyl acessible."
US$111 - US$183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
best western tauntontaunton best western
BEST WESTERN Shrubbery Hotel
United KingdomEnglandIlminster
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing