De Vere Horsley Estate
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

De Vere Horsley Estate

Traveller (831)
Panorama at the De Vere Venues Horsley Park
360
Panoramas (18)
De Vere Horsley Estate
Videos (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#1 of 2 hotels in East Horsley
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Amid quiet, extensive Surrey parkland, De Vere Horsley Estate offers guests free access to its leisure facilities, including croquet lawn, football pitch, gym and indoor swimming pool. De Vere Horsley Estate is made up of 2 venues - Horsley Place and Horsley Court. Bedrooms are located in Horsley Place and include a remote-control TV, safety deposit box and free WiFi access. De Vere Horsley Estate offers good access to Heathrow and Gatwick airports, as well as the A3 and M25 motorways. Horsley Station is 1.5 miles from De Vere Horsley Estate. On weekdays, there are 2 trains every hour from both Waterloo and Guildford. The Steam Bake and Grill Restaurant offers hot dinner buffets, with bar menus also available.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French, Italian, Latvian and 2 more
Hotel links
Special Price:10% off room rate
1,474Review10Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 359
  • 402
  • 363
  • 192
  • 158
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
kdhs61 wrote a review Oct 2021
surrey99 contributions67 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a night in the old house. We paid for a junior ‘suite’ which was a bathroom and bedroom separated by a kind of lobby area with 2 chairs a desk and a TV. The foot of the bed was a foot from the wall so a lot of shuffling to get past and the door from bedroom to ‘lobby’ was a fire door on a strong spring so care had to be taken to ensure it didn’t slam in the middle of the night (or any other time). The room also had a door to an adjoining room and we could hear conversation next door. The bathroom was clean although no one had cleaned behind the radiator for years. Shower was just hot enough on full heat. The breakfast was in the new part of the hotel, which is ok in good weather but would have been awful at any other time. My husband described the buffet breakfast as 1970’s Trust House Forte, it had all the right ingredients but it was already very tired at 9.30am. The very young polite staff did a pretty good job but I can’t imagine them coping if the conference centre and hotel were even remotely full.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michael Micallef, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate
Responded 21 Oct 2021
Dear kdhs61, Thank you for your review. Please accept my apologies for not meeting your expectations Regards Michael
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BeeS wrote a review Jan 2022
Nottingham263 contributions160 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked a superior room directly on DV website where there was no mention of there not being dining facilities. That info was alluded to in subsequent emails from the general manager & head receptionist. It wasn’t a big issue as the Duke of Wellington pub was a short walk away and served nice food in a lively environment with lovely staff. The hotel rooms are in a soulless annex block, two storey with no lift. The room was dark and dingy, poorly maintained with scratched and damaged furniture and far from clean. There were cobwebs on the ceiling, the walk-in shower didn’t drain so flooded the bathroom, the sink plug was clagged up with hairs & soapy residue and there was hair (not belonging to me or my friend) stuck on the bathroom tiles. These cleaning issues were raised by another TA reviewer in Nov and have not been addressed so I’m guessing they aren’t important to the management. On the plus side, all the staff we encountered were helpful & professional and the breakfast delivered to our room (we were the only guests so they didn’t really want to open the restaurant) was spot on.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michael Micallef, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate
Responded 13 Feb 2022
Dear NottsGirlson tour Many thanks for your recent review. We are certainly working hard to overcome some of the challenges of the last couple of years and I appreciate your feedback.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jack P wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Horsley Place not Towers - Very pleasant receptionist booked my party in half an hour early as we had arrived, and found rooms all adjacent one another :-). Rooms on the small side but adequate, showers only, no baths, no twin rooms available. Showers mostly in need of a little TLC. Breakfast great, staff around hotel at 7am cheery hello'd but restaurant staff less so? Free papers around. Bar area pleasant but traversed by gym goers. Bar food mixed bag, minute steak sent back, tuna sandwich huge and good.
Was busy with a weekend convention but didn't appear over crowded.
Morning receptionist argued the toss over breakfast being prepaid or not which annoyed me as the price for loyalty customers was same with or without. plenty of parking, if a little far away if raining hard. Book again? yes, lovely scenery.
For best price go direct and join loyalty scheme costs nothing get reductions and benefits
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Avoid ground floor where people can and do walk past.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MG_Micallef, Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate
Responded 24 Feb 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review Regards Michael
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ron W wrote a review Aug 2022
Horsham, United Kingdom6 contributions
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was the third De Vere hotel we have stayed at and was surprised in reading the negative reviews
From checking in, the reception was very helpful and friendly. We booked a Tower suite room which was outstanding, you have to remember this is an old building with no air conditioning but has a well known make of free standing air con/heater unit to use. This building stands separate from the main complex and you have a short walk between the two, in the winter time weather dependent might put people off having to walk between the two centers. We explored the grounds (sadly looking very brown due to all the hot weather) and the Tower building which is well maintained. We used the swimming pool which was very welcome, the changing rooms are small but this is not a full blown leisure center which some people may require, did not use the gym but it looked well equipped. We booked an evening meal and again all the staff were very friendly and helpful, we chose the buffet meal which had a good variety of food to choose from. This is not a full fine dining waiter service restaurant, if this is what you require then the restaurant is not for you. The breakfast was self-service with a good selection of hot and cold foods, the staff friendly and helpful. We would definitely recommend this hotel as it suited all our requirements, different people want different things from a hotel but we can only state what we found.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Tower suites for special occasions
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michael Micallef, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate
Responded 8 Aug 2022
Many thanks for the comprehensive review
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Adrian J wrote a review Jun 2022
Preston, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked 3 nights to visit various attractions (Wisley, Brooklands, Kew Gardens) for which the hotel was handily placed to drive from. However, the "Superior Double Room" was anything but; it was extremely small, with little clothes storage space - a very small wardrobe and absolutely no drawers (the first time we'd ever encountered this). We were puzzled by the huge clock in the bathroom, also the the sink tap was almost unusable (very stiff cold tap lever and almost inaccessible plug mechanism). On the positive side, the bed was comfortable.

We were told on arrival that for bookings of less than 4 nights, the room would only be cleaned if we put the appropriate notice on the door. Fair enough, so we did, but no cleaning took place so we contacted Reception again. Reception staff's attitude was deplorable, showing no interest, offering no apologies, and generally only going through the motions (although the different lady on the desk who I spoke to directly to request cleaning after it didn't happen when originally arranged was more apologetic). However, the lack of a daily cleaning regime meant that no replenishment of tea, milk, toilet rolls etc was done as a matter of course - not good!

Our general impression was that our room was not very clean, with lots of dust and we'll established cobwebs. More effort seems to be spent on cleaning the areas used for the many courses, seminars, etc taking place.

On arrival at 5pm on the first day (Sunday) we asked if we could book a meal in the restaurant, but we were told that it was closed due to not enough guests being around to make it worthwhile! They suggested we try the nearby Duke of Wellington pub, and that they were sending all guests who needed meals there that evening. We duly went there, to be told that all tables were booked that evening (and weren't aware of the De Vere sending guests around), so we drove around for a while until we found a restaurant that had room.

Don't be deceived by the appearance of the hotel premises, which look very attractive on the surface, with impressive architecture and history for the original buildings, as the poor attitude of the Reception staff and very poor room cleaning detracted from our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michael Micallef, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate
Responded 30 Jun 2022
Thank you for the review and apologies for what appear to have been a poor experience
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
james c wrote a review Mar 2020
8 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked a junior suite in the horsley towers part of the hotel. Room looked very nice but didnt stay as was directly above a very loud charity ball that nobody had bothered to mention when I rang to book. Horsley towers section is where their function rooms are and where the premium rooms are so if looking to stay in one of the nicer rooms make sure you double check what's on. Luckily they agreed a refund and we were able to find another hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MG_Micallef, Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate
Responded 16 Mar 2020
Dear James, Thank you for your review. I am sorry for inconvenience caused. Regards Michael
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jake S wrote a review Mar 2022
London, United Kingdom10 contributions10 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Checked in and checked out same day. The staff are friendly at reception but I'm afraid that's where it stops. The rooms are terrible and dated. We were put up here for an overnight stay with easyJet following a flight cancellation, and on arrival we were advised that there was no food available for lunch and dinner! I notice on the website it advertised

Lunch 12 noon – 2pm

Dinner

7pm – 9:30pm. Clearly then the advertisement wasn't true. When I confirmed that the airline is responsible for food they said they just sold them a bed and breakfast rate. So basically it's not their problem. I think easyJet is largely responsible for this but the hotel should have advised easyJet they actually don't have any food available so not sure how the airline can fulfil their obligation to provide food and drink. The main reason for the negative review however is I asked for the staff to just email me to confirm they had no lunch and dinner options available. They said they would, but an email never came. For this reason alone, I don't like being promised something and it not happening as that culture extends through the entire experience, and thus it is one to avoid in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michael Micallef, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate
Responded 6 Mar 2022
Dear Jake - thank you for your review. We had advised Easyjet as per your note and had agreed the booking on this basis but appreciate it is not ideal.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dan G wrote a review Jan 2020
Birmingham, United Kingdom34 contributions5 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel has so much potential. The estate is beautiful. The towers are quite something but the state of the rooms in the main hotel building leave a lot to be desired.
My recent experience:
The safe in my room was useless and was permanently locked, the room was very cold, the air con unit didn’t work and instead I had to turn on a small basic electric heater/radiator which took a sometime to heat the room. So expect to get up in the cold. The toilet seat was loose and I almost fell off the loo but worse than that, the bathroom floor was made of very small tiles and there was dried blood in the grouting.

A colleague also found a dead lizard in their room.

The food on offer was okay but we have had colleagues ill after eating there. Also the breakfast is okay but the porridge is made with water and is more runny than an Ethiopian track athletics squad.
The bar is very expensive in my opinion.

Such a shame because on first impressions the hotel looks impressive, the grounds are lovely, but staying there on business regularly, it’s clear that it does let itself down in places. If I paid to stay there rather than the corporate booking, I’d be very disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MG_Micallef, Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate
Responded 27 Jan 2020
Dear Dangle81, Thank you for your recent review. I am really sorry about your experience. Regards Michael
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ShropshireSheelagh wrote a review Sept 2022
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom7 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I'd like to start with the positives. All the staff that we dealt with were lovely: friendly and helpful and, you could see, deeply ashamed in some cases about the state of this hotel.
Now to the rest. We were allocated Room 13. We arrived later than expected so dumped our bags and went straight out. It wasn't until we arrived much later in the evening that we realised how disgustingly dirty this room was. It also stank. We can cope with places which are a bit 'tired' and need refurbishing, but there's absolutely no excuse for a hotel room which obviously hasn't had a proper clean in a long time. The room was infested (and I do mean infested - loads of them) with clothes moths, who had eaten areas of the carpet which had obviously not been hoovered for a long time. The walls were marked and dirty, there was something splashed up the front of the wardrobe and the bathroom was full of mildew. The bathroom door was filthy on both sides. The pillows were weird - they seemed ancient and were smelly underneath the clean pillowcases.
In the morning we complained and were moved to room 16, which was marginally better (it didn't stink, only 1 clothes moth and a small amount of carpet missing, slightly less mildew in the bathroom). We decided to put up with it as it was only for one night. In both bathrooms the plug didn't fit properly so to wash your face or shave you had to continually run the tap as the water emptied so quickly. The shower cubicles in both rooms were tiny, so if you're a larger person you'll be unlikely to fit.
On the second morning I realised I'd left my jumper in Room 13. They couldn't find it and wouldn't ask the new guests in that room so I have to assume someone has taken it and that I'll never see it again.
Breakfast on the first morning was ok, pretty standard buffet, no complaints. By the next morning they were struggling: no yoghurt, unable to keep up with demand for cooked ingredients (it was busy but no more so than the day before). The staff were doing their best but you could see how stressful it was for them.
We won't stay here again. The duty manager did tell us that they plan to refurbish some of the rooms, but to be honest if they don't keep them properly clean that's pointless. I did try to add photos but for some reason Trip Advisor wouldn't upload them
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michael Micallef, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate
Responded 13 Sept 2022
Dear Sheelagh - thank you for the review and apologies that your expectations of Horsley were clearly not met and your experience appears poor.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mysterea wrote a review Feb 2022
Salisbury, United Kingdom51 contributions9 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Terrible place. Don't be fooled by the pictures. The area in the pictures is indeed lovely however you will likely be staying in area that is more akin to a run down travel lodge in 70s East Berlin. Rooms are tiny, cleanlines is poor and the WiFi is slower than a half eaten snail. The restaurant looks nice enough but given that they don't bother to open it I can't tell you what it's like. You could relax in the bar but make sure you bring a carry out because they can't be bothered opening that either. Quite frankly it's a dreadful place. If you're visiting the area book into Thatcher's because that is definitely what I will be doing the next time I'm here.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michael Micallef, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate
Responded 23 Feb 2022
Dear Mysterea Thank you for your recent review, I am sorry it was a poor experience for you but we are working hard to reopen the business fully.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the East Horsley area.
PRICE RANGE
£67 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
horsley park hotel east horsley, horsley park surrey, horsley park hotel surrey
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
De Vere Horsley Park
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandSurreyEast Horsley
NUMBER OF ROOMS
180
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DE VERE HORSLEY ESTATE - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about De Vere Horsley Estate
Which popular attractions are close to De Vere Horsley Estate?
Nearby attractions include Bocketts Farm Park (3.8 miles), Painshill (4.6 miles), and Campaign Paintball & Laser Park (2.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at De Vere Horsley Estate?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at De Vere Horsley Estate?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at De Vere Horsley Estate?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to De Vere Horsley Estate?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Plough, Tikka Nation, and Yasmin Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at De Vere Horsley Estate?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at De Vere Horsley Estate?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does De Vere Horsley Estate offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at De Vere Horsley Estate?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, Italian, Polish, Romanian, and Latvian.
Are there any historical sites close to De Vere Horsley Estate?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Polesden Lacey (2.3 miles), Hatchlands Park NT (2.1 miles), and Clandon Park (3.8 miles).
Does De Vere Horsley Estate have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
All East Horsley HotelsEast Horsley Hotel DealsHotels near De Vere Horsley Estate
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire