We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (202)
Room & Suite (60)
Dining (32)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 hotels in Thorpeness
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Home to one of Sufffolk's finest golf courses the Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel features a 36 bedroom hotel with an 18 hole championship course designed by renowned course architect James Braid. The stunning heathland course is steeped in history and located in the picturesque holiday village of Thorpeness. Nestled beside the Meare, a man made lake inspired by the stories of Peter Pan, and the iconic House in the Clouds enjoy 18 holes of fnatastic golf or simply enjoy a meal and a drink in our wood panelled bar steeped in history listing past Club Trophy winners dating back to 1922. Whether visiting to play golf or to enjoy the beautiful Suffolk countryside, Thorpeness welcomes all.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Mini golf
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Laundry service
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Meeting rooms
Show more
Room features
Room service
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English
582Reviews2Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 212
  • 221
  • 86
  • 42
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
kevin brown wrote a review 7 Apr
Peterborough, United Kingdom81 contributions103 helpful votes
It's the ideal base to discover one of the region's, if not England's, finest and most interesting counties. Don't expect five star luxury with a sumptuous spa but you can expect a splendid value hotel with loads to offer including a superbly challenging heathland golf course along with the excellent Ogilvies restaurant with a tasty menu. The main hotel bar and lounge oozes charm and character and is dominated by rows of the golf club's honours boards. There's so much to see and do in the area with local attractions including RSPB Minsmere, Snape Maltings and nearby seaside towns of Aldeburgh and Southwold, the latter with it's popular pier. Special mention to longserving Clare, always friendly and helpful, in the restaurant.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you're looking for a nice quiet evening. meal on site, it's best to book an early table...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reservations Team The Hotel Folk, Owner at Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear kevinb187045, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are pleased to hear you had enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
mark b wrote a review Mar 2024
2 contributions3 helpful votes
I really can’t understand a very recent review that was left which should be completely ignored, From start to finish our whole experience was superb, great staff who were super friendly and helpful, the food was amazing, great choices all local ingredients and generous portions, The bar was great but could be better stocked and offer more in choices for the Ladies, it really annoys me to pay for presseco which was expensive by the small 125 ml glass , ended up having to buy a bottle instead, a guest Ale would be nice to . The room was fine , comfortable bed clean bathroom and quiet so that is all you really need , they do need a freshen up and I would say the carpets need a regular steam clean especially in the winter. The golf course was superb even in the brutal conditions we experienced Overall superb stay superb value for money cannot wait until our next visit
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reservations Team The Hotel Folk, Owner at Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear W6958ENmarkb, Thank you your review. We are delighted you have enjoyed your time with us and we will make sure to forward over your comments to our Management Teams. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future! Kindest Regards, Thorpeness Golf Club and Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Gary S wrote a review Mar 2024
8 contributions7 helpful votes
Rooms were spacious and the bed was fine, however, that where it starts to go wrong, the staff were not very helpful and actually quite rude, the evening meal was nearly inedible, the breakfast had obviously been under hot lamp, it was dry and very poor quality. I have stayed there before and it has deteriorated noticeably both in facilities and food.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Linda S wrote a review Jan 2024
9 contributions2 helpful votes
We had a lovely 2 night break, our room was comfortable and really spacious, it had a great view overlooking the putting green. Our bed was super comfortable. We found all the staff were so welcoming and friendly, it was really pleasant to experience such good service, which alas is missing in some hotels and restaurants these days. Breakfast was delicious, we also ate in the bar during lunch and dinner, the food was great on both occasions. We also ate in the main restaurant one evening and this also was very good. We really enjoyed the ambiance of the hotel and will definitely be visiting again - hopefully very soon.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reservations Team The Hotel Folk, Owner at Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel
Responded 16 Jan 2024
Dear LindiLoo09, Thank you for a wonderful review. We are delighted you have enjoyed your time with us and we hope you will return in the near future! Kindest Regards, Thorpeness Golf Club and Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Itsnotallwalking wrote a review Jan 2024
London, United Kingdom2 contributions
Eight of us (3 adults and 5 kids) turned up to play on the Crazy Golf course but we were told it was closed. No reason was given and there doesn't seem to be a reason to close it - the full 18 hole golf course was open. We checked the course and there was no flooding etc. It just seemed that the staff couldn't be bothered to hand over the putters in exchange for money. Instead of a bit of golf and lunch in the club house we went to feed the swans and ducks on the Meare and had lunch in a cafe at the Meare. I know that businesses in London can often be too money grabbing but it does seem that a lot of businesses in Suffolk don't want to take the money that's offered - or keep the customers happy.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reservations Team The Hotel Folk, Owner at Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel
Responded 8 Jan 2024
Dear Navigator43820190413, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Unfortunately, due to the terrible weather we have been having recently in Suffolk, our course would have been closed in order to prevent any accidents as it can get slippery from the rain. Although it may have been a better day on arrival, we do have a duty of care to our guests and will only re-open if we feel this would be safe and appropriate. We are very sorry however if this had not been communicated effectively, and hope that despite your previous issues, you will choose to return once the weather improves. Kind regards, Thorpeness Golf Club and Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Suvvers1 wrote a review Nov 2023
Brentwood, United Kingdom16 contributions4 helpful votes
Lovely few days at this Hotel and Golf course. The staff are first class, they go above and beyond to ensure their guests have a great stay! There was 7 of us and everyone agreed how good everything was. The breakfast, bar and rooms were more than acceptable, but the staff really make the difference.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reservations Team The Hotel Folk, Owner at Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel
Responded 6 Nov 2023
Dear Suvvers1, Thank you for your feedback! We are pleased to hear you had enjoyed your visit and hope you will choose to return again soon. Kind regards, Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Caroline D wrote a review Oct 2023
Chelmsford, United Kingdom76 contributions26 helpful votes
3 day/2 night Golf, Dinner, Bed and Breakfast package for 16 ladies. Great communications with Reception ahead of event. Golf was good, helpful Pro Shop, comfortable rooms, superb dining and service.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Build in some time to walk around Thorpeness - go boating if you've time! Wi-fi in this part of...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reservations Team The Hotel Folk, Owner at Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel
Responded 20 Oct 2023
Dear CarolineD363, Thank you for providing us with feedback on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you had enjoyed your visit and hope you will choose to return again soon. Kind regards, Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
IanandNicola_M wrote a review Sept 2023
Norwich, United Kingdom11 contributions10 helpful votes
Just back from a 2 day trip to Thorpeness - an annual "tour" for a group of 8 golfing friends. We arrived Wednesday late morning for coffee, bacon rolls etc, then played 18 holes. Drinks when we got in, then smarten up a bit for more drinks, and dinner - and an excellent dinner too! Many of our group commented on how good the food and service were. This was our second visit - the first being 4/5 years ago - last time we went down to The Dolphin in the village for a drink after dinner, but maybe we are getting old as this time we stayed in the hotel bar which was very good. On Thursday we enjoyed a first class breakfast, out to golf at about 10 a.m., then drinks and sandwiches (and prize giving!) before heading across the border to Norfolk and home. The golf course is lovely and was in good condition, and everything about the hotel was first class - good service, friendly staff, good food and comfortable rooms. The feedback from all our party was excellent and I don't think we'll leave it another 4/5 years before we return (but that long interval was partly due to C***d...) We also felt that the package rate for DB&B and 2 rounds of golf was very good value. And (as the organiser of our party) I felt the hotel were great in terms of logistics - tee bookings, menu choices for dinner before our afternoon round, and managing parties of 8 - 10+ golfers very efficiently. So many thanks to all the staff at Thorpeness and we look forward to next time!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reservations Team The Hotel Folk, Owner at Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel
Responded 9 Sept 2023
Dear Ian and Nicola, Thank you for your wonderful review. We are truly delighted you and your party had such a lovely time with us and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you all back in the not-so-distant future! Kindest Regards, Thorpeness Golf Club and Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Geoff T wrote a review Sept 2023
1 contribution
Me and my wife come down to sunny Suffolk for a round of golf. And what a lovely time we had! Golf course was in perfect conditions. We are not the fastest of players as we like to take in all the surroundings. Unfortunately this lead to the course marshal racing up to us in his buggy, clip board in hand, demanding us to go quicker. This was a bit of a shock to me and made us not want to continue. Then after this we saw him driving around aimlessly like he was an extra in the Dukes of Hazzard!! We let it go and then when we got over the road and got to the 12th hole there was a hold up. I said to my wife, this is where we need the marshal to do his job properly, unfortunately when we finally finished the 12th the marshal was just sitting on the 9th talking to a man on the bench. Where was he when we needed him to hurry people up? We would have given this lovely course and hotel 5 stars but unfortunately this incident causes us to give 4. We will be returning next summer for another fantastic day in Suffolk, we just hope the marshal in question learns to keep out the way and learns to be more polite to the paying customers.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reservations Team The Hotel Folk, Owner at Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel
Responded 2 Sept 2023
Dear 9geofft, Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you have enjoyed your time with us despite the issues you have encountered - we will make sure to forward over your comments and feedback to our Management Teams for discussion. We are looking forward to welcoming you back next summer! Kindest Regards, Thorpeness Golf Club and Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Courts wrote a review Aug 2023
18 contributions2 helpful votes
Disappointed with an average stay :( Myself and my partner went to this hotel, just for 2 nights. The hotel grounds itself is lovely with the golf course and mini golf being the highlights but unfortunately we were disappointed with the overall service and stay. We had hoped for two relaxing sleeps with minimal noise. We stayed Sunday - Tuesday and the first night in was fine (other than walls being extremely thin so we could hear the next door conversations) until we got woken up at 6.45am by the gardener lawn mowing and then the other gardener sweeping the broom into our wall all the way round the building - we were on ground floor. I understand that it was a Monday morning and perhaps the routine is to freshen up at start of the week but for the exact same thing to happen the next morning with the lawn mower just really disappointed us. The hotel is lovely and our room was okay but it was just the waking up and no soundproofing that made it tricky to enjoy. Food was nice but SOME staff seemed a little blunt towards us when ordering, so it kind of created a weird vibe at breakfast. The receptionist was also okay but when addressing the issues it seemed to have just been disregarded. In fact, I don’t even recall being asked how my stay was because I had to address the problems alongside my payment. Overall, we won’t be staying here again - perhaps for dinner another time though as the roast was lovely.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Thorpeness area.
PRICE RANGE
£92 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
thorpeness hotel aldeburgh, the thorpeness hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaSuffolkThorpeness
NUMBER OF ROOMS
36
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THORPENESS GOLF CLUB & HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Suffolk Escape Room (4.5 miles), RSPB Minsmere (4.6 miles), and The Red House, Aldeburgh (1.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ash Smoked Fishes, The Lighthouse, and The Friston Chequers.
Is Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Thorpeness.
Are pets allowed at Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Red House, Aldeburgh (1.4 miles) and Aldeburgh Museum (1.8 miles).